Face Off : Season 1

  • Network: Syfy
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 26, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 26, 2011
    67
    At least it's different, even though your basic "reality" competition trappings remain firmly in place.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 26, 2011
    63
    They've ended up pitting a dozen very creative people against one another in a very tired format.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 26, 2011
    75
    Face Off hews so much to the Runway formula, it practically falls over and busts a lip, but at least the pacing is fast.
  4. Reviewed by: Ray Rahman
    Jul 18, 2014
    75
    There are many things to enjoy about this special-effects-makeup competition. [25 Jul/1 Aug 2014, p.106]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 27, 2016
    7
    This is in regard to all the seasons. I like this show. Very interesting concept. But it is enjoyed when I am browsing other things onlineThis is in regard to all the seasons. I like this show. Very interesting concept. But it is enjoyed when I am browsing other things online just like Bar rescue. I like the world and concepts it's the drama that brings the rating down a little. The beginning and end are great. Interesting concepts and I like seeing how it turned out. Unfortunately, most (but not all) of the middle part is the usual manufactured drama which is why I didn't rate this a 9 (instead of the 7 i gave it). I think they still have managed to keep it interesting over the seasons. I think it was season 7-9 that they had the coach concept for one of the seasons that I really liked. As usual, the guest judges are interesting to see. Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Special effects make up artists are put to the test to create outrageous and scary creations under limited time. The contestants are critiquedSpecial effects make up artists are put to the test to create outrageous and scary creations under limited time. The contestants are critiqued by a tough panel of judges, like Oscar winning artist Ve Neil, Neville Page and Glenn Hetrick. The winner of Face Off wins $100,000, a car and other prizes. The quality of the contestant's work does, however to have appeared to decrease after each season. Full Review »
  3. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this show. It is so refreshing compared to all the other reality shows. It is so fun to watch and they have had some amazingI absolutely love this show. It is so refreshing compared to all the other reality shows. It is so fun to watch and they have had some amazing special effects makeup artist. Hope you continue to bring us more! Full Review »