• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 9, 2008
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 455 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 455

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. caladoniak
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Starts out a little weak, but the later episodes are incredible.
  2. JD
    Sep 1, 2009
    9
    Ratings on this site will not at all represent this show, as they were taken from the first couple episodes, when Fringe was still good but seemed uninspired in a way and kind of like a "Mystery of the Day". Once about a third way in or so, though, it picked up incredibly and became much more than just a weekly freak science experiment. An overarching storyline and interesting Ratings on this site will not at all represent this show, as they were taken from the first couple episodes, when Fringe was still good but seemed uninspired in a way and kind of like a "Mystery of the Day". Once about a third way in or so, though, it picked up incredibly and became much more than just a weekly freak science experiment. An overarching storyline and interesting developments made for great television, and by the end was one of my favorite shows. WAAY better than a 67, and im sure the score for next season will be much better. I can't wait. Expand
  3. DanielS.
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Fantastic concept, great writing, good acting, gripping story, the only thing that's needed is to perfect the concept that's already been laid down. It's a great idea, but it's still young and fresh. Over time it will build and Fringe will become something truly amazing.
  4. GailC
    May 9, 2009
    8
    I believe this show has steadily improved since the pilot episode and has succeeded in capturing my interest, which is contrary to my predictions when it first began. I now really enjoy it!
  5. DanielK.
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    I'm hard to impress, but going in with absolutely no expectations, I became instantly in love with this show. The production values are incredibly top-notch. It feels like I'm watching a Hollywood blockbuster every episode. The acting is excellent, and so is the writing. A great mix of humor, mystery, and action. Great all around.
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Huge fan of Fringe! Ever since the first episode this show has rocked every crazy thought of our reality and the world we live in! Great acting, great production value and cool effects, what more can i say, this show rocks!!
  7. RodericR.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    The show was fantastic. The cast is identifiable and distinct, and though there have been many Mulder/Scully mentions AND I was a huge X-Files fan, its so different from X-Files. To me, its Outer Limits, X-Files, and CSI and rolled into one conspiracy-laden ball of TV enjoyment. Its Lost for sci-fi nerds who demand more nerdstuff. Fringe and 24, are the only two shows my family watches The show was fantastic. The cast is identifiable and distinct, and though there have been many Mulder/Scully mentions AND I was a huge X-Files fan, its so different from X-Files. To me, its Outer Limits, X-Files, and CSI and rolled into one conspiracy-laden ball of TV enjoyment. Its Lost for sci-fi nerds who demand more nerdstuff. Fringe and 24, are the only two shows my family watches live and does not miss. Expand
  8. GaryL.
    Jun 29, 2009
    8
    Some slow spots midseason, but the finale was great. Shows a lot of promise and keeps getting better.
  9. CristobalS
    Jan 30, 2009
    10
    Fantastic Show! The script is sharp, the acting is impressive (John Noble is the standout), and the direction is sublime. It makes you squirm, grin, sweat, and enjoy. The best new series on television. The only criticism...Anna Torv's subpar American Accent.
  10. ChristinaB
    Nov 25, 2008
    7
    I didn't want to like it, but it grows on you. I really like that the scope isn't too expansive. It leaves more time for character development which i find to be key in successful shows. The characters and acting may not be amazing yet, but I think it will definitely improve with time.
  11. DarrenB.
    Oct 29, 2008
    8
    It definitely fills that much needed X-File-ish void that I've been missing for years. John Noble as Dr. Walter Bishop is priceless.
  12. JDub
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    This show's first episode blew me away. First time I actually watched a TV show twice in one week. Very solid first episode and it can go only go up from here.
  13. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Best written show on TV right now, with phenomenal work by John Noble and Joshua Jackson. Anna Torv started out shaky but has grown with seasons 2 and especially here in season 3.

    It will be tragic when FOX kills it with this move to Friday nights.
