• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2005
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 92
  2. Negative: 59 out of 92

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BillS
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    Needs Tom, Crow, and Joel at the bottom of the screen. Push the button Frank!
  2. piffy
    Nov 7, 2005
    3
    I would have given a higher rating but too many commericals, that last too long losing the the thrill of the story.
  3. TommyO
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    I love sci fi. I love special effects. I also lost a home in Bay St. Louis, MS from Katrina so I know a little about bad weather. Category 7 was possibly the worst thing I have ever witnessed. It sucked as much as the tide did when leaving the Mississippi Gulf Coast.
  4. MikeP
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    Horrible writing, lame effects, waste of time
  5. JohnC
    Nov 7, 2005
    1
    This is great comedy disguised as a disaster movie. There's lots of hot babes to look at. I never thought global warming could be so funny.
  6. Toni
    Nov 7, 2005
    1
    Very dissapointing movie, it didn't capture my interest at all. The acting was only mediocre. I don't even think I'm going to bother watching the continuation next week.
  7. Ray
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    What a waste of time.
  8. WoodyW
    Nov 7, 2005
    1
    I turned it off after 5 minutes. Those two guys at the Eiffel Tower who saw it coming but went up there anyway? And stayed when other folks ran? Dumb. Worse than that, tornadoes are rated on the Fujita scale, you know F5 like in Twister? When they said Category 7, I was thinking hurricane. Given that the weather "experts" on this show said Category 7 tornado is dumb, dumb, dumb. One more I turned it off after 5 minutes. Those two guys at the Eiffel Tower who saw it coming but went up there anyway? And stayed when other folks ran? Dumb. Worse than that, tornadoes are rated on the Fujita scale, you know F5 like in Twister? When they said Category 7, I was thinking hurricane. Given that the weather "experts" on this show said Category 7 tornado is dumb, dumb, dumb. One more thing. Isn't the stereotypical know-it-all/do-nothing/nay-saying politician character about played out for this type of movie? Expand
  9. MattT
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    Terrible. The absolute worst thing I have ever seen on TV. Was it really supposed to be serious or was it a spoof? At times, I seriously couldn't tell. My favorite worst part had to be the frogs at the gala scene. Other than people dying, I couldn't see how it really related to anything, and furthermore, the frogs that they showed were completely harmless.
  10. KevinL
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    Too much going on! There was a soap opera within a soap opera within etc. Too many has been stars too!
  11. KyraJ
    Nov 13, 2005
    3
    Any actor who signed onto this mini series must realise by now their career is at a low ebb. It was absurd, but I watched every bit of it. Tivo'd it so I could zip through the ads, which made the four hour endeavor last approximately half that. Did I say absurd? 2 more tenths of a degree and the storm is over...yay!
  12. DavidK
    Nov 6, 2005
    2
    The scenes are same over & over with commercials every 5 minutes to change the channel.
  13. JulieP
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    I cannot describe how awful the first half of the mini series was. Horrible science aside, the plot just doesn't make any sense. Frogs? Was the Mount Rushmore scene really necessary?
  14. JosephL
    Nov 6, 2005
    1
    Like a terrorist at a 9/11 reunion party, this film couldn't be a less welcome addition to the network line up at a time when the weather is being a very fickle mistress to us all. This film, like most over the top disaster mini-movies, is a vehicle for actors who can't find their way onto a Taco Bell commercial anymore. It's also a good chance for liberal Hollywood to take Like a terrorist at a 9/11 reunion party, this film couldn't be a less welcome addition to the network line up at a time when the weather is being a very fickle mistress to us all. This film, like most over the top disaster mini-movies, is a vehicle for actors who can't find their way onto a Taco Bell commercial anymore. It's also a good chance for liberal Hollywood to take a pot shot at the government for it's environmental policies and educate us all on how much we're destroying aplanet that's survived full blown Asteroid hits, to say nothing of ice ages and a long history of changing climates and bad weather events. The special effects are far from special here and have been put to shame by amatuer film makers on this very internet you're using now. The real jewel here is whoever was in charge of the camera for his/her wonderful discovery of all the nice digital effects modern cameras can employ on the fly and their over use of them at times where it just didn't make any sense to do so. Over all, this film was bad, and I've only just seen the first half. If I tune in tomorrow, it will be to see how this sad train wreck ends for my own personal laughter. Expand
  15. AngelaB
    Nov 6, 2005
    1
