• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2528 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Thrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it ISThrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it IS fantasy, dragons warlocks, zombies, etc, it doesn't bludgeon you with the nerdiness. My friend hates fantasy, Lord of The Rings drove him nuts, but he loves this as he says it's very realistic in terms of the ways things were. The action is awesome, the acting is perfect, the dialouge is spot on - just all-round brilliance really. If every TV series were like this we'd be laughing. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    There are some changes between the books and the show, but they are mostly due to either cost or background. Sometimes they add a scene to show things that were implied in the books indirectly. Sometimes, they take a scene away due to time or the aforementioned costs. All of that said, the show is dark and wonderful, and it tells a tale not unlike the books. My only complaint isThere are some changes between the books and the show, but they are mostly due to either cost or background. Sometimes they add a scene to show things that were implied in the books indirectly. Sometimes, they take a scene away due to time or the aforementioned costs. All of that said, the show is dark and wonderful, and it tells a tale not unlike the books. My only complaint is that Renly never ate the peach! Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    the worst part about this show is that i have to wait a week in between episodes. i haven't read the books, so i enjoy the show quite a bit

    i'm intrigued about what's going to happen
  4. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Yes, Game of Thrones is graphic. And it's obscene. And I love it. The acting, the writing, everything about this show proves Game of Thrones is really a winner. The production quality of this show is also really commendable. I recommend this to anyone, even people who aren't really into fantasy. Also, as an adaptation, this show is really excellent.
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    It's on HBO, so you can expect a lot of gore, violence and nudity. But other than those 'superficial' attractions, Game of Thrones is one of the best TV series to come in a long time. Great cast, superb storytelling and stellar production values. It brings incredible characterization and convoluted plotting into the forefront, something that can only be done in a TV series such as this.It's on HBO, so you can expect a lot of gore, violence and nudity. But other than those 'superficial' attractions, Game of Thrones is one of the best TV series to come in a long time. Great cast, superb storytelling and stellar production values. It brings incredible characterization and convoluted plotting into the forefront, something that can only be done in a TV series such as this. Highly recommended. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is an absolute treat! Everything about this show is marvelous. The first episode of the first season only was able to get my attention and interest me in watching the whole season. There is no doubt about acting or the brilliance of cinematography and when you watch it, you can tell that a lot of money has been spent on making this show look even more than great.
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    this show is simply amazing, i got hooked after season 1 and ended up buying all the books too. can't wait for season 3. i would advise any one who hasn't read the books yet but want to, i believe it's more fun to watch the season first then go back and read the book just because the series is so suspenseful.
  8. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Very very good tv show, a bit too brutal for my taste, but it adds to the realism of it which makes it very high quality! Love the character portrayals by everyone, all very good actors and actresses! Just, wow, Can't wait for Season 3.
  9. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Technically and artistically a wonderful piece of motion picture. It's a first-class, professional production. I really don't know what to criticize. The viewer is kept in suspense throughout the entire episodes.
  10. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best adaptations I've ever seen made​​. This first season was able to excite me like never before. Can follow the spirit of the book and fabulous actors equal in all respects to the characters of the book. This is a masterpiece!
  11. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is fantastic and a premium HBO triumph. The series drowns in its lore, in a good way, so that when each episode is over you'll be crying for more. From the stellar cast, the gorgeous imagery, to the fantastic soundtrack and the clinching story Game of Thrones triumphs in every possible way imaginable. Highly Recommended for Lord Of The Rings and Skyrim fans!
  12. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. The acting is great, the scenery is great and the atmosphere created is absolutely amazing. It is backed up by a deep plot-line that will have you thinking for a long time. Just can't wait to see the next episode after watching one.
  13. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Recently I finally watched this series after being told repeatedly of how amazing it was, and I have to say I agree. I don't think I've ever seen such amazing production design for a television show, allowing the world of Westeros to feel very real and authentic. The cast is superb as well. Sean Bean and Peter Dinklage are the standouts in Season 1, but the whole cast does a good job ofRecently I finally watched this series after being told repeatedly of how amazing it was, and I have to say I agree. I don't think I've ever seen such amazing production design for a television show, allowing the world of Westeros to feel very real and authentic. The cast is superb as well. Sean Bean and Peter Dinklage are the standouts in Season 1, but the whole cast does a good job of embodying their characters. Furthermore, the plot of the series is completely engaging, I found it hard to tear myself away from the screen. In fact I finished the first Season in just three days because I just couldn't stop watching. If you're a fan of medieval history or fantasy than this is definitely a show that you should watch. Expand
