• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 138

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    0
    This show has gotten SO bad. The writing is absurd. I'm forced to watch because I've followed it thus far and don't like to leave anything unfinished in a state of limbo. John Noble is this show's only redeeming quality. I can't wait until this last season is done.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    2
    This show REALLY needs to be called out on its over-the-top melodrama. It can't go five minutes without somebody having a breakdown or teary epiphany all dragged out way too long with the camera pushed right up close. Everything about Fringe makes me miss The X-Files with all its unstated emotions churning under the surface. Remember subtlety? Fringe doesn't. It's sad that when we finally get some good sci-fi concepts on network TV, but with emotional content straight out of a middle school drama class. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    3
    I agree with Acriminal, I only watch the show to get some kind of closure on the Bishop family. After a horrible ending to the 4th season, the 5th season is being a huge disappointment.
    Instead of a freak-of-the-week show, Fringe is turning into a gadget-of-the-week show. Yes, the gadgets are pretty cool and Walter and the Olivia are still great characters (Anna Torv and John Noble are
    terrific actors). But apart from the acting, I cannot forgive the numerous plot holes which completely ruin the show for me. The plot became too ambitious after they killed/erased Peter... Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Fringe seems to be going out as alt-world fantasy/sci-fi at its most tough-minded yet humanistic. [5 Oct 2012, p.73]
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    On the evidence of Friday's season opener, Fringe will continue to be the best show of its kind since "The X-Files" at the grace notes, intimate or humorous instances like Olivia's Crate & Barrel moment (which won't be further spoiled here). When you get the small things right, it's less crucial that your universes and time shifts exactly line up.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 28, 2012
    90
    For Fringe's small but loyal following, resistance is truly futile. We'll stick with this remarkable series to the end.