    I only give it a 1 because of the obligatory, and repetitive, good special effects. This is a quintessential liberal movie that apparently doesn't realize that its fly-over-country audience just pooh-poohs with the familar phrase "Oh, come on!" after just 15 minutes. You can't get much more politically left than starting out showing the FEMA director getting replaced for I only give it a 1 because of the obligatory, and repetitive, good special effects. This is a quintessential liberal movie that apparently doesn't realize that its fly-over-country audience just pooh-poohs with the familar phrase "Oh, come on!" after just 15 minutes. You can't get much more politically left than starting out showing the FEMA director getting replaced for supposed incompetence, while trying their best to show what FEMA should be doing, not what it actually does, and shoving the debunked global warming theory down our throats again - and not only that, but that this info has been hidden from the public for years. They rip the president for not changing his stance against the Kyoto Treaty, and shorty after, the first presidential face to fall from Mount Rushmore: George. Oh, and don't forget the Chief of Staff is a Cheney look-a-like oil guy, who supposedly wields more power than the president himself. And to top it off, the movie makes a mockery of religious people, showing them as greedy and opportunistic. But, perhaps the movie is trying to be a parody of armeggedon, as the religious-nut characters are saying, as nearly all the characters are busy having sex, or wishing they were, through the whole movie. This is just as bad as "The Reagans" TV flop. As Rush Limbaugh says, this is movie is about what the left wanted to happen, thought happened, are trying to make happen. They think if they put it in a TV movie, maybe this is the same as recording history as it actually happened. Like I said, "Oh, come on!!" Expand
  16. johns
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    terrible
  17. PhilD
    Nov 6, 2005
    3
    So bad it was almost good. Bargain Basement special effects and a Creative Writing 101 script made me embarrassed for everyone involved with these shenanigans. Still, as I sat there smiling, slowly shaking my head back and forth with my finger constantly poised over the channel button on the remote control, I had to consider signing up with one of those "extra" agencies simply because it So bad it was almost good. Bargain Basement special effects and a Creative Writing 101 script made me embarrassed for everyone involved with these shenanigans. Still, as I sat there smiling, slowly shaking my head back and forth with my finger constantly poised over the channel button on the remote control, I had to consider signing up with one of those "extra" agencies simply because it looked like it would be so much fun running back and forth in front of the camera screaming like an idiot. Expand
  18. ShannonB
    Nov 6, 2005
    2
    It has an appealing story and compelling characters. However, the villianization of people of faith is purely insulting and wholey foolish since, according to a recent Gallop poll over 90% of people in the US believe in God and over 60% attend or belong to a church. Clearly the writers of this program have an ax to grind against Christian and unfortunately that got in the way of any good It has an appealing story and compelling characters. However, the villianization of people of faith is purely insulting and wholey foolish since, according to a recent Gallop poll over 90% of people in the US believe in God and over 60% attend or belong to a church. Clearly the writers of this program have an ax to grind against Christian and unfortunately that got in the way of any good the movie might have been. Expand
  19. ZackS
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    Category 7 is such utter crap it's beyond explanation. Even the special effects portions are just crap. The guy who was practically dead in a full body cast is now throwing objects and carrying people. Just crap.
  20. W.W.Stein
    Nov 7, 2005
    1
    Category 7 was catagorically pathetic. I love a good disater flick like no one else. Put lots of stars in an end of the world scenario add some good special effects, lots of drama, plausible sci-fi, and a good script and its heaven... or rather hell actually.This thing however forgot the whole concept of good script, good acting, and plausible sci-fi. The scariest part of the movie was Category 7 was catagorically pathetic. I love a good disater flick like no one else. Put lots of stars in an end of the world scenario add some good special effects, lots of drama, plausible sci-fi, and a good script and its heaven... or rather hell actually.This thing however forgot the whole concept of good script, good acting, and plausible sci-fi. The scariest part of the movie was that the writers actually took this film (cough!) seriously!!!!??? The whole anti-bush/big energy conspiracy BS was so transparent it's pathetic. Don't waste your time watching the second part. Expand
  21. BillM
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    As a scifi movie this was pure crap. However as comedy, this was the funniest thing I've seen in a long time! My two boys and I laughed and made fun of it for the full two hours. It was like MST3K in the comfort of own couch. It that SR-71 still flying around up there?
  22. selmao
    Nov 7, 2005
    3
    awful to watch unless you are desperate for some "entertainment" - killing time until a better program comes on.
