• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1614 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    For a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight's Season 3 premiere is accordingly quite measured- one might say that it abruptly ends before anything significant actually occurs- but we find ourselves cured of cliffhanger and able to begin sorting through a plot that has had a tendency to overwhelmFor a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight's Season 3 premiere is accordingly quite measured- one might say that it abruptly ends before anything significant actually occurs- but we find ourselves cured of cliffhanger and able to begin sorting through a plot that has had a tendency to overwhelm in the past. Timeframe, along with the pantheon of characters, has been somewhat condensed from the novelistic version of tonight's events, but the cuts were made carefully and do not yet appear to leave any obvious holes or scars. Performances are impressive, writing is stellar, new winds of complexity begin blowing in the north and south alike, and one can't help but wish it were already next Sunday. Game of Thrones is back. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    An excellent fantasy, historical television series that has completely involved me in the lives of the characters. I enjoy the sets, costumes, and the excellent acting.Every week there is a problem to be solved and a cliffhanger that has to be overcome. This season takes ones breath away with all the surprises. I await for new programing ASAP
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This is a story with many, many moving parts. In the wrong hands, the series could have so easily disintegrated into a bubbling mess of confusion, but it has been handled not only ably, but with astounding finesse. The overall story weaves with grace, each scene carries with it an almost tangible flavor. Characters are believable and acted with soul. But the most remarkableThis is a story with many, many moving parts. In the wrong hands, the series could have so easily disintegrated into a bubbling mess of confusion, but it has been handled not only ably, but with astounding finesse. The overall story weaves with grace, each scene carries with it an almost tangible flavor. Characters are believable and acted with soul. But the most remarkable achievement, I'd say, is having been able to hold it all together, all the intricate little plots, all the rich characters, without letting any one storyline or character progression get lost. Each season has improved upon the last in every regard, and I am happy to see that reflected in most critical reviews. I think no matter your bent toward or away from high fantasy, if the series maintains this level of care, it will go down as one of the greatest television achievements of all time. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    All i can say is, im glad this brilliant show is back on air!!!
    the first episode starts by bringing back all the characters into the story, reminding you of what they were doing, and getting the story rolling again, however i felt there was a lack of connection or acknowledgement between all the main characters, feeling like each different scene featuring a different house was a skit
    All i can say is, im glad this brilliant show is back on air!!!
    the first episode starts by bringing back all the characters into the story, reminding you of what they were doing, and getting the story rolling again, however i felt there was a lack of connection or acknowledgement between all the main characters, feeling like each different scene featuring a different house was a skit from a comedy sitcom.
    given that, the episode was still great, with some really exciting scenes and great writing (8/10 probably). i think daenerys will probably become one of the most important and interesting charters in this season.
    the trailers are showing pleanty more action which is always good, and i just cant wait for it all to unfold!
    Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I originally reviewed this when there were only 3 episodes left, and I ended up giving it a nine. But, after the last three episodes, particularly "The Rains of Castamere" I feel as though it has earned a ten. I know some have complained that the finale wasn't exciting enough, but it was following the episode that is second only to "Blackwater" in terms of excitement. The finale was aI originally reviewed this when there were only 3 episodes left, and I ended up giving it a nine. But, after the last three episodes, particularly "The Rains of Castamere" I feel as though it has earned a ten. I know some have complained that the finale wasn't exciting enough, but it was following the episode that is second only to "Blackwater" in terms of excitement. The finale was a good set up for the plot points of next season. And yes, the first couple episodes were a bit slow, but they were still good and the plot has flown nicely since then, with great character development, particularly in the case of Jaime. Plus, the acting was incredible but seemed particularly great in the finale. All in all, it was a great season and every episode was great in its own way. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Season 3 was shocking with some extra jagged and unforeseeable turns. A diverse story with interesting characters Its pace works both ways (in its favor as well as against it) The best thing on TV