  14. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Fringe is an excellent show that is its own. The reviews saying that it is a bad x-files knockoff are groundless. Just because it is about unusual scientific occurrences doesn't mean that it is trying to be like x-files. Fringe has its own story and likable characters with its own direction. The only time I was disappointed was when it turned into a cartoon under circumstances that wouldFringe is an excellent show that is its own. The reviews saying that it is a bad x-files knockoff are groundless. Just because it is about unusual scientific occurrences doesn't mean that it is trying to be like x-files. Fringe has its own story and likable characters with its own direction. The only time I was disappointed was when it turned into a cartoon under circumstances that would spoil the show if I said. One review wrote off Fringe simply because of the advertising campaign which is complete and utter balls. Expand
  15. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    SEASON BY SEASON REVIEW: FIRST SEASON: Where you'll be forgiven for making an X-files comparison. This season is more procedural and monster of the week format where the lead characters are just starting to get familiar with each other while greater mysteries are introduced. Don't let the X-files snobs who think the unending angst of the Scully/Mulder relationship that takes a decade toSEASON BY SEASON REVIEW: FIRST SEASON: Where you'll be forgiven for making an X-files comparison. This season is more procedural and monster of the week format where the lead characters are just starting to get familiar with each other while greater mysteries are introduced. Don't let the X-files snobs who think the unending angst of the Scully/Mulder relationship that takes a decade to develop is the be-all and end-all of mystery television. I found this show to actually evolve their character relationships season to season. Only this season has an echo of the X-files dynamic to it. SEASON 1 SCORE - 7.5 SECOND SEASON: First half builds into some of the most poignantly acted family drama I've ever seen done in the second half. Continues to take you from heartbreaking and hilarious seamlessly like a high quality movie every week and invests you in the characters. SEASON 2 SCORE - 9.5 1st half, 10 second half. THIRD SEASON: The first half expertly executes hard to predict twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing and yes, sometimes I was screaming at the TV at the many OMG moments. I can't think of any episodes on TV that have ever been better then these episodes. EVER. The 2nd half gets a little quieter because unlike other dramas this one actually lets the characters breathe and grow a bit after their experiences. Some may find it lags after the earlier intense excitement but I found this turn to be true to its stellar character development the show excels at. Then it gives you a big bang of OMG exciting plot twists at the end of the season to set up for what's sure to be a wonderfully brain twisting season 4 that will keep you guessing. There is good reason why it has been talked about as one of if not the most shocking season finales of the year. SEASON 3 SCORE: 10 first half, 9 middle half except for a 10 for the whole 3 part finale. IN CONCLUSION: Yes this has been billed as a sci-fi show, but I find the sci-fi elements have only been to serve the greater themes of exploring what it means to be a family and what it means to be you, a human being. If you're someone who likes a good Oscar winning drama that explores the human condition you'll love this show. IMO that's why I think it hasn't gotten the recognition it deserves - its been too easy to call it 'a sci-fi show' in the press not realizing the stereotype drags it down. Hope this review has been helpful to you. Expand
  16. Jan 21, 2012
    8
    I'm giving fringe an 8. It doesn't deserve it. Season 1 was okay. I lost interest but then regained it sometime later and watch about halfway from season 1 to the end of season 2. Season 2 was good. Season 3 was "wow" Then, almost out of nowhere, what happened? I mean, really, like, um, huh, what, why, stoopid. Yeah. That's how I feel about season 4. I misspelled stupid onI'm giving fringe an 8. It doesn't deserve it. Season 1 was okay. I lost interest but then regained it sometime later and watch about halfway from season 1 to the end of season 2. Season 2 was good. Season 3 was "wow" Then, almost out of nowhere, what happened? I mean, really, like, um, huh, what, why, stoopid. Yeah. That's how I feel about season 4. I misspelled stupid on purpose it was that stoopid. It's so unfortunate that such a great show will soon be cancelled without continuing the great story line from seasons 2 and 3.

    Fringe, i'll give you an 8 for the past enjoyment you have given me, but, R.I.P.
    Expand
  17. Jay
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    I love this show. Better than expected.
  18. AdamT.
    Sep 9, 2008
    8
    While not as good as Lost (yet), I was very entertained and enjoyed the characters and story quite a bit. I'm sure there will be nay-sayers right away, but Fox kept all of you in mind too. Knowing that not everyone would enjoy the type of show Fringe is, they aired something more your speed directly after. Hole In The Wall is just the kind of show for those of you unable to enjoy While not as good as Lost (yet), I was very entertained and enjoyed the characters and story quite a bit. I'm sure there will be nay-sayers right away, but Fox kept all of you in mind too. Knowing that not everyone would enjoy the type of show Fringe is, they aired something more your speed directly after. Hole In The Wall is just the kind of show for those of you unable to enjoy good programming, such as Fringe. Expand
  19. m
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    This show picks up from the xfiles. I find it interesting and look forward to each episode. I hope it will be on for a couple seasons well. I like the fact that you want to watch every week, and that so far the action is rising so i hope abram continues to build on the action, drama and suspense and keep people on the edge of their seats or else people will become disinterested and bored. This show picks up from the xfiles. I find it interesting and look forward to each episode. I hope it will be on for a couple seasons well. I like the fact that you want to watch every week, and that so far the action is rising so i hope abram continues to build on the action, drama and suspense and keep people on the edge of their seats or else people will become disinterested and bored. Pick it up!! Expand
  20. MaximilianoS.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    An excellent example of modern science fiction tv show. Impressive.
  21. joek
    Feb 23, 2009
    9
    Ridiculous and fun. No more closure than x-files but still better.
  22. dexterp.
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    Best show ever, funny, shocking, and a story-line that grabs your attention.
  23. BretW
    Dec 12, 2008
    8
    oh my god after seeing the last episode and how it sums everything up. i cant wait until January 20th. I think this field of science is so interesting, and this show is amazing, omg. Yes sometimes the acting is kinda bad, but overall thins show is incredible. Finally i love how you NEED to watch every single episode to get whats going on. Once again nice job fox something that oh my god after seeing the last episode and how it sums everything up. i cant wait until January 20th. I think this field of science is so interesting, and this show is amazing, omg. Yes sometimes the acting is kinda bad, but overall thins show is incredible. Finally i love how you NEED to watch every single episode to get whats going on. Once again nice job fox something that doesn't bore me Expand
  24. GrantB.
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    Interesting episodes/ideas. Developing mythology so far not off putting. Think each character is interesting, chemistry is good. I want this show to continue.