  23. TylerW
    Nov 7, 2005
    0
    I turned it off 10 minutes into it after they had made their political statements and their religious statements but the very best part in this primetime program was when the teenager took a picture of her left breast on her cell phone and sent it to one of her friends to make another teenage boy jealous. That was brilliant! Where did you get that idea from Hugh? This show was pure garbage!
  24. PaulF
    Nov 7, 2005
    1
    This has shown that something can both suck and blow at the same time.
  25. BrianW
    Nov 7, 2005
    3
    After just going through Hurricane Wilma, I did not need another storm movie. But I watched in disappointment of the acting and low budget effects. Oh well, another Sunday night wasted!
  26. GaryL
    Nov 7, 2005
    2
    To call the acting in this movie "belabored" is a compliment. A for the stars, Gershon is on the edge of losing control from her appointment to head FEMA throughout the first episode; the air of desperation is unrelenting and she is not skilled enough to prevent its becoming tiresome. Cameron Daddo, Gershon's co-star, is equally unappealing as a maverick weather guru whose family To call the acting in this movie "belabored" is a compliment. A for the stars, Gershon is on the edge of losing control from her appointment to head FEMA throughout the first episode; the air of desperation is unrelenting and she is not skilled enough to prevent its becoming tiresome. Cameron Daddo, Gershon's co-star, is equally unappealing as a maverick weather guru whose family portrait should appeear in the dictionary next to "dysfuntional." The rest of the cast comes off as slightly bored, with the exception of the ever-bombastic Randy Quaid, who spends the movie dashing around America sniffffing out bad weather. The story line is a mishmash of every bad disaster, hostage, and political intrigue film ever to air on TV. Save yourself the pain; watch CSI reruns! Expand
  27. JeffB
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    The only reason I even gave this thing a 1 was for a couple of chuckles pertaining to the absolutely absurd nature of the science as well as the somewhat comic caricature of storm chaser Tommy Tornado (Dennis Quaid). And please, when you make a movie as ludicrous as this do not get all preachy and politically active (Kyoto accord, etc...) as no one on either side would claim this picture The only reason I even gave this thing a 1 was for a couple of chuckles pertaining to the absolutely absurd nature of the science as well as the somewhat comic caricature of storm chaser Tommy Tornado (Dennis Quaid). And please, when you make a movie as ludicrous as this do not get all preachy and politically active (Kyoto accord, etc...) as no one on either side would claim this picture and want it in their court. Finally, when you make a movie about science (even fiction), know something about the topic before you get started...or find a better director and cast to at least elevate the entertainment value. And for those interested advertisers who run their mostly inane commercials (Subaru, get some new stuff!!!), which if I actaully remember and of their names (trying to forget Subaru) I will make a point NOT to buy whatever they are selling because the are STUPID!!! Have a great day! J. Braun Expand
  28. BrittM
    Nov 13, 2005
    2
    I gave it a 2 based solely on some good looking actresses. I started reading all the reviews while I was watching it. I was googling Suki Kaiser. who played "Gayle" That's how bad it is.
  29. me
    Nov 13, 2005
    1
    Love Randy Quaid, he was hilarious. The rest of the movie? The biggest mess of dreck imaginable. It did have entertainment value. I watched it fascinated at the level of how really bad it actually was. Offhand, I can't think of anything that I've viewed in many years that was as bad as this one. No exaggeration.
  30. BillB
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    Worst movie ever. I don't think it was suppose to be a comdy, but I found myself laughing a lot. The first cat 5 hurricane I have seen with no rain and 40 mph winds. It is amazing that they went to so much trouble to cut the power to save the day when usually a storm of that size would do it for you.