  14. May 30, 2012
    10
    This was a really well written season. I was hooked right from the start. Excellent cast and intriguing story lines. The only flaw with the show is that it is too short. This is more noticeable in the second season where too many things are going on at once. This show either needs more episodes or to have lengthier episodes.
  15. May 30, 2012
    10
    It is not easy trying to bring life in to all of the complex characters of G.RR Martins amazing books, but this show certainly has succeeded! You never know what is about to happen, who will die next and where the story ends up. It is simply brilliant!
  16. May 28, 2012
    9
    As a fan of the books, I can honestly say this is a great transition from book to screen. The acting is very, very good. The show might be a little slow at some points, but if you stick around, the show gets very exciting. The only complaint I have is that It doesnt seem as epic and grand of scale as it could, and the action seems very unnatural and coordinated.
  17. May 22, 2012
    10
    I had never read the books, but had heard people talking of this show. Once I started watching, I could not stop. Practically every character in this show is engaging and interesting, even if you don't like them (Cercei, Joffrey, etc.). Tyrion is a fascinating character as well as Arya. I found following each individual storyline quite easy, even when there is so many of them. The scriptI had never read the books, but had heard people talking of this show. Once I started watching, I could not stop. Practically every character in this show is engaging and interesting, even if you don't like them (Cercei, Joffrey, etc.). Tyrion is a fascinating character as well as Arya. I found following each individual storyline quite easy, even when there is so many of them. The script and acting appeal to me and I truly don't see any flaws in this show as of yet. Expand
  18. May 17, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones succeeds both as an adaptation and as a great TV drama in its first season. The writing is great (the source material gives it no excuse to be otherwise), and there are some truly mesmerizing performances by the actors. Mark Addy as Robert Baratheon, Charles Dance as Tywin Lannister, Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jaime Lannister, andGame of Thrones succeeds both as an adaptation and as a great TV drama in its first season. The writing is great (the source material gives it no excuse to be otherwise), and there are some truly mesmerizing performances by the actors. Mark Addy as Robert Baratheon, Charles Dance as Tywin Lannister, Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jaime Lannister, and Coneleth Hill as Varys were the four that stood out for me. It takes some time to get into the world of A Song of Ice and Fire (I was unimpressed by the pilot, but after the second episode was hooked). Beyond all of this, it is a show that requires, no demand, repeated viewings as there is so much detail to the world and the characters. If there is a criticism to be had, it is that the budget is limiting for battle sequences and to capture the scope of the book series, but that is to be expected. For fantasy lovers, and lovers of quality television (so long as they can get past their biases against the fantasy genre) this is required viewing. Very impressive first season. Expand
  19. May 15, 2012
    9
    I was close to finishing book 1 when a friend lent me this and I caved in, watching the first 4 episodes back-to-back. It is very good and they so far they have managed to capture the book down to fine details with a cast that is almost universally perfect. So if you are a fan of the books I'd say so far, so good. If you've not read the books I recommend you do so first then come back andI was close to finishing book 1 when a friend lent me this and I caved in, watching the first 4 episodes back-to-back. It is very good and they so far they have managed to capture the book down to fine details with a cast that is almost universally perfect. So if you are a fan of the books I'd say so far, so good. If you've not read the books I recommend you do so first then come back and see HBO bring them to life Expand
  20. May 8, 2012
    10
    For me this is one of the best movie ever!! There You can find everything : fight, intrigue, amazing story, sex and mooore. I having not read this fantastic (guess) saga but I will do this in a week!!
  21. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Please don't die George R.R. Martin!! You don't look like you're in the best of health. The TV show is an amazing adaptation of the books. This show is full of deep characters, dynamic plotlines, and great writing. Keep it up HBO. Two more books to go GRRM!
  22. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    My husband and I really loved season 1- and could not wait to see the next season--however we are soooo very disappointed in season 2....the violence and extreme obscenity is not necessary for the enjoyment of this series...we are as liberal as most but we really are not enjoying this season and will probably not bother to waste our time viewing the rest of the season.......We don't reallyMy husband and I really loved season 1- and could not wait to see the next season--however we are soooo very disappointed in season 2....the violence and extreme obscenity is not necessary for the enjoyment of this series...we are as liberal as most but we really are not enjoying this season and will probably not bother to waste our time viewing the rest of the season.......We don't really see any entertainment value in the series any longer. ---It is actually rather sickening to watch. Expand
  23. Apr 19, 2012
    9
    I love history, but most history book are boring to read. But this, this is what history should be, granted its a fantasy novel turned into a HBO show but wow, i wish all History Channels shows were like this. Awesome storyline, wonderful acting and just an overall nice looking piece of art! Go check it out if you haven't already and prepare to be hooked!!
  24. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    Fantastic show. For quite awhile I've wanted an 'original feeling' medieval show to watch, and good god does it deliver. The production value is high, the scenes are well shot and it is absolutely worth watching on bluray (which I recently did).