  25. RafaelD.
    Sep 10, 2008
    8
    Im a huge fan of J.J Abrams work , but i see a bright future for the show , its hard to judge a show just by the pilot , as we all know a lot of shows can get better and better every week. For a start , i think its a good pilot , lets see how this show develop.
  26. JohnM.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Great cast. Great story. Great show. It keeps you watching. The mythology is strong and appears fairly deep. I'm looking forward to many seasons of this show! What is so terrible about LOST references or Altered States homages? I think that's part of the appeal to shows like this. It gives credit where credit is due.
  27. karenR
    Apr 29, 2009
    9
    Really enjoy this series, especially the humor that the character 'Victor' lends to the show.
  28. markl.
    May 28, 2009
    10
    Great show..too intelligent for the average dance show/idol viewer to understand
  29. mauricioc.
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    Show is amazing!!! This series will have a couple of seasons!!!
  30. KevinN.
    Sep 23, 2008
    10
    Hope this show lasts for more than a few seasons because its incredible.
  31. Fantasy
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Unquestionably the best show on TV! Walter is the star. The ending last season with Olivia peering out of a window as the camera continued to pan further away revealing the World Trade Centers gave me the eeriest of feelings in the same manner the Statute of Liberty did in Planet of The Apes so many years ago. This is the best written, best directed show on TV bar none. I can't wait Unquestionably the best show on TV! Walter is the star. The ending last season with Olivia peering out of a window as the camera continued to pan further away revealing the World Trade Centers gave me the eeriest of feelings in the same manner the Statute of Liberty did in Planet of The Apes so many years ago. This is the best written, best directed show on TV bar none. I can't wait to see where it is headed next. Expand
  32. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    The first season provided some really interesting and bizarre cases, but the highlight, for me, was John Noble's portrayal of Walter. The fact that he did not receive an Emmy nomination was blasphemous, and the show is worthy as well.
  33. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    I love the first season of Fringe. It really opened up some interesting questions about science and the nature of reality. I find all three main characters interesting and compelling.
  34. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    An original show that is able to make you think yet feel like your just along for an exciting ride!
    I think this show is boldly taking sci-fi to a totally different realm away from aliens and crazy unimaginable/otherwordly gadgets and concepts to something extraordinary yet believable and it is opening up the sci-fi genre to be more widely accepted by not only regular sci fi fans but new
    An original show that is able to make you think yet feel like your just along for an exciting ride!
    I think this show is boldly taking sci-fi to a totally different realm away from aliens and crazy unimaginable/otherwordly gadgets and concepts to something extraordinary yet believable and it is opening up the sci-fi genre to be more widely accepted by not only regular sci fi fans but new fans that were originally turned off of the regular sci fi
    Expand
  35. JLB
    Nov 29, 2010
    9
    It's similiarities to the X-Files are superficial. Fringe goes places the X-Files had never even considered. Alternate realities, and their monsters and psychos. It's like the Fantastic Four.
  36. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    For me Fringe is one of the best series ever made in the past. I really hope there will be a 4th season because I love Fringe!! And John Noble play his part very brilliant!! 10.0
  37. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    The plot is a little hard to follow, but is an excellent story, worth watching. Great creative concept. Good actors. Perfect mix of action, humor, scifi and drama.
  38. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    It starts out slow, but finishes fantastic. It is NOTHING like the X-files, besides the fact that both are about companies exploring the unexplainable. Again, it's NOT an X-files copy. I was skeptical about Anna Torv, (the leading female) and her acting was lacking at first, but she's gotten better. WAY better. Joshua Jackson is great, but the best acting comes from John Noble (Dr WalterIt starts out slow, but finishes fantastic. It is NOTHING like the X-files, besides the fact that both are about companies exploring the unexplainable. Again, it's NOT an X-files copy. I was skeptical about Anna Torv, (the leading female) and her acting was lacking at first, but she's gotten better. WAY better. Joshua Jackson is great, but the best acting comes from John Noble (Dr Walter Bishop). This show is well done and I can't wait to watch every single episode. Expand
  39. May 7, 2011
    9
    This is one of the greatest shows on TV! The characters are interesting and fantastic, the episodes are enjoyable intriguing and the series just gets better and better. JJ Abram's has done a fantastic job at creating such a fantastic show. Can't wait to see what else the show has to offer.
  40. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing. I have no words for describing this show. One of the best shows ever made. Good acting, good story, amazing development.... A must see for sci-fi fans.
  41. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    JJ is a genius! This show become more and more intriguing every episode. There are no words to describe Anna Torv.... When she smiles my heart stops beating!
  42. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    It's an incredible show, I've seen a lot of series but nothing with the quality of Fringe.You see the episodes and only gets better and better.Unquestionably the best show on TV
  43. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing series! Has a bit of a slow start building up the story line and plot but once it gets going there is no stopping it. The story is very well written and expands on a lot of different concepts which are complicated but are explained well so that any viewer can understand them. I highly encourage any sci-fi and fictional fans to watch and get into this series as there isAbsolutely amazing series! Has a bit of a slow start building up the story line and plot but once it gets going there is no stopping it. The story is very well written and expands on a lot of different concepts which are complicated but are explained well so that any viewer can understand them. I highly encourage any sci-fi and fictional fans to watch and get into this series as there is alot more to come! Expand
  44. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    It's rare for me to give a television show a perfect rating, but I will say, without hesitation, that Fringe is the best original Science Fiction show to come along in thirty years. When J.J Abrams started working on his follow up to Lost, he wanted to create a show that touched on everything that had been done before it. Fringe takes elements of Star Trek, The X-Files, The Twilight Zone,It's rare for me to give a television show a perfect rating, but I will say, without hesitation, that Fringe is the best original Science Fiction show to come along in thirty years. When J.J Abrams started working on his follow up to Lost, he wanted to create a show that touched on everything that had been done before it. Fringe takes elements of Star Trek, The X-Files, The Twilight Zone, and others, and incorporates them all into his story. It was a show that was truly ahead of it's time and initially had a lot of network support.

