• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 474 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 474

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    For me Season 7 is the most interesting this show has ever been after having watched two episodes. I've always been a fan of Dexter although it felt as if it was getting more and more uninteresting. Now that his sister knows who he really is we are learning more about Dexter's character than ever before. Both episodes had creepy breathtaking moments where we could see Dexter at his best. On the downside scenes of the rest of the team has been working on have been quite boring. But there are definitely more things to come with LaGuerta looking into the killing of Doakes and Louis Greene trying to ruin Dexter's life. I'm really excited and can't wait for the next episodes. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    the one thing that always been proved that however know Dexter secrete is ether dead or gone but this time its different Cuz this is Debra **** morgan this time there is someone who's not going anywhere ,,, I think all Dexter fan dig this and as always the writers always show us that therre is a story here about the Ukrainian mob and whatever,,,, they show us that this is not some lame drama show this show is about a serial killer ( a good one ) always been always will be and all the drama is just a side story .......................... Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    9
    This is the "Dexter" that I missed last season. Yeah, the killers were interesting, but there wasn't any real interesting developments with the main characters; obviously this season is different. I can't wait to see where the story goes.
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Alas, the dreaded moment dexter has been avoiding his entire life has come to pass, and its every bit of a rollar coaster that we could wish for, this season delivers on all levels (so far) and i can't wait to see how it pans out.
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Dexter probably is the one of the greatest shows ever made and this season shows that. The relationship between dexter and deb,the drama,the action,the horror all are amazing filled with breathtaking moments and excellent acting and directing
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    4
    Season 7 is a frustrating mixed bag. Just when you think the show will hit its stride, it falters with weak plot devices and laughable dialogue (the inner monologues have become eye-rolling groan fests). I'm a huge fan of the series, but the show is past it's expiration date.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    1
    Not to be rated after one or two episodes because while starts off well it turns into the dreadful contrived mess that S6 turned out to be. Boring love interest, ridiculous plot turn of a crime writer appearing from nowhere. After a great first few episodes they've just given up (again!).
  8. rah
    Oct 15, 2012
    10
    After what seemed like an incompetent 2 seasons, Dexter finally finds its stride with Deb's new revelation. The combination of the brother-sister dynamic, moral ambiguity, and suspenseful plot have us waiting to see what will happen week after week. Based on the first three episodes and Michael C. Hall's incredible performance, I can tell this season will prove one of the more interesting and more entertaining seasons in Dexter's history. I highly recommend watching this phenomenal season and phenomenal show. Dexter is without a doubt, back on top. Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2012
    1
    Season 1 was excellent but S7 has squandered an excellent opportunity to delve into humanity. What the (amaterish) writers have done is given us melodramatic rubbish. Deba is annoying in what she does and the show is now annoying too
  10. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    So good! But I'm concerned as to what is actually going to happen to Dexter once people figure out his secret...where will the plot go from there? The fact that no know knew about Dexter and his dark passenger gave something to the show but now that Debra knows will this mean that some part of the show will be compromised although I understand that this had to happen.
  11. Nov 22, 2012
    5
    How many seasons is it gonna go through playing the same old plot out again and again. Dexter finds a girl. Dexter almost gets caught. Dexter kills some people. Repeat. If this shows doesn't end this season and he doesn't finally gets caught I'm out...
  12. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    One of the best seasons till date. One of the most interesting developments: Deb's relationship with her brother. She's become as important as Dexter for me. A brilliant character soooo very well played that I don´t understand why Jennifer Carpenter is not collecting emmys at home.
  13. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    After a not-so-extraordinary season 6, Dexter is back! With a bang! Courtesy to an amazing new storyline, a talented supporting cast (including Yvonne Strahovski as Hannah McKay & Ray Stevenson as Isaak Sirko), an absolutely brilliant performance by Jennifer Carpenter (definitely worth an Emmy nomination), and a perfect performance by Micheal C. Hall! Glad the show finally made these changes, and finally after the 4th season, we get to see the Dexter that we all missed! Cant wait for Season 8! Expand
  14. May 21, 2013
    0
    I loved the first 5 seasons of Dexter, as each one developped a new side of his personality (even if according to the man himself "he only has one level"). We got to know him as a serial killer with a dark childhood, then as an addict trying to cover his tracks. Season three saw him as a family man and loving father to be and season four trying to juggle too many roles. There were many funny moments, until the unexpected demise of innocent Rita. However, season 5, with his theme of redemption and the introduction of another innocent character was also pretty interesting. I also liked the Deb-Quinn relationship, on the same path of redemption.

