Conan (2010) : Season 1

  • Network: TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 8, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 6
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Dec 8, 2010
    60
    If it felt much like an episode of one of Conan's old shows, the Conan debut also felt like a middle-of-the-pack example. Some funny bits, some other obligatory moments, and a good feeling to have the guy back, but nothing extraordinary like, say, his final week on "Tonight."
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Dec 8, 2010
    60
    The first lines of this new chapter were promising, if not quite the fulfillment of his last wild nights at NBC, when caution was thrown to the wind.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Dec 8, 2010
    60
    The show is called Conan, but it felt at times as if it should have been labeled "I'm Not Jay."
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Dec 8, 2010
    60
    Sure, there were some good bits in there. It wasn't that Conan put on a bad or unprofessional show, just a very conventional one.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    There were no attempts during the hour to tweak the tiresome late-night moves for cable, to expand beyond what late night TV means on the networks.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    Most of it was funny stuff, and the audience lapped it up, having long since accepted Conan as contemporary media's cuddliest martyr. For those outside the hard core, though, the sands may be running through the hourglass on this drama, from which Conan is the last major character to move on.
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    The message, overall--insofar as you can take a message from one episode of a talk show, which you can't--is that Conan the show is not so much about a reinvention of the talk show form as a restoration of Conan.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    Once he got past the opening, very little in the premiere could be called inspired. The set didn't break any ground cosmetically, and director Allan Kartun's fondness for shooting O'Brien from behind during the monologue seemed perplexing, if not distracting.
  9. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 8, 2010
    50
    It's a fine line with Coco. For every funny line he squeezed from his anger Monday night, he missed the point of pathos.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    CoCo is back and... samer than ever! I semi-expected something different on TBS, but Conan basically did his same old show, perhaps a bit moreCoCo is back and... samer than ever! I semi-expected something different on TBS, but Conan basically did his same old show, perhaps a bit more like "Late Night" than "Tonight", but basically the same. If you think that he does that format much better than Dave and Leno (which I do), this is a good thing. If you expected some changes to the format on the basic cable (where he also goes against Stuart and Colbert)... there were not to be seen on the first night. But the main thing is that Conan is back (with Andy) on the air! Let's hope the ratings stay high just to annoy NBC and Leno. Let's also hope they allow him to change the stale nightly talk-show format (monologue - some running bit - guest 1 - guest 2 - music/comedy performance). Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2010
    6
    I like Conan's sense of humor and his writing background. To be honest, my late night viewing is more determined by the guests and musicI like Conan's sense of humor and his writing background. To be honest, my late night viewing is more determined by the guests and music performers. Conan and George Lopez haven't measured up. Full Review »
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    8
    A good show and I haven't missed one yet. However, I wish Conan would go back to his roots. It seems like he tried to cater to NBC's wishesA good show and I haven't missed one yet. However, I wish Conan would go back to his roots. It seems like he tried to cater to NBC's wishes on "The Tonight Show", and hasn't dropped that act. Hopefully he does that soon. Full Review »