• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1366 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    How did I know I'd be back for more? To be brief, it's because Game of Thrones is one of the most thrilling, fascinating and addictive TV shows available. In season 2 the conspiracy and quest for power continues in good form. We learn more about the troubled, ruthless characters within a drama worthy of critical acclaim. The story expands positively and it feels far from rushed. Game of Thrones again delivers consistently, which is the true reason why it creates an addictive nature within the people who watch it. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    Так он сказал, так он сказал, из Кастамере лорд. С тех пор лишь дождь в пустынный зал по лорду слезы льет.
  3. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    NEEDLESS injection of PORN

    10% of series 2 must be fast forward to avoid scandalizing with filth.

    The rich characters are expanded and forward leaning to cliff hanger expansion of subtext.
  4. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    A complex, multi-layered follow-up that doesn't disappoint. The entire cast - not just a select few - lead the story and the audience through the battles, the heartache, the romance. Season two delivers.
  5. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    During its second season, "Game of Thrones" shows how many details of a story can be cut out in a film. The show exploits its ten 1-hour episodes to balance between action and character development. There are good performances, stunning visuals and the whole production is really exceptional, but it sometimes feels too slow-paced. There is as much violence as porn, that contributes (perhaps excessively) to the show's realistic look. The plot is still too generic, the twists seem to be an end in itself and many comments on political and social issues are overwhelmed by the writer's passion for plot surprises that are actually worthless.

    P.S.: Episode 9 seems so good as if it had been extracted from an Lord-of-the-Rings-style multi-million. blockbuster.
    Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    Sin duda, la mejor temporada hasta ahora. Superó a la primera pero para mi aun no ha sido superada ni por la tercera (que fue mas lenta) ni por la cuarta. Aquí comenzaron los malos rollos, las batallas importantes y las relaciones amor/odio. El capítulo de la Batalla del Aguasnegras es uno de los mejores de toda la serie.
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    The best TV show of all time. Highlights from the season:

    Daenerys in Qarth, Pyat Pree, Xaro, The House of The Undying
    Joffery being an abusively $*(%&(#
    Blackwater Bay!
  8. Jun 27, 2014
    8
    Season 2 takes a slower pace, yet continuous to remain one of the best show on t.v. Season 2 is definitely more about character and set building alone with drama however, we are still provided with awesome combat scenes. This big budget series has one of the best actress and scripts I have seen to data, which can rival block buster movies. I'm hocked.
  9. May 29, 2014
    9
    The second season continues to be a well-written and completely absorbing medieval/fantasy series. The majority of this season does seem to take one a somewhat slower pace, pushing off a lot of the conflicts until the later seasons, but it's still not afraid to kill off a big character when you least expect it and even features a big battle. Even the show's slower moments are still enjoyable. I found myself absorbing every line of well-written dialog the characters would say, and becoming completely invested in the world's many different story lines. While it appears that the most blood will be spilled in seasons 3 & 4, this second season still manages to keep me invested in it's every moment. My total score for this season is a 9.3/10=Amazing. Expand
  10. May 28, 2014
    10
    For me this is the season where GoT picks up the pace. I didn't like season 1 as much as other people but this season of Game of Thrones was spectacular and made me realize that Game of thrones is the best tv show ever made. This is spectacular at every detail.........every nook and corner.....A spectacle of perfection.The Best episode was Black water and it is one of the best episodes I've ever seen. HBO is the best and Game of Thrones proves that. Expand
  11. Apr 11, 2014
    7
    Season 2 of Game of Thrones is a middle chapter in the series. New characters are introduced, and there are moments of awe here and there, but from the three seasons so far, it is definitely the weakest. The only things that make it non-skipable are the Baratheon brothers' rivalry plot, the Theon Greyjoy family reunion and backstab to the Starks plot, and of course, the outrageous and weirdly satisfying sex and violence. It is also the season where Danaerys Targaryen (Emilia Clarke) turns into the real star of the show, with a mind-blowing performance and a character that keeps dragging me into her. Watch it for the characters, stay for the blood and the boobs (Hope that didn't sound disgusting but come on, the show's boobs are top notch). Expand
  12. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Esta segunda temporada es tan brillante como la primera, se preparan los reinos de los Stark, Lannister, Baratheon, las dos primeras por la venganza de la muerte del señor de invernalia por parte de los lannister, segundo el conflicto civil entre los Baratheon por el control del trono de hierro, no hay que olvidar las aventuras y desventuras que rodena a otros personaje de la serie y por supuesto ese increible episodio 9. Expand
  13. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    When people start writing the characters before anything else, and drive the story from there; only then will we get writing as captivating as the books from A Song of Ice and Fire. Writers have a lot to learn, from the series and from the books. Watch it for pleasure, and if you can, take in how well everything was built.
  14. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of
    this so far have kept me gripped and interested the entire journey, and the fourth season is only just around the corner now!