    The premier episode on FOX is the most expensive pilot episode ever made and the fans love it. The first two seasons of Fringe were highly rated, but not in the top ten. Not realizing what they had or the cult following it had behind it, FOX started moving the show around, eventually putting in on Friday nights, where it died after just 100 episodes. Today, the show is carried on in books and several of the cast have talked about the possibility of having it turned into a film franchise.

    The story of Fringe began in 2008, when an airplane with 250 passengers on board, landed itself in Boston, without any survivors. All the agencies show up, including the FBI, who send their liaison officer, Olivia Dunham (Anna Torv). Dunham and her partner/lover are sent to do the dirty work, but stumble upon something unexpected, which puts them at the head of the investigation team. Not believing what she saw, Dunham goes in search of help, and finds a brilliant scientist, who used to do classified experiments for the U.S. Government. There is a problem of course, as the scientist, Dr. Walter Bishop (John Noble), has been in a mental institution for 17 years. In order to get him out, Dunham must track down and recruit the help of Bishop's son, Peter (Joshua Jackson), who is a con-man, working out of Iraq. With the team in place, they work to solve the impossible case and are asked by Col. Peter Broyles (Lance Reddick), to become part of a classified team of FBI members, who are assigned to work on the strange and unexplainable.

    From parallel universes to time travel to human experimentation and even monsters, Fringe really incorporated everything they could into the story, in one way or another. Anna Torv stars as Agent Olivia Dunham and what a star she is. How J.J. Abrams found her is nothing short of amazing in and of itself. Torv hadn't been in very many things, but had an impressive background, that includes her being a martial arts expert, who speaks multiple languages. They put her talents to use and make her the new head investigator of the Fringe division. Torv was the action star of the show, who turned out to be even more, when the cast met their duplicates from the alternate universe in season 3. I really can not express in words how terrific this woman was and how important her character was to every fascist of the story.

    As for the other main character of the story, that's Dr. Walter Bishop played by John Noble. Noble is one of those guys, you've seen in movies and on television all the time, but also the kind of guy whose name you probably didn't know. With Dr. Walter Bishop, John Noble established himself as a Sci-Fi legend. Much in the way his former partner William Bell, played by Leonard Nimoy, is associated with Spock, Noble and Bishop will be forever linked. Not only does his character bring a brilliant mind to the cast, but also brings humor to the show. After being locked in a mental hospital for 17 years, there isn't much Walter won't say or do. He loves to eat, do LSD, and tell people exactly what he thinks, leading to some of the best one-liners I have ever heard in a Science Fiction series.

    Fringe isn't all about the strange and unusual, it's also about family, action, love, and humor. I can tell you that it is the single most addictive show I've seen in my entire life. I wound up watching all 100 episodes in under 3 months, and now that it's over, I find myself missing it and thinking about it often. Even though I'm a Netflix member with a large collection, for almost 2 weeks now, I have been sampling other series, looking for something to fill the void. I'm finding myself having trouble even getting into similar shows, the way I got into Fringe. It is one of the best television shows I have ever seen. If you're into Science Fiction this show is an absolute must see. If you're not into Science Fiction, there is still a ton of stuff here for you as well. Do yourselves a favor and treat yourself to this remarkable show while it is still streaming on Netflix.
    Expand
  45. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Fantastic series and fantastic actors. It is the worthy heir of x-files, Take it and renew. I don't understand the negative votes. only defect: it's too short
  46. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Fringe will forever be one of my favourite things. I remember watching the first episode for the first time in 2008 and I was fascinated by it. I instantaneously fell in love with it. The first few episodes of the season is slightly formulaic as it introduces us to this crazy world of Fringe science, however the intensity of the show emerges a couple of episodes in. If you have never seenFringe will forever be one of my favourite things. I remember watching the first episode for the first time in 2008 and I was fascinated by it. I instantaneously fell in love with it. The first few episodes of the season is slightly formulaic as it introduces us to this crazy world of Fringe science, however the intensity of the show emerges a couple of episodes in. If you have never seen it before, watch it. The season finale is excellent, as is season two and three. Expand
  47. jacques
    Nov 6, 2009
    2
    Writing is decaying into a show of bull. to compare this show with x-files is to insult x-files where they actually tried to get the science correctly. for example: he was not holding a geiger counter which cannot measure "rads". he was holding a scintillometer which can measure "rads" but does not tick! the show is just badly produced and directed with cinematography amateurish.
