• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 13, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Dance Moms Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The reality show takes a look at the Abby Lee Dance Company where girls between the ages of 6 and 13 learn competitive dance.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Reality, Game Show, Arts
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    Once you get past the reality-TV grabbers, you realize that while there is some of that, more importantly there's a lot of Miller. It is great to watch her work.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Jul 13, 2011
    75
    Inexorably transfixing, whether you're taking names or taking notes.
  3. 67
    I love a show about crazy stage moms, and at moments this one doesn't disappoint.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jul 15, 2011
    0
    The new worst show on television debuted Wednesday night on Lifetime--Dance Moms, an ugly docu-circus featuring a megaton bully of a Pittsburgh dance instructor, the little princesses she costumes as lunatic street whores, and a quorum of strenuously pathetic stage mothers, one of whom warbles that she would slit her wrists if her daughter even thought of trying out for softball.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Horrible people are what makes reality programming memorable and that's what sets Dance Moms apart. The little girls mother's are horrible. Little star Maddie is rotten, but the very worst of all is Abby Lee Miller, the star of the show and the major domo of the allegedly world-famous Abby Lee Miller Dance Studio, a small cinder block building in a suburb of Pittsburgh.

    Abby is hysterical in every sense of the word. She is a dead-ringer for Divine as Edith Turnblad in the original Hairspray movie. Abby is so over the top that one wonders if this is a Christopher Guest - "Wating for Guffman" type satire rather than supposed reality. Episodes are loaded with "Waiting for Guffman" type moments as we meet an variety of third-rate show business detritus presented as "one of the biggest talent scouts on Broadway", etc..

    The little girl dancers are generally innocent victims of their attention starved mothers - who should know better - and the tyrannical Abby. The one exception is little angelic star Maddie who is easy to detest.

    The show has turned into a suprise hit and has been renewed for a second season. I'm wondering is someone from Alleghany County Child Protective Services should intervene.services is
    Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    I love this show!!!!! Yes Abby is critical but these are very spoiled little girls with even more spoiled Mothers and when these kids get out in the real world they will thank Abby for all the strict discipline!!! Collapse
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    I Love this show. If you can get over the strong, confident Abby, this is the show for you. I little bit of everything. Trust Me you will enjoy yourself. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    I love this show. Every episode is packed full of dance mom drama which can be stressful at times but its all worth it in the end when you get to watch the girls dance. They truly are incredible and the show showcases their talent while also keeping viewers involved in drama created by their mothers. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    Despite its clearly bogus chain of events, Dance Moms remains a thoroughly and surprisingly enslaving look into the life of a scary dance teacher, the impressionable dance kids, and their pushy mothers. If it wasn't for the delightful antics of the mothers, this would remain a mediocre documentary with some fat woman screaming at blonde girls. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    Three caveats, I'm a dude, I almost never watch reality programming, and I don't have kids. So why the heck would I spend 47 minutes of my life watching this? Originally it was morbid curiosity. I wanted to see the train wrecks. The Toddlers and Tiaras show sounded too far outside my comfort zone, but I thought since these girls ostensibly learned an actual craft, it would be a stomach-able compromise. I also think athletics and team sports are valuable experiences for young people, so I climbed down off my high horse and tuned in.
    Hey, kids are kids, that never changes, and this show is not about the kids. It's about American culture, women's gender roles and how damaging stereotypes are handed down from mother to daughter in the form of destructive personality disorders. The mother's are the stars.
    I try to critique media within the confines of it's genre and or sub-genre. I look at what's successful in that medium and try to make comparisons regarding professional competency as well as what might move the medium forward (the purpose of art, no?). You can't do any of that with this. It's pure sugar and salt, utterly nutritionless. A young girl couldn't even watch this for the value of the competitive routines because the performance in quick edits before going back to the reaction of the mom's. But that's pretty much what I expected, so what's my verdict?
    It's not a guilty pleasure. A rich dessert is a guilty pleasure, this is corn nuts, pop rocks, and mountain dew. The Dance teacher is competent, the kids are cute and driven, but none of that is appreciated. I would like to know more about the girls and their individual motivations and struggles. But the 'reality' is that wouldn't get ratings. It's disposable pap, the train wreck I tuned in to see and complain about. And if that's it's value to the medium, then I'll just get back up on my high horse and ride to a pasture with fewer gopher holes and cow patties.
    Rated 4 out of sympathy for the kids who might know how to use google.
    Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2012
    1
    This show is depicting the people I always think about when I ask myself why is the world such a mess. If you want to feel depressed then watch this show, and pity the children in it, then go and give your own father and mother a giant hug and bless them for NOT BEING LIKE THE FREAKS ON THIS SHOW! Expand

See all 8 User Reviews