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    3 episodes in, and I am quite impressed. The first two episodes (especially the premiere) focused on setting up the plot lines and character arcs of the season. The third episode also had a considerable amount of set-up, but it also moved at a faster pace and brought quite a few surprises. This is shaping up to be the best season yet. The writing is still stellar, the acting top notch, and3 episodes in, and I am quite impressed. The first two episodes (especially the premiere) focused on setting up the plot lines and character arcs of the season. The third episode also had a considerable amount of set-up, but it also moved at a faster pace and brought quite a few surprises. This is shaping up to be the best season yet. The writing is still stellar, the acting top notch, and the production values better than ever. I can't wait for the rest of this season! Expand
  8. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    The best instalment in the series consequently results in the best season thus far. While some liberties were taken with twisting several plot elements from the book, it nevertheless remains mostly faithful to the book.
  9. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    This show is the high point of each week for me, I am captivated. Each episode builds more complexity and intrigue. This is the best series on TV today!
  10. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    well this tv series it keeps getting better and better. At fist season 3 was ok but in about the 4th episode I realised that this season is actually the best one. Not only it has good story and plot, it also had some twists really unexpected. This season made me come close to some characters such as arya, sansa and the fat boy who was with jon snow i don't remember his name). All in all,well this tv series it keeps getting better and better. At fist season 3 was ok but in about the 4th episode I realised that this season is actually the best one. Not only it has good story and plot, it also had some twists really unexpected. This season made me come close to some characters such as arya, sansa and the fat boy who was with jon snow i don't remember his name). All in all, Game of throne's season 3 is a must-see masterpiece Expand
  11. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Another impeccable season of Game of Thrones. Plot twists and political drama was once again well written and spread in all of the episodes. There was a good distribution of screen time, which is very difficult to do in a television series with so many characters and plot lines. Great to see the development of stories in both, Westeros and Essos.
  12. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    Yet another stellar season for Game of Thrones, and it shows no signs of letting up. This season has definitely been the fastest paced. The problem is is that there are so many characters to keep up with. This is GoT's strength, and at times, weakness. Almost every character on this show is as well acted and well written as the next. One can only hope they can keep this up for years to come.
  13. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    I was a big fan of the books, and a bit disappointed with the first season. However, the actors have really grown on me, and the writers have stepped up their game. They do a great job sticking to the script, while still feeling free to explore their own ideas. The Red Wedding was brilliantly done. All of the Lannisters - Tyrion, Cersei, Jaime, and Tywin - are played brilliantly. AndI was a big fan of the books, and a bit disappointed with the first season. However, the actors have really grown on me, and the writers have stepped up their game. They do a great job sticking to the script, while still feeling free to explore their own ideas. The Red Wedding was brilliantly done. All of the Lannisters - Tyrion, Cersei, Jaime, and Tywin - are played brilliantly. And Littlefinger's 'Chaos is a ladder' speech was one of my favourite TV moments. Expand
  14. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I'll get this out of the way right now, I'm a fan of the books. It didn't originally begin that way, I first saw this show when season 1 was airing and then I read the books as I was immediately engrossed in this fantastic world. There have been some changes in the first two episodes of this season I'm not too keen about, such as Stannis being set up as a villain, but despite deviatingI'll get this out of the way right now, I'm a fan of the books. It didn't originally begin that way, I first saw this show when season 1 was airing and then I read the books as I was immediately engrossed in this fantastic world. There have been some changes in the first two episodes of this season I'm not too keen about, such as Stannis being set up as a villain, but despite deviating from the books this show is still brilliant.