  48. SteveA.
    Feb 3, 2010
    5
    Watchable. The plots are fairly ridiculous; realism takes a back seat to glossy visuals, average acting eclipsed by dramatic explosions and chases, the characters seem to have been created by focus groups. It looks good, but it's a chaotic mess.
  49. DuncoD
    Dec 6, 2008
    4
    21st Century X-files. No overarching plot, but instead random sci-fi ideas which form the premise of each episode.
  50. sh
    Sep 16, 2008
    0
    I think this show should be taked off the air.
  51. JennaJ
    Dec 5, 2008
    5
    It really wants to be the successor to the X-Files and it has everything except what it need most: the chemistry between the two main characters. Fringe is well written and nicely produced but it feels as empty and plot driven as the X-Files without Mulder. I got bored and quit watching.
  52. ChrisC.
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    An overhyped pilot with a predictable yet drawn out plot. The science is--dare I say--a joke, and the lab scenes look reminiscent of MacGyver meets Mr. Wizard. Hopefully it gets better as more of the pattern is revealed.
  53. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    The first season of this show was the only one worth watching. The show did a good job at differentiating itself apart from other similar shows before it. While it still maintained some healthy similarities. I liked this season a lot. Just wish some series actually had a planned ending and not a never ending plot extension to make more money.
  54. J
    Sep 12, 2008
    4
    To make something with outrageous "science" believable the ordinary needs to be convincing. How do you do that when an ordinary Joe and his crazy father are watching a live feed of an FBI agent interrogating a mass murder suspect and then your ordinary Joe can just walk in to the interrogation room and beat the info out of the suspect? Old and tired and bad. So bad I almost want to stop To make something with outrageous "science" believable the ordinary needs to be convincing. How do you do that when an ordinary Joe and his crazy father are watching a live feed of an FBI agent interrogating a mass murder suspect and then your ordinary Joe can just walk in to the interrogation room and beat the info out of the suspect? Old and tired and bad. So bad I almost want to stop watching Lost. Even Michael Giacchino's score is almost the same as Lost -- cue the escalating violin strings before the commercial break. Go rent old episodes of the X-Files instead. Expand
  55. DerreckR
    Jan 20, 2009
    2
    its just not that good, I could go on why but Id rather give my 3 main reasons why, Sereotypical characters, bad acting, bad general stories.
  56. josh
    Sep 9, 2008
    2
    come on why so many good reviews ? this show is obviously swill , the overblown graphics are terrible , the plot is ridiculous come on a lost son in Iraq whos a criminal mastermind , an insane prophet father , the skin rotting disease and the intro with the cliche exploding cell phone who just happens to be the guy shes in love with . its like a bad episode of bones , the x-files , and come on why so many good reviews ? this show is obviously swill , the overblown graphics are terrible , the plot is ridiculous come on a lost son in Iraq whos a criminal mastermind , an insane prophet father , the skin rotting disease and the intro with the cliche exploding cell phone who just happens to be the guy shes in love with . its like a bad episode of bones , the x-files , and csi all rolled into one .come on where is the real drama not this boring over hyped rehash we have seen so many times. Expand
  57. kate
    Sep 12, 2008
    4
    I watched because of Josh Jackson and JJ Abrams. The acting was not as good as thought it would be. Josh Jackson was a disappointment unless the eye rolls and soap opera looks were supposed to be funny. The other people I had not seen before so I can.t say they were disappointing. I usually like JJ Abrams shows and unless this improves I wont be watching it.
  58. [Anonymous]
    Sep 27, 2008
    6
    I'm getting flashbacks to the 90's from this X-Files reboot (rip-off?). The show itself is not bad but neither it is good. It's a fine waste of time if you're in the mood. For a show that relies so heavily on a sci-fi slant, I just wish the "junk science" aspect of the show was a little more thought out and believable and based on actual science.
  59. DaveM
    Jan 20, 2009
    6
    Compelling and inventive one moment, tedious and derivative the next; it
  60. LoretoA.
    Jan 28, 2009
    4
    Fringe is poor X-files knockoff. Fox thinks their staggered advertisements are clever, they think that running a lot of short commercials and announcing their length (except the last ad, the longest)will keep veiwers in their seats. Good luck fox. I won't watch again.
  61. Elena
    Feb 5, 2010
    6
    Watchable, i agree. i like the characters and the cast seems to have decent chemistry. it is far from the caliber of the xfiles at its best though. it's a bit banal, considering the cool theme. but it's been interesting enough - just - to keep me watching for 2 seasons. i particularly like olivia dunham as the strong female lead. i also like walter and peter and astrid. i just Watchable, i agree. i like the characters and the cast seems to have decent chemistry. it is far from the caliber of the xfiles at its best though. it's a bit banal, considering the cool theme. but it's been interesting enough - just - to keep me watching for 2 seasons. i particularly like olivia dunham as the strong female lead. i also like walter and peter and astrid. i just keep waiting for it to kick itself up to the next level. they really need stronger writers or to take more risks or something. it's like all the elements are there but the body is still on the table, waiting for the real spark of life. Expand
  62. JoelS
    Oct 13, 2008
    5
    I keep coming back to it, but every week I'm disappointed. I'm definitely more interested in what's going on with Massive Dynamics then I am with the stories in any one individual episode. Pretty much everything about this show feels off--and I once again have faith that Fox ruins everything it touches. After loving three straight shows from Abrams (Alias, Lost, Six I keep coming back to it, but every week I'm disappointed. I'm definitely more interested in what's going on with Massive Dynamics then I am with the stories in any one individual episode. Pretty much everything about this show feels off--and I once again have faith that Fox ruins everything it touches. After loving three straight shows from Abrams (Alias, Lost, Six Degrees) I'm disappointed--but this is why I have ABC, and I'll be back to Lost in January. Expand
  63. RichD.
    Oct 22, 2008
    4
    From a show that seemed to have promise, we get poor acting and writing and scenarios that ultimately amount to fluff. There is nothing compelling about this show.