    I highly recommend this!
    Expand
  15. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    A tremendous follow up to the first season, and more of Peter Dinklage is like a cherry on top, except for those who don't like cherries, but you'll still love him anyway. The whole cast in enticing, the writing probably the best I've seen in a fantasy, and the effects are astounding. It's a show that'll never tire.
  16. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Season 2 of GOT adds a lot more characters, action, sadism, and mystery compared to its predecessor; this results in what I feel is thus far the best season of the series (Including season 3 as well). Many have complained that season 2 does not follow the source material as closely, I can't judge too much because I have not finished reading book two however, I'm sure my feelings of this season will be unhinged even after completing the novel. Expand
  17. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    Everybody already stated why this show is amazing, but what i love about it is how many times i can rewatch the episodes and still feel the same was as the first time i watch it.. episode "blackwater" is my favorite tv episode of all time.. and i watched it over 20 times lol
  18. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    the second game of thrones season continued with the pace that the first season ended, yet it had one of the best final season of all time,unless there is less deaths then the first season.
  19. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    It's amazing that after two seasons, this show is still able to deliver an amazing episode after another. The plot is so complex with so many details, yet coherent. The characters are very rich and deep, and the actors and actresses playing them are top-notch. Twists and turns, emotionally moving scenes, brutal and sometimes sadistic scenes, this show has it all. Fantastic.
  20. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    I don't think this season was as great as season one. "Blackwater" might be the best episode of the entire series, but I don't think the rest was quite up to the standard seen in season 1 and later season 3. And the book changes that bothered me most were in this season. I understand the need for some changes, but this season took it too far. Still, the acting, writing, and scenery were incredible as always. The complaints I have are ultimately minor and don't take too much away from my enjoyment. Definitely better than the vast majority of tv shows. Expand
  21. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    Having just watched ep 9, I truly feel this series gets it just right. Acting, production values, plot, intrigue are all in line with the feel and tone of the book, but a little low than season 1
  22. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollitito y mi votación es de 9. Un saludo.
  23. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Easily the best show on TV (aside from The Walking Dead but it seems the writers are jumping the shark on that one) and if you can find a better series in the history of HBO cable TV I'd love for you to show me. The only reason I can see people giving this series bad ratings is the constant threat follow through with ending major characters lives. SPOILER Martin loves to do this to his characters so don't get too attached. Expand
  24. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Constant build up is what we get. Constant build up leaving us in a perpetual state of fascination and dread as the secrets of Westeros keep piling up and the character roster keeps building. There's plenty of suspense, intertwining complex stories, emotional payoff, beautiful imagery, excellent performances, expert writing, uncovering mysteries, and the story whose route is constantly taking dramatic shifts, though it's getting to the point where we all know it will eventually end up, though nobody wants to admit what we know will eventually be the inevitable outcome. Expand
  25. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    Another great season of Game of Thrones. This season really managed to buff out some of the rough parts of the first season. The only major complaint is the fact that this season doesn't follow the books as well but the changes that are made to the story make for much better stories for the screen so even that really isn't a problem.
  26. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Best show on TV right now. Season 2 did not live up to season 1 IMO. There were so many characters introduced it was difficult to keep up. Tried to pile too much into 10 episodes. Still worth the watch though. Great TV
  27. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best series so far (up to series 3). The brilliant build up of tension leading up to the battle of Blackwater bay and the introduction of so many new and interesting characters in their prime just isn't matched in either of the other two series. We have Tywins discussions with Arya, Tyrion running kings landing with Varys in tow and the addition of Stannis at his height. The discussions are simply much more interesting than in the other two series, every episode was interesting and there was much less bran than series one or three. This series also had the best soundtrack, with Warrior of Light, Rains of Castamere, Winterfell and Pay the Iron Price all featuring throughout the series. Every episode was simply of a higher quality than those in series 1 and 3. Expand
  28. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Some moments of season 2 are among the best I've ever seen on TV. Manages to keep, and sometimes even improve, on the incredible quality of season 1. My personal must-buy bluerays at the moment
  29. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For season 1 I watched it as it aired but did not read the book first and I ended up doing the same thing for this season as well since seeing it play out on television without knowing the book allowed me to wonder where things would go. Ultimately I read the second book after the second season had its finale and am now planning to do it again for season 3.

    While season 1 was an introduction to characters that I loved and others that I loved to hate season 2 brings in new characters that I both loved and others that I loved to hate while still focusing on those from before. In addition it presents some of those characters that you love to hate in a new way, and presents some of those loved characters with opportunities to prove why you love them so much. Plus.....dragons. Seriously, dragons on cable tv.

