• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 97
  2. Negative: 57 out of 97

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    4
    yeah dads are a pain in ass i enjoyed the first episode . now its just old . comedy still terrible and its just old i rather watch Seth Greens Robot chicken .
    Grade F
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    God awful. Yet another example of the cast outpacing the writing. If Fox saw fit to cancel Arrested Development, this series has no chance. Why Seth Green, who has spent a good portion of his career lampooning lame shows like this, would sign on to something so bad boggles the mind.
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    Seth MacFarlane was doing great. Ted, Family Guy, American Dad, Cleveland Show. Then Dads came a long, and nearly destroys all that hard work. Thankfully, we'll all forgot about this disappointing show
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    3
    I love Family Guy and American Dad and thought this had a good shot since Ted was so enjoyable. But, no. It wasn't funny, was poorly written, and even the very talented cast couldn't make it work.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    1
    The actors are good, the writing is terrible. The jokes are lame, the laugh track is lame, the premise is lame. The characters are void of any personality. This show should be studied and examined thoroughly for any aspiring writer as an example of what not to do.
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    1
    Well, I don't get why the 2 lead characters are having exactly the same issues with their own dads. The concept could be interesting, but it's something like you already have seen before!
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    1
    This show is terrible. It is a shame that these actors have stooped to this level. Jokes are so dumb, and not funny at all. Stupidest show ever. Kill it!
  8. Dec 12, 2013
    1
    Really hard to watch. Funny that the show caused such a stir for "offending" people. Feels like that just feeds the flame and probably tempts the network to pigeon-hole the show for people who see that as a good thing. It's probably capable of more.
  9. Sep 25, 2013
    0
    Effing awful! I thought for a minute the audience was being pranked. Not one laugh worthy joke and it only got worse as the rest of the cast went through their painful expo. Wow, ridiculously poorly written.
  10. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    TOTALLLLY INAPPROPRIAT FOR THE TIME-SLOT----DEFINITELY NOT FUNNY,TERRIBLE LANGUAGE,DRUG USAGE PROMOTED AND ANNOYING CANNED LAUGHTER...WE HAVE ENOUGH PROBLEMS WITH ILLEGAL DRUGS IN THIS COUNTRY ---WE DO NOT NEED A TV SHOW PROMOTING THIS AS COMICAL,ACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR----SHAME ON EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THIS ATTTTTROCITY---WHERE ARE YOUR MORAL VALUES?????
  11. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    Lame, unfunny and kind of racist. I love Seth McFarlane, from Family Guy and Ted. Big fan of Seth Green again in Family Guy, Robot Chicken and other works, bit this....this...??? Seriously? It made me want to pull out my eyeballs and scoop out my brain with a melon baller through the eye socket.
Metascore
15

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 26 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    The writing on Dads is so straight-up horrendous that one wouldn’t be surprised to see it in the middle of a “Family Guy” episode as an attempt by MacFarlane to satirize bad sitcom writing.
  2. Reviewed by: Lily Moayeri
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    With such a superior comedy cast, it's deplorable how far this badly written and directed show has dragged them down.
  3. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 19, 2013
    0
    Creatively speaking, Dads comes off as if it were a much-resented homework assignment for all involved.