    One thing you need to accept as a book fan is this show will be different, whether it's for better or worse it's happened and will continue to happen until the show has concluded.

    The production values of this show have been amazing, more so in this season than ever. The costumes are beautifully crafted, the locations are wonderful and the visual effects always impress. This together with the casts great performance makes Game of Thrones one of, if not the, most enjoyable shows on television right now.

    I've seen a few people complain that the beginning of this season has been slow, if you feel that way then I must tell you that you're watching the wrong show. Game of Thrones isn't about large scale battles or epic duels, it's about great storytelling and character development. We see our favourite and most hated characters continue their stories through the world of Westeros and get to meet new people in the mean time.

    Season 3 is looking like it could be the best of the show yet.
    Expand
  15. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    With these first 3 episodes passing by lightly, the real war started from the ending of episode 4 showing that nobody messes with the mother of dragons or her army. her 5 minute performance deserves an emmy! if this show doesn't end with her on the iron throne i will be really disappointed. YOU GO EMILIA CLARKE!
  16. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    j jk ;akfj ;akjf; lkaj;lfkj ;lkj lkjas;dlk ;lkjsf l;kja;slkjf ;lkj fl;kjasd ;lksd ;lsjdfk qipo npwgnin wofi i poinoinwpeoif noi i poihf oaiohio oi hiosdh pfoia ifiop
  17. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Game of Thrones season 3 is here! The writing is absolutely fantastic and better than ever,the storylines are highly compelling and there's a darkness lingering in the air as death literally is on every corner.The show is easily the most visually stunning show on TV with gorgeous sets and special effects blending in perfectly with this dark fantasy realm that George R.R Martin hasGame of Thrones season 3 is here! The writing is absolutely fantastic and better than ever,the storylines are highly compelling and there's a darkness lingering in the air as death literally is on every corner.The show is easily the most visually stunning show on TV with gorgeous sets and special effects blending in perfectly with this dark fantasy realm that George R.R Martin has created.The acting performaces are stunning by everybody and there are no weak links.Game of Thrones has hit a very strong stride,and the stakes are higher than ever before.The realm is engulfed in a hell'ish war of those competing for The Iron Throne.There will be blood....there will be lots of blood.From Daenary's travelling to Slavers Bay to Jon Snow meeting the King beyond The wall.Game of Thrones is compelling TV,and TV you cannot miss. 10/10 Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Absolutely love this show. The first two seasons are great and season three should be the biggest and best season! Also they do a exceptional job at making the books into a tv show, the books are no walk in the park. Kutos to HBO!
  19. BKM
    Apr 10, 2013
    10
    The third season of HBO's Game of Thrones is shaping up to be its finest yet. The writing, acting and production values are stellar as usual, but the biggest difference so far is with the pacing. The creative decision to cover only the first half of the third of George R.R. Martin's books has allowed for the characters to be even more fully fleshed out and for new characters to beThe third season of HBO's Game of Thrones is shaping up to be its finest yet. The writing, acting and production values are stellar as usual, but the biggest difference so far is with the pacing. The creative decision to cover only the first half of the third of George R.R. Martin's books has allowed for the characters to be even more fully fleshed out and for new characters to be integrated smoothly into the narrative. Thrones desire to constantly evolve and improve upon each season is remarkable for a series that was already nearly flawless. Expand
  20. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    A very good beginning to the show, ties up a lot of loose ends and sets up coming events. A lot of the TV show has redone Daenery's plot, for the better as far as I'm concerned.
  21. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    The word epic gets banded about a lot, but, if any TV show has ever truly earned that title it is Game of Thrones. Featuring a huge, and incredibly talented, cast it is quite frankly amazing how the writers and directors have been able to bring such an interesting and detailed world to the small screen.

    Ignore those who criticise the show for its fantasy setting as this is drama at its
    The word epic gets banded about a lot, but, if any TV show has ever truly earned that title it is Game of Thrones. Featuring a huge, and incredibly talented, cast it is quite frankly amazing how the writers and directors have been able to bring such an interesting and detailed world to the small screen.

    Ignore those who criticise the show for its fantasy setting as this is drama at its very best.
    Expand
  22. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    My only problem with the show is 1 hour seems like 15 minutes and I want more. To be honest, this is my favorite TV show of all time. I recommend everyone to watch it. Everything about it is great. The acting, characters, production values, plot, etc. Its a masterpiece.
  23. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Everything about this series is terrific, spell-binding, intense and epic. I can't think of any other series for which I waited for like I did for Game of Thrones this whole year. Acting, writing, direction and cinematography are way more than brilliant, near to perfect and absolutely flawless at times. The season premiere took some time to build just like the series premiere did andEverything about this series is terrific, spell-binding, intense and epic. I can't think of any other series for which I waited for like I did for Game of Thrones this whole year. Acting, writing, direction and cinematography are way more than brilliant, near to perfect and absolutely flawless at times. The season premiere took some time to build just like the series premiere did and there's nothing wrong with taking things slow. Game of Thrones is really the best series on TV right now and if you don't agree, there's something seriously wrong with you. Expand
  24. May 6, 2013
    10
    Great show, but as always "the books are better". If you are a fan of the TV show please take time to read the books. Yes they are long. Yes they will take a lot of time. Yes they are worth it. The show can only explain so much about the characters. The 3rd season is turning out to be pretty entertaining, even though they are changing some major things. Hopefully this show lasts another 6 years.
  25. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    As a reader of the book series, I can say that this show gives complete justice to the books. They treat every plot line with respect. When they out material you can trust they have a good reason to do so, be it casting limits, budget or episode constraints. One could just complain "oh they left this out and they changed that" without even considering why. Now I know I have only seen oneAs a reader of the book series, I can say that this show gives complete justice to the books. They treat every plot line with respect. When they out material you can trust they have a good reason to do so, be it casting limits, budget or episode constraints. One could just complain "oh they left this out and they changed that" without even considering why. Now I know I have only seen one episode, but to be honest, one is enough to see that this season will be the best. I wish the score went higher than ten, because I think it deserves a higher score than last year. Expand
  26. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I have been continually impressed by the writing and adaptation of this show from the books. For more in depth analysis:

    http://www.notsodaily.com/2013/04/game-of-thrones-recap-and-review.html
  27. May 6, 2013
    10
    Both Season 2 and Season 3 are even better from Season 1. This is the best TV show for me and i am in love with the Medieval Fantasy setting. My only complain is that they release only 10 episodes every year. HBO while knows that this series is a success they are greedy with the few episodes they release every year
  28. May 13, 2013
    10
    Absolutely best medieval fantasy drama ever. Best plot, best actors (for many of them is the debut) and nice action scenes. Game of Thrones series it the exact interpretation, that the book deserve, and it deserve the best of the best
  29. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    As with the book on which it is based, part three absolutely cements this series' greatness. As always, though, the series' adaptation of the book adds a whole new dimension of genius to the story. Season three jumps right past the dubious 'action' of the fourth book and jumps right into sampling the fifth book, while delaying some of book three's crazy developments. Cannot wait for more.As with the book on which it is based, part three absolutely cements this series' greatness. As always, though, the series' adaptation of the book adds a whole new dimension of genius to the story. Season three jumps right past the dubious 'action' of the fourth book and jumps right into sampling the fifth book, while delaying some of book three's crazy developments. Cannot wait for more. 10? Yeah, it is perfect. Expand
  30. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    At times I felt that season three was the show's slowest yet. For me too many of the characters, I can think of Arya, Sam, Jaime and Brann off the top of my head, were sharing journeys of a similar nature and although the plot only visited them occasionally, there didn't seem to be much diversity between the story lines and episodes could be filled with people on the move, never seeming toAt times I felt that season three was the show's slowest yet. For me too many of the characters, I can think of Arya, Sam, Jaime and Brann off the top of my head, were sharing journeys of a similar nature and although the plot only visited them occasionally, there didn't seem to be much diversity between the story lines and episodes could be filled with people on the move, never seeming to make much progress towards their goals.

    On the other hand, all the above is what makes Game of Thrones such a great show. The plot moves along at its own speed, steadily moving the massive cast of characters along in their respective story arcs. The slow and deliberate story telling is such a contrast to many TV shows where writers seem to rush plots at the expense of character development. That is not to say that Game of Thrones is not capable of turning up the excitement levels. I think this season has contained the biggest shocks of the show so far and considering what happened at the end of season one, that is saying something.

    This leads me on to the episode The Rains of Castamere, also known as The Red Wedding. I'm keen not to give anything way so it is difficult to comment on but for me this episode underlines the greatness of the show. A colossal event in terms of characters and story line that you just would not see in any other show. Imagine Tony Soprano's family being wiped out in the middle of an episode in the middle of a season. Totally unheard of. The scenes in particular were brilliantly produced as well and any silly doubts I had over the show were instantly erased by this episode.

    Elsewhere, Tywin demonstrates he is the only Lannister able to lay the law down to Joffrey. I'm looking forward to seeing more of this in the future, Joffrey seems genuinely afraid of his grandfather. Tywin's arrival shakes things up at Joffrey's court and things change for Tyrion, Sansa and Littlefinger and even Cersei seems unable to avoid her father's plans to strengthen the family.

    The season comes to a close with the fate of one major character unconfirmed and I can't wait for the fallout from the Red Wedding to filter across Westeros. The next season of Game of Thrones cannot return soon enough.
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    While Season 3, like the novel on which it is based, takes a little while to get going, when it does pick up speed, it soars--particularly in the sensational third and fourth installments.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    If Game of Thrones still feels like it's just a bit weighed down by the sheer heft of its narrative strands, to say nothing of the seemingly endless backstories and mythologies, the series at least now feels like it has some firm footing and a newfound sense of certain direction that was lacking intermittently in the second season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones plays by its own rules--and remains irresistible.