• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: May 12, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 9, 2013
    91
    Potentially the best new comedy series of this season.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    May 9, 2013
    100
    A quirky and hilarious gem.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 9, 2013
    83
    Tom Chadwick is a man with a fixation that’s both reasonable and relatable, and he becomes our tour guide to the familiar, funny Christopher Guest worldview.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 8, 2013
    88
    It is still a distinctly Guest production: often poky, always charmingly whimsical and, from time to time, so astoundingly funny you seem to have shot into a distant stratosphere of pure comedy. [13 May 2013, p.45]
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 12, 2013
    8
    I agree with Tim Goodman completely quirky and hilarious. I'm looking forward to seeing the characters develop. It's a nice addition to HBO's Sunday night lineup. Full Review »
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    4
    The actors are great and expectations are high, but it's not funny at all. Other reviewers defend or 'explain' that it's not the show's fault, it's you, by insinuating that only those with astute and fine tuned minds for such unique humor will appreciate the nil laughs. I expected something along the lines of The Office or at least totally sarcastic and absurd, because of the the genre but that is not the case at all. Nothing much happens, and you don't particularly sympathize with anyone. Everybody is so fake nice on the show case in point how is the monkey puppet thing funny? The money 'character' insults everyone, and everyone just deals with it and takes it in stride! After watching the excellent, superb (plus many more compliments) Moone Boy I wanted so much more for Chris O'Dowd. Moone Boy is ACTUALLY funny. Full Review »
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Hilarious show! Amazing cast.
    It's not your typical sitcom with silly laugh tracks, which means that a lot people won't get the subtleties.
    Christopher Guest is a comedy genius! Full Review »