    Characters feel very real, you even start to love some of the 'bad' guys. The only thing that keeps me from recommending this to my own family
    Fantastic show. For quite awhile I've wanted an 'original feeling' medieval show to watch, and good god does it deliver. The production value is high, the scenes are well shot and it is absolutely worth watching on bluray (which I recently did).

    Characters feel very real, you even start to love some of the 'bad' guys.

    The only thing that keeps me from recommending this to my own family is the nudity, sometimes a bit too much. Other times though some purely stunning scenes of artistic nudity are acceptable, but the straight up porny elements make viewing sometimes a bit awkward. Still, it does not really detract from such a fantastic show and I hope they don't change the formula, its great.
    Expand
  25. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    After watching the first season I am going to be forced to buy the next book. This story is building in epic fashion and the character development is brilliant. So many crazy things happen that you just can't feel that anyone is safe and that the next big plot point can come from nothing. To anyone who is reading the few poor reviews DO NOT believe them. Only a professional dork wouldAfter watching the first season I am going to be forced to buy the next book. This story is building in epic fashion and the character development is brilliant. So many crazy things happen that you just can't feel that anyone is safe and that the next big plot point can come from nothing. To anyone who is reading the few poor reviews DO NOT believe them. Only a professional dork would criticize a show like this for not being a good enough "fantasy." For the average person it is a captivating show and I for one hope it continues through the existing and future series. Expand
  26. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    A simply perfect season. Amazing characters, an interesting plot, twists and turns, a fantastic world created by George R.R Martin, great sets and, of course, really really really good actors, who bring the characters of the book to life. Bravo HBO, Bravo Producers, and the entire team!
  27. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    The show in a whole is very well put together. The various points of view are deftly mixed together without being overly confusing. The wit and range of emotions provides a lot of character to the show. And the TV show appears to be offering a more streamlined but accurate adaptation of the books that hopefully can manage the extremely large setting that they are in.
  28. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    HBO does it again by delivering another must see series. Game Of Thrones is THE show to watch and anyone who hasnt watched it is truely missing out. I love it.
  29. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    I haven't read the books, but I must say that I definitely plan to after watching this amazing show. Where do I begin? The characters are all interesting, the production value is so good that I often forget that I'm watching a TV show, and it surprises me at every turn. I don't care for predictability and this show rarely drags on as the dialogue is just as thrilling as the fight scenes.I haven't read the books, but I must say that I definitely plan to after watching this amazing show. Where do I begin? The characters are all interesting, the production value is so good that I often forget that I'm watching a TV show, and it surprises me at every turn. I don't care for predictability and this show rarely drags on as the dialogue is just as thrilling as the fight scenes. It's a bit difficult to follow at first because there are several important characters and the story is so intricate, but you'll catch on eventually. I can't recommend this show enough. Bravo HBO! Expand
  30. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    An entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genreAn entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genre television like DEADWOOD, BATTLESTAR GALACTICA, and JUSTIFIED. Expand
  31. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This epic show is just brilliant, comfortably the best show on the outstandingly good Sky Atlantic channel. All the cast are excellent in it, the backdrops, visual effects and makeup are of cinema quality rather than what we usually get in a TV drama, the script is excellent, basically, I can't stress enough just how good this show is, if I could give more than 10 I comfortably would.This epic show is just brilliant, comfortably the best show on the outstandingly good Sky Atlantic channel. All the cast are excellent in it, the backdrops, visual effects and makeup are of cinema quality rather than what we usually get in a TV drama, the script is excellent, basically, I can't stress enough just how good this show is, if I could give more than 10 I comfortably would. Just excellent! Bring on Season 2! Expand
  32. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    To all you nay sayers out there who denounce this TV series as being predictable and "boring" you have not read the books. You even say that you have not read the books yet then go on to point out how deficient the story is. I hope more people watch this series and your efforts to stop this are in vein. If you had read the books you would realise how important they are to the fantasyTo all you nay sayers out there who denounce this TV series as being predictable and "boring" you have not read the books. You even say that you have not read the books yet then go on to point out how deficient the story is. I hope more people watch this series and your efforts to stop this are in vein. If you had read the books you would realise how important they are to the fantasy genre. They make fantasy feel real. As if you could mistake the history of Westeros with our own. You would realise that season 1 is the opening novel and sets the 'stage' for the rest of the series to unfold. Season 2 will be remarkable. Why? Because the book 2 is remarkable. Book 3 is even better and Book 5 is a masterpiece. I love HBO for making this series. When I first started to read the books, some 10 years ago, I always thought this would make a cool movie or TV series and when I heard that HBO was making a series out of the books I almost jumped out of my chair. This is a truly awesome series and once they are all made they will go down as being as good as the books. I suppose there are people who find Sopranos, Rome and TheWire 'boring.' I take solace in the fact that not all have the sense to know what's good for them. Expand
  33. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Globaly faithful to the tone of the books, but Dothrakis are a bit strange to me. Peter Dinklage as Tyrion is realy fantastic. Its a pity that it's too violent to be seen with kids.
  34. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I can hardly imagine, how anyone could have made a better adaptation of this magnificent book for the screen. It's extremely true to the book's spirit, not afraid to change minor things or adapt to the totally different medium, while still telling the story as close to GRRM's original vision as possible.
    The cast is simply fantastic, the characters incredibly well done and the production
    I can hardly imagine, how anyone could have made a better adaptation of this magnificent book for the screen. It's extremely true to the book's spirit, not afraid to change minor things or adapt to the totally different medium, while still telling the story as close to GRRM's original vision as possible.
    The cast is simply fantastic, the characters incredibly well done and the production looks amazing. The only thing you notice here and there, sadly, are the budget restrictions that come with a TV show.
    Ironically, getting away from those when writing for TV (which he did for years before) was the reason for GRRM to start writing the A Song of Ice and Fire epic in the first place... :-)
    Expand
  35. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones is not for everybody. It a fantasy series that reads like a drama, and if you have not read the books, you may have a hard time remembering all of the characters. Yes, it definitely challenges viewers in that regard. In the end, however, the show comes together masterfully--the performances are sweeping, the costumes are gorgeous, the sets are seamlessly immersing. MindGame of Thrones is not for everybody. It a fantasy series that reads like a drama, and if you have not read the books, you may have a hard time remembering all of the characters. Yes, it definitely challenges viewers in that regard. In the end, however, the show comes together masterfully--the performances are sweeping, the costumes are gorgeous, the sets are seamlessly immersing. Mind you, you do not go into this series expecting fairy-tale heroism and epic monster battles. While there are healthy doses of mysticism, they are subtle and build gradually. In the end, Game of Thrones is about kingdoms, its people, and the vicious intrigues that occur throughout. The characters you meet along the way are not complex so much as they are REAL. They might seem predictable, but that is because they are relatable. No one is evil, no one is good, and no one is safe. They are people who hurt and bleed and die. A few of them are clever, but most of them are limited, even tormented by their own personal codes, so much so that they are driven to their doom. The idea here is not to focus on just one character. The character you end up rooting for might end up disappointing you. They might end up dying. Meanwhile, a character you once thought to be a callous villain turns out to be damaged in some way, not unlike ourselves. Ultimately, Game of Thrones is elegant, treacherous, violent, and gritty. As a viewer, you will SEE imminent betrayal around every corner; it -is- predictable. When it arrives, however, it is keenly felt. You might even be moved. Granted, you WILL have to invest more than five seconds acquainting yourself with the characters and the world they fill. If you can do that, it is actually a very easy drama to follow, not mention a true work of art. Expand
  36. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I have not read the books, but have been told not to because this adaptation is so faithful (in essence). Great acting, action, and overall plot narrative. Never a dull moment!
  37. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Having not read the books this series has so many unexpected twists. This show demands your love or hate for the characters and it is accomplished without question. Beautiful scenes only add to the mayhem, A must watch!
  38. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    There's a reason fans of the books sometimes enjoy this show more than people who haven't read them- the story just gets better and better. I hadn't read the books or even heard of them before watching the show, but after watching the show and reading the books, I can safely say that the story builds up slow, but builds up big. You could be yawning at the first episode, but by the time youThere's a reason fans of the books sometimes enjoy this show more than people who haven't read them- the story just gets better and better. I hadn't read the books or even heard of them before watching the show, but after watching the show and reading the books, I can safely say that the story builds up slow, but builds up big. You could be yawning at the first episode, but by the time you reach the end you are sobbing in empathy. The show trades some of the novel's subtlety for a more TV-friendly heavy handedness, but in a really great, emotional way. Watch it, stick with it, it's awesome! Expand
  39. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This show is absolutely amazing. I never read the novels it is based on. I was hooked after watching the 1st episode.

