Fringe : Season 5

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Fringe Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On the final season of the sci-fi drama, the Fringe team tries to take back the planet from the Observers in the year 2036.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 28, 2012
    91
    Fringe seems to be going out as alt-world fantasy/sci-fi at its most tough-minded yet humanistic. [5 Oct 2012, p.73]
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 28, 2012
    90
    For Fringe's small but loyal following, resistance is truly futile. We'll stick with this remarkable series to the end.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Landweber
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    The season opener, "Transilience Thought Modifier Unit-11," is so incomprehensible that it suggests a no-compromise posture for the remaining episodes. Which is exactly what the loyal fans want and deserve.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 28, 2012
    80
    On the evidence of Friday's season opener, Fringe will continue to be the best show of its kind since "The X-Files" at the grace notes, intimate or humorous instances like Olivia's Crate & Barrel moment (which won't be further spoiled here). When you get the small things right, it's less crucial that your universes and time shifts exactly line up.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 26, 2012
    50
    The cast is so uniformly excellent that one's seduced into following the narrative despite the show's rather glaring narrative flaws.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    A Show that has explored everything that has to be explored, Fringe continues to surprise me at the highest level continuing to be one of theA Show that has explored everything that has to be explored, Fringe continues to surprise me at the highest level continuing to be one of the best dramas on TV right now and one the sci-fi thrillers to be remembered for a long long time. Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This is one one of the best shows ever.Definitely recommended this to anyone.Season 5 may be a little disappointing but still good.Still theThis is one one of the best shows ever.Definitely recommended this to anyone.Season 5 may be a little disappointing but still good.Still the first season was the best Collapse
  3. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    From what I can tell from the premiere, Season 5 of Fringe will be a nonstop action-packed adrenaline rush. With a shortened 13-episodeFrom what I can tell from the premiere, Season 5 of Fringe will be a nonstop action-packed adrenaline rush. With a shortened 13-episode order, the Fringe showrunners have promised this season will have no filler episodes, and I'm looking forward to what's to come. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2015
    8
    I think they stumbled on a cult classic without intention with Fringe. The cast especially Walter are so strong. Despite the complicatedI think they stumbled on a cult classic without intention with Fringe. The cast especially Walter are so strong. Despite the complicated parallel universe story lines which deviate so much from season 1 the writers are up to the task. I was quite sad when it finally ended. Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    I was initially skeptical about watching another science fiction series launched by J.J. Abrams and co. after the lackluster (to put itI was initially skeptical about watching another science fiction series launched by J.J. Abrams and co. after the lackluster (to put it mildly) conclusions of Alias and LOST where the creators completely failed to deal with the questions they posed and decided to take the easy way out instead, abandoning the core themes that made both shows intriguing in the first place. Nevertheless, I started to watch Fringe after the last season was announced and I was pleasantly surprised by the effort that was put into answering the mysteries throughout the series. The 5th and final season of the show is probably its weakest, especially in terms of production values - the brilliant cinematography seen throughout the first three seasons (and somewhat less frequently in season 4 as well which was already shot with digital cameras) is largely gone. This is most likely due to the significantly reduced budget that the creators had at their disposal. It is important to note, however, that Fringe still manages to provide quite a few visual spectacles that can easily remind viewers of the show's heydays (the lighting and deep colors they opted for this season are especially atmospheric). Luckily, the convincing performance of the cast remains unchanged from previous seasons and John Noble proves yet again that he is the true heart and soul of the series, stealing every single scene he appears in, never in shortage of quirky one-liners. Since season 5 deals heavily with time travel, during its last episodes Fringe runs into paradoxes more often than ever before, and one can find just as many arguments debunking the internal logic of the show's mythology and the outcome of the final episode as the countless theories reaffirming it. Essentially, the whole season is only a postscript allowing to tie in loose ends regarding the Observers. Still, it is obvious from the final episodes (or the whole season, for that matter) that the creators are doing their best to provide closure to all plot lines and characters, and even when the resolutions end up being somewhat convoluted, requiring more suspension of disbelief than previously, the conclusion feels like a sincere bow towards the fans and the show's core themes alike. This is especially obvious in the re-occurrence of motifs from episodes that are widely considered to be among the favorites of the audiences and (most likely) creators alike, and the fact that they play a pivotal part in the ending. To me, this consistency makes Fringe a success where Alias and LOST have failed miserably. The show was undeniably at its height during the first three seasons with some great story lines during the fourth, but J.H. Wyman and co. still managed to deliver a final 13 episodes that ended it with dignity. As it has been remarked, being an expensive and (relatively speaking) barely watched science fiction show dealing with outlandish concepts, Fringe itself was "An Enemy of Fate" throughout the years; but for the most part, it won the battle. Season 5: 7/10 Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    *sigh* why did they have to break a winning horse. What started as a strong modern rendition of the X-Files with some great characters has now*sigh* why did they have to break a winning horse. What started as a strong modern rendition of the X-Files with some great characters has now become something completely different.

    We suddenly find our beloved characters 20 years in the future fighting off an alien invasion... Mkay
    Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2012
    0
    This show has gotten SO bad. The writing is absurd. I'm forced to watch because I've followed it thus far and don't like to leave anythingThis show has gotten SO bad. The writing is absurd. I'm forced to watch because I've followed it thus far and don't like to leave anything unfinished in a state of limbo. John Noble is this show's only redeeming quality. I can't wait until this last season is done. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble?

    TV Cancellation Watch: Which Shows Are on the Bubble? Image
    Published: April 12, 2012
    With one month left before the networks announce their fall schedules, we look at which TV shows have already been renewed or canceled, and which remain on the bubble.