    Unfortunately it was downhill from there. Season 6 was risible with its Biblical killings and some of the worse investigative work ever. Not to mention the ghosts.... But this season was terrible. It lacked focus, moving from Ukrainian mob to sexy female killer to arsonist. The love stories were atrociously bad and cliche'. Once again Dexter thinks he found another serial killer who can "understand him" and love him the way he is. Of course, it does not hurt that said female killer could also be a model.

    All females in Dexter are stereotype pretty, with perfect features and gorgeous bodies. Plastic girls with plastic souls, therefore perfect for Miami. So Dexter is happily in love, producing the most cringe-inducing dialogues ever. Quinn is also in love, guess what? With yet another babe, a luscious blonde stripper. Deb may (or may not) be still in love with Dexter. They all lie their way through the whole series. In fact, they lie so much that I found it difficult to keep track and then I lost interest.

    I wished intensely for Dexter to get killed by Isaak, or at least for his morally revolting girlfriend to get her pretty face smashed by a baseball bat. But cheating liars don't get as much as a bruise. I wish they pulled the plug on Dexter in season 5. Serial killers should not get to live happily ever after and this story is dragging on and getting extremely repetitive. What is worse, is not even remotely funny as it used to be.
    Expand
  15. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    A great season since the fourth excellent writing and acting keep it up..team Dexter :) 1.) Micheal C. Hall is excellent as always.
    2.) Guest star Ray Stevenson is steals the show.
  16. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    "Dexter is the show more exciting, dramatic and elaborate ever seen. And this season is unique as is each season,
    Dexter is no longer a secret, tries to deal with Debra and the things she discovers ... and a new murderer of a mafia that wants to kill cops ... the story is so great
  17. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    When I started watching Dexter for the first time I was thinking "Wow, this show is going to be amazing," and that statement stayed the same throughout the series until season 6 where it lost nearly all of its intense and surprising moments (Although season 5 did start the downhill trend). After all that I was starting Season 7 with the notion that watching this show might become a chore and there will be nothing left to keep me coming back each episode besides an obligation to see it through to the end, which so happens to be season 8, but man was I in for a surprise. When I started season 7 it was exhilarating! Obviously we knew Debra caught Dexter from last season, but the way they pushed that story forward was crazy. It was something they did not beat around the bush for and the show benefited from that in a big way. Now with the way the first episode ended and how the following episodes are only complicating the situations between Dexter and Debra (in a good way) while also intensifying things on the inside of Miami Metro and with the storyline around the Mafia I can only see this as being one of the greatest seasons. Collapse
  18. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    So far so awesome! This season's game changer has brought a level of intensity that has grabbed me attention since the first 5 seconds. 5 episodes in, and I think we have a new "best season" on our hands.
  19. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    Last season had some interesting visual pieces for the show, but otherwise was extremely lackluster and predictable. This season started off with an episode that was somewhat fairly plotted, but with poorly written dialogue. After a bumpy start, I think this season has gotten much better, and seems to be continuing on the right path.
  20. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This seventh season has a spicy tone than last season and actors like Yvonne Strahovski & Ray Stevenson are excellent, and brings a poetic touch that is sometimes lacking in dialogue with American actors. Expand
  21. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    I was going to write this show off after season six since I thought that the series was going nowhere and was quite boring. But I needed to watch season seven at least the first few episodes because of the big cliff hanger at the end of season six. Needless to say, I'm glad I watched the whole season because the series redeemed itself with this season.
  22. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    I admit I was a little worrried because after reading the plot online, It seemed like a poor season with lack of a good villain. However, after watching a few episodes and realizing that the main villaini is played by Ray Stevenson, All my worries went away. Only two episodes in but it has been pretty solid so far.
