• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 1, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Dexter Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final season picks up six months after the shooting that changed Dexter and Debra's relationship.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 28, 2013
    88
    This could all pay off spectacularly. [8 Jul 2013, p.36]
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 25, 2013
    80
    Charlotte Rampling makes Dr. Evelyn Vogel troubling and vaguely creepy, which probably isn’t what Dexter needs. She also opens up a dialogue on whether a psychopath like Dexter might be part of nature’s deliberate design, the human version of alpha predators. So we’ve got the philosophical and we’ve got the visceral as we count down to the last hours.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 28, 2013
    80
    Rampling brings her primly authoritative presence and a stern look to the task. Her scenes with Hall crackle with tension.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 28, 2013
    70
    Dexter's scenes with Vogel and Deb are so electrifying and morbidly juicy that the subplots involving Dexter's co-workers in Miami Metro Homicide seem more than ever like dreary padding.
  5. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Jul 1, 2013
    70
    Interestingly, Dexter settled into a groove that suggested it could go on for years.... If Dexter regains its eerie footing (and it appears it will), look for it to explode in the final weeks. Sunday's edition says the surprises have just begun.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 26, 2013
    67
    Sit back, don't think, and expect some good performances--especially by Jennifer Carpenter.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jun 25, 2013
    50
    Ironically mirroring Dexter's strict adherence to Vogel and Harry's carefully drawn guidelines, the series abides by a strict set of narrative routines that it only marginally alters in the hopes of replicating the wild success and catharsis of its inaugural season again and again.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 58
  2. Negative: 29 out of 58
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    The premiere was a strong start to what I believe will be an even stronger season. The spiraling downfall of the main characters is truly remarkable and sinister. With James gandolfini dead and the endings of dexter and breaking bad this summer, it feels like an era of television is coming to an end. Dexters finale will be iconic, I guarantee it. Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I couldn't wait to watch this season and was not disappointed! The writers get off the blocks with a bang and we could literally see the beginning of the end for our beloved serial killer from the very first episode.

    The star performer? I would say it was Jennifer Carpenter. Playing the guilt wracked Deb on a path to self destruction, she fits the role to a T. The clarity with which Dexter opens the first episode couldn't end with a bigger contrast towards the end of the episode as he starts losing control and lets his "dark passenger" take over more than just once. Which leads us to the question, "Who is truly on their path to self destruction?" Not even his projections of Harry could rein him this time which sets up an interesting season ahead.
    Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't really know how I feel about it. It was OK before it became better. The final episodes picked up the pace. Not really sure about the finale, though. Dexter has always been more than just a human being. He's the perfect psychopath. Here he turned sissy which cost him very dearly. When Debra dies and he takes her out to the sea, I was expecting him to just sail on into the storm, but no. He throws her into the sea and then fakes his death. I don't get it. If this was the most important person in his life, he should have just died with her. And if she was replaced by someone else, he shouldn't have taken all the trouble of faking his death and just hopped on a plane to Argentina. Or, better (at least in my opinion), Hannah being cute and likeable notwithstanding, this was a show primarily about the Morgans. Dexter should have died, or turned himself in. Deb should have been discovered and fled the country with Harrison. As about Hannah, who gives a f***? The ending looked to be inspired by Dark Knight Rises.

    The reason I liked Dexter so much was he could take decisions no one can in real life, at least not legally. You don't let your enemies live. That is what Dexter should have learned after Rita's death. But no, he had to go and have his sister killed. Looking to build a life for himself, deserting his kid sister, who clearly would always need him, especially after what he had put her through. He should have just killed her immediately after she discovered him with the Doomsday Killer. Then he had the shamelessness to save himself and fake his death. Fake it. How lame? Could it not have moved more away from reality? He should either have sailed into the storm or confessed to his crimes, extolling Deb's virtue or something. How could you let yourself live on if you know you are the cause of your own sibling's death? I mean, what the f***? Or, he could have sailed on into the ocean until his fuel ran out. And due to the storm, no one would look for him, and there, he could starve to death, with Deb's body by his side, and reflect on how he ****ed up her life.

    And... f*** Hannah Mckay. Did Dexter truly trust Harrison with her than with the boy's aunt, or his grandparents, or half-siblings for that matter? Some of the most mind-boggling decisions and plot holes. He always left Harrison with Jaime but he left him with a woman who everyone is looking for and could easily put the kid in jeopardy. So disappointing I do not have words for it. Completely ruined the show for me. I can't recommend it to anyone knowing how it would end.
    Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2014
    4
    Boycotting Scott Buck forever. Worst series finale I have ever watched in my life. I feel like the should make another episode and fix it. Then Scott Buck should publicly apologize for that crap. I'd give the season a zero but the with the exception of the series finale it wasn't that bad. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2013
    2
    This season of Dexter has to be the worst yet. It's a diabolical mess of incident-free scenes, poorly edited and clumsily written. I don't care about any of the characters any more because whatever happens to them, seems to not matter in the long run. Story lines are just thrown away in exchange for new characters and irrelevant sub-plots.

    This is TV at it's most disappointing. Dexter had some fantastic early seasons, but has come down to be one of the most unfortunate in TV history.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    Dexter was a great show for the first five seasons... this review is based on the last two seasons but primarily the last episode. What were they thinking? Without question the worst ending to a series ever written. Want to learn how to 'unravel' a legacy? watch the last two seasons... for shame. Expand
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    If you find yourself laughing in the final moments of a serious drama series, you know that something as gone awry. The final season could not have been further from what should have been expected. There was no closure, unnecessary plot "twists" and all around sloppy writing. I feel absolutely robbed having watched 8 seasons to have it closed out like that. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Series Finale Image
    Published: September 22, 2013
    What did critics think of the Sunday night's series-ending episode of Dexter? Find out inside.
  2. Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale

    Episode Review: Dexter Season 6 Finale Image
    Published: December 19, 2011
    Did last night's finale of Dexter make up for a lackluster sixth season? Find out what the critics are saying.