Deal or No Deal : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 19, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 376 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 376

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    An excellent Game show that is so entertaining you will want to super glue yourself onto the seat. So many dramatic moments and that joy dance when you get $200,000 is really cool. If this is not the best game show i am not sure what else is better.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is one of the most memorable game shows ever created. You'll like the suspense of seeing which case holds the big bucks and which does not. This is my kind of game show.
  3. Feb 1, 2011
    1
    Deal or No Deal has become this annoying itch that, no matter how much you scratch, you cannot satisfy. The problem with this show is that the show "awards" too much money on the way to $1 million. Nobody wants to try for the million because they want to pocket the oodles and oodles of money offered by "The Banker". The excitement of this show is totally gone and the novelty of HowieDeal or No Deal has become this annoying itch that, no matter how much you scratch, you cannot satisfy. The problem with this show is that the show "awards" too much money on the way to $1 million. Nobody wants to try for the million because they want to pocket the oodles and oodles of money offered by "The Banker". The excitement of this show is totally gone and the novelty of Howie has taken that bus to "who cares land". Deal or No Deal - close that case! Collapse
  4. kathleenc.
    Oct 12, 2007
    2
    I always loved this show and would of given it a 10, however this evening bringing out the snakes in the case, was in very poor taste! In doing that to someone you are lucky that case didn't get spilled onto the stage!!!
  5. RandyM
    Sep 28, 2007
    0
    This has got to be one of the phoniest Game Shows ever concocted by some half-witted producer.I mean think about it People----Haven't you ever noticed how in the waning minutes of a contestant's time, the remaining case amounts are ALWAYS 2 or 3 extremely low amounts (i.e.$1,$5,$10 or maybe $25) and 2 or 3 very large figures like $100,000 ,$300,000 $500,000 or even the million. This has got to be one of the phoniest Game Shows ever concocted by some half-witted producer.I mean think about it People----Haven't you ever noticed how in the waning minutes of a contestant's time, the remaining case amounts are ALWAYS 2 or 3 extremely low amounts (i.e.$1,$5,$10 or maybe $25) and 2 or 3 very large figures like $100,000 ,$300,000 $500,000 or even the million. What are the odds of that happening EVERYTIME? I mean just by the random odds of probability it looks like that at least every once in a while, the REMAINING amounts would be either ALL below $500---.or to the other extreme--- ALL above say $50,000. You know what I mean,Vern? Also you can tell that some of the Contestants have been "coached" before the show into acting or should I say over-reacting, with Howie. But then again making a complete a## of oneself makes for some great Ratings and NBC knows this all to well. Expand
  6. DavidM.
    Sep 26, 2007
    0
    This is got to be, without question, one of the lamest,phoniest game shows ever conceived by some half-witted NBC producer. I mean, People haven't you ever noticed how in the waning moments of every Contestant's time in the spotlight,his/her choices ALWAYS comes down to choosing between either 2 or 3 extremely low amounts (i.e.$5,$10,$25) and 2 or 3 fairly high amounts (i.e. This is got to be, without question, one of the lamest,phoniest game shows ever conceived by some half-witted NBC producer. I mean, People haven't you ever noticed how in the waning moments of every Contestant's time in the spotlight,his/her choices ALWAYS comes down to choosing between either 2 or 3 extremely low amounts (i.e.$5,$10,$25) and 2 or 3 fairly high amounts (i.e. $50,000,$100,00,500,000) I mean- think about it-what are the odds of the choices coming down to extremely low amount choices vs.very high amount choices in the last 10 or 12 minutes of EVERY game? Looks like at least, every now and then just by the random odds of the game, it would come down to choosing between either all high numbers at the end OR all low numbers.-- .Know what I mean,Vern? I'm telling ya this show is as phoney as a $3.00 Dollar Bill, and the Contestants trying to out do each other by acting a fool --but then again NBC wouldn"t have put them on the show if they weren't willing to make an a** out of themselves--it makes for good viewer ratings. Expand
  7. time
    Jun 7, 2007
    3
    The show (originally) was great. But since the initial segments...the offers seem to have spiraled downward...which, to us, makes it boring and predictable. So why bother? The challenge is gone and we've lost interest. Howie , however, is great...as always! It's too bad...it was so much better in the beginning..never missed it!!!
