Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 17, 2013
    91
    The story has ample pulling power. But the music is its driving force--all day and all of the night.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 17, 2013
    90
    It’s a lusciously shot and brilliantly written and acted account of how the British aristocracy and progressives in high society fell in love with what can best be described as the tantalizing edginess of jazz music and the sense of exploration and wonder it brought to those who heard it even though society at the time was not ready to accept what it all implied.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Many of the people we meet in the cast are good guys, which gives Dancing a hopeful tone, even when the odds go the other way. We want the folks who deserve it to win, and so does the show.
  4. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    Dancing is so carefully curated with period detail that it is sometimes rendered inert, especially in this bloated premiere. But it's worth sticking around for the remaining four parts to enjoy the still-fresh music and the agile performance by Matthew Goode as a shady journalist. [18 Oct 2013, p.61]
  5. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    Though the gorgeous production starts out slowly and has its pompous moments, it's ultimately worth your time.
  6. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Oct 18, 2013
    70
    [A] dignified and sometimes moving mini-series.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 18, 2013
    70
    There's some lovely Jazz Age music (by Adrian Johnston), charismatic performances and a story worth telling in Starz's evocative but languorous five-part miniseries.
  8. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 21, 2013
    63
    While Dancing On the Edge features what should be a compelling story, acted by a top-notch cast underscored by a terrific jazz soundtrack, it’s not quite as riveting as I expected.
  9. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Oct 17, 2013
    60
    While the atmospherics are great and the cast is impressive, the weight of the film is too much for the slender premise.
  10. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 17, 2013
    58
    What's missing is passion, joy and (ultimately) interest.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    Dancing [isn't] without elegant moments. It’s just that in the slow waltz of a miniseries that envelops them, someone forget to hone its edge.
  12. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 17, 2013
    50
    The script, by director Stephen Poliakoff, who also directs, has its good parts, but every few minutes, the quality is undone by characters announcing things to advance the plot, as opposed to dramatizing events.
  13. Reviewed by: Phil Dyess-Nugent
    Oct 18, 2013
    42
    The only times Dancing On The Edge doesn’t move like molasses are during the brief moments of excitement or pleasure.
  14. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 18, 2013
    40
    There is no edge to Dancing on Edge, a drama sunk by its pretensions--one, to be sure, that does come clanking to life somewhat in a madly melodramatic final episode. A long wait, for little.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    I have not had more enjoyment, nor my wife, from anything on television, as good as this. The writing is superb, the acting, impressive, and the cast, Oh, the cast. This begs to be a series.......Please? I think Angel Colby is incredible. Jenna Coleman is absolutely wonderful, and John Goodman was very intense. My mind kept wondering where the storyline would go, and it never disappointed me. The photography and lighting was excellent, and the patinas on all the old buildings just added to the era feel of the movie. Costumes were perfect. The whole thing was grand. I Loved it. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Please ......please.......please continue this series I would like to see what happens when Louis goes to America if he fines his old bandleader and starts a new band. Also if his girlfriend finds Louie in America and how their relation fairs in America............please continue the story!!!

    I Love this series, and want more I have watched it about five times, I love the music the acting the actors. Please continue the series!
    Full Review »