  64. ERIC
    Oct 9, 2008
    4
    The show has promise but needs to improve dramatically to maintain its footing. Most of the trouble lies in the writing. The tone is uneven. Even more troubling, though, is the lack of believability. For a show that relies on fringe sciences to be believed, a writer needs to base the viewer in an aura of believability in all the rest of the surroundings. From dialog, to Bishop being The show has promise but needs to improve dramatically to maintain its footing. Most of the trouble lies in the writing. The tone is uneven. Even more troubling, though, is the lack of believability. For a show that relies on fringe sciences to be believed, a writer needs to base the viewer in an aura of believability in all the rest of the surroundings. From dialog, to Bishop being involved personally in the science of every event we see, to actions of Homeland Security, to the science itself in most cases, I'm just not seeing it. Makes it simply escapist TV when it could be more. Its no X-Files. Expand
  65. blithe
    Sep 11, 2008
    5
    I think the show has promise, but the pilot was kind of a disappointment. The acting was uneven and the dialogue and premises stretched the bounds of anything even remotely like reality or logic. It was just too ridiculous and unbelievable at times, to the point where I was annoyed, and I'm somebody who loves these kind of off the wall X-Files type shows, so it isn't like my I think the show has promise, but the pilot was kind of a disappointment. The acting was uneven and the dialogue and premises stretched the bounds of anything even remotely like reality or logic. It was just too ridiculous and unbelievable at times, to the point where I was annoyed, and I'm somebody who loves these kind of off the wall X-Files type shows, so it isn't like my standards for reality are that high... ;-) But, that being said, I'm willing to give the show some time to develop into something more like what it has promise to become. Expand
  66. TwilightC.
    Sep 18, 2008
    1
    I was not engaged at all. I didn't like either lead. It took the gore from x-files to an extreme and didn't do it well.
  67. JoC.
    Sep 23, 2008
    1
    I couldn't tell from the subtle and seamless exposition, but for some reason i keep thinking that Joshua Jackson's character has an iq of 190.
  68. JackH.
    Sep 24, 2008
    2
    Bad acting, bad script, wanna be shocker TV. could have been a neat show if they would have paid some more money for actors and writers.
  69. Mark
    Sep 25, 2008
    3
    Excellent production values are not enough to make a show good. Especially when the show in question is so dull and clichéd, featuring mediocre acting (that Torv chick is a piece of wood) and archetypal charcters (John Noble's Walter Bishop in particular). The show is also way too derivative. You could edit together random scenes of The X-Files and Lost and you'd end up Excellent production values are not enough to make a show good. Especially when the show in question is so dull and clichéd, featuring mediocre acting (that Torv chick is a piece of wood) and archetypal charcters (John Noble's Walter Bishop in particular). The show is also way too derivative. You could edit together random scenes of The X-Files and Lost and you'd end up with an episode of Fringe, only with better acting and writing. Considering J.J. Abrams is one of the minds behind this, I would have expected much more. Expand
  70. DoctorO.
    Sep 27, 2008
    7
    Promising. X-Files with limited government backing. This time, Mulder is the crazy guy, Scully is the guy, and the Cigarette Smoking Man is a redhead with a prosthetic arm. Maybe it can pull it off.
  71. Dami
    Sep 28, 2008
    2
    I'm not sure why it keeps getting such good reviews, from critics and viewers alike, because it really isn't a very good show. The writing and dialogue is terrible. The plots are absurd, and not in a good or interesting way. And the actors take themselves and their characters' roles way too seriously...
  72. AlexT.
    Nov 19, 2008
    0
    this show sucks, there's nothing good about it, bad actors, bull crap story lines, and bull crap things that cant happen. this last Tuesday's episode pissed me off, near the flipping end a guy puts a apple in a safe thing, then it starts to buzz, then he pulls it out the back EXACTLY THE SAME. WTH!!!! this show should be taken off TV forever and burned before the future this show sucks, there's nothing good about it, bad actors, bull crap story lines, and bull crap things that cant happen. this last Tuesday's episode pissed me off, near the flipping end a guy puts a apple in a safe thing, then it starts to buzz, then he pulls it out the back EXACTLY THE SAME. WTH!!!! this show should be taken off TV forever and burned before the future generations realize how stupid we are. Expand
  73. CraigA-S
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    Like the X-Files. But stupider. Assuming of course its possible for ANY show to be stupider than the X-Files. The fact that cybernetics is referred to in the opening credits as a "fringe" science merely shows the scientific illiteracy of the people responsible for this dreck.
