Chaos : Season 1

  • Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 1, 2011
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Mar 30, 2011
    88
    It's "The A-Team" meets ... really good writing.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Rule-breaking law enforcers! Wherever have we seen this before? But it sure works Friday, seasoned with devil-may-care brio from a cool cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    I found little to object to in the pilot for Chaos, a mostly male action-adventure hour that is energetic and mildly amusing from time to time.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 30, 2011
    67
    Chaos can be amusing in spots, although it's hard to envision it as a long-distance runner. It might be housing a breakout star, though [in James Murray].
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 1, 2011
    60
    As is the case with pilots, the seams tend to show--the bountiful expository dialogue makes no effort to veil its purpose, and the production is a tad too insistent that we find these scamps charming. But they are fairly charming at that, and though the spy stuff is all unconvincing hokum, the company is easy to bear.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 30, 2011
    60
    There's a promising show here, and with time maybe Chaos can figure itself out.
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Apr 1, 2011
    50
    It's a not always comfortable mix of action, drama and comedy, and if it's far from the worst new series to hit the airwaves this season, it's also not at the top of the list. It's a little too middle of the road for its own good.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 1, 2011
    50
    Like so many networks shows this season, it asks us to settle for "not bad" when what we want is "good."
  9. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Mar 30, 2011
    50
    The show's jarring shift in tone suggests a touch of the film "Syriana," as well, all of which leaves us with a hard-to-digest influence soup. It's as if a novelist were telling you that she wrote while under the spell of both Salinger and Nancy Drew.
  10. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Mar 28, 2011
    42
    Filled with familiar faces, from Eric Close to Tim Blake Nelson to Kurtwood Smith, the show aims for breezy fun, but to sell the premise of eccentric spooks tracking terrorists, the humor has to be better than the jabbering wisecracks and frenetic sight gags here.
  11. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 7, 2011
    40
    More often, though, the laughs range from tepid to nonexistent.
  12. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 1, 2011
    40
    This one pushes the zany aspects too hard, trivializing the missions while neglecting such elements as grit, wit and heart.
  13. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 1, 2011
    40
    Maybe it will work. Maybe it will sort itself out in time for viewers to figure out what they like. For now, it feels chaotic.
  14. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 31, 2011
    40
    I didn't hate the pilot, though it veers from silly to serious so quickly a girl could get whiplash, but I didn't for a minute buy it as a serious contender for next fall on CBS, either.
  15. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Mar 31, 2011
    40
    CBS's new spy spoof, CHAOS, which premieres Friday at 8 p.m., starts out in the hole by knocking the amiable and amusing "The Defenders" off the schedule, and it never crawls out all the way. At least, it's something different, unless you count a show that was on 47 years ago, or a lot of the ones on USA.
  16. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 25, 2011
    30
    If you're at all discerning, it's like getting peanut butter on your steak. You'd rather have that separate. And on different nights.
  17. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 29, 2011
    25
    FX's spy parody Archer is funnier, and AMC's short-lived Rubicon was a more sharply realized fantasy of work life in a shadow bureaucracy. This is a botched mission. [4 Apr 2011, p.50]
  18. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Apr 1, 2011
    20
    The show's acting offers no respite. Scenes unfold very slowly, as characters talk quickly but pause at the end of each speech, often holding a self-satisfied smirk as if listening to an inaudible laugh track.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jun 22, 2011
    9
    I really don't know why people are not catching onto this show. It is brilliant and amazingly humorous. I feel like this show is completelyI really don't know why people are not catching onto this show. It is brilliant and amazingly humorous. I feel like this show is completely underrated and it is nobody's fault other than CBS. I had luck, I had a friend tell me about this show who actually only found out about it from another friend of hers. Word of mouth is great and everything, but don't cancel a show because you don't have the views you want but didn't bother to advertise CBS! Not to mention that CBS has aired the episodes out of order in an epic failure to get more viewers, and so the story and characters progress without any real viewer understanding. CBS, that is just outrageous, it really is. This show has major potential. If only more people would get the chance to see it!... Full Review »
  2. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Enjoyed the show. Light hearted, humorous, and just good entertainment. Sorry to hear it might not be continued. Please reconsider.We alsoEnjoyed the show. Light hearted, humorous, and just good entertainment. Sorry to hear it might not be continued. Please reconsider.We also like "Flashpoint" but like to see more "Chaos". Full Review »
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed the humor, much better than Undercover. Pilot was awesome. Although not as good as Alias in the drama department. I am watching itI enjoyed the humor, much better than Undercover. Pilot was awesome. Although not as good as Alias in the drama department. I am watching it during the exam season, so that should tell you how much I enjoyed it. Full Review »