    As the series continues I also highly enjoy the fact that we are not stuck at the same old locations as before, obviously the capitol will remain a relevant location but Winterfell becomes less important to us while the characters venturing out from Winterfell become more important to us. Even the north, north of the wall that is, becomes something we want to see more of and the season ends with a scene that lets you know eventually some action will be happening in hopefully a pretty epic way. And Peter Dinklage remains awesome, even sticks it to the little self absorbed idiotic demon king. There is even a scene that lets you know the false king's body guard is human, sort of, and you want to see what this dude is now capable of too. Maybe he will do something to redeem himself at a later time? Also, dragons.

    It is rare that I look forward to a television show these days with so many terrible things airing and all the good shows being canceled after maybe a season or two that i hope HBO allows this to continue to whatever conclusion George R.R. Martin has. After both Rome and Deadwood (both were shows I loved) were canceled due to contracts and high production costs (not low ratings as some people seem to think), I really want Game of Thrones to see its conclusion in a way that doesn't have to do with funding. While I am sure the production costs are not exactly low for this show I really hope it manages to make it.
    Expand
  30. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Season 2 of Game of Thrones seems to be all about a slow build. So many story arcs, so much mayhem. It all stirs up a thrilling, and at times chilling, adventure through a world I'm committing myself to more and more. Game of Thrones is getting better without resolving to big-budget tricks and tons of action. The character development and constant veering with the story and what you think is going to happen keeps everything from being predictable. I like it. I do think this is probably the best thing on TV now. Looking forward to season 3! Expand
  31. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    The epic saga continues. The nudity and sex scenes were excessive to the extent that they were offensive, distracting and often unnecessary, causing much annoyance and at times shame for continuing to watch the series. Sex in season 1 was occasional, erotic and surreal; and painted a vivid picture of the society and characters. Roles of some secondary characters were expanded just so that they could show their breasts, like Margaery and the woman who replaced Jeyne Westerling. The rest, however, was handled pretty decently. The changes from the book were understandable and even better suited in some cases. A Clash of Kings, upon which this season is based, was my favorite book of the series tying with the third, but the season was a step down from the first. Expand
  32. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    It is just too good for words. There is just so much awesome in this series. Epic dialogue, epic characters, epic action, epic story! The weakest link in this season would have to be Daenarys' plot, but even with that it is closer to a ten than a nine.
  33. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    An absolutely great season that really keeps you guessing. So many twists and turns! It's really rare that I'm surprised, but this show just never fails at keeping me guessing. It'S really great to see how the characters have developed in Season 2. I hope like hell that Joffrey gets what he deserves! What a piece of filth. My hats off to Jack Gleeson for portraying him so well. I don't remember ever despising a character so much. Peter Dinklage just keeps impressing. I get that Tyrion Lanniste is far, far from being a saint, I do feel he is one of the few character that is totally relatable, for me at least.

    Overall:
    A fantastic season! MORE! MORE!
    Expand
  34. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    Cliffhangers, twists and turns, everything you want from a War/Fantasy/Drama. Every episode keeps you on the edge of your chair, it's epic, just epic...
  35. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    As a reader I loved how they handled the large volume of A Clash of Kings. The first book fit very well in a 10 episode framework, and I was worried about how things would be handled as the series has a ton and a half of characters and relationships to track. Consequently, things get quite different from the book, but a slavish devotion to source material would only serve to hamper this tv version, in my opinion. The acting is magnificent and the production is great. I look forward to the next season more than anything on tv! Expand
  36. Mar 15, 2013
    6
    This season is a bit of a disappointment coming off of the fantastic opening season. Too much time spent with Dany pouting in the heat or Jon pouting in the cold. And FAR too much time with Robb's completely uninteresting and pathetically conventional love-interest. Aside from Cersei and Arya whose storylines are borrowed from the novels the show writers seem utterly incapable of handling female characters. Even so, the King's Landing sequences are solid, with Peter Dinklage owning every scene like a king. Expand
  37. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Many fans of the books on which the series is based have been somewhat critical of the changes and edits made in this second season. Having not read the books myself I can’t comment on that but judged purely on its own merits, as really it should be, Game of Thrones continues to excel in every department.

    As with the first season there are still plenty of long scenes of dialogue
    required in order to explain the complex world of Westeros but thanks to some fantastic writing and brilliant performances from the entire cast these are just as interesting as the often brutal action interspersed between. Quite how the creators have managed to create such an epic series on a television budget, even one as large as HBO have provided, I will never know. Expand
  38. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    The best TV series ever made!
    Why?
    1. Unparalleled acting.
    2. Perfect Direction.
    3. Engrossing Story and plot.
    4. Awesome Dialogues.