  31. PaulG.
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    A complete waste of 2 hrs. According to the TV guide understood it was a rebroadcast, but learned part 1 was on week earlier (and not a repeat). Poor casting with abysmal acting and dialogue. Add a confusing kidnapping plot, political turmoil and bizarre science. Felt cheated; would have actually liked to have seen a category 7 destroy Washington's political landscape and not a A complete waste of 2 hrs. According to the TV guide understood it was a rebroadcast, but learned part 1 was on week earlier (and not a repeat). Poor casting with abysmal acting and dialogue. Add a confusing kidnapping plot, political turmoil and bizarre science. Felt cheated; would have actually liked to have seen a category 7 destroy Washington's political landscape and not a solution for saving it before it actually reached a 7 (also tornadoes are registered on an F scale). CBS, just like those tornadoes, you blew it! Expand
  32. NeilG
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    I just wasted my four hours on this downright pathetic movie. I was hoping to see actual good stuff like a storm hit cities, people frantically running around like dumb morons. The crappy movie jumped from scene to scene for no reason. 100% of the content in this movie is pure pointless. If you would like to waste your time on this bull****, then. . . . make sure you insult the movie as I just wasted my four hours on this downright pathetic movie. I was hoping to see actual good stuff like a storm hit cities, people frantically running around like dumb morons. The crappy movie jumped from scene to scene for no reason. 100% of the content in this movie is pure pointless. If you would like to waste your time on this bull****, then. . . . make sure you insult the movie as you watch it. Expand
  33. Andrej
    Nov 14, 2005
    3
    The C7 movie took two Sundays to reveal to the world. Part 1: 9/10. Spectacularly futuristic visuals and suspense, and every disaster was right to the point... no needless 25min. long preperations for a fast-paced 2-min. long showing of tornados, and there was a lot of it to be seen in a short time span. (Nobody gives a **** about plot anymore. Everybody wants to be amazed in these The C7 movie took two Sundays to reveal to the world. Part 1: 9/10. Spectacularly futuristic visuals and suspense, and every disaster was right to the point... no needless 25min. long preperations for a fast-paced 2-min. long showing of tornados, and there was a lot of it to be seen in a short time span. (Nobody gives a **** about plot anymore. Everybody wants to be amazed in these movies, with or without preperatory background information, and CBS got that concept for one weekend.) The theological and political stuff kept me near the fast-forward button of my VCR for when I went to see it again 4-5 times. I want to deal with none of it. Part 2: 2/10. All the contradicting, expected, slow, overplanned, ridiculous, and unnecessary b.s. from "Category 6: Day of Destruction" came back in this part. People are out driving in these storms as if they're dealing with only gale-force windstorms, while entire buildings should be flattened in seconds, and 25min.-long plots are dedicated to kidnaps and personal rescues in one of the many so-called "special" buildings. Gradually, you knew it was all going to be a waste of your time and a continued falling below of expectations. (After all, this is "The End of the World," as it says in the subtitle, right? Wrong!) I got even more ****ed off when they introduced this magic fix to this storm, and you knew that since it's cinema, it's gonna be all right after all, the rescue efforts would have to succeed, and it would not be "The End of the World." What an overhyped subtitle! When the **** are the filmmakers of these disaster movies ever going to admit that saving the world can't be done so that they finally can focus on the visual stuff that worked? At the current rate, I can't wait for Category 8 if that ever comes out. Actually, I can. Just let me set up my tornado cam in the parking garage to record it. I'll be all right, trust me. Expand
  34. chucks
    Nov 14, 2005
    0
    I couldn't quite keep up with plot (?) because I was laughing so hard. 1) The perky redhead in the Mini-Cooper disappeared toward the end of the movie--never to be heard from again (it was a very small car); 2) Randy Quaid and Shannon Dougherty. . . kissing-- Ewwwwwwwwww! That was a horrible image that I, unfortunately, took to bed with me. No wonder I couldn't sleep. 3) Having I couldn't quite keep up with plot (?) because I was laughing so hard. 1) The perky redhead in the Mini-Cooper disappeared toward the end of the movie--never to be heard from again (it was a very small car); 2) Randy Quaid and Shannon Dougherty. . . kissing-- Ewwwwwwwwww! That was a horrible image that I, unfortunately, took to bed with me. No wonder I couldn't sleep. 3) Having missed Category 6, I didn't even know what a Cat 6 or 7 storm might do. Didn't really matter, though, did it? 4) The disaster crew with the jerry-rigged computer system didn't even know the wind speeds of a Cat 5 storm (something that we Weather Channel buffs could have consulted on). Altogether, a dismal four hours that I'll never get back! Expand
  35. [Anonymous]
    Nov 14, 2005
    1
    Sucked
  36. JohnsonW
    Nov 14, 2005
    0
    What a piece of crap. Plot - stupid. Dialogue - moronic. Characters - empty. Science - ridiculous. Religion - childish. I truly question my sanity on why I would finish watching it. It's like - why would you smell the milk when you know it went bad....