  23. Nov 11, 2012
    3
    This series was good for one whole episode. It gave me confidence that we were finally on course for a season like 1, 2, or 4, but no such luck. We are back to season 5 and 6's paint by numbers, yawnfest, tedious melodrama filler. When a series is lumped with shows like Homeland, Game of Thrones, American Horror Story, and Walking dead there is an expectation that it shouldn't rather be lumped with the Wiggles. Expand
  24. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Much better than the previous season. There are several interesting dynamics in this season. The relationship between Deb and Dexter and then the complication of Hannah is very interesting. Also this season does what the other seasons really don't do. It makes a villain seem very human. Unlike in other seasons were the big serial killers of the season were pure evil or close to pure evil both Hannah and Isaak's characters are in ways relatable and are much more morally ambiguous. Expand
  25. Jul 1, 2013
    4
    honestly i didnt like this season and couldnt find anything markable. this season was diffrent but not good.
    i wanted to see some actions but dexter and fellas do nothing, exept debra's F-words storrytelling is garbage!
  26. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its amazing. Season 5 was a dreadful mess, then Season 6 was much better, still wasn't the greatness as Season 4, but better. Dexter executives knew this had to be the best season or else the last remaining audience would have been alienated. I can finally now write a fair review to this season now that I've seen all 12 episodes. Season starts out where Season 6's GIANT cliffhanger left off: Debra catching Dexter killing Travis Marshall. There are 3 parts of this season. Part 1 of this season focused on Debra trying to figure out how to deal with her brother's secret, part 2 was Debra dealing with Dexter's new found love Hannah McKay (Yvonne Strahvoski of "Chuck" fame) who, by the way, was the best Dexter love interest since Rita. And part 3 was Debra trying to protect Dexter and keeping the homicide branch of Miami Metro sane and intact. Issac Zirko (played by Ray Stevenson) was simply a great antagonist for Dexter is Season 7. The way he thought he could kill Dexter, and had the best chance to do it out of all the other Dexter antagonists, IMO. The way the writers transitioned from Zirko to the final stretch of the season was seamless. It was like the start of a whole new season, and in a way it was. The season finale was an episode that many saw coming since LaGuerta found the blood slide in S7 E1, but NOBODY could have seen it happen the way it happened. Debra killing LaGuerta was easily just as shocking as last years shocker with Debra finding Dexter, and thinking about last years cliffhanger seems like ancient history compared to what happened in the Season 7 finale. I was a little disappointed in the way the season finale ended, no big cliff hanger like previous seasons, but that is seriously the only complaint I have for Season 7. Can't wait for Season 8, the final season. Should be amazing. Expand
  27. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What happened to the writers??? This season was what we were waiting for for so long and the result is just a huge disappointment and a waste of talents! The script is so poor compare to the previous seasons that for the fist time I do not even want to know what is coming next. The story with the Ukrainian mob is just depressingly common, barely worthy of a regular police TV show. The whole story and dialogues are highly predictable and even worse, it is as if the actors themselves are completely bored by it judging from their poor performances. Finally the new Debra is totally boring and the so-called 'romance' between Dexter and the woman-killer is just too easy and was predictable from the beginning. Let's just hope they will try to make it better by the end of the season... Expand
  28. Dec 9, 2012
    3
    In today's society, there is something more terrifying than blood and gore. The idea everyone is getting in their head that the bad guy or only half bad guy is somehow the hero. That is absolutely going to be part of the downfall of society. Believe it or not.
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Dexter is my man..just can never wait until Sunday night!! I still wish
    Remus ( Julia Stiles ) would have filmed just one more season
    With Dexter. Also the book "Darkly Dreaming Dexter" was
    also a good read!! I hope this show "never" ends!!
    I also adored him in Six Feet Under, another wonderful "dark" show!!