    Its that kind of a TV show where you can go on discussing what happens next for hours and hours.
    Perfect 10!
  39. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    I got free HBO for a month and this was so good I watched 2 seasons in 2 days. I will let it lapse but will pay for it once this series comes back, much as I do with Showtime when Dexter and Homeland are airing. The first episode was confusing without having read the books but I'm glad I persevered. Great story, stellar production values, a believable and scary "universe" and not at all predictable. Almost all the characters are interesting and none of the performances suck. Even the child actors impressed me. Peter Dinklage stands out, in part because his character is fascinating and has a lot of the best lines, but also because he is so damned good. It's not hard to find good actors if you make an effort but finding a dwarf-size actor this talented was an incredible stroke of luck for the series. I will have to check out everything else he's been in. His timing is impeccable, every choice he makes as an actor is perfect and he has charisma I would have thought impossible. I guess that makes me prejudiced, but projecting sexuality is not an easy thing for a man who is less than 5 feet fall. I am SO impressed, both with the series and with Mr. Dinklage. Expand
  40. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    A great continuation of the show, the second season truly picks up where the last season left off, including going down a more fantasy themed route. I believe the second season is actually better than the first season, which is saying something as the first season was phenomenal.
  41. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Almost as brilliant as season 1 but not quite. The show keeps giving amazing performances to awesome writing, beautiful scenery and stunning directing. Some parts were a bit drawn out though, and a little confusing for people who haven't read the books. It is still the best show on TV anywhere.
  42. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    Great show. Much better book. The first season of this show stayed pretty true to the book, which is something I really loved about it. The second season moves quite far away from the book = disappointing. Despite all that, this is still one of the best shows on TV, it's just hard to compare it to a series of books that I'd say are the best fantasy books ever written.
  43. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The best show ever! The sopranos has been demoted to second best show ever in my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  44. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    It is known, Khaleesi. Game of Thrones 2 is epic, even better than the first season which was definitely a kick-off to what's becoming one of HBO's all time best shows.
  45. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    In terms of location shooting, language and imagination this show has no parallel in the history of television. It's a profoundly artistic adaptation of George R R Martin's book. There are some flaws but so what? These are so easy to overlook with all that this show brings to the screen.
  46. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    Not as good as Season 1, but still excellent! Tyrion is still a standout but it feels like not very much happened for SOME of the characters (eg; Jon Snow) this season. Still, each episode makes you want to watch the next.
  47. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    An already brilliant series experienced a massive leap in quality in it's second season. Possibly the greatest drama on television, and one of the best of all time.
  48. Sep 16, 2012
    10
    Most amazing show have seen, absolutely enthralling and can't wait to see what happens next. Was sorry to see Sean Bean go out of it so quickly as loved his character but am eager to see what happens to the kids from here.
  49. Sep 10, 2012
    10
    This was one of the best seasons of a Tv series ive ever watched. It is absolutely fantastic. The acting by each and every actor/ress is superb and i really commend the younger cast (mainly Maisie Williams as Arya) and the Lannister actors. Will definitely watch season3 and all the seasons to come.
  50. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    Season 2 of Game of Thrones cannot measure up to perhaps what was my most enjoyable television watching experience in season 1 (still a 9 on my scale, but a 12 on my likable scale). Season 2 drifts away from the adaptation as the world gets bigger and the character more plentiful, it was difficult to squeeze this much content in 10 hours of television, and it showed. Some characters were betrayed a bit by the shifting gears (Tywin stands out as being far softer and less powerful that his season 1 counterpart), while others really shine as they are given most of their pieces from the book (Alfie Allen as Theon was magnificent). All that being said, this season still provided the best episode of the series ("Blackwater" an absolute masterpiece), and I looked forward to each and every episode. I have no doubt the series will continue to deliver in the 3rd season. Expand
  51. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    Die Storylines sind noch ein bisschen mehr zupflückt und sonst bleibt aber alles gewohnt.
    Ein stellenweise sehr brutales aber immer spannendes Abenteuer von vielen Figuren an vielen Schauplätzen, das von mal zu mal mehr "fantasy" wird.
  52. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    Simply fantastic. I have read the books, and it is slightly different, but equally good. To the fans who think it's blasphemy for them to change anything from the books, remember that they're WORKING WITH MARTIN. He is helping them along the way, and just because something takes a different path to get to to same result, doesn't make it bad. I liked some scenes better in the books, some better in the show. It's a happy trade off, and more exciting to watch than a word for word adaption to the screen re-telling exactly what I read. Expand
  53. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    When I watched the first series I watched them all in a row and was completely hooked. The second series, I read the second book after the first series ended has less of an impact to me because I already knew the plot. Therefore it filled me with great satisfaction that they changed somethings up to keep it interesting for everyone who read the books. I give this show a 10/10 because I love the acting and the plot, I have a little point of criticism though. The episodes directed by Alan Taylor were really slow an I found them the least interesting, luckily he is filming Thor 2 this spring so I have good hopes for season 3. Final thought: WATCH IT!!!!!! Expand