    Best TV shows:

    - Game Of Thrones
    - Breaking Bad
    - Walking Dead
  40. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I love it. TV was dead to me (killed by the internet) until this brought me back. I had not read the book, but had read one and a half prequels to it. It wasn't terribly hard to follow, especially on Amazon where rewinding is possible. The style of directing is reminiscent of Battlestar Galactica. There is a lot of cutting between parallel threads, and leisurely dialog scenes whichI love it. TV was dead to me (killed by the internet) until this brought me back. I had not read the book, but had read one and a half prequels to it. It wasn't terribly hard to follow, especially on Amazon where rewinding is possible. The style of directing is reminiscent of Battlestar Galactica. There is a lot of cutting between parallel threads, and leisurely dialog scenes which do not overstay their welcome. The pacing is good and the characters are believable, except for a few scenes of the Targaryens which seemed over the top and gratuitous. The nudity (which 100% of the negative reviews complained about) though far more abundant than most other TV shows, is a tiny fraction of the show and does not detract from it. It rather makes it feel more authentic through being unencumbered by censors. It is, IMO, the best show since DS9 ended. The Walking Dead, for instance, has utter **** for acting and writing compared to this. Expand
  41. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    A nearly flawless adaptation of the amazing first book in the series. The cast was chosen with great care. The story was told with precision. The results were fantastic.
  42. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    I entered this unaware of George R.R. Martin or the series. I've exited a huge fan. As a middle of the road, sort-of armchair fantasy fan I wasn't sure when I first heard about this series, maybe it would be too much fantasy, too far from life. Now, maybe that's a good thing. Maybe, that's what it's meant to be, but I never like fantasy that went too far from life. Luckily for me, it's notI entered this unaware of George R.R. Martin or the series. I've exited a huge fan. As a middle of the road, sort-of armchair fantasy fan I wasn't sure when I first heard about this series, maybe it would be too much fantasy, too far from life. Now, maybe that's a good thing. Maybe, that's what it's meant to be, but I never like fantasy that went too far from life. Luckily for me, it's not like that. Luckily, it's from HBO; a network who's shows have always dealt with reality. I may be a bad fan of fantasy. I may be doing it wrong, I probably am, but if this show had been purely dragons and such things I would surely have exited the show early; disappointed. But the real-life aspects have kept me enthralled, kept me relating to certain characters. It isn't up to The Wire in levels of realism, but it's the closest a show like this could get. Great acting, great writing and exactly what I wanted. Thanks George for writing, thanks HBO for adapting. Expand
  43. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The negative reviews for this series astound me. Having read through book 2 when the show began and book 4 now, I cannot imagine this show being done in a better way. Season 1 very closely follows the events of book 1, which is no small feat, as the story is deep, complex, and gritty. Since this show is on HBO, none of the plot elements are compromised. Each episode is masterfully done,The negative reviews for this series astound me. Having read through book 2 when the show began and book 4 now, I cannot imagine this show being done in a better way. Season 1 very closely follows the events of book 1, which is no small feat, as the story is deep, complex, and gritty. Since this show is on HBO, none of the plot elements are compromised. Each episode is masterfully done, with high production values evident in every shot. The characters are portrayed expertly by the cast, and by the end of episode 10, you will be out of breath. This series is a labor of love, and it is obvious at all times. You can tell that this was created by people who cared about the story, and wanted to present it to a larger audience in a medium that we all can easily understand. Again, this is no small feat. Expect the coming seasons to be even better as the story picks up. Winter is coming! Expand
  44. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    I'll go over some positive and negative comments about the show to be as fair as possible. PROS: Game of Thrones is the first large-scale fantasy TV show. To all the fantasy lovers who devoured the Tolkien books and movies, George R R Martin's GoT will already be on your watch list. I implore non-fantasy readers to give it a try, though. It's definitely different from your average americanI'll go over some positive and negative comments about the show to be as fair as possible. PROS: Game of Thrones is the first large-scale fantasy TV show. To all the fantasy lovers who devoured the Tolkien books and movies, George R R Martin's GoT will already be on your watch list. I implore non-fantasy readers to give it a try, though. It's definitely different from your average american TV series, and has a huge list of characters and a slow beginning due to character development, but I guarantee you the series will only get better as the first half of the season comes around and into the second season (I know because I've read the books which HBO is staying true to). There is enough magic, lore, mythical creatures and weapons to add that fantasy element in the show, yet not enough to detract from a "realistic" experience. The story in GoT is the key element of its success, it's really exceptional for a TV series and honestly can't fully be judged by the first season alone because it's really built upon in books 2 and 3 (which will translate to season 2 and onwards on the TV series. Which includes EPIC BATTLES that will definitely make it onto the show). And as a last positive, anyone can die (this is a positive to me in a realistic sense), so make sure you are prepared for anything to happen (in a realistic way of course)!