  30. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    Dexter's found a way to stay watchable despite more than likely having overstayed it's welcome. Ray Stevenson looks to be one of the better recurring opponents dexter has faced yet and the second narrative with Hannah adding an interesting love triangle not really seen before on the show. It may have brushed the Deb finding out storyline aside rather too easily but still a gripping season altogether. Expand
  31. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    Dexter is the fastes hour on TV. I love this season, seems strangley less dark (?) anyway, if you have never watched Dexter, start at season one, you will be hooked. Unless you are offended by profanity or some gore.
  32. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    The season premiere had me more excited than I was after watching the season 2 premiere. Here it was his sister who found him. I think it was the best episode of the show. But they couldn't capitalize on the great start and introduced subplots no one was interested in. I was a bit disappointed and left off after episode 9, and came back after a while only because I could not quit after 7 seasons. The last three episodes really redeemed the whole season somewhat, and my score jumped from 7 to 9. The show did not stop short of letting the plot get morally ambiguous. No longer is it about keeping innocent people out of it. This benefited the story. Dexter was never a show about doing what was right. The writers aren't playing safe anymore and that's good to know. Indeed it helped freshen things up. There was a kind of cliffhanger at the end. I'm most certainly coming back for more next season. Expand
  33. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    The race to the end is on for Dexter Morgan in Season 7. With one season remaining, the build-up to the end is evident, especially in recent episodes. The dynamic with his sister Debra is more tense-filled than ever, not to mention his lust for a fellow killer. This is a side of Dexter we haven't seen in years, Season 4 specifically, and taking place directly after the DDK events of Season 6 places us right in the middle of all the action. The walls are beginning to close in, and in Season 7, we are seeing it happen. Expand
  34. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    Maybe the best season along with the second! i'm really impressive with the amazing job of the writers and cast! I really recommend this season and this series to everyone.
  35. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    Definitely better than season 6, but this season loses itself trying to find a true antagonist. It's as if the writers could not decide who they wanted the villain to be.
  36. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Dexter Was able to bounce back from one terrible season and two not great ones. The show is better then ever with Hall giving his best performance in the series. And the best part is that in the end the series is left wide open for the final season.
  37. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    Season 7 of Dexter is probably the best season. I really liked the episodes, but than came episode 11. Dexter finally manages to do something meaningful for himself and than he messes everything up. He just destroys his own happiness. Never have I been so shocked by television or film before. I followed Dexter for 7 seasons and he really felt like a small part of me and to see him screw up so bad was heartbreaking. I never felt so sad and disappointed and angry before from something fictional and don't see how this series can end good for Dexter now. Anyway, I guess this season was really good and the actors acted really good as well if they could make me so emotional. I think the writers decision for episode 11 was cruel though, I guess their vision of life is pretty dark and depressing. Expand
  38. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    Dexter season 7 takes the series on a new and different course by not having a major antagonist. However all the minor stories make the season as whole a lot better. The Dexter en Deb story is taken to a new level and ends in a phenomenal final scene in which the actors put forth one of the best performances ever which end up as epic but not over-exaggerated ending. This might be the season every Dexter fan waited for because none of the story arcs had been stalled for too long and they all felt like they contributed to the story. Expand
  39. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    After watching all seasons and being disappointed with season 6....we are back on track now for some REAL Dexter action. This season is awesome, I'm three episodes in and can't wait to see the next one. I'm hooked again!
  40. Feb 17, 2013
    4
    This is the first season of Dexter where I actually felt disappointed. Up until this season, I thought the show was perfect. This season felt a little disjointed. Quinn was literally without purpose towards the end of the season, Dexter felt a little too out of character, and I honestly can't stand this new love interest he has. I enjoyed the Ukrainian gangster plot, but as just things got interesting, Isaac was killed off. In all honesty it felt like the writers didn't know what they wanted to do with the story, and most of the time it didn't really feel like I was watching Dexter. A shame because I loved the series up until this point. Expand
  41. Mar 2, 2013
    7
    Dexter jumps the shark!! This has been a great show over the years but I can't help but feel that the Dexter of Season 1-3 has become something he'd simply never would/should have. No longer meticulous and cold, he's committing murders at crime scenes, in airports. All feels a bit out of character. But regardless, it's still better than 90% of shows on TV so I recommend watching it and just turning your brain off. Expand
  42. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    Rejuvenated! It may never have the unforced brilliance of Seasons 1 & 2, but this season got many things right. The story centered itself on Dexter's emotional journey once more allowing the show to immediately hit it's stride. The performances have been superlative. hair-raisingly good. Michael C. Hall wow! Jennifer Carpenter was head & shoulders above Claire Danes. Even David Zayas and Lauren Velez were great. The 2 guest stars Ray Stevenson & Yvonne Strahovski knocked it out of the park! This season deserves a 10 for the acting alone. Expand
  43. Sep 30, 2013
    5
    good start strong first episodes (they could expand the discovering part but they rushed it ...but still passable but then too many sub story lines without a complete developing of all of them the story lost focus... also the "chemistry" explanaition is not that strong.