  54. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    oh my gosh, this is a must see and a must read series.It is so amazing that this series has been kept so in line with the books. Please do not sell the rights of this to the Americans to twist and destroy
  55. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    This isn't a tv show, its a long godlike movie split into pieces. Its the best.. whatever it is.. of all time. The quantity here doesn't spoil the quality. If you are any fan of movies, you can't miss it. The second season doesn't disappoint and who cares that its not the same like the books. What that has to do with the quality of the show ?
  56. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    By far one of the best shows on TV. It's like Lord of the Rings meets the Sopranos. There's a lot going on so I find myself watching the episodes twice. It's just as good the second time though!
  57. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    What a great disappointment. A lot of things have been changed from the books to accommodate the sentiment of the viewers the publishers are trying to woo. 1/10 for this compromising piece of ****
  58. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    I like this show a great deal. After the first season I couldn't wait: I went right out and bought and read all the books. Now I'm a bit jaded and disappointed with Season 2. But that shouldn't matter. This show really is pretty darn good. My only ONE REAL SERIOUSLY REALLY BAD COMPLAINT: Jon Snow. This guy is just WORTHLESS. In the books he's already pretty damn stupid, but on the show he has just become a genital wart on an otherwise damn good show. Expand
  59. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones really improved over its last season. The quality of the show is still exceptional, but some of the cast, Emilia Clarke and Lena Heady to be specific, really churned out some amazing acting compared to the first season. Cercei really showed a vulnerability and some humanity compared to her hard, bitter facade, and Daenerys got vengefully evil. I like the sides the characters are starting to show. Watch Game of Thrones, even if you don't like medieval fantasy, because the show is really a lot more than that. It's a complex, impressive drama. Expand
  60. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    I have been done with season 2 for a good week now and have tried watching breaking bad, but I just can't stop thinking about game of thrones! Probably my favorite show!
  61. CDQ
    Jun 28, 2012
    10
    As a whole, Season 2 is far superior to Season 1, and that is saying something seeing as I loved Season 1. Game of Thrones is one of the best shows on TV right now. The acting is top notch, and the writing is fantastic. The show is the definition of epic. I dare anyone to watch this, and honestly say they don't like it. If you aren't watching this, you should be.
  62. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    I always prefer WATCHING over READING. I have not read the books yet but I don't think this is going to change my mind as I hear a lot of people talking that the TV series is not as amazing as books. Anyway, I love this show, one of the BEST TV series. Every character has its own story and true justice has been done to them when it comes to their inclusion in the series. The final episodes of the series were just epic. I could not wait to watch them and I was biting my fingernails while watching it. Expand
  63. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    As someone who has read the song of ice and fire series, I have to say at first I was a little disappointed with season 2. However, as I started to put aside my preconceived notions about how I thought the show should be adapted. I realized that this was great television at its finest. I have even grown to love some of the changes they have made with the series. All the actors are great, but the child actors on this show are incredible. I really have grown to love this show and I can't wait to see what is coming in season 3. Expand
  64. Jun 20, 2012
    1
    They totally screwed up this series when compared with the book. It really is unwatchable and you do yourself a great disservice if you watch this over the book. They cut characters, changed the plot, skewed motivations and alignments. I can understanding leaving out some of the back story due to time constraints but to change the events that happened completely is not acceptable. Not to mention the terrible filming of scenes set in darkness. A total train wreck. Expand
  65. Jun 19, 2012
    5
    What a disappointment! After a couple bumpy episodes, I was happily surprised by season 1. Season 2 is watchable but what a letdown. I feel like I am watching a bad horror movie where most characters make painfully idiotic decisions. The acting isn't that great either expect for Peter Dinklage. Lots of cheap one- liners like in a Chuck Norris movie. Most of the new story arcs are boring. Season 2 picks up some steam after 5-6 episodes but it's still a far-cry from the quality of the dialogues and political intrigues in season 1. Expand
  66. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    The series has a propounding way of forcing you to watch its epicness,everything is sooo realistic and the story is very good, such a good cast swell, can't wait for Season 3!!
  67. Jun 18, 2012
    1
    Take this score knowing that the books have been read and as such just doesn't do it any justice. the 1st series did the book well, this one didn't and didn't by a long shot. If you took this as a separate show ignoring the book then yes it is good, a 7/10 but knowing what was in the book this could be a 10/10. HBO do make cracking shows but they have just let themselves down here. fingers crossed for the 3rd series. Expand
  68. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    It is hard for me to separate my views on this series from those of the book. They may not be fair, but if you have a piece of literature, that may be the best among any fiction ever written, you are bound to try to hold a television show to that standard. That being said this show does a tremendous job of bringing Martin's characters to life and staying true to their personalities and arcs. The things that bother me about this show are the same thing that bothered me in season 1. As if there are not enough characters in Westeros to work with, the creators have chosen to create Roslyn, who's only purpose appears to be to have lots of excuses for "sexposition". I'm not a prude, but for me this never advances the story, and I feel there are plenty of other places for people to get their porn.

