• Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 22, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 9 out of 76

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    0
    after watching all battlestar gallactica episodes, I was very much looking forward to this show. but I was disappointed from the beginning to the end. the show is very slow paced. and it seems to be some kind of teen show. almost everything good known from battlestar galactica was missing. except those stupid religious elements, they had to keep those of course. this whole series could have been done in two episodes, and it would have been a lot more fun I guess. there are no dark elements anymore, no suspense/tension during the whole show. it is more similar to gilmore girls than to battlestar galactica. if there was in battlestar gl. at least some plausible science, then here you will find none of that. don't watch this show, or you will be wasting your time. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    For those naye sayers out there, I must pity you. The point of this show was to provide a stark contrast to BSG. BSG was a show where humans feared technology and feared the cylons, they were running in space and had to make quick decisions concerning survival. In Caprica, everything is advanced. The humans can't live without their technology which is so ingrained into the society. Starting off with a train explosion, this show is anything but slow. And from then on, I was hooked. The subtle nuances, the religious aspects, explaining where the cylon roots come from, why they were invented, and the hardships that went through to create them, and in what society they were created. All of these things made Caprica a wonderful show. I especially loved the element of Tamara in the V-world, being a dead walker and I quote 'Who are you?' Tamara answers 'I'm awake.' and she shoots her.
    Wonderful plot, and for anyone who says it was too slow or not action packed enough, they didn't watch this show, their guide said caprica, but when they selected it, I think Gilmore Girls must have really been on - believe me, that happens all the time to me. Guides can sometimes lie to you, it's really annoying.
    Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    A very sexy, stylish, and well written show that was as good and in many ways even better than its predeceasor. I was captivated by the characters and the story throughout. I think one of the reasons why this wasn't as popular as it could have been is because of the heavy parallels between the Caprican Monotheistic cult and the behaviors of real-life religious fanatacism. I think it might have been a bit too painful for fundamentalist types. It was likely even a bit controversial for a conservative. Caprica painted a very bleak and dreary image of an interplanetary society of superficial murdering businessmen, cigarette smoking gansters, religious fanatic terrorists, and other would be frak-talkers. Although this likely was part of the show's success, it would have been great to see more sunny days on the colonies. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2010
    7
    Not as amazing as the Remake of Battlestar Galactica, but still a deep and impressive series.
    I hope they keep up the good work and don't entangle themselves in the maze of their storylines.
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    Awesome show. I was skeptical but once i got into the 2nd episode i realized how much potential this show had and they really lived up to it. How goddamn cool would it be to have a virtual world you can go to that is populated with millions of other people. One section of it is a huge game where if you get killed in the game you are not allowed back so your actions have repercussions not like the video games of today where you can keep trying over and over. Such a solid idea. Worth watching a few episodes to see if you get sucked in. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    Didn't think I was going to bother with Caprica until I saw the previews. Now I'm hooked. Really looking forward to see how the cylons evolve in this series as well as the characters in the virtual world. Hope it doesn't disappoint. 'Frak' where is the next episode. I need another hit.
  7. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    Great show! I had my doubts that any series would be able to step into the huge shoes of BSG but Caprica seems to have pulled it off quite handily. The creators have come up with a completely different setting and plot than its predecessor and yet have still managed to keep some of the core elements of Battlestar Galactica that I enjoyed. I am looking forward to several more years of top notch entertainment! Expand
  8. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    HOW YOU CAN BRING CAPRICA BACK:

    Sign the petition:

    http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/caprica-for-season-2.html

    Send Syfy a letter without leaving your computer:

    http://www.capricatimes.com/capricas-cylon-army-i-enlisted

    Prove Syfy wrong:

    http://www.capricatimes.com/time-to-prove-syfy-wrong
  9. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    Did not follow Battlestar Gallactica but prequel, Caprica, caught my eye and my imagination. Very well-crafted, acting is quite good, and the storyline is riveting .
  10. ALF
    Apr 3, 2011
    8
    Has the American TV industry completely lost the plot. AGAIN!!! There needs to be a rethink with how a show is actually shown to the public because clearly the insane way you do it is why ratings do not happen. Perhaps if TV executives spent less time drinking and being entertained with brain dead material and said okay, this show will occupy a particular well advertised slot, then the ratings and audiences would be attracted to any series. Another way the TV company's could operate would be as the original Battlestar Galactica did, a mini series released on DVD. This is what got me hooked and the show when it came was what I had waited for for over 20 years, a dark adult sci fi showing humanity for what it is, as compared to the camp original series with a wasted Lorne Greene. Perhaps then they would give a show some opportunity to build a following before appearing on TV. Finally, allow a story to be told. The creator should be able to give some indication to a series length and allow at least that if ratings not so great and more if ratings are excellent. Perhaps then the sad procession of great shows cancelled before they had a chance to complete their story or stories will end, starting with Caprica. Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The producers of Caprica set out to make it very different than the highly successful re-imaged Battlestar Galactica series (there's a brilliant idea, take a great show and make a spin-off that is no way like it...) . Caprica took place in an interesting world where realistic virtual worlds existed and AI was just being born. The special effects of the show were great, the world looked very pretty and believable.. However, I think where the show fails is that the characters are not characters a typical person can relate to. The characters are all either Mafia type mobsters, young people who have no problem committing acts of terrorism against the general public or rich software developers/robotic engineers somewhat like a Steve Jobs of the future. So unless you grew up in a mob family, are part of the Taliban or come from a very rich family (ie: if you are 99.99% of the population) you won't be able to relate to these characters. I did like the idea of having an AI clone of an emotionally volatile teenage girl hiding inside of a military robot, the suspense to see when she would freak out and accidentally or intentionally hurt or kill someone was fun, but other than that the series could've been done better. The series was worth watching but I gave it a 5 so it would show up as a mixed review since my opinion of the show is mixed. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Keith StaskiewicZ
    91
    Less action-packed than BSG, but still awash in the familiar themes of life, loss, identity, and big frakkin' robots with guns.
  2. How it all goes awry is the question that provides Caprica with its ripe potential. Unfortunately, a serious storytelling mistake in the early going has left me with doubts about whether it has the wherewithal to get there.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    83
    Caprica feels torn between soulfully mature ruminations and adolescent "accessibility" for gamers wondering where the space action went. Let's hope the pilot's spellbinding second hour points the way toward greatness.