  37. LeeF
    Nov 15, 2005
    3
    This movie was FUNNY! Loved how the head of FEMA ran around dressed like some eighth-grade twit girl -- surprised her boobs didn't flop out. Kept expecting her to do a lap dance with whatever the hell his name is, that tortured meteorologist wuss. Shannon Doherty is NOT aging well -- she could be the main event on Fright Night. Or maybe it's her inner self shining through ala This movie was FUNNY! Loved how the head of FEMA ran around dressed like some eighth-grade twit girl -- surprised her boobs didn't flop out. Kept expecting her to do a lap dance with whatever the hell his name is, that tortured meteorologist wuss. Shannon Doherty is NOT aging well -- she could be the main event on Fright Night. Or maybe it's her inner self shining through ala Dorian Gray? At least Quaid knew he was in a farce and played it that way. This movie would've been a whole lotta fun if they'd all played it that way. The sign of a really bad actor is trying to act when the material isn't worth it. Didn't ya just love how they just turned off the storm? At least the message was anti-Bush -- IF anyone stayed around long enough to figure it out. Heh. Expand
  38. davidg
    Nov 15, 2005
    0
    totaly sucked!!!!!!!. what was with the horrible annoying and crappy slow motion effects.
  39. BrianT
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    Completely ridiculous!!! The social interactions between the characters are utterly nauseating. The odds of all of this ever coming together are beyond astronomical. Pure crap!!!
  40. JoelD
    Nov 6, 2005
    2
    So ridiculous, it's almost hilarious. I laughed out loud at the most serious moments. It is a caricature of a caricature of a caricature of itself.
  41. RobinB
    Nov 6, 2005
    3
    I have seen this movie before - Twister, Day After Tomorrow and every other bad, bad weather movie in between
  42. A.Brown
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    This is the most overhyped disaster drama I have ever seen . This Story could have been edited to a half hour and it still would be a stinker. The special effects, realism and story line must have been put togetherby a committee of drunks. Horrible drama
  43. SamuelT
    Nov 8, 2005
    0
    Lousiest TV Movie I've ever seen, hands down. There's something else here at work in this mini-series however ...something very insidious...
  44. DelG
    Dec 5, 2005
    0
    I was hoping that the world WOULD end while watching this crap.
  45. RichardC
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    Category 6 sucked! Category 7 is the worst! If they put out a Category 8 film, it's gonna be endsville!
  46. DerekW
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    Oh my god, this show is so bad it's painful. The worst stereotyping in history. Evil Republicans, crazy religious fanatics, evil oil companies. Are Howard Dean and George Soros the producers?
  47. MJS
    Nov 13, 2005
    1
    I thought it was absurd satire/farce. OK, bad absurd satire/farce, but still. James Brolin was positively comedic, with the hysterical caps and all. The "syense ficshun" must have been researched by Disney gnomes. Hope they got well compensated for it. There's a new 6 Flags ride comin' out of this one, I tell ya!
  48. Markr
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    Anyone notice how debris flies around the streets while theres not one leaf blowing on the trees? Or how the politition got sucked off the stairwell, yet noone else was having a hard time keeping their footing? this movie is so stupid IM embarrased. And yes this is absolutely written by leftist socialist retards who have an ax to grind, and they believe we're all so stupid we wont Anyone notice how debris flies around the streets while theres not one leaf blowing on the trees? Or how the politition got sucked off the stairwell, yet noone else was having a hard time keeping their footing? this movie is so stupid IM embarrased. And yes this is absolutely written by leftist socialist retards who have an ax to grind, and they believe we're all so stupid we wont notice and we will all fall blindly into their way of thinking like cattle!! Expand
  49. chuckw
    Nov 13, 2005
    1
    What kind of budget was this made on? $100k, and what is up with the stupid slow motion at the end of each scene. fire that director. only good thing about the movie is that Shannon Doughterty can continue her "B" movie career. What a loser.
  50. nilleh
    Nov 17, 2005
    1
    That was the most disappointing show ever. And since when did the Fema director have a hand in doing scientific things to stop a disaster from happening. We all know in real life they would have showed up a couple of days after the disater happened. Atleast it could have been realistic.
Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 9 out of 11
  1. Accidentally ridiculous. [4 Nov 2005, p.69]
  2. As bad as the original was, the sequel is even worse.
  3. 25
    It has moments of being so-bad-it's-good, which is to say it's at its best when it's a near-satire of the genre. But it drowns in redundant action scenes and sentimentality.