• Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 19, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sunday's explosive two-hour opener boldly delivers on the promise by TNT producers to rev up both the pace and the firepower in Season 2.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 14, 2012
    75
    Skies fans should be pleased.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 22, 2012
    70
    Falling Skies has amped up the dramatic stakes this season, even offering a glimmer of hope when an unexpected visitor drops into their midst, balancing the earnest family values with a visceral survival saga that keeps the hokum mostly at bay.
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 15, 2012
    70
    All in all, the new season of Falling Skies gets the basics right.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 13, 2012
    70
    Those who got on board last year have enough reason to continue flying these not-so-friendly Skies.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 18, 2012
    60
    It's not deep, meaningful TV, but Falling Skies is OK summer entertainment for fans of breezy, things-blow-up-easy programming.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 18, 2012
    58
    Unlike the similarly post-apocalyptic "Walking Dead," there's never much tension on Falling Skies.
  8. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 15, 2012
    58
    Falling Skies holds few if any surprises, although its action scenes and impressively designed creatures still have pulling power.
  9. 40
    Falling Skies is better than it used to be, but it's still whiffing the allegory, the action, and the characterization: three strikes and you're out.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    5
    I'm persisting with falling skies hoping it would get better but it's not. Its a soap opera with skitters. The dialogue is corny and the acting average at best. I keep trying to like it but I keep finding myself cringing.

    The skitters in season 1 were something to be feared, now they knock them off as if they are ****
    Where walking dead maintains a feeling of dread regarding the ever present thread of the zombies Falling Skies has managed to lose any sense of impending doom when they come across the aliens.
    I'll see the season out but its a good concept poorly executed as a melodrama.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I just finished watching season 2 and I still haven't really been sucked in yet, sometimes It pains me to watch this show and I know what people will say to that statement "why don't you just stop watching it?" The only reason I still watch this show is because I'm waiting for it to pick itself up and become one of those series I'll never forget but it's not, and here's why :

    - The fake-outs are terrible, I know Tom will not die, he's essential.

    - I find it hard to believe that the 2nd Mass still exist, shouldn't the invading alien forces be superior to them? I mean, they have space crafts and mechs with rockets, the humans? they've just got survivors, a lot of them are children and not able to fight, sure they got good weapons and enough firepower, somehow, but in nearly every gun fight the aliens seem out numbered and utterly useless and you're telling me they have completely destroyed almost every city on the planet? I don't believe it.

    And skitter rebels? So an Overlord of a large alien race manages to have a bunch of rebels in his army?
    How did it not know that? And these 'rebels' just happened to come along when things looked bad for the humans. Has everyone forgotten that these Aliens came from outer-space? and now that they're on Earth they can't seem to win a fight? - Enough with the cliches.

    -Somebody important needs to die sometime, or else I really am going to give up.

    And Charleston? what was the point in Charleston? they go there and find out there's something wrong with the people, that they're trying to forget the Aliens are even there, ok why not? and of course the General will be a thorn in Toms' backside, I knew he would be when I first saw him, really? no guns allowed in Charleston? what a stupid rule. I hate how everytime in some shows the Military are the bad guys, I didn't expect them to be like that in this show, of course the 2nd Mass knows best and everyone else are useless, The Aliens just need to sit back and wait for the Humans to kill each other, no seriously, they should've just forgotten about the Humans and focused on the rebel skitters, without these rebel skitters the 2nd Mass would've stayed in Charleston, alot of them would've still been in lockdown and they'd continue hating the General and that guy from Lost, the elections would've gone down and a new democracy would've been born, all the while having an army of Aliens above their heads wondering where they are and why their still on Earth.

    I wonder what is happening in France? CONCLUSION
    I've seen worse shows than this but Falling Skies didn't have to be bad, in fact it could've been great with a little bit of editing.

    Before I finish I'll note all the positives, because this show deserves it.
    Here's why I still come back to watch this show :

    - Visual effects, best I've seen in a long time, really makes me feel like they're in an apocalyptic environnement.
    - Characters are classic, each with an interesting backstory, like Weavers', I actually enjoyed the episode when him and Tom found his house.
    - Matt Mason, Toms' son, is actually quite funny and Ben too is quite good, he brings serious to a new level.

    That's all I have to say.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    1
    (UPDATED: After watching more episodes, I have to agree, this season is definitely better than the last season, whole religion crap is largely gone (god thanks), also the actors took some acting classes (thanks!), CGI is still bad, concept/story is still unrealistic and stupid. But I have to change my review now from 0 points to 1 because it is definitely an improvement, congrats!!) The original review follows:
    Until now, (after two episodes) it is just as bad as the previous season. Watching it is a huge waste of time. Some people might like the CGI, but compared to Battlestar Galactica it is lame.
    Full Review »