  8. ShirleyA
    Mar 6, 2007
    8
    Contestants are too silly. Deal or No Deal is going to lose these viewers. We like Howie and the girls very much.
  9. UFreakVonGator
    Feb 20, 2007
    1
    There is no product here,...as with (seemingly)EVERY new "show" its, "Sell the sizzle, because the steak is bad meat"! I watched last nights show, and today I am dumber for my efforts. Howie is Mr Clean with a cordless phone. This show "does" NOTHING!....its guessing!
  10. leonardp
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    it to hard to vote on your 5 cases on the internet
  11. TonyT
    Feb 7, 2007
    6
    I Tivo this show and watch it in about 10 minutes. They waste so much time it's ridiculous. It rates an 8 when I can fast forward thru most of it, and about a 4 when I have to watch the whole thing.
  12. VictoriaA
    Feb 4, 2007
    8
    I love the show, especially Howie Mandel being the host. The only draw back to me is when some of these individuals, act out of character, screaming, yelling, acting crazy, going over board, it turns me off, example, one woman who kept slapping Howie back side, I did not find it was approriate, if a man did this to this female, boy, it would have being another story. VICTORIA
  13. heesoonc
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    i love howie and learn a language from his gorgeously warm voice.
  14. ScottW
    Feb 3, 2007
    0
    Incredibly stupid and boring. There's no skill, talent, or intelligence involved in the show; contestants just guess numbers. It's lame and repetitive, although I imagine people who are too dumb to succeed at real gameshows love it.
  15. jeanK
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    My whole family watches "Deal or No Deal" and we all think it is a great show. It's funny, it's breath taking at time, the themes they come up with are great, and just plain excisiting to watch. We think your great "Howie".
  16. AdamJ
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    The best programme ive watched
  17. RogerK
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Great Show. I think it is a cool of winning money and cash.
  18. Tish
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    I love the show! It is so exciting and I love the way they make it personal for each contestant. We can't wait each week to watch it!
  19. MerleD
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    Deal or No Deal is an awesome show!! I think it is a cool way of winning a lot of cash. I would love to have a chance to win 1 million dollars. Howie you look great!
  20. angelaS
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    I am so stuck on this show..I love it..I watch it on chanel 4 and 44..One day I would love to be on this show..
  21. DZ
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    This show is so great and Howie Mandel is a great entertainer, furthermore the show sets the beautiful and ugly women apart when holding suitcases. If they want to really do a worse show have people like ugly fat reviewer Liz hold suitcases and display their FUPAs holding the suitcases as well. I will continue to watch and masturbate
  22. MaryF.
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    Deal or No Deal is my best favorite game show on Tv. I wish Deal or No Deal be on tv 3 times a week like Monday ,Wednesday , Friday. I hope that Deal or No Deal be like Bob Parker of Prices is Right. Howie Mandell is best host of this gameof Deal or No Deal.Keep top rating show of Deal or No Deal and keeping on the air!!!
  23. Liz
    Nov 23, 2006
    0
    This show is so stupid and Howie Mandel is a bore ,furthermore the show sets women back 50+ years in the way they just have all these bimbo type women holding suitcases. If they want to really do a better show and insist on the bimbos they should at least make it fare to both sexes and display MALE bimbos holding the suitcases as well. I will not watch this show until they do this for the This show is so stupid and Howie Mandel is a bore ,furthermore the show sets women back 50+ years in the way they just have all these bimbo type women holding suitcases. If they want to really do a better show and insist on the bimbos they should at least make it fare to both sexes and display MALE bimbos holding the suitcases as well. I will not watch this show until they do this for the women viewers in America. Expand
  24. jeannineb
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Really great entertaining show
  25. SallyH
    Nov 19, 2006
    6
    I love the show, but, please, please , please tell Howie that " the offer would have wen t" is terrible grammer !!!!! "would have gone " is correct !!!! Twice he's said that...and I cringe...
