Deception : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 7, 2013
Deception Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The death of Bowers pharmaceutical empire heiress Vivian Lawson brings her childhood best friend, Detective Joanna Locasto (Meagan Good) undercover to discover who killed her.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    On first blush, Deception is smart, stylish and involving. In time, it could drift. But, for now, enjoy the kind of storytelling that gives its core cast something interesting--and watchable--to do.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 7, 2013
    70
    If you are looking for some upscale junk-food--beautifully packaged, nicely performed, delectably plotted, but shot through with hot air and likely to make you queasy by the time you reach the end of the bag--look no further than NBC's soap-mystery Deception, which starts tonight, and is, at least for now, scrumptious.
  3. 63
    Deception isn't like super-soapy "Scandal" or over-the-top "Revenge" (which has gone seriously downhill this season) in that both the story telling and the acting seem more realistic.
  4. Reviewed by: Daniel Goldberg
    Jan 3, 2013
    50
    The writers, for their part, certainly inspire confidence when it comes to the sturdiness of their vehicle, and that's no small feat. It's the intervals between the intrigue, however, that feel regrettably squandered, and the characters' rare moments alone reveal little more than the actors' lack of direction.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 7, 2013
    50
    Vivian's secrets are predictable. Judging from the first two episodes, Joanna is not much of a sleuth. Scene set-ups go nowhere. Minor characters are brought in, disposed of, and the show bumps along to another complication.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 7, 2013
    40
    Deception, in trying for something more "real" and not quite getting there, feels fake. There is little chemistry between the people who are supposed to have it.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 7, 2013
    20
    Deception just seems sloppily constructed and poorly written, wasting some good actors (Victor Garber, Tate Donovan and Meagan Good) in the process and never giving you a reason to care.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    The show is great. Its interesting, suspenseful and entertaining without being over-the-top. It's realistic and I hope it comes back for aThe show is great. Its interesting, suspenseful and entertaining without being over-the-top. It's realistic and I hope it comes back for a second season. I love this show. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    I can't believe they canceled this show. This was the best show on NBC and they got rid of it and kept all of the other crap. So what if theI can't believe they canceled this show. This was the best show on NBC and they got rid of it and kept all of the other crap. So what if the show is similar to ABC's Revenge? It does not make it a bad show! Those who say the show is bad are nuts. Collapse
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    5
    This show had a good premise and some of the episodes were entertaining. The show just seemed to drag. I could have been a fairly good showThis show had a good premise and some of the episodes were entertaining. The show just seemed to drag. I could have been a fairly good show if they cut the episodes to eight. Dragging it out the writers seemed to run out of ideas and just added filler. Not the best show, but far from the worst. Perfect for binge viewing. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    Same thing over and over again. The whole time I was watching the pilot, it kept reminding me of Revenge (ABC's hit mystery/drama televisionSame thing over and over again. The whole time I was watching the pilot, it kept reminding me of Revenge (ABC's hit mystery/drama television series), not because they are similar to each other, only because Deception follows the same pattern and the formula Revenge used in its first season (obviously, I'm not talking about the storyline, only talking about the formula and technique to complete the storytelling). Anyway, it wasn't as impressive as I expected it to be, just like the reviewers said, this is a bit dull. The show needs a fresh style of storytelling or else it won't survive long. Its pilot was just like the pilot of the CW's Beauty and the Beast. Boring and pathetic, followed by lame acting. Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    2
    I don't think this show has anywhere to go after they solve the mystery of who killed Vivian. What are they gonna talk about? I don't thinkI don't think this show has anywhere to go after they solve the mystery of who killed Vivian. What are they gonna talk about? I don't think this show is like Revenge, but I don't like it much either. Expand