• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 1994
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 11, 2013
    91
    At its best, Friends operates like a first-rate Broadway farce, complete with slamming doors, twisty plots, and intricately strung together jokes. And even when it's not at its best, the crack acting and piquant punchlines give Friends a momentum and charm that win you over even if you're not laughing.
  2. Reviewed by: Howard Rosenberg
    Feb 27, 2013
    90
    The sexy, urbane Friends -- from Marta Kauffman, David Crane and Kevin Bright, the people responsible for the HBO super-comedy "Dream On" -- starts fairly strongly tonight, improves next Thursday and in week three gets on a grand, hilarious, rip-roaring roll. It's the perfect series to bridge "Mad About You" and "Seinfeld." [22 Sept 1994, p.F1]
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Sragow
    Feb 27, 2013
    90
    The best new sitcom of the fall...It's a very strong cast. [22 Sept 1994, p.1D]
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Antonucci
    Feb 27, 2013
    88
    All the weird, impulsive jokes are as outrageously funny as they aspire to be. [22 Sept 1994, p.1C]
  5. Reviewed by: Ken Parish Perkins
    Feb 27, 2013
    80
    What helps Friends is that the show's creators have come up with a highly likable group of actors who are talented and charming, if not rip-roaringly funny. [21 Sept 1994, p.C2]
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jun 26, 2013
    75
    The show's saving grace is that as the weeks go by, the characters begin to grow on you. That has more to do with the actors' animation than it does with the rimshot writing.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 27, 2013
    75
    Though it has its share of irritating characters and moronic moments - especially in the pilot - this is far and away the best of this season's so-called Gen X comedies. [22 Sept 1994, p.3D]
  8. Reviewed by: Ginny Holbert
    Feb 27, 2013
    75
    The clever series, from the creators of HBO's "Dream On", stars an appealing group of actors who are just a bit funnier and better-looking than your average friend. [22 Sept 1994, p.43]
  9. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 27, 2013
    70
    None of the six main actors is a stand-up comic, but they're appealing nonetheless...If the scripts get a little sharper, Friends may attract enough of the right demographics to become a hit. [22 Sept 1994]
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This show is my all time favourite of ... well all time.

    Priceless and genius. Is one of the few shows where I don't care what episode or
    This show is my all time favourite of ... well all time.

    Priceless and genius. Is one of the few shows where I don't care what episode or season I watch. I can just close my eye's and pick a disk from my collection and watch it. The show is painfully funny and each character has a joke "style" that matches their personality perfectly.
    Full Review »
  2. May 21, 2013
    10
    This tv show has redefined'''' BRILLIANCE''
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Funny, heart warming and simply hilarious, the first season of Friends introduces us to the charming characters who we have all come to loveFunny, heart warming and simply hilarious, the first season of Friends introduces us to the charming characters who we have all come to love over the years, this season unlike the later ones was mostly about how the Friends were living in the city at the age of 25-26 and it contains some of the most classic episodes like the One with all the Poker, the One with the Fake Monica and the One with the Thumb. Full Review »