  26. ek
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    I've been wathing this show for a while and I still think it is great. Maybe those who think other wise better get more of an excitable life. What's wrong with a non intelligent show? There are people who would like to participate in a show and just can't. Call me stupid but I love Howie and he is a great host. I hope I will get on the show at on time too. I never miss a I've been wathing this show for a while and I still think it is great. Maybe those who think other wise better get more of an excitable life. What's wrong with a non intelligent show? There are people who would like to participate in a show and just can't. Call me stupid but I love Howie and he is a great host. I hope I will get on the show at on time too. I never miss a show and even my 3 year old will sit and watch it with me so I can even get a quiet time. Your a loser if you don't like it. GO HOWIE!!! Expand
  27. LisaC
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    I love this show, I think Howie is soooo cool and makes the show and the girls are darling. Make sure it stays on cuz there's more viewers than not,
  28. LorettaL
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    I never miss a show,its a must to see,best show on tv,Howie is a brilliant host,i find myself talking to my tv,(as if the contestant is going to hear me)gigglinnnnnnnn,to put on a show that makes peoples hopes and dreams come true,is a miracle,its funny,loving and I believe the LORD will Bless this show and keep it going forever...its every day people pulling together hoping for the very I never miss a show,its a must to see,best show on tv,Howie is a brilliant host,i find myself talking to my tv,(as if the contestant is going to hear me)gigglinnnnnnnn,to put on a show that makes peoples hopes and dreams come true,is a miracle,its funny,loving and I believe the LORD will Bless this show and keep it going forever...its every day people pulling together hoping for the very best for the contest, Howie your the Best.... God Bless.....a devoted fan of the show.....a canadian gal.(smiling) Expand
  29. JaneW
    Oct 16, 2006
    4
    Drags on way too long. Too much talking from Howie, only get to see 1 person win per episode.Losing interest in this show
  30. HelgaS
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    The best show ever. Howie is the greatest host
  31. matthewd
    Oct 12, 2006
    10
    its a mint show nothing is as good as deal or no deal
  32. mandys
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    i love this show so much i'm always yelling at the t.v. saying take the deal!
  33. CodiH
    Oct 3, 2006
    9
    The only thing that would make this show better is if I could get on the show and win big. I am a special education teacher in a small town in Montana and winning big would be amazing.
  34. danb
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    very good show
  35. coopermalicious
    Sep 16, 2006
    0
    Moronic nonsense.In England the show is presented by Noel Edmonds,a pint sized gnome,who believes in 'cosmic energy',terrible jokes and jumpers.I have tried not to hate him,I really have. The show becomes particularly annoying when the contestants are 1.Inbred fools 2.have devout faith in a 'system' relying on 'gut feeling', 'fate' and Moronic nonsense.In England the show is presented by Noel Edmonds,a pint sized gnome,who believes in 'cosmic energy',terrible jokes and jumpers.I have tried not to hate him,I really have. The show becomes particularly annoying when the contestants are 1.Inbred fools 2.have devout faith in a 'system' relying on 'gut feeling', 'fate' and 'faith'. 3.seize their moment in the public spotlight with cringeworthy over zealous exuberance. Expand
  36. JasonMalaprop
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    There are many great shows out there, and Deal or No Deal is an exception. It's awesome. If you haven't seen it yet, it's a must-watch. The electronic and DVD games are good buys as well.
  37. marlenen
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    How I wish you would choose my application, I recently sent in. To be a contestant on your exciting, great show would be my dream come true!
  38. britneyt
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    i love it!!
  39. cbby
    Aug 22, 2006
    5
    This show seemed like a good idea at first, and it was. i watched it every day it came on for a while, when it only came on once a week. Then it started coming on two and then three times a week. Now the whole concept is boring. When season two comes around, if it is only once a week, I will watch it, but if not, their audience will start droopping greatly, I believe.
  40. stevep
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    Best game show ever,would like to buy the first season on dvd.
  41. DathanJ
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    Love your show, I would love to be a contestant.
  42. MenghG
    May 26, 2006
    10
    its good that we see now here in philippines (RP Version)
  43. CJMasantonio
    May 24, 2006
    9
    Deal or No deal just could be one of the longest running game shows in the history of television. Finally, a game show that sparks total mesmorization. The risk-reward scenerios of this game mimic the 9-to-5 grind of the everyday work world. Howie Mendel is the perfect host for this excellent show. His quirky bald head, and inability (or phobia) to shake contestant's hands adds to Deal or No deal just could be one of the longest running game shows in the history of television. Finally, a game show that sparks total mesmorization. The risk-reward scenerios of this game mimic the 9-to-5 grind of the everyday work world. Howie Mendel is the perfect host for this excellent show. His quirky bald head, and inability (or phobia) to shake contestant's hands adds to the wackiness of this original, yet simple game concept. Each contestant has their own story to tell, as they introduce us to loved ones, and thoughts & desires if they just win "the big one." I am sorry, but I am changing my rating to a 9.9. PS: The models ain't 1/2 bad either, especially #3! You can't lose with this one. Conshy, PA USA Expand
  44. DonnaR
    May 17, 2006
    10
    I am still trying to figure out how to register online and beable to vote instead of text messaging.