  74. CharlesS.
    Sep 15, 2008
    1
    Wow what an awful script. Turned it off after 45 minutes. Would that Lab really be ther in working order after 17 years? The scientist just happened to walk right out of prison with his son and agent ? Wow.
  75. MikraT.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    A wonderful and very realistic sci-fi adventure. I was surprised to see many of methods used in my field of research being demonstrated on the show.
  76. AndrewT.
    Sep 25, 2008
    2
    It's no X-files. In the theme they say it's about: psychokinesis - teleportation - nanotechnology - artificial intelligence - precognition - dark matter cybernetics - suspended animation - artificial intelligence (again) This is what it really is: A plane full of people are infected and they die. A busload of people are gassed and they die. They'll run out of ideas for It's no X-files. In the theme they say it's about: psychokinesis - teleportation - nanotechnology - artificial intelligence - precognition - dark matter cybernetics - suspended animation - artificial intelligence (again) This is what it really is: A plane full of people are infected and they die. A busload of people are gassed and they die. They'll run out of ideas for episodes soon cause they're aren't that many different kinds of mass transit. I'm guessing the next episode involves people on a train getting killed. Expand
  77. JoeO.
    May 13, 2009
    0
    Badly written. Annoying characters. Lead actress can't act.
  78. EliasC.
    Nov 16, 2008
    4
    X-Files without the humor. John Noble is the only actor of interest and without him this show would be a complete dud.
  79. BenJ.
    Nov 18, 2008
    4
    The first 4 episodes were okay. After that I gradually have lost interest. It
  80. carterh
    Dec 16, 2008
    1
    I wanted to like this show, but it was simply impossible. The plot was so unbelievable that I caught myself rolling my eyes throughout the entire first episode. I am surprised because I think the idea had promise, but it was far too outlandish to be relatable or interesting. I am surprised people can continue to watch this show. Very disappointing.
  81. Apr 6, 2011
    8
    Slow at first, but still good, the first season of Fringe was a decent start to a series that would eventually graduate to the level of completely amazing.
  82. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    It's entertaining at its best, but never exciting.. I'm watching the 1st season now, but it never makes me care what happen to the characters; the hotchpotch of sf-themes don't improve things either..
  83. Oct 23, 2011
    0
    Ok, where to begin with why this show sucks and is one of the greatest wastes of time I've ever seen. "I Know it, I know what we need! Oh, I need a root beer float actually....and I just pissed myself." Watch it, you'll see what I'm talking about.
  84. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best shows to ever come across a TV screen. As others have pointed out, the 1st season does take a few episodes to hook you in. But once that happens, the show gets better every single episode. Definitely worth checking out.
  85. StephenA
    Feb 2, 2009
    7
    Without John Noble Fringe would be 'Cringe'. Noble's character makes the show worthwhile tuning into each week. Joshua Jackson has good chemistry with his on-screen father. To see Olivia Dunn, the FBI agent, race to a hostage rescue adorned only in chest armor and no face/head gear, long hair blowing in the breeze, only exemplifies the realism of the show. We need more Without John Noble Fringe would be 'Cringe'. Noble's character makes the show worthwhile tuning into each week. Joshua Jackson has good chemistry with his on-screen father. To see Olivia Dunn, the FBI agent, race to a hostage rescue adorned only in chest armor and no face/head gear, long hair blowing in the breeze, only exemplifies the realism of the show. We need more Silence of the Lambs, not Charlie's Angels, meets X-Files, please. Expand
  86. LarryS.
    Oct 4, 2008
    8
    Getting better.
  87. RaysaJ.
    Sep 10, 2008
    7
    This one stands a chance. I will take a look at another episode or two.
  88. RolandB.
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    Who cares of its incredibly derivative...the shows its draws from were great but they are finished and its exciting having something like this on television again...its incredibly entertaining and seems to be building up to something that could be interesting and perhaps original...its too early to tell...but just become something draws from something else and just because the science may Who cares of its incredibly derivative...the shows its draws from were great but they are finished and its exciting having something like this on television again...its incredibly entertaining and seems to be building up to something that could be interesting and perhaps original...its too early to tell...but just become something draws from something else and just because the science may be wacky and unbelievable...if its fun who cares just enjoy it! Expand
  89. SteveC
    Sep 9, 2008
    6
    A cross between the X-files and 24. A good start had me fully engaged, but like the others I lost interest halfway through. Too much work. Meh.
  90. AcriminalMind
    Oct 18, 2009
    6
    Season One was mediocre but I am enjoying Season Two with the introduction of Leonard Nimoy and the whole parallel Earth idea. The characters are getting much more interesting and developed. There are a lot of flaws in the writing. It pokes too much fun at experimental drug use, which I'm sure reels in the college students and holds their attention, but it gets a bit trite when you Season One was mediocre but I am enjoying Season Two with the introduction of Leonard Nimoy and the whole parallel Earth idea. The characters are getting much more interesting and developed. There are a lot of flaws in the writing. It pokes too much fun at experimental drug use, which I'm sure reels in the college students and holds their attention, but it gets a bit trite when you imagine the hellish ordeal of 20 years in an insane asylum. It's the 00's revival of the X-Files. We have a different kind of cigarrette smoking guy and a different kind of alien. Why we need to use radio frequencies and top secret experiments to turn soldiers into human bombs, simply to stop a courier from getting information to the aliens, and not just use ordinary TNT, is a bit laughable to me. It's one of the best sci-fi hows on TV so I have to give it credit for that much, but it's weaknesses are pretty clear. Expand
  91. Apr 22, 2011
    7
    fringe is ok and entertaining. it's got some good ideas and concepts but the execution, storytelling and characters don't always feel plausible or believable. imo the x-files did this genre better.
