• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1648 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    I gobbled up the first season of Game of Thrones, then watched it over again with my wife, after I'd read the book. It worked when I watched it cold, and knowing what was coming didn't reduce the experience. In fact, I was impressed with how the writers managed to cram the essence of a book into 10 episodes without feeling like anything was skimped.
    I had big hopes for the second season,
    I gobbled up the first season of Game of Thrones, then watched it over again with my wife, after I'd read the book. It worked when I watched it cold, and knowing what was coming didn't reduce the experience. In fact, I was impressed with how the writers managed to cram the essence of a book into 10 episodes without feeling like anything was skimped.
    I had big hopes for the second season, but alas, it suffers the all-to-common sophomore phenomenon. The dialogue is more stilted, the characters more dispersed, the story lines more scattered. Game of Thrones has lost its mojo. I may stick it out for episode four tonight, but I have little hope of seeing anything that will make me come back again.
    Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2012
    6
    After the best first season in television the second season not only doesn't live up but falls flat. Having read the books I worried that having so many characters and plot lines that an hour long, ten episode season wouldn't be able to keep up and unfortunately I was right. While still good stuff, you never get to stay with any one group long enough for it to get rolling, and theAfter the best first season in television the second season not only doesn't live up but falls flat. Having read the books I worried that having so many characters and plot lines that an hour long, ten episode season wouldn't be able to keep up and unfortunately I was right. While still good stuff, you never get to stay with any one group long enough for it to get rolling, and the introduction of new characters is done so fast it's hard to feel any emotion for them. While the first season had it's fair share of changes from what happened in the books, I felt most all were well done and used to make the show even better by fleshing out some elements. The second season's changes though seem to be more for the sake of having to condense and simplify, and while maybe needed for the format they are not to the benefit of the narritive.
    Having said all of that, there are still some great things left. The acting of almost all involved continues to be superb and the locations, set designs, and overall production value makes for a beautiful show. Season two is still better than most dramas on TV and for fans on the genre there's nothing out there that compares being currently offered. Perhaps the greatness of season one has lead me to treat the lesser season two more harshly than if I weren't comparing them too, but I don't see how I can review the latter without comparing to the former, so you can take it as you will.
    Expand
  3. May 14, 2012
    5
    Allow me to preface this comment by saying two things: 1) I have read the books (a few times) 2) I was absolutely thrilled with the first season, and was on the edge of my seat waiting for the second season. Yet after 6 episodes of the second season, the TV series has gone astray from the books, not only in unnecessary instances, but also in critical ones. While the series may still beAllow me to preface this comment by saying two things: 1) I have read the books (a few times) 2) I was absolutely thrilled with the first season, and was on the edge of my seat waiting for the second season. Yet after 6 episodes of the second season, the TV series has gone astray from the books, not only in unnecessary instances, but also in critical ones. While the series may still be interesting to those who have not read the books, I cannot imagine that readers are pleased. George RR Martin wrote an intriguing tale with copious amounts of sex, yet someone in control seemed to think there wasn't enough for the second season on TV. Disgusting. In my opinion, there were several sub-plots in the first book that were removed from the TV series, but nothing was added. This is the key. In season two they have added plots, or have at least accelerated said plots. At the end of season two episode six, there was an event so different from anything in the books that I may have to stop watching now. Casting is still phenomenal with the introduction of new characters. Love how they've done with a TV budget versus a big screen Lord of the Rings type budget (or, dare I say, Avatar's budget). Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    What a disappointment! After a couple bumpy episodes, I was happily surprised by season 1. Season 2 is watchable but what a letdown. I feel like I am watching a bad horror movie where most characters make painfully idiotic decisions. The acting isn't that great either expect for Peter Dinklage. Lots of cheap one- liners like in a Chuck Norris movie. Most of the new story arcs are boring.What a disappointment! After a couple bumpy episodes, I was happily surprised by season 1. Season 2 is watchable but what a letdown. I feel like I am watching a bad horror movie where most characters make painfully idiotic decisions. The acting isn't that great either expect for Peter Dinklage. Lots of cheap one- liners like in a Chuck Norris movie. Most of the new story arcs are boring. Season 2 picks up some steam after 5-6 episodes but it's still a far-cry from the quality of the dialogues and political intrigues in season 1. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    6
    This season is a bit of a disappointment coming off of the fantastic opening season. Too much time spent with Dany pouting in the heat or Jon pouting in the cold. And FAR too much time with Robb's completely uninteresting and pathetically conventional love-interest. Aside from Cersei and Arya whose storylines are borrowed from the novels the show writers seem utterly incapable ofThis season is a bit of a disappointment coming off of the fantastic opening season. Too much time spent with Dany pouting in the heat or Jon pouting in the cold. And FAR too much time with Robb's completely uninteresting and pathetically conventional love-interest. Aside from Cersei and Arya whose storylines are borrowed from the novels the show writers seem utterly incapable of handling female characters. Even so, the King's Landing sequences are solid, with Peter Dinklage owning every scene like a king. Expand
  6. May 23, 2012
    5
    The series is great and the story is intriguing. But after thats said the second series it feals like nothing is happening. Everyone is just stand in each others camps and having a stearwar. But hopefully it will improve as the story progresses.
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    Bleh all HBO seems interested in is porn. They cut down and simplify all the conversations yet manage to cram in heaps of **** and stuff and it just makes it awkward if your watching with people who don't like that stuff and it seems a waste as they leave out a lot of the good stuff. I guess this appeals to the masses, but not really to me, if I want porn I search the web by myself.
  8. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    I've been a big fan of season 1 and even read ALL game of throne books after watching that. All books except for the first one. After that, the second season is quite disappointing. The entire book chapters have been condensed into 30 second scenes or so, and honestly, if I did not read the book, I wouldn't even know what's going on on the screen half the time or how it's connected to the story.
  9. Jun 28, 2015
    6
    A continuation of nothing.

