• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 5, 2006
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 9 out of 30

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TwistedTiff
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    I thought it was pretty funny. I really liked the fact that the most of the characters where "average Joe's". A lot of shows draw to the perfect role model characters this seems interesting - i will stay tuned for the next run.
  2. JennaS
    Jan 6, 2006
    1
    I don't know how this could have been worse. Could only stand the first 14 minutes - major SuckSazoid. Poor writing, bad acting - Stinks - only silly girl teenyboppers in lust with one of the actors could think this is any good..
  3. Nicole
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    Funny, Entertaining, Priceless!!!
  4. BryanP
    Jan 5, 2006
    4
    It may improve with time, but for now,the show was generic. Jokes are forced into the dialogue as if there were a quota to meet. Jokes should materialize at their own rate with more emphasis on storyline.
  5. jennyd
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I laughed the whole time. Great actors and great story line... to not like this show is just not fair. Trust me you'll die laughing.
  6. mikels
    Jan 5, 2006
    2
    i kind of smiled once. every joke is either hokey beyond words or completely predictable. expected better from seth greene. he knows what funny is, and it ain't four kings.
  7. DaveN
    Jan 6, 2006
    5
    Not the best, or even close to it. But better than some of the stinkers that the networks have foisted off on us lately. Part of the problem with any new situation comedy is that for the first episode or two you're too busy establishing the situation to develop much comedy. Kohan and Mutchnick are capable of better than this, however, so I doubt I'll be watching this regularly Not the best, or even close to it. But better than some of the stinkers that the networks have foisted off on us lately. Part of the problem with any new situation comedy is that for the first episode or two you're too busy establishing the situation to develop much comedy. Kohan and Mutchnick are capable of better than this, however, so I doubt I'll be watching this regularly -- but I might tune in occasionally. Expand
  8. Myra
    Jan 6, 2006
    8
    Despite it's similarity to Friends (Monica inherited her grandmother's NY apt - like the character in this show; they hung out in a coffee shop on Friends - they hang out in a coffee shop here) - there were some VERY funny jokes that make you laugh out loud and some nice life lessons which were subtle but there. It has potential - most shows in the beginning need to refine Despite it's similarity to Friends (Monica inherited her grandmother's NY apt - like the character in this show; they hung out in a coffee shop on Friends - they hang out in a coffee shop here) - there were some VERY funny jokes that make you laugh out loud and some nice life lessons which were subtle but there. It has potential - most shows in the beginning need to refine themselves - look at the early Seinfeld shows and you'll know what I mean. Expand
  9. JoanB
    Feb 18, 2006
    8
    The show gets better with each airing. I think it is unfortunate that it is after Will and Grace that is failing. It is also unfortunate that it is on opposite of Dancing With The Stars. Keep it on and try another time slot.
  10. PL
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    Like the best of Friends and the best of Will and Grace combined - Best ensemble show since Seinfeld
  11. StephanieC
    Jan 15, 2006
    8
    I'm tired of reality tv and i think America is ready for another good sitcom. The show needs time to develop, just like any show. Go back and watch the first episodes of any hit sitcom and you'll see the bumps that were eventually worked out.
  12. DanM
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite show of the new year. I look forward to watching it every thursday night and so do all of my friends. NBC must keep it on the air for several more seasons to come.
  13. NealB
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I went to the taping of one of the episodes of Four Kings. I get free tickets to taping in Los Angeles all the time. This was one of the best shows I ever saw. Don't know how it will translate onto the small screen, but I loved it, and thought the cast was fantastic. I think it'll be a hit. I was interested in seeing what the critics thought of it. It doesn't surprise me I went to the taping of one of the episodes of Four Kings. I get free tickets to taping in Los Angeles all the time. This was one of the best shows I ever saw. Don't know how it will translate onto the small screen, but I loved it, and thought the cast was fantastic. I think it'll be a hit. I was interested in seeing what the critics thought of it. It doesn't surprise me that some of what I read is lukewarm. Most of the newspaper critics are like 60 years old, and I don't think this show would have a whole lot of appeal to older folks. I'm looking forward to Thursday nights again! Expand
  14. tamara
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I thought the show was funny and warm. The flashback scenes were touching and the show has great promise. Give it a chance!