    What I love about this show is the rich characters and storytelling. This is an enormous world with many plot lines and a huge number of characters. The show has done a great job of engaging us in all of this in a way that doesn't confuse the viewer and keeps us wanting more. The storytelling did stray a little more from the books than in season 1, but still brought us right back to where we need to be going into next season. I think almost everyone agrees that "Blackwater" was the best episode of the season, and one of the best episodes of TV ever. I also thought the finale was extremely well done, and while many were dissatisfied with Dany's story this year, I thought they did a decent job with the growth of her character. The house of the undying came up a bit short compared to the book, but I think they are properly showing her growth and motivation for where her character will end up.

    The most fun this year was at King's Landing where Tyrion was playing chess with his brain power vs. Cyrsei's cunning and Joffrey's brutality. Tyrion remains the best and most interesting character in this show.

    Overall this is one of the best hours on TV, and has kept me reading the books to gobble up all of Westeros that I can.
    Expand
  69. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Season 2 isn't as good as the first season, but it's still far above most TV dramas. My big problem with Season 2 is that there didn't seem to be much action, but rather a lot of talking and exposition. There was also the story of Daenerys Targaryen which wasn't really given its due until the final episode. But despite this the acting remained top notch, especially the amazing Peter Dinklage who deserved his Golden Globe win for his performance as Tyrion Lannister. Then there was the entire episode of Blackwater which is one of the greatest TV episodes I have ever seen, and the great battle scene was better than many that are produced on the big screen. This is still one of the best shows on television. Expand
  70. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I cant convey to you enough on how good this show is. Every single character is amazing and there has not been a single casting mistake. The acting on this show is amazing, and the show feels like an epic movie every episode. Im not a big TV watcher but this is one show I cant stop watching. I recommend this show to everyone!!!!
  71. Jun 6, 2012
    2
    Can't stand this show. It don't get all the buzz from full grown adults about a fairy tale. It's a bad disney movie with violence. I keep waiting for Harry Potter to show up. I've never heard so many bad accents. Really People?? Where's your taste in good programing?
  72. Jun 6, 2012
    4
    I've been a big fan of season 1 and even read ALL game of throne books after watching that. All books except for the first one. After that, the second season is quite disappointing. The entire book chapters have been condensed into 30 second scenes or so, and honestly, if I did not read the book, I wouldn't even know what's going on on the screen half the time or how it's connected to the story.
  73. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is my favorite show on tv right now. I was blown away by season 2 (and season 1). Not sure I'll be able to wait almost a year for the next season to be released. I haven't met a person who didn't like the show.
  74. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    Before the second season of Game of Thrones began, I decided to read the first book and this gave me an appreciation of how true to George Martin's story the writers stayed with the first season's adaptation. It also helped provide some additional background and detail to the characters in the way that only a several hundred page book can.

    Fresh from sorting out all the loose ends at the
    end of the last season, the new season begins in earnest with Robb at war with the Lannisters, Tyrion appointed the Hand of King Joffrey, Arya on the road and Daenerys struggling to forge a way home with her infant dragons.

    The season then injects a huge influx of new characters, including Stannis and Renly Barratheon, the township of Qarth, the Tyrell siblings, the house of Greyjoy and Jaqen H'ghar. Certain characters from the first season are given much more screen time this time around, most notably Tywin Lannister, who is superbly played by Charles Dance.

    In covering all the characters, locations and story lines, the scope of the show can only be described as epic. As with all good shows of such grandeur (The Wire and Treme), the writers manage to maintain interest through rich character development and intricate story telling despite the meandering pace of the action. Given the scope of the show, the story arc for each character within each book/season is relatively shallow, for instance, Stannis takes almost all 10 episodes to mount his attack on Kings Landing, Robb sits at camp and really does nothing more than deal with his mother and his new love interest, Jon sets out north of the wall and achieves relatively little and Daenerys enters Qarth and struggles with the local politics, but through the structure of the episodes the writers manage to not make you feel short changed at all as the action progresses.