  44. Aug 15, 2013
    6
    Unquestionably better than season 6 though still undeniably disappointing, we're given a number of interesting plot devices though not much is happening with it all.
    First off, there's a the "tragic romance" factor without much sense of tragedy Dexter has with the new beautiful and mysterious, though dangerous and deadly Hannah Mckay, which is gag inducingly cheesy and predictable, while
    being completely uninteresting, making absolutely no sense, nor giving any sense of loss when it all comes to an inevitable end.
    Second, we're introduced to the most dangerous, lethal, and powerful villain the show has had to offer yet, who happens to be hellbent on revenge against Dexter, though nothing is done with him, and there's a sudden out of character development causing this man to come crawling to Dexter for help, who seemingly forgot about his "unstoppable" need for revenge just the day before.
    To top it all off we're still plagued with all of the old, uninteresting supporting character we never cared about in the first place who are still given far to much to do within the series.
    The one saving grace we're given other than Michael C. Hall's usual brilliant performance, is the new turn of events in which Dexter's foster sister, Debra, is now in on Dexter's secret, though her inability to live with the consequences of her actions and the actions she allows by Dexter's hand causes her great amounts of pain and inner turmoil which could potentially cause their once close relationship to be entirely severed.
    Ultimately though, it just doesn't live up to a few of its previous seasons.
    Expand
  45. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    A Huge return to form after season 6. This is easily the best season along with 1 and 4. One very smart thing they did was change up the formula. After Deb finding out about Dex at the end of 6. Their relationship completely changed, and this was very well handled. But th best part of this season, Ray Stevenson as Isaak Sirko, Mob boss out for revenge. For anyone who grew wary of this show and wanted to quit i suggest not to. You'll get this season. One of the shows bests. Expand
  46. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    this seventh season of dexter the quality of the series dropped again but that does not mean it is still a good series, though the season was not so good so it had another great end.
  47. Oct 18, 2013
    9
    I want to give this season an 8.5... but there is no such option...
    Anyways, getting to my point: I loved this season! After 2 years of disappointment, Dexter has made a comeback and got my hopes up for a terrible follow-up in season 8.
    If you want to enjoy the series, end here and pretend it ended on a good note ;D
  48. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This makes up for season 6 entirely. It is such a well rounded season. I am done with the show and i'm writing my final reviews for this show. Great season overall.
  49. Aug 7, 2014
    9
    I'm midway through the 7th season...and it's still good..The concept of the amoral serial killer should have worn thin by now..but no..the new twists and turns in Dexter's character keep it fresh...I've even warmed to Quinn..which took a little time. The shock value is still here. The deadpan humour is still fun. The supporting cast is still top..The new baddie, Issac, is a little different from what came before, but he is more sympathetic and...boy his accent (sounds a little South African) ... Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 4, 2012
    80
    Structurally, the whole thing feels fresh again, and even if I have doubts about how the writers will wring two worthy seasons out of the new dynamics (Showtime has committed to airing at least one more season), the three 2012 episodes I've seen efficiently pulled me back in.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    100
    The game changer sets season 7 on an exciting new course. [8 Oct 2012, p.60]
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 1, 2012
    83
    [Deb's new] knowledge, and the way it alters Dexter and Deb's relationship, shakes the series out of the doldrums it's been in for several years now.