Extras : Season 2

Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. GlenH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    The funniest sitcom since Seinfeld, this show is absolutely imperative watching. Really makes the audience take a second look at how we view celebs, I think this is a very important production by the best comedy duo since Larry and Jerry. Hilarious cameos, great stories, amazing physical comedy from Merchant. Extras has it all, though it might not be for everyone (ie. if you love Raymond, The funniest sitcom since Seinfeld, this show is absolutely imperative watching. Really makes the audience take a second look at how we view celebs, I think this is a very important production by the best comedy duo since Larry and Jerry. Hilarious cameos, great stories, amazing physical comedy from Merchant. Extras has it all, though it might not be for everyone (ie. if you love Raymond, King of Queens, etc.) There's no laugh track, the jokes aren't written like that and a studio audience would ruin the subtle awkward moments that you'll be laughing at anyway. Expand
  2. JaimeM
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Hilarious.
  3. MitchC
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant, just like the Office was, Gervais Standup is, the podcasts were and the Christmas Special of Extras will be.
  4. MattC
    Jul 22, 2007
    9
    Sounds like Dave C would prefer something like "When The Whistle Blows" so he knows when to laugh. Or he's taking advantage of internet sarcasm.
  5. PerspicaciousC.
    Jan 1, 2008
    8
    Despite conflicting Metacritic user ratings, I think we can at least all agree on one thing Ricky Gervais did right: end Extras at Season 2.
  6. BobN
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Honestly the best TV show I've seen in a number of years. Better than The Office (which is saying a lot). It's like an upgraded version of Curb Your Enthusiasm, mixed with a little Entourage, and a pinch of Arrested Development with a British twist. Highly recommended.
  7. LennyT
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    Gervais and Merchant cannot go wrong. This is a perfect comedy.
  8. MarkD
    Apr 10, 2007
    8
    Yes, it's better than the first series and no it isn't as good as The Office. So now i've got the obvious out the way the first thing that strikes me is how Gervais now seems to be overshadowed by his co-stars. Ashley Jensen and Stephen Merchant are little stars. Will Gervais ever be as funny as he was as David Brent? Can he write anything other then squirm inducing Yes, it's better than the first series and no it isn't as good as The Office. So now i've got the obvious out the way the first thing that strikes me is how Gervais now seems to be overshadowed by his co-stars. Ashley Jensen and Stephen Merchant are little stars. Will Gervais ever be as funny as he was as David Brent? Can he write anything other then squirm inducing situation comedy with a hint of pathos? No matter because he's the master at it and this is bloody funny! Expand
  9. EricC.
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Wow. I don't even know what to say to Dave C. You need a laugh track to know what's funny? My god. No wonder you don't like this show. It slaughters people who need laugh tracks (you must be like Andy's fans in the bar). Oh well. So anyway... For people who have never watched Extras, it follows the same basics as The Office; create a character, and torture him with Wow. I don't even know what to say to Dave C. You need a laugh track to know what's funny? My god. No wonder you don't like this show. It slaughters people who need laugh tracks (you must be like Andy's fans in the bar). Oh well. So anyway... For people who have never watched Extras, it follows the same basics as The Office; create a character, and torture him with struggles to succeed and uncomfortable situations. They do it perfectly with a great cast (Merchant is awesome in a starring role this time, not just a cameo like in The Office) and a relatable storyline of a man who is held back from his dream by self centered, conformist snobs who run the film industry. He also screws things up for himself a lot, though. The second season is undeniably superior to the first, in that the characters develop some depth and a steady storyline forms (Andy's tv show). I have to admit, though, that the crown jewel of the show, it's celebrity cameos, are not as insanely funny as in the first season. No actor here can match Ben Stiller trying to become a respected director or Patrick Stewart telling Andy about his screenplay, but a few come close. Amazing show that makes losing Arrested Development a little easier by reassuring us that there is such a thing as an intelligent comedy still out there. Expand
  10. emilyw.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Please tell me Dave C is joking. I could see someone writing that as a joke but, seriously? If you are freely admitting that you need a laugh track in order to know that it's funny, well that's just sad. "Everybody Loves Raymond" is one of the stupidest, most overrated comedies ever, and will never forgive the Emmy's for choosing "Raymond" over "Arrested Development" season Please tell me Dave C is joking. I could see someone writing that as a joke but, seriously? If you are freely admitting that you need a laugh track in order to know that it's funny, well that's just sad. "Everybody Loves Raymond" is one of the stupidest, most overrated comedies ever, and will never forgive the Emmy's for choosing "Raymond" over "Arrested Development" season 2 as best comedy. Extras, like Arrested, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and the crown Jewel of them all, The British version of "The Office," doesn't need a laugh track to remind people what's funny. People should be intelligent enough to figure that out on their own. Like the critics have noted, this season is much better than the mixed first season, which went from classic (kate winslet) to disappointing (Samuel L. Jackson). A great show for people who have enough of a brain to know when something is funny on their own, not with the help of a laughter track. Expand
  11. KevK.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    As with the other comments, I am amazed by Dave C's comments. Everybody loves Raymond? 'You havin' a laugh!?'. Season 2 of Extras ups the ante of the already brilliant first and bears up to numerous re-viewings. Massively funny, genius scripting.
  12. Michael
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Alot better than first series by a mile. Good actors making guest apperrances. The only tv programme to make me laugh as much as this was fools and horse's, that says it all !
  13. matta
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    This is the best show on tv. I've already seen this entire season and it is way better than the first, which was pretty uneven (Kate Winslet, Patrick Stewart episodes-hilarious; the rest-pretty mixed). The David Bowie, Chris Martin, and Daniel Radcliffe episodes are better or on par with any Curb Your Enthusiasm or British Office episode. Still slightly under British Office as my This is the best show on tv. I've already seen this entire season and it is way better than the first, which was pretty uneven (Kate Winslet, Patrick Stewart episodes-hilarious; the rest-pretty mixed). The David Bowie, Chris Martin, and Daniel Radcliffe episodes are better or on par with any Curb Your Enthusiasm or British Office episode. Still slightly under British Office as my favorite show of all time, but this season is pretty close to reaching that level of greatness. Expand
  14. OfficeFan
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    I can't wait for the next series. These guys only produce pure gold.
  15. MarkB.
    Sep 19, 2008
    9
    I can't believe Dave C. Laugh tracks? His comment needs a laugh track. He's either an astronomical genius (effecting in the reader that disorienting feeling of a missed punchline in order to illustrate his point about the necessity of a laugh track) or...well...I just don't know...Regarding the show: brilliant.
  16. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Amazing UK comedy Ricky and Steve have done it again this was a joy to watch i will agree with other tho that it wasn't as good as the office but it is still amazing.
  17. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    This show ended on such a high note and summed up exactly why Ricky Gervais is one of the best TV artists out there. This show balances comedy and tragedy very well.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 80
    [It] passes quickly but gleefully.
  2. 80
    [Season 2] is far better than the good but uneven first year of the show.
  3. There's more humiliation than comedy.