    The season really belongs to Peter Dinklage, who as Tyrion, with the confidence of his father behind him, really comes into his own as he schemes and plots with the best of them at Joffrey's court. All in all the acting and production is superb, and as a Northerner, I love to hear the broad Northern accents when the action switches to Winterfell and beyond the wall.
    Expand
  75. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    This season was even better than the last and the finale is going to make waiting for season 3 even harder to do. This show just builds and builds upon itself improving with every episode.
  76. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Best show on TV. Got the season one box set on Blu Ray and watched 9 out of the 10 episodes in one sitting. I was hooked instantly to the politics and lore of the show. Many twists and turns keep you on your toes at all times. Season two is even better and leaves you anticipating more after each episode. Best show on TV, that's all I can say.
  77. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    Judged purely on it's merits as a TV show, the Game of Thrones series has so far been one of the most memorable shows to date. I would put it up there with such recent classics like The Sopranos. The first two seasons have shown that HBO still has the ability to put out Elite programming above the rest of the networks. The first two seasons of this epic saga really raise the bar for all sorts of production values and I'm very impressed with the quality of acting from most of the characters on the show, in particular Peter Dinklage, who will win his second Emmy for his role as Tyrion. The plot is a different story though. While it's filled with quite a bit of intrigue and treachery, there are FAR too many characters being focused on in this series. These aren't minor characters either. There are consistently 5-7 main storylines going on all at once which really bogs down the show to the point where you barely even see some of the characters in the episode each week, some even being absent entirely. If they could cut out one or two of these stories, things would be so much easier to follow and enjoy. Hell, I'd take a series that just focused on Tyrion, seeing as how he's the most interesting character amongst all of them. I have read the books though and I do know how these things work out, which REALLY makes me excited for the next season, which should be the best season so far, if these production values keep up. Next season, the plot will catch up to the epic promises this show has started to make and truly make this show one of the best ever. Now that this season has ended, people will have plenty of time catching up for next year's epic season. Expand
  78. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    Very good TV series and a wonderful book adaptation. However, sometimes it is marred by some secondary flaws, which make it sometimes a bit dull and boring. Compared to the book, it lacks the magnificence of the final battle and some deeper insights into the character's psychology (e.g. Tyrion). All in all though, even the book lovers will enjoy the show, as it enhances the original version with some interesting elements approved by George R.R. Martin (e.g. some scenes with Arya and Lord Tywin at Harrenhal). Expand
  79. May 28, 2012
    10
    I hate this show so much. It forces me to watch Some times there will be entire episodes where nothing happens. I JUST WANNA KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT. Its the highlight of my week to watch this on Sunday.
  80. May 23, 2012
    5
    The series is great and the story is intriguing. But after thats said the second series it feals like nothing is happening. Everyone is just stand in each others camps and having a stearwar. But hopefully it will improve as the story progresses.
  81. May 22, 2012
    9
    This is by far my favorite TV show that I watch right now, narrowly beating out Mad Men. The story lines are fantastic and I find myself eager to read the books. However, I don't want to ruin the show for myself. It's quite the dilemma. The dialogue exchange between Arya and Tywin Lannaster is enough to make me watch this show, not including the other great characters and plots unfolding. Really looking forward to Episode 9 and all the madness that is about to occur in it! Expand
  82. May 21, 2012
    10
    If you took any show that has ever been on TV, combine it into one powerful show.. you still would not reach the magnitude of epicness of game of thrones.. its just beyond perfection, and i believe there will rarely be anything as great as this..
  83. May 20, 2012
    10
    When Game of Thrones is on your TV you will be immersed into the story and plot, high quality production, very well written characters and performance. casting is great and plot is thick with well placed twists. a must see.
  84. May 18, 2012
    10
    Wonderful. The storyline is great, of course, following George R. R. Martin's best-selling series. The acting amazes me. I thought the loss of an actor in the calibre of Sean Bean could impact my experience, but I was just wrong. It seems that the whole cast is in a different world where flaws are impossible. Peter Dinklage is one of the greatest actors I have ever had the pleasure of watching, and his acting alone is enough to keep me hooked. The other hundreds of actors wouldn't even have to try. And they don't try: they succeed. Expand
  85. May 18, 2012
    10
    Best....show....EVER! I never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers. Man, am I glad I got educated last season. I absolutely love Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's QUALITY programming. These guys know how to pick and create winners. As much as I would like to go out and start reading George's books, there is no way in hell I'm going to ruin this ride with spoilers. Until the curtains close on this outstanding series, I'll be content in my ignorance having never read a single page. Expand
  86. May 17, 2012
    9
    Still loving this show, a bit too much on the 'porny' side. I don't like some of the changes they made to 'enhance' a certain evil king, but I still love the show.

    Twists and turns abound. :)
  87. May 16, 2012
    10
    Sets the standard for epic story telling for years to come. There has never been a world this rich and expansive on TV. I will go back and read the books now! Peter Dinklage is a genius!
  88. May 14, 2012
    5
    Allow me to preface this comment by saying two things: 1) I have read the books (a few times) 2) I was absolutely thrilled with the first season, and was on the edge of my seat waiting for the second season. Yet after 6 episodes of the second season, the TV series has gone astray from the books, not only in unnecessary instances, but also in critical ones. While the series may still be interesting to those who have not read the books, I cannot imagine that readers are pleased. George RR Martin wrote an intriguing tale with copious amounts of sex, yet someone in control seemed to think there wasn't enough for the second season on TV. Disgusting. In my opinion, there were several sub-plots in the first book that were removed from the TV series, but nothing was added. This is the key. In season two they have added plots, or have at least accelerated said plots. At the end of season two episode six, there was an event so different from anything in the books that I may have to stop watching now. Casting is still phenomenal with the introduction of new characters. Love how they've done with a TV budget versus a big screen Lord of the Rings type budget (or, dare I say, Avatar's budget). Expand
  89. May 14, 2012
    10
    Minus the forced HBO sex stuff the show gets better with each episode. I am also a big fan of less episodes when it brings higher quality but I think there is more than enough story to stretch the season a few additional episodes.
  90. May 8, 2012
    7
    After a terrible start (at least terrible when compared to the first season), The show has definently picked up and it has gotten a lot better. Is it as good as the first season? Absolutely not. The first season had a far more well rounded and complete story then this season. It's still an enjoyable show though.
  91. May 6, 2012
    10
    A series and leaves you counting the days till the next program airs. An excellent show from HBO. With the larger budget for this season we can expect to see more action and other fantastic cast, like Tyrion, simply brilliant. I LOVE the books and highly enjoy seeing them come to life on the TV Superb acting all around. Story line is always interesting full of plots wars intrigue, the story always is moving but easy to follow. Expand
  92. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Thrones is far and away the best show currently on television ("Mad Men" is about workaholics and, uuugh, work). This show is why you love HBO, and why you (along with the rest of us) probably agree that the best, most artistic and creative work on the planet is currently done not in fiction, and certainly not in movies, but takes place in small oases of creativity just over the border from network television. Thrones is the rare show that works both as compelling drama and fun entertainment. I am completely in awe of the show's achievement.