    CONS: Game of Thrones is not a show suitable for everyone. I love the books and the show as well, but it's not deserving of a 10 like most of the reviewers give it (I'm assuming they want to boost the ratings as high as possible). The translation from book to screen has been fairly good, but some of the changes are questionable. There is a lot of character exposition using erotic scenes which honestly shouldn't have been in the show, I'm all for erotic scenes but please you can do better than that GoT directors. Secondly, a lot of the really good dialogue from the book is gone and replaced with less entertaining dialogue. Thirdly, some of the acting seems really wooden (possibly because of the medival fantasy setting). The characters are not black and white, but they do portray stereotypes and that can be annoying to some viewers (again, come to your own conclusions). And lastly, there are not enough shots of the villages and landscape in the show, a big part of large fantasy worlds is being able to picture the worlds and this is crucial to the success of a show (think of LOTR). And yes, I know it costs money for these kind of shots but they can still definitely do a better job on that. The first season does not have much warfare because of the costs involved, but if you stick with the show until the second season you will be sure to see more!
    Expand
  45. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    This is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic inThis is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic in scope by focusing on different characters and areas. The show always has new tricks up its sleeve to keep viewers hooked and I can't wait for the new season. Expand
  46. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    So far, one of the best show in adventure fantasy genre. Good acting, great storyline, beautiful cinematography and effects...Waiting for the second season.
  47. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This are one of the shows that is just unique. There were no dull moments at all. And it made me read the books which is surprising even for me.This are one of the shows that is just unique. There were no dull moments at all. And it made me read the books which is surprising even for me. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  48. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Very good adaptation, faithful to the tone and pace of the original novels. Actors and sets are amazing, it was a long wait but it is really worth it. The art direction and the production of the show is great. Sean Bean as Eddard Stark is amazing and the dwarf ara the best actor!!!
  49. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This is second best TV show (Breaking Bad is first). The acting in this show is wonderful and so if the story. The episode, Baelor, almost gave me a heart attack! Call me weird, but I gave a standing ovation in my living room at the end of the last episode. Best new show of 2011!
  50. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    What a great show. I couldn't stop watching it. I started watching it yesterday and i finished the whole first season in one day. I love the characters and the whole story. I also have played the board game and let me tell you its just like the show if you love this show like I do then you should get some friends and play this board game.
  51. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers..Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers.. if you have not seen it, you must not miss it! 15/10 Expand
  52. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister character) definitely deserves a Globe for his witty performance. The show overall is eccentric in telling the story as well as a lot of ego and pride for power to rule. Plenty of power play!
  53. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    overall its pretty spectacular and everybody looks AND plays the part beautifully. the best character easily Peter Dinklage as the short yet powerful Tyrion Lannister. Though a bit inappropriate for anyone younger than 16 it shines as one of the best new shows of the year.
  54. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I haven't read the books (yet), but this series really intrigued me. Plot, characters and their development are all top notch. Best fantasy show I ever watched...
  55. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actorsGame of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actors who play the unruly Joffrey Baratheon, Bran Stark, Arya, and Sansa do an excellent job at reflecting the character depicted in the novels. What many folks leave out is the landscape of the work; the landscapes chosen matches those that are portrayed in George R.R. Martin's novels- well done. Seriously, people need to watch the show and abandon any prejudices they might have against the show for whatever purposes- A Great Show. Expand
  56. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    i am so hooked on this show it really well done, hbo has really out done its self and i hope it does well and continues to make me want to watch more. the actor{s roles have been devloping quite nicly in a way that prompts mistery.
  57. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I've read the books. I've read them so many times that I've lost the count. A Song of Ice and Fire is by far the best fantasy series that I've ever read and I'm so amazed that HBO has been able to put the series on screen in such a great way. The cast is great, the music is perfect and, even though I've read the books so many times, I feel like I never know what will happen in the nextI've read the books. I've read them so many times that I've lost the count. A Song of Ice and Fire is by far the best fantasy series that I've ever read and I'm so amazed that HBO has been able to put the series on screen in such a great way. The cast is great, the music is perfect and, even though I've read the books so many times, I feel like I never know what will happen in the next scene.

    Great job HBO! I hope that the next season will be just as great!
    Expand
  58. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I have read the book and I can tell that, despite many things are not told as it should, we're in front of one of the best TV Shows ever produced or directed.
  59. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Great TV show, one of the best I've seen. A little sad that there is only 10 episodes but they are a little longer than other shows (~1 hour). Characters are very nice and without having read books, they must be great.
  60. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best series ive ever watched! Highly recommend it! cant wait for season 2! it will be much better than the first. very intriguing story. If you liked LOTR, you will love this!
  61. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    When I picked up this series I was not a fan of Martin's works, as I had never read any of the books in the series. In my view, the story is difficult to pick up with a wide array of characters introduced in a short amount of time. Yet if one sticks by the series, eventually character connections are easy to distinguish. The cast is perfect, an impeccable array of child actors for a tvWhen I picked up this series I was not a fan of Martin's works, as I had never read any of the books in the series. In my view, the story is difficult to pick up with a wide array of characters introduced in a short amount of time. Yet if one sticks by the series, eventually character connections are easy to distinguish. The cast is perfect, an impeccable array of child actors for a tv series. The opening sequence of the show is memorable at first, yet it loses its luster after the fourth or so episode. Nearing the conclusion of season one, the episode finales do leave you wanting more. The story is engrossing and is definitely worth giving a chance.