  92. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    In much the same way as The X-Files the first few episodes of Fringe are very much of the ‘case of the week’ variety and, seemingly at least, unconnected. As a result it didn't initially become must watch TV for me despite the interesting characters and darkly humorous script.

    Once the show’s overarching plot started to take shape however I was hooked as J.J. Abrams yet again
    In much the same way as The X-Files the first few episodes of Fringe are very much of the ‘case of the week’ variety and, seemingly at least, unconnected. As a result it didn't initially become must watch TV for me despite the interesting characters and darkly humorous script.

    Once the show’s overarching plot started to take shape however I was hooked as J.J. Abrams yet again demonstrated his ability to tell a captivating story that has you itching to watch the next episode. Now for season two.
    Expand
  93. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    Another great show. Can only fault it in that sometimes it can get a bit confusing due to the amount of information that the viewer needs to remember. Enjoying the acting & the storyline but would like to see the current arc ending soon & a return to the original format at least for a while.
  94. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Suffer through the first 2 or so seasons and end up with an amazing show. The current season is the best so far (season 5). I can't believe it got almost cancelled.
  95. Feb 17, 2012
    6
    To many episodes that don't make plot roll, resuming you could have done this entire season in 12 episodes , that makes a little boring to watch, Although, the series have some good sci-fi police action.
  96. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    Fringe is simply amazing and John Noble is as well. It's the best sci-fi show in T.V!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  97. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    Fringe is an amazing show. I've been watching it ever since around the middle of the first season which hooked me in. If you miss an episode, you have to see it. The show can get very confusing if you don't follow along well. If you do keep up, though, and you pay attention, it's a very funny, scary, awesome, and just all around great show to watch. I give it an 8 because of the fact thatFringe is an amazing show. I've been watching it ever since around the middle of the first season which hooked me in. If you miss an episode, you have to see it. The show can get very confusing if you don't follow along well. If you do keep up, though, and you pay attention, it's a very funny, scary, awesome, and just all around great show to watch. I give it an 8 because of the fact that it can get very confusing. Expand
  98. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Fringe is currently the greatest show on television. I know everyone says that, but in my opinion this is true. It is undoubtedly the most complex, intelligent, and startlingly beautiful story that a TV show could be. The myriad of twists and turns, incredible characters (supported by absolutely fabulous acting), and wonderful plot developments draw you in. Once the viewer is past theFringe is currently the greatest show on television. I know everyone says that, but in my opinion this is true. It is undoubtedly the most complex, intelligent, and startlingly beautiful story that a TV show could be. The myriad of twists and turns, incredible characters (supported by absolutely fabulous acting), and wonderful plot developments draw you in. Once the viewer is past the first few weaker episodes, the viewer reaches the event horizon and is slowly destroyed while thoughts of Fringe occupy almost every waking moment (at least for me :D). This show is art in its greatest form. Expand
  99. Mar 18, 2013
    6
    Terrible terrible terrible.

    For the majority of the season, 15 out of 20 episodes, it's just filler, as nothing is happening. Random episodes, or "monster of the week" episodes, most of them NOT being interesting. A few (but I insist on A FEW) contain a some information about the mythology behind the series, which at times SHOWS that it can be an interesting one. It's too bad all the
    Terrible terrible terrible.

    For the majority of the season, 15 out of 20 episodes, it's just filler, as nothing is happening. Random episodes, or "monster of the week" episodes, most of them NOT being interesting.

    A few (but I insist on A FEW) contain a some information about the mythology behind the series, which at times SHOWS that it can be an interesting one. It's too bad all the good stuff is separated by all the incredibly boring stuff. HONESTLY, if someone didn't have recommended me to watch this, I would've probably stopped at episode 10. With the exception of the pilot, which sets a good tone for the series, the following 6 episodes are just reharshes of the second episode. But almost NOTHING of worth ever happens. Don't believe someone who says this START OFF A LITTLE WEAK. It's start of pretty damn bland. And it remains that way for the most of the first season. I have watched only the first 2 seasons so far, and the second season fares better, if slightly. RESULT: 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  100. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Outstanding performances from Anna Torv, John Noble, and Blair Brown. Engaging concept, intelligent writing, gripping cliffhangers. Able directing, skillful photography, exciting action sequences.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 60
    The last half-hour of the pilot is by far the best part of Fringe; it’s full of twists, turns, action and suspense. And the first 20 minutes or so, in which a team of federal agents investigate a mysterious occurrence on a commercial airliner, is brisk and efficient, if (like much of Fringe) a little bombastic and overdirected. Aside from a cinematic dream sequence, the middle hour of Fringe is much more problematic.
  2. It has good characters and plenty of action. It keeps its science fiction accessible, not abstract. Maybe best of all, it has a great sense of humor.
  3. 75
    Lots of good action and lots of fun to boot.