Cashmere Mafia : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 6, 2008
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. BonnieB.
    Jan 17, 2008
    2
    As this show drew comparisons to Sex and the City, I grew skeptical that it could possibly live up to that kind of hype. As I sat and watched the first couple episodes, I kept thinking the same thing: WHO writes this crap?? This show sucks! It's not subtle, clever, or original. Take Sex and the City, which was relevant 10 years ago, mind you, water it down and take all the depth out As this show drew comparisons to Sex and the City, I grew skeptical that it could possibly live up to that kind of hype. As I sat and watched the first couple episodes, I kept thinking the same thing: WHO writes this crap?? This show sucks! It's not subtle, clever, or original. Take Sex and the City, which was relevant 10 years ago, mind you, water it down and take all the depth out of the characters, and hit the audience over the head with trite, so-called "edgy" concepts. I swear every other line is "a woman can do anything a man can do." If you have to say it so much, it kind of loses its meaning. I mean really, haven't we progressed past this? Complete crap. Expand
  2. KristinK
    Jan 24, 2008
    2
    Wow, it is embarrassing to see these talented actresses act and speak in scenes that are so clunky and stilted. The dialogue is atrocious, and the directing weak. After a few moments of watching, it started to pain me to see these women, whose work I had previously admired, say such idiotic things in these lame, contrived situations. Seriously, the writers of this show need to be Wow, it is embarrassing to see these talented actresses act and speak in scenes that are so clunky and stilted. The dialogue is atrocious, and the directing weak. After a few moments of watching, it started to pain me to see these women, whose work I had previously admired, say such idiotic things in these lame, contrived situations. Seriously, the writers of this show need to be replaced... Or, maybe they could only find non-guild writers for their show? Expand
  3. OwenG.
    Feb 27, 2008
    1
    Souless Blither
  4. BobA.
    Jan 7, 2008
    0
    Totally confusing and eminently turn-offable.
  5. ThomasH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    0
    One of the sponsors is a treatment for genital herpes. This show should be avoided the same way you'd avoid genital herpes.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. 60
    The new show from "Sex and the City" producer Darren Star, is a strained attempt to build another hit about four peacocky New York women who sip martinis and use the word "penis" as often as possible.
  2. 25
    The women aren't real, realistic, real-ish, real-esque or real-y. They don't even seem genuine in being fake.
  3. Because it's fun to watch the rich and mighty stumble and scheme, which novelists as diverse as William Thackeray and Judith Krantz have long known. In the first two episodes at least, the quality of the acting and the writing brings depth to what could so easily be the fetid shallows of life issues of the rich and famous