• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 27, 2013
    100
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine is fine as it is. Tell your DVR to book it. [9 Dec 2013, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 16, 2013
    88
    Credit Samberg with choosing a solid concept, a Barney Miller-type cop comedy from Parks and Recreation's Dan Goor and Michael Schur, and surrounding himself with a great supporting cast led by Andre Braugher as the squad's captain.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 16, 2013
    83
    Easily one of fall's better new comedies, but don't expect to be blown away yet. The pilot offers just a taste of what's to come, which is plenty good enough.
  4. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Sep 15, 2013
    83
    Brooklyn Nine-Nine is a tight, funny pilot where the energy of the cast salvages the few down moments. Still, it lays some possible traps for the rest of the series, not the least of which is the ever-present temptation of cop-show cliché.
  5. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 11, 2013
    83
    Fortunately, you don't have to take the former SNL star too seriously to roll with Brooklyn Nine-Nine, a sitcom from the producers of Parks and Recreation that smartly pokes at police-show tropes and creates a promising comedy playground where the Motherlovin' jester can cut loose.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 8 out of 50
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    One of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loudOne of the better pilots I've seen in a long time. Cast is great and they already have a rapport in only one episode. I laughed out loud several times, which was nice after sitting through the train-wreck of Dads. If you like Parks & Rec, 30 Rock, The Office (meaning smart, well-written, well-acted shows) then you will enjoy this as well. It fits well with New Girl and Mindy. Oh, and referring to another review on here, in what universe is a gay black cop a stereotype? Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    0
    Samberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snarkSamberg is annoyingly smug in his delivery, demanding a laugh out of every syllable he spews. It needs to dial down the hideous snark all-around. Barney Miller was the last good urban cop show. This is a steamy pile. Full Review »
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    6
    Seems like it is right on the line between the typical network sitcom and something really creative and interesting. I hope future episodes doSeems like it is right on the line between the typical network sitcom and something really creative and interesting. I hope future episodes do not fall into the trap of the easy jokes we have seen many times before. If this evolves into a really intelligent comedy, I will up my rating, and keep on watching. Full Review »