• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1379 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    I've been a big fan of season 1 and even read ALL game of throne books after watching that. All books except for the first one. After that, the second season is quite disappointing. The entire book chapters have been condensed into 30 second scenes or so, and honestly, if I did not read the book, I wouldn't even know what's going on on the screen half the time or how it's connected to the story.
  2. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    Bleh all HBO seems interested in is porn. They cut down and simplify all the conversations yet manage to cram in heaps of **** and stuff and it just makes it awkward if your watching with people who don't like that stuff and it seems a waste as they leave out a lot of the good stuff. I guess this appeals to the masses, but not really to me, if I want porn I search the web by myself.
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    2
    Can't stand this show. It don't get all the buzz from full grown adults about a fairy tale. It's a bad disney movie with violence. I keep waiting for Harry Potter to show up. I've never heard so many bad accents. Really People?? Where's your taste in good programing?
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    1
    They totally screwed up this series when compared with the book. It really is unwatchable and you do yourself a great disservice if you watch this over the book. They cut characters, changed the plot, skewed motivations and alignments. I can understanding leaving out some of the back story due to time constraints but to change the events that happened completely is not acceptable. Not to mention the terrible filming of scenes set in darkness. A total train wreck. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2012
    1
    Take this score knowing that the books have been read and as such just doesn't do it any justice. the 1st series did the book well, this one didn't and didn't by a long shot. If you took this as a separate show ignoring the book then yes it is good, a 7/10 but knowing what was in the book this could be a 10/10. HBO do make cracking shows but they have just let themselves down here. fingers crossed for the 3rd series. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    What a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers are trying to woo. 1/10 for this compromising piece of ****
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 2, 2012
    67
    Game of Thrones starts less like an epic and more like a session of "Medieval Sims."
  3. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The new episodes present an almost a too intricate meditation on power. Game of Thrones demands that you pay attention or be left behind.