    However, I did find downsides, such as what I believe are over the top sex scenes in parts. There are also a few fantasy genre stereotypes, yet it must be considered that meager these complaints do not stack up well against the positives.
    Expand
  62. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    If you are a fan of fantasy, knights, swords, kings, and dragons, this is the show for you. If you are not...well, you will be after watching (and reading) this story/show.
  63. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This is probably the greatest fantasy epic made for tv ever,and would probably rival many movies of this genre too,and the acting and scope of the world is just mind blowing.
  64. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Simply stunning. This is what you call a tv show worth watching. HBO and Showtime (ok, AMC too) are the only channels where you can find quality programming, the rest is just the rest, dumbed down shows.
  65. pkd
    Oct 30, 2011
    9
    I have read the novels and thought they were exceptional and fabulous. With high expectations I watched the pilot and ch. 2 and was disappointed - I had this strange feeling that the actors were not immersed in their characters, as if their acting was too mechanical. But from ch. 3 on this sentiment has been replaced by a total admiration to the acting as well as the successful adaptationI have read the novels and thought they were exceptional and fabulous. With high expectations I watched the pilot and ch. 2 and was disappointed - I had this strange feeling that the actors were not immersed in their characters, as if their acting was too mechanical. But from ch. 3 on this sentiment has been replaced by a total admiration to the acting as well as the successful adaptation of the novels. King Baratheon, Ned Stark, Arya & Sansa, Tyrion and all the rest - it's such an enjoying story and even more enjoyable acting. With True Blood & Game of Thrones HBO succeeded in creating two formidable adaptations which are equal to their source in the amount of generated pleasure. It's unique. Expand
  66. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    A testament to the George R.R. Martin series of Books and keeps the viewer begging for more. With tantalizing plot twists and a fantasy background of a society not unlike our own will keep any fan of the books or just about any fan of fantasy glued to their seats. Well produced with regards to their small budget and overall a great cast. A must watch for any person who wishes to beA testament to the George R.R. Martin series of Books and keeps the viewer begging for more. With tantalizing plot twists and a fantasy background of a society not unlike our own will keep any fan of the books or just about any fan of fantasy glued to their seats. Well produced with regards to their small budget and overall a great cast. A must watch for any person who wishes to be enveloped by an increasing story and it's only the first season!!! Expand
  67. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    The brilliant first season of Game of Thrones turns out to be a very well-crafted adaptation of Martin's epic first novel in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. The cast is both talented and suited to their roles, and the twists and turns of the convoluted story should keep viewers spellbound.
  68. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Brilliant Photography, Brilliant Scenarios ( it's just mesmerizing). Brilliant Storyline & Storytelling . Brilliant Cast. Without starting to describe each and every detail of this 10 episode tv show, i can only say; THIS is how you make a successfull tv show. Congratulations HBO, you've done it again.
  69. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones is a epic and shear awesome show. The Best of its kind in my opinion. Sean Bean is such a good actor. Game of Thrones simply has it all Action, Drama, Romance, Grasping dialogue, interesting characters and a great plot. I really look forward to the 2nd season.
  70. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best series ever created!!! The critics who don't give this show at least 90% should not be critics because they suck!!!Awesome awesome series!!!
  71. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A smart, well acted show that offers the viewer just about everything that he/she could ever want. Captivating story, beautiful cinematography, loads of 3 dimensional characters makes for one of the best shows on tv.
  72. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I had never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers, but boy am I glad I got educated. I absolutely loved Season 1 Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's quality programming. These guys know how to pick andI had never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers, but boy am I glad I got educated. I absolutely loved Season 1 Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's quality programming. These guys know how to pick and create winners. As much as I would like to go out and start reading Martins books, there is no way in hell I'm going to ruin this ride with spoilers. Until the curtains close on this outstanding series, I'll be content in my ignorance having never read a single page, all the while tuning in weekly to see what happens. HBO.... I'm pickin up what you're puttin down. Expand
  73. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I am not a big fantasy nor historical watcher, but Game of Thrones "got" me from the first show. I got the book after the season finale and liked it very much (boy, are these books long!). I have already read the second book and looking forward to book 3.
  74. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Best Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get intoBest Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get into too many spoilers, so I will say this, watch and pay attention(so you can follow all the relationships) and you will be rewarded by a deep, intelligent, suspenseful show. I want to single out some acting but it is literally all magnificent, beautifully shot too. i am going to rewatch again... Expand
  75. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    This show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now hugeThis show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now huge fans of the show too. Expand
  76. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    Honestly; I watched the first episode and had to pause every 2 minutes to search who was connected to who and then I said: I`ll read the book first. And this show justifies that book entirely, it has all the drama, comical notes, political games, backstabbing, jousting that George R.R. Martin so perfectly describes.
    The actors do an amazing job of developing their own characters and help
    Honestly; I watched the first episode and had to pause every 2 minutes to search who was connected to who and then I said: I`ll read the book first. And this show justifies that book entirely, it has all the drama, comical notes, political games, backstabbing, jousting that George R.R. Martin so perfectly describes.
    The actors do an amazing job of developing their own characters and help evolve this magical world to something realistic on screen.

    The only negative aspect I would name is that due to budget restraints they were unable to show the magnificent battles and only talked about them. This is however a minor point that shouldn`t stop you from watching this brilliant show.
    Expand
  77. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    Best Show On Television Period. Amazing character development, action sequences, and story. A must watch for everyone. I can't wait for Season 2 to start.
  78. Aug 16, 2011
    9
    I think if you are going to evaluate this show, you should see the first entire season. This is because the long-term story arc is one of its strengths. Unlike a lot of other dramas these days (Mad Men, I'm looking at you), which often feel to me like the writers are making the story up as they go along, especially after the first episode, Game of Thrones feels as if there is a coherentI think if you are going to evaluate this show, you should see the first entire season. This is because the long-term story arc is one of its strengths. Unlike a lot of other dramas these days (Mad Men, I'm looking at you), which often feel to me like the writers are making the story up as they go along, especially after the first episode, Game of Thrones feels as if there is a coherent linear plot-progression from episode to episode. This may be because it is based on a series of books. Whatever the reason, I like that there is a consistency and logical continuity to the series, and the plot twists and turns are smart and clever, not random and insulting, and you will often be genuinely shocked at the surprises. Another strength of this show is the acting. Much has been said of the actor who plays The Imp, and he is indeed a highlight of the show. But all of the acting is quite good. I give it a 9 and not a 10 because there are a few things I don't like about the show, although they are minor and admittedly, might be peculiar to me and my tastes. One is that this is a VERY dark show. Now, I don't mind dark, but this is show will leave even the most jaded cynic a bit put off. Characters vary here from, at best, flawed, to, at worst, sociopathically black-hearted, with the latter outnumbering the former by a heavy margin. For this reason, the show can be a bit heavy if you are not in a particularly depressed mood that day. Also, again, I am no shrinking violet, but this show sets new benchmarks (high or low is a matter of taste) in violence and nudity. In this way, I may be showing my age, but I do lament the passing of the days when severed heads were just shown in silhouette, and sex could be suggested by a fade out during a kiss. Now, we have to see the bloody head held up, blood and dangling tendons and all. However, this is still an engrossing show that I am thoroughly addicted to. Expand
  79. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    such a great show! the first couple of episodes are a little slow but it soon picks up.
    epic characters, great casting, amazing set design and the plot is to die for even though it can be a little confusing at times.
    watch watch watch.
  80. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Well I for once have not even looked at the books, heck I got to know about the books after I finished the first season and was hungry looking for more episodes. Sadly, the next episodes won't be coming anytime soon. Game of Thrones is a fascinating display of how power is distributed between rich houses, such as the Starks. In the series there will be drama, action, mystery, and I don'tWell I for once have not even looked at the books, heck I got to know about the books after I finished the first season and was hungry looking for more episodes. Sadly, the next episodes won't be coming anytime soon. Game of Thrones is a fascinating display of how power is distributed between rich houses, such as the Starks. In the series there will be drama, action, mystery, and I don't know what else. It has a touch of fiction of course, fantastic display of myths, creatures and original fantasy development. In short words, I like it. Expand
  81. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    Disclaimer: I've been a fan of the novels for years.

    HBO's "Game of Thrones" is a medium fantasy epic focused upon the interactions, relationships, and political intrigues of the upper echelons of the nobility of the kingdom of Westeros, particularly the Starks, Lannistesr, Baratheons, and Targaryens. Now, the the review itself. The show's greatest strength is the strong performances of
    Disclaimer: I've been a fan of the novels for years.