    P.S. The professional critics rate this show only one point above "Girls," while the users are far more accurate in their collective opinions. If you ever needed to know which group has a better, more discerning handle on the entertainment you will find more enjoyable/edifying, go no further than these comparisons.
    Expand
  93. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I need another season or so to be sure, but I believe that 'Game of Thrones' is the best television show I've ever watched. It immediately goes into the pantheon of great dramas with The Wire, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, and The Sopranos. The best storytelling on television right now, with amazing acting performances, unbelievable sets and costuming. The sheer scope and magnitude of the story are breathtaking, and Game of Thrones may be the most ambitious project in television history. Watch it sooner rather than later.. Expand
  94. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    I was a little disappointed about how they've changed the story around, made Little Finger look like a jackass, whereas in the book he's a step ahead of everyone. Some more poor casting choices, Asha is hideous, Stannis should have been played by the guy playing the Davos the pirate, and vice-versa, Marjory isn't innocent as she is in the book, not a breathtaking beauty as in the book. That being said, still the best show going on TV today, heads above most stuff. It's too bad this series will never finish, took the Martin 7 years to write the last book and it went absolutely no where. Expand
  95. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    I gobbled up the first season of Game of Thrones, then watched it over again with my wife, after I'd read the book. It worked when I watched it cold, and knowing what was coming didn't reduce the experience. In fact, I was impressed with how the writers managed to cram the essence of a book into 10 episodes without feeling like anything was skimped.
    I had big hopes for the second season,
    but alas, it suffers the all-to-common sophomore phenomenon. The dialogue is more stilted, the characters more dispersed, the story lines more scattered. Game of Thrones has lost its mojo. I may stick it out for episode four tonight, but I have little hope of seeing anything that will make me come back again. Expand
  96. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This show takes everything that humans have learned about good storytelling and film making then adds to it. You DON"T have to be a geek to love it - the characters are real and unique. You DON"T have to be a man to love it - it is not hyper violent - there are swords and armies but most of the gore is shown briefly or skipped. Neither is there just eye candy for men(like bay watch). There is sex and there are pretty characters, but they are realistically depicted (considering context) and aren't glossed over into teeny boy softcore (as some errant critics would lead you to believe. You DON"T have to be super-smart to love it (though it does ask more of the viewer than most shows - a good thing for 90% of us). You DO have to start at the beginning - it's a movie in the fifteenth hour. You DO have to remember what happened last episode. You DO have to be thick skinned - some terrible things are portrayed and if you take what you watch personally or are easily offended then the story is simply not for you. For most people this show will be one of the best things they'e ever seen. It is for me. Expand
  97. Apr 20, 2012
    4
    Bleh all HBO seems interested in is porn. They cut down and simplify all the conversations yet manage to cram in heaps of **** and stuff and it just makes it awkward if your watching with people who don't like that stuff and it seems a waste as they leave out a lot of the good stuff. I guess this appeals to the masses, but not really to me, if I want porn I search the web by myself.
  98. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    it is the best tv series ever created. After so long time a trully world that can compete against LOTR. The actors did an amazing job and every episode has an intriguing story. Its like consuming drugs, you want more and more, I cant wait for the next episode.
  99. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    my best friend's mom makes $77 an hour on the computer. She has been out of job for 9 months but last month her check was $7487 just working on the computer for a few hours. Read about it here NuttyRich.cöm
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 100
    Is Game of Thrones one of the great HBO series? It's too early to tell, though judged purely as an immense yet improbably graceful narrative machine, I'd have to say yes.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 2, 2012
    67
    Game of Thrones starts less like an epic and more like a session of "Medieval Sims."
  3. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Apr 2, 2012
    70
    The new episodes present an almost a too intricate meditation on power. Game of Thrones demands that you pay attention or be left behind.