  15. joshe
    Jan 7, 2006
    2
    I was ready to throw the towel in after the first 2 minutes or so, but thought I'd be a masochist and watch it for a little while longer. The jokes are incredibly lame and predictable. I would really like to know how the writers get so far as to be considered ready for prime-time when this stuff is so unfunny and sophomoric. I just hope some of the stink doesn't linger onto My I was ready to throw the towel in after the first 2 minutes or so, but thought I'd be a masochist and watch it for a little while longer. The jokes are incredibly lame and predictable. I would really like to know how the writers get so far as to be considered ready for prime-time when this stuff is so unfunny and sophomoric. I just hope some of the stink doesn't linger onto My Name is Earl, which is actually funny. Just skip Four Kings all together. Expand
  16. ARoss
    Jan 8, 2006
    8
    It was a pilot and I found myself interested in the characters. I think that the most you can expect from 30 minutes, so I think it is off to a great start. The relationships between the characters seem like there will interesting stories in future episodes. It had the same wholesome "Friends" vibe before they became "Friends" and everyone cared more about how they looked than how the It was a pilot and I found myself interested in the characters. I think that the most you can expect from 30 minutes, so I think it is off to a great start. The relationships between the characters seem like there will interesting stories in future episodes. It had the same wholesome "Friends" vibe before they became "Friends" and everyone cared more about how they looked than how the show felt. I wish them good luck and hope they make it. Expand
  17. A.Perez
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    I find this show to be very funny. The episode where they were chesting eachother was hilarious.
  18. RoseA
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Am African and its showing on our DSTV-I love this show. its hilarious and very very entertaining.
  19. melissam
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    I just love it they make a very fun group of friends, they complement each other very well.
  20. JulieB
    Jan 12, 2006
    2
    I give it a 2 because it is a new show. The first episode was okay. I was willing to give it another chance. I had to stop watching during the 1st scene of the 2nd episode. Let's see, a female character refers to having her uteras scraped. Then the "kings" proceed to mention her uteras in obscene. My 14 year old son says it's a "guy show". I say Spike TV or, preferrably, off I give it a 2 because it is a new show. The first episode was okay. I was willing to give it another chance. I had to stop watching during the 1st scene of the 2nd episode. Let's see, a female character refers to having her uteras scraped. Then the "kings" proceed to mention her uteras in obscene. My 14 year old son says it's a "guy show". I say Spike TV or, preferrably, off completely. It is demeaning to men and women. Expand
  21. ZachJ
    Jan 13, 2006
    8
    A good show for a halfhour slot.
  22. [Anonymous]
    Jan 22, 2006
    2
    I can't find any reason to watch this show. I didn't think it was funny at all.
  23. jackie
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    this show is one of the funniest show on tv right now!!! these guys reminds me of my cousins. these guys are so stupid thats wat makes this show so funny. also if u dont find it funny is because u might not get all the jokes!!!!
  24. MickeyL
    Jan 29, 2006
    1
    Wow. So much talent, such bad writing. It's painful to watch.
  25. MartynA
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    The first episode has just aired on British TV and I happened to check it out due to the fact that I am a huge fan of 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' and I thought that Seth Green was amazing as Daniel 'Oz' Osbourne and have been a fan of his work ever since. Watching it, I found my self in stitches and I thought it was pure comic genius. I'm so glad I watched it & I The first episode has just aired on British TV and I happened to check it out due to the fact that I am a huge fan of 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' and I thought that Seth Green was amazing as Daniel 'Oz' Osbourne and have been a fan of his work ever since. Watching it, I found my self in stitches and I thought it was pure comic genius. I'm so glad I watched it & I will be definately be tu ning in to the coming episodes. I even watched the first one twice today & was still laughing the second time. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone! I can't wait for it to be released on DVD.... Enjoy! Expand
Metascore
40

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. A touch of "Friends" with "Odd Couple" undertones.
  2. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    30
    [A] generic dud.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    Given how familiar the premise is, the show's modest appeal hinges entirely on the cast's marginal chemistry and the rapid-fire jokes, making for at best a hit-miss proposition.