Comic Book Men : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 12, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by saying I'm a huge Kevin Smith fan and comic book geek so no matter what I'm going to enjoy this show. I've spent the last 3 years listening to Smith's podcasts, and I've been waiting for this show since the summer. With that said I did enjoy the show, I liked the Pawn Stars take with buying merchandise, and I enjoyed the competition at the flea market. I feel this is aLet me start off by saying I'm a huge Kevin Smith fan and comic book geek so no matter what I'm going to enjoy this show. I've spent the last 3 years listening to Smith's podcasts, and I've been waiting for this show since the summer. With that said I did enjoy the show, I liked the Pawn Stars take with buying merchandise, and I enjoyed the competition at the flea market. I feel this is a show that anyone who's a "Kevin Smith" fan could enjoy, but I feel that like his films this show won't reach outside his core fan base. I'd like this show to get a second season and continue, which I don't know if it will, but I'll say that I'll enjoy it while it lasts. I feel any comic book fan, or Kevin Smith fan should at least give it a try and see what you think of it. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Only one episode so far but I'm in already. Look it might not be for everyone but if you are at all into the world of Kevin Smith and what he does then you'll enjoy this. Some I imagine were hoping that AMC would of looked into other shows to follow Walking Dead but give AMC credit for trying something outside of there comfort zone. What I will say they have done right is unlike most showsOnly one episode so far but I'm in already. Look it might not be for everyone but if you are at all into the world of Kevin Smith and what he does then you'll enjoy this. Some I imagine were hoping that AMC would of looked into other shows to follow Walking Dead but give AMC credit for trying something outside of there comfort zone. What I will say they have done right is unlike most shows like this it doesn't feel cheap and quickly put together it feels as if someone put the time and effort into the show and it shows. Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    My teenage son and I watched the show after The Walking Dead and we are addicted. The guys on the show come off as real people and are naturally funny. I don't know what it is but Bryan is very funny. We are worried that it won't get picked up for another season.
  4. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    I will say that if you aren't remotely interested in comic books and superheroes this isn't the show for you. I didn't expect much from this show, as I'm not the biggest Kevin Smith fan, I was pleased to see very little of him in the show. The guys in the comic book shop are pretty funny together and the characters who come in to sell memorabilia should be pretty entertaining.I will say that if you aren't remotely interested in comic books and superheroes this isn't the show for you. I didn't expect much from this show, as I'm not the biggest Kevin Smith fan, I was pleased to see very little of him in the show. The guys in the comic book shop are pretty funny together and the characters who come in to sell memorabilia should be pretty entertaining. Definitely not deserving of a zero, as I have seen much worse shows than this. Give it a try. Expand
  5. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    Makes you smile and laugh because the characters are so endearing. This is a show of friends doing something they love and it's not at all about the money.
  6. Feb 4, 2013
    7
    When this show first came out, I thought it was stupid so I didn't watch it. Finally decided to give it a chance on Netflix and I am glad I did because it's a pretty solid show. It does have a target auidience though so if you don't like Comics, You more then likely won't like this show. If you enjoy Pawn Stars then you would enjoy this. Only bad thing I have to say about it is that theWhen this show first came out, I thought it was stupid so I didn't watch it. Finally decided to give it a chance on Netflix and I am glad I did because it's a pretty solid show. It does have a target auidience though so if you don't like Comics, You more then likely won't like this show. If you enjoy Pawn Stars then you would enjoy this. Only bad thing I have to say about it is that the one hour run time sort of pushes it, I'd like to see what the show is like when it's only a half hour long. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This show is awesome. It is a lot of fun. It reminds me of me and my friends. Only difference is The comic book men have the best job ever. Working at a comic book store.
  8. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    MH Heintz's book "Black & White" rocks! His pencil's drawings offer a unique vision often full of sarcasm and dark humor that exercise your brain muscle...
  9. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    Ok, before I begin this show is easily my favorite show I have watched since I watched Spongebob when I was a kid in the late 90's. So let us begin. The humor is extremely clever and witty but actually relates to the main focus of the show, that being comics and overall about the nerdy community. As a comic book and collectible collector ever since I was around the age of 4 it brought backOk, before I begin this show is easily my favorite show I have watched since I watched Spongebob when I was a kid in the late 90's. So let us begin. The humor is extremely clever and witty but actually relates to the main focus of the show, that being comics and overall about the nerdy community. As a comic book and collectible collector ever since I was around the age of 4 it brought back a lot of amazing memories of my father and I going to conventions that were 3 hours away. Seeing the items that the customer bring in was also really awesome. The coolest part is seeing these people who work in the store and the people who are selling the items are so immersed into it. If shows passion that most shows don't show anymore. It is also very cool that the amount of pride they take being from Jersey. Which is refreshing to see people who love where there from. Overall this show is amazingly enjoyable and always making me laugh but also allowing me to enjoy a old past time of mine. I do understand that this show will not appeal to everyone, mainly because not everyone is a comic nerd like myself but, for me I love it. Expand
  10. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    I approached this show ready to hate it as I had heard all the negative stuff on the Internet about it. However, after watching it, I have to say I really enjoy this show. The cast comes across as real people, and they are pretty upfront about what's staged and what isn't. It took a few episodes to find it's footing, but the Pawn Stars of Comics thing really works for me as a comic fan. ItI approached this show ready to hate it as I had heard all the negative stuff on the Internet about it. However, after watching it, I have to say I really enjoy this show. The cast comes across as real people, and they are pretty upfront about what's staged and what isn't. It took a few episodes to find it's footing, but the Pawn Stars of Comics thing really works for me as a comic fan. It also has some extremely funny moments, and even a few touching sequences, like when you get to meet Bryan's niece, or see Walt tear up when he gets his anniversary surprise. It's not the greatest television show ever, but it's not trying to be, and that honesty is refreshing. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 10, 2012
    80
    Given the characters who also turn up looking to sell comics and memorabilia, Smith's original idea--"Pawn Stars" with comics--might have been enough to win him a slot just about anywhere on cable. The podcast just makes it funnier.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    Oddly enough, many viewers may not need to know DC Comics' Issue No. 1 chapter, verse and thought bubble to find Comic Book Men mildly amusing.
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    The illustrated title sequence of Comic Book Men depicts these guys as musclemen in tights, but the scenes that follow are strictly mild-mannered.