Burton and Taylor

Burton and Taylor Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Richard Burton (Dominic West) and Elizabeth Taylor (Helena Bonham Carter) are reunited for the 1983 Broadway production of Noel Coward's Private Lives in this BBC America/BBC TV movie.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Movie/Mini-Series
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 15, 2013
    100
    Excellent actors playing excellent actors--and largely succeeding.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 15, 2013
    91
    It’s a film that asks a lot from West and Bonham Carter, who deliver time and again in roles that could have eaten them alive. Instead we feast.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 15, 2013
    88
    While no one will mistake Helena Bonham Carter for a twin of the legendary violet-eyed actress, she’s more than convincing alongside “The Wire’s” Dominic West, who brings a troubled Richard Burton to life.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Burton and Taylor is intelligently winnowed down to a moment in time, firmly planting itself in the last days of disco.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 16, 2013
    80
    It is less a portrait of two combustible stars, played with empathy and breathtaking control by Dominic West and Helena Bonham Carter, as it is a surprisingly thoughtful excavation of a love that is both undeniable and untenable.
  6. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    Burton and Taylor is a wry, bittersweet take on a celebrated Hollywood romance. [21 Oct 2013, p.48]
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 16, 2013
    60
    Burton and Taylor confines itself to the nine months of the tour, and while that’s a wise decision, it does mean we only get allusions to other aspects of their relationship.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 11, 2014
    10
    Absolutely loved it! What great performances by both actors. It was compelling from beginning to end. The sort of movie you could watchAbsolutely loved it! What great performances by both actors. It was compelling from beginning to end. The sort of movie you could watch more than once. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    3
    I found this under whelming. It could have had a much more explosive story. The story we know was an exciting forbidden love affair, one I amI found this under whelming. It could have had a much more explosive story. The story we know was an exciting forbidden love affair, one I am sure a good writer can make into a blockbuster. Collapse

Awards & Rankings