    HBO's "Game of Thrones" is a medium fantasy epic focused upon the interactions, relationships, and political intrigues of the upper echelons of the nobility of the kingdom of Westeros, particularly the Starks, Lannistesr, Baratheons, and Targaryens.

    Now, the the review itself. The show's greatest strength is the strong performances of its leads. In particular, Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister and Sean Bean as Eddard Stark both provide stellar performances every episode without fail. Also, Maisle Williams as Arya Stark gives a performance that is on par with Dakota Fanning's better moment. The characters all feel very real and human, with no pure angels or demons. Furthermore, it is probably the best adaptation of a fantasy series to date, staying closer to the spirit of the books while altering the presentation to fit the new medium than either the Lord of the Rings or Harry Potter films. The costuming and make-up are top notch, and the action scenes are realistically choreographed and expertly filmed.

    It is not perfect, though. Notably, the dense plot and world building fill the first few episodes with expository dialog. Several sex scenes are extraneous and distract from the plot. The external shots of the Dothraki don't feature enough extras and make the khalasar feel small. A few plot points were given foreshadowing that should have been much more subtle.

    All said, if you enjoy complex tales of intrigue, revenge, sex, and war, you should give this show a try. Even if you don't normally like fantasy, the strong performances and terrific aesthetics will likely make you want to continue watching. One major caveat is that this is certainly not a show that is appropriate for children, the prudish, or the squeamish. For adults that desire entertainment with realistic characters, complex plots, and intellectually engaging themes, this is certainly a very strong contender.

    Finally, some background on the setting and plot. The seasons of the world portrayed last for years. Years of spring and summer, filled with beautiful weather and bountiful harvests, followed by years of fall and winter, when famine reigns and the ground is shrouded in near constant darkness and buried beneath 40' of snow. The continent of Westeros (about the same size as South America) is bordered to the south and west by huge oceans, to the north by a 700'x30'x1000 mile wall of ice (called The Wall), and is separated from the eastern, Asia-sized continent of Essos by a narrow sea. Backstory: Westeros was once comprised of many independent kingdoms that were founded by the First Men, who worship nameless nature gods at huge white trees into which they carve faces. Subsequent migrations from the east saw the kingdoms of the First Men conquered by invaders, with the sole exception of the North. First came the Andals, who fled the expansion of the Rhoynar empire, and whose worship of the Seven bears strong resemblance to medieval Catholicism. Then the Rhoynar settled southern Westeros (Dorne) to escape the expansion of the Valyrian Freehold. Meanwhile, Valyria controlled dragons and used them to conquer Essos. Then Valyria collapsed in a cataclysm. The western regions of Essos were divided among 9 city-states (the Free Cities) that were former Valyrian colonies (think Renaissance Italy). The grasslands of central Essos became controlled by the Dothraki tribes (think Mongols). In the narrow sea between the two continent is the island of Dragonstone, which was a Valyrian colony lead by the Targaryens. After Valyria collapsed, they had the last three living dragons in the world, and use them to conquer Westeros.

    The realms of Westeros and their lords, now vassals of House Targaryen from the Iron Throne in the city of King's Landing : The Northlands, lead by House Stark from Winterfell; The Riverlands, lead by House Tully from Riverrun; The Vale of Arryn, lead by House Arryn from the Eyrie; The Stormlands, lead by House Baratheon (founded by an illegitimate son of Aegon Targaryen) from Storm's End; The Reach, ruled by House Tyrell from Highgarden; The Iron Islands, ruled by House Greyjoy from Pike; and Dorne, ruled by House Martell of Sunspear. 15 years before the show, the Targaryens were deposed in a rebellion lead by Robert Baratheon, Eddard Stark, and Jon Arryn. The two remaining Targaryens (both children) fled to the Free Cities. Robert was crowned king and married Cersei Lannister, Jon Arryn became Hand of the King (basically prime minister), and Eddard went back to Winterfell. The show begins just after Jon Arryn dies amid suspicious circumstances and King Robert is coming north with his family and entourage to ask Eddard to serve as his new Hand, amidst the plots and intrigues of the court. Meanwhile, Viserys and Daenerys Targaryen plot to retake the throne. And north of the wall is a dangerous supernatural threat that nobody is prepared to face.
    Expand
  82. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    I was slightly skeptical about this show's ability to realise anything as ambitious as Martin's vast fantasy world on a TV budget, however large. Yet here it is: every penny spent with wit and panache. The week of waiting between episodes became almost physically painful. Yes, there's quite a bit of nudity (I haven't heard so much prudish wailing in years) but sex sells and there's a greatI was slightly skeptical about this show's ability to realise anything as ambitious as Martin's vast fantasy world on a TV budget, however large. Yet here it is: every penny spent with wit and panache. The week of waiting between episodes became almost physically painful. Yes, there's quite a bit of nudity (I haven't heard so much prudish wailing in years) but sex sells and there's a great deal of exploitative and cruel sexuality in the books. The script is tight and gripping, the sets astonishing, the acting of the highest level (with every part filled by some RADA luminary like Julian Glover or Aiden Gillan). The children are to be singled out for praise; both Arya and Bran are wonderful, and Joffrey is possibly the most loathesome person under 18 ever to appear on film or TV (Draco Malfoy is an angel by comparison with this little serpent). And Peter Dinkage. Lovely Peter Dinkage as the louche, drawling, smirking, boozing, wenching, witty, shifty, ironic, scheming and fundamentally decent Tyrion Lannister. If everyone else wasn't so excellent, I'd miss him the moment he disappears from the screen. Thankfully, the show shares that amazing quality that the books have; every story thread is as gripping and enchanting as the next. BACK to King's Landing. BACK to the Wall. Back to Winterfell. BACK to Pentos. The reader and now the viewer just keeps gettign fed course after course of the swiftest, gutsiest political fantasy I've ever seen. The tital sequence alone is enough to give me gooseflesh now. In my opinion, TV just got better than the movies. Expand
  83. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Hadn't even heard of the books, but when I saw Sean Bean was in it I thought I'd give it a watch (Sky Atlantic HD is such a great channel). I was hooked from the start, great characters and storyline, I find it a little odd that all the characters sound like they could be my neighbours even though its an American programme, but I'll get over it, can't wait for the next series!
  84. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Definitely one of HBO best series. Incredible plot with terrific acting. A lot happens in each episode. The show has a lot of gore and has a complicated plot (if you haven't read the book), because there are so many different characters. Sometimes I had to read recaps to understand some of the details in the beginning, but this is a show worth sticking with.
  85. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    One of the best TV dramas made in years. Excellent characters, great suspense, the only thing that pushes it from 10 to 9 is the obvious lack of a proper budget for the first season. Hopefully the second season will ride on the success of the first one and become truly great :)
  86. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    i've never been a fan of this type of tv series or movies...but this one got me hooked pretty much in the first 3 episodes. the show didnt really waste any time for the stories to progress. its not all drama, you sense something is coming, and just when you thought the story would be somewhat predictable, it took a turn... for the better though.... it is one of the most entertaining show on tv.
  87. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    I just watched the last episode. Two ending episodes was a roller-coaster of emotions. I was hooked from the first episode to the last, and now i am hungry for more. At the moment it feels too hard to wait the season 2. I truly can`t recommend this show enough. One of the best, all-time, for me! Great cast, awesome story, cruel game of thrones.
  88. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    Speaking for myself I love the show buckets. I have not read the books and I love the show buckets. I have not read the books and I love the show buckets. The show is fantastic! I didn't know it was possible to make a tv show so good. It's incredible. I have died and gone to heaven. This show is so great, I watch it over and over again, reruns and all. I love this show buckets.
  89. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Fantastic show. I love the story and the action being taken placed and gotta give a big thanks to HBO. They do make fantastic shows like band of brothers. I hope they get a larger budget so that season 2 will get some battle going on. I wish there were in season 1 and such.
  90. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    Casting is dead on, production value is high, and the writers have a great knack for identifying the dramatic moments of the book and building episodes around it.