    My impressions of the first season were mixed and it really was overrated. This second is no exception. The first five episodes are pretty much the same; we get even more character introductions and a well written story. The story got much build-ups, our characters keeps planning and discussing events. That’s both a problem and a unique aspect of Game of
    A continuation of nothing.

    My impressions of the first season were mixed and it really was overrated. This second is no exception. The first five episodes are pretty much the same; we get even more character introductions and a well written story. The story got much build-ups, our characters keeps planning and discussing events. That’s both a problem and a unique aspect of Game of Thrones. It’s a great thing because we can at a greater scale understand why certain events come to pass, and why our characters behave as they do. We also get closer to them and when the show really do pay off; we begin to love the show. I totally agree on that matter, but all the slow and less entertaining dialogs and build-ups are so boring. I admire that GoT really is something unique, but there’re no action-sequences!

    The first half is as I mentioned very much alike as the first season; nothing really big does happen, but it got its character developments (and introductions). The lack of action is very outspread. I was a bit disappointed, because there were some signs of great action here and there, we see men preparing for battle, but at some point in the first half of the season they skip showing that, and continue after the battle; so annoying and depressing!

    The whole season is very similar with the first; much build-ups and boring dialogs, but there are some unexpected events and the characters are the one strong aspect with the show! The season finale is much better than in the first season; it’s intense, bloody, realistic and much unique amount of action exists (finally!). Another aspect is the actors; yes they are all stunning, but Richard Madden is hard to take serious as an actor (doesn’t fit the role).

    This second continuation of the overrated show Game of Thrones is both much more action-packed, but even more slow than its predecessor. The slow but still interesting story still defines the show but nothing big really happens. Too much preparing storylines makes the show slow and boring. But the characters and the big and great final episodes made it a bit greater than the first season.

    Relatable characters, unique (but low amount of) action, awesome title sequence and a powerful storytelling is still the only aspects that’s great. But I did expect much more, because we had one whole season of nothing, and here it is, another season of more nothing! My overall rating for each episode is 6.48/10.

    6/10
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 2, 2012
    67
    Game of Thrones starts less like an epic and more like a session of "Medieval Sims."
  3. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The new episodes present an almost a too intricate meditation on power. Game of Thrones demands that you pay attention or be left behind.