  45. alyssas
    May 17, 2006
    10
    hi i love your show it is so cool
  46. ColleenW
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Addictive...that's what this show is! Would love the tension that these people go through...fantastic!
  47. ANNF
    May 16, 2006
    10
    i really Like the show i can't wait to see DEAL OR NO DEAL time and i've got other people watching i Tell every body i meet it is more then just a game show it is wonderful i would love to be on the show the host Howie Mandel is excllent i'm not sure that i know how to text messages the show can you tell me how thanks
  48. KarlaR
    May 16, 2006
    10
    As a family, we watch the show every time it airs. Now, we are trying to put it to the test and can not wait until our turn is up!!!
  49. KarenM
    May 12, 2006
    8
    It keeps me on the edge of my seat every time i watch this show..
  50. Aliciad
    May 10, 2006
    10
    its fun and it realist your stress
  51. britneyt
    May 9, 2006
    10
    i love it!!
  52. jaymeeg
    May 2, 2006
    10
    I love Deal or No Deal...it IS for the ultimate gamer. Finally a game show that keeps me on the edge of my seat.
  53. WilsonH
    May 2, 2006
    8
    Critics and users have said that Deal or No Deal is uneducated and just randomly pick numbers and because of that people gave this show bad marks. America do not care, they just want the contestants to win BIG ($646,000) and the show's rating is always consistent in contrast to 'Millionaire'--people doesn't get the big bucks only ($32,000 or even $1000 or at worst Critics and users have said that Deal or No Deal is uneducated and just randomly pick numbers and because of that people gave this show bad marks. America do not care, they just want the contestants to win BIG ($646,000) and the show's rating is always consistent in contrast to 'Millionaire'--people doesn't get the big bucks only ($32,000 or even $1000 or at worst $0)--Americans hate that and Millionaire (Regis) went down the drain. Overall: The Good--the beautiful ladies, and the host Howie Mandel is excellent The Bad--i felt that the contestant are staged somehow and sometimes way over the top Expand
  54. KarenP
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    My kids can't wait to watch this show. We are putting in to try and be on the show and we can't wait. It's an awesome show to see if you have never watched it.
  55. BernaM
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    Love the show
  56. SamanthaG
    Apr 24, 2006
    10
    i like the tv show
  57. CubbieA
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    This show is very entertaining. I especially love the little "wrinkles" they throw in ... like the on-air proposal, the pony, the hummer, the woman's kids opening the cases.
  58. MikeD
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    Great show, how can I try to be a contestnant????
  59. DennisA
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    Outstanding show Best on TV right now
  60. soniah
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    this is the great and wonderful show i ever watch,and the poor people has a chance to win the price and change thier life....more power. i love Howie...
  61. abcefg
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    its a very good show but u should double or even put more money on the table come on its not liker some one is going to relly win yet and when u do keep 100,000,000 on the board.
  62. RhondaI
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    I give the show a 10. I
  63. MaryAnnN
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    Great Show. Relaxing and wonderful show. How do we bid for the $10,000.00. What does Text Number Mean. Thank you. I love Howie
  64. katiee
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Great show, never miss one! I want to win the 10,000 someday!
  65. erint
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Just a good idea for a show!
  66. RoyL
    Apr 3, 2006
    2
    I was a big fan of this show but the longer it goes the longer it takes to open the boxes cases. Monday night (4/3/06) the contestant had opened some boxes in the previous show and it took 80 minutes to finish with the contestant. If the show is not speeded up I will quit watching. Roy
  67. patriciah
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    we love the show especially howie mandel and the money. please keep the show on,
  68. AmandaM
    Apr 1, 2006
    10
    I love this show. Great family entertainment!!!!
  69. BelliahT
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    I am not a TV person, but I can admit, this show took my attention, and I find myself glued on the couch with a lot of excitement to see what some one will take home. I even participated in the picking of boxes using a text message. I picked box 6 which turned out to be the box with $10 000. The question is will I be paid the money or not? All I can say this show is a lot of fun.
  70. joycem
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    my husband watches with so much excitement you would think he was going to pick up the check at the end. He even perdicts the bankers amount, and most of the time can choose the correct case.However here we sit..watching the trills from our sofa. He truely enjoys this show.
  71. laszlok
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    we can;t wait for every showtime to start!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  72. babemm
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Will you do a show in S. Calif? Will you tell me if I can get tickets then. Or I will come to NY to be on.
  73. JimH
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    love this show-Howie Mandel is terrific-haven't missed a show yet-
  74. ConnieG
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This show is the bomb! I would not move from my seat, even during commercials for fear of not making it back on time. I love to see people win and get what they have long deserved...like homes, vacations, pay off debts, college money for kids, etc. Don't stop showing this game...my life will never be the same again!!!
  75. LennardW
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    enjoy your show
  76. SaraD
    Mar 24, 2006
    9
    I love this kind of game show where everyone in the family can get involved and play. Keep it up Howie..
  77. melf
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    its a great show.mywife and i both wish we could get on the show.
  78. FelecciaW
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    This show is awsome! I wish it was on more, like 2 hours instead of one.
  79. BarbaraS
    Mar 22, 2006
    8
    fun....... people love to see other win
  80. JoyceB
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    I think this game is great. I watch everytime it is on t.v. My whole family watches it when it is on too.
  81. DonnieW
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    I think this is the best game show ever
  82. carolp
    Mar 21, 2006
    8
    how do i get on the show?
  83. WayneR
    Mar 20, 2006
    5
    Interesting and entertaining. I ike the show, but it moves way too slow, too much wasted time...makes viewing very boring. Pick up the pace or I won't watch it any more
  84. BrendaWiseman
    Mar 20, 2006
    10
    Love the show!!! I have became a big Howie fan.
  85. tinavandermark
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    i think the 10,000 game is a joke. they don't tell u that u have to pay for all there stupid text messages i racked up 60 dollares in cell charges
  86. JasonR
    Mar 20, 2006
    2
    I'm gonna have to go with the Boston Globe on this one.
  87. KIMM
    Mar 17, 2006
    10
    Good family entertainment,very interesting, keeps you in suspense & Howie Mandel is great!!!!! I love every minute of this game show. The best I've seen in a long while. Keep up the good work!!!! I'm very much interested in being on this show. How can I become a contestant on Deal Or No Deal? Thank you Kim
  88. vickiel
    Mar 17, 2006
    10
    I love this game it is fun and it also makes u feel like if our whole family is there. Our family sees the show all the time when the show is on this is ower family night to see the show and enjoy it. Its a fun game to watch.
  89. RichardC
    Mar 15, 2006
    9
    I think the show is great and only wish i could get on it for a chance
  90. LaShondaH
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    I love the show and me and my husband watches it everytime it comes on just dying to be a contestent. We love it and if it go of the air we won't know what to do.
  91. laytonb
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    I Love this show.Rock on howie!
  92. chrish
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    Me, my mom, and my dad love this game show we watch it every day it comes on. we would love to be on this show. GREAT GAME SHOW!
  93. jamesg
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    its a great show me and my wife dont miss it and it so fun we play it on the internet all the time and how do i get on the show and good luck and i hope the show last a long time
  94. SONDRAL
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    i love the show and am aching to be on it
  95. LindaS
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    One of the best entertaining shows I have seen in a long time. Our family and friends love it as well.
  96. KevinD
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    This is the best show ive ever seen its tied with american idol Howie is fun to watch with the players and we have tivo so when there are commercials we can fast forward them and just get back to the show!!!
  97. KaylaM
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    this is the greatest show ever its just so fun to see people happy! i almost cant stand the intenceness! ha but i LOVE THIS SHOW IT ROX!!!! WHEW HOWIE IS AWESOME
  98. peggyc
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    great stress show even at home
  99. jamesa
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    great
  100. timb
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    i use this show as a punch line sometimes.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. 20
    It's only a few shades more adult than, say, playing with blocks.
  2. That it has been a hit in 35 nations... reveals that there are more international threats than terrorism and global warming.
  3. 100
    Maddening and exciting.