    Downside: the series moves too quickly to really understand the motivations and background of all the many characters. My hope is that season 2 only covers part of the second book, so we have the time to really comprehend why
    Casting is dead on, production value is high, and the writers have a great knack for identifying the dramatic moments of the book and building episodes around it.

    Downside: the series moves too quickly to really understand the motivations and background of all the many characters. My hope is that season 2 only covers part of the second book, so we have the time to really comprehend why the characters do what they do.

    This is a strong series and probably the best thing on HBO with Entourage winding down. Possibly the best thing on TV period.
    Expand
  91. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    The pilot episode alone had me hooked on this series, and got me into reading the novels despite not having had time to read a good book for years. The TV show is quite true to the novels, changing some parts slightly and removing some arcs of the storyline in order to make it progress faster or to show more skin (it is HBO after all). While it is a shame that the overall length of theThe pilot episode alone had me hooked on this series, and got me into reading the novels despite not having had time to read a good book for years. The TV show is quite true to the novels, changing some parts slightly and removing some arcs of the storyline in order to make it progress faster or to show more skin (it is HBO after all). While it is a shame that the overall length of the first season is made shorter by the adaption, it certainly makes for better television. Of course, having a good script isn't everything; the acting is splendid and the outdoor shots are very well done. Expand
  92. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This HBO show really did it for me. It filled a whole in my heart that was created there by another TV show that was cancelled. Now I am happy again, and I can keep my chin high. I look forward to the sun rising. I sleep better. And I have excellent health. Thank you HBO!
  93. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I've read all the books of the "Songs of Ice and Fire" series, and it's one of those stories that you're reading and get to a point and yell and throw the book across the room, angry about what the author did. But that's part of it's charm as well. The series stuck very close to the book, and even explained some things that I could never understand from the novels. If you're looking forI've read all the books of the "Songs of Ice and Fire" series, and it's one of those stories that you're reading and get to a point and yell and throw the book across the room, angry about what the author did. But that's part of it's charm as well. The series stuck very close to the book, and even explained some things that I could never understand from the novels. If you're looking for a great story, with great characters and unexpected twists, you need to check out this show. Expand
  94. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    An admirable visual rendition of the books. It's about as good as it gets on a conversion to the tv screen. The characters retain their depth and the plot is well and alive in the show. It's not something that is not common place on television in the 21st century. The real attraction of the show comes in the fact that it actually draws you in, so that someone that knows nothing of theAn admirable visual rendition of the books. It's about as good as it gets on a conversion to the tv screen. The characters retain their depth and the plot is well and alive in the show. It's not something that is not common place on television in the 21st century. The real attraction of the show comes in the fact that it actually draws you in, so that someone that knows nothing of the original IP really wants to keep watching. The quality of the show is indicated in the ever increasing numbers Game of Thrones saw as it progressed. I hope that the show can be as good in the second season as it was in the first, and that it will progress through the excellent novels that George R. R. Martin tenders to us. Expand
  95. Mae
    Jul 1, 2011
    10
    I'm tired of people saying this is the best show since Sopranos. This show is so much better than Sopranos. Sopranos was super weak. Half of that show was talking to a shrink the other half was in a topless bar. Game of THrones is so much better than that. It has castles and dragons. There's this scene where the knight chops his own horse's head off with a sword!! Game of Thrones it drawsI'm tired of people saying this is the best show since Sopranos. This show is so much better than Sopranos. Sopranos was super weak. Half of that show was talking to a shrink the other half was in a topless bar. Game of THrones is so much better than that. It has castles and dragons. There's this scene where the knight chops his own horse's head off with a sword!! Game of Thrones it draws you in and then it makes you care about the people a lot. Except Sean Bean lollllll Expand
  96. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    While awake, I almost soiled my pants because of the show. The chase scenes were frankly the most telling. I drinked vodka everytime Sean Bean passed gas. The show is great and you might get depressed.
  97. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones has the optimal mix of suspense, drama, and action. Perfectly executed screen play and brilliant writing constantly leaves you begging for more.
  98. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    An enthralling new series from HBO that had me on the edge of my seat literally every episode. With betrayal, deception & violence running wild in Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, there's lots of characters to follow who are all interlinked and wish to seize the Iron Throne in their own unique way. I never read the books prior to watching the first season but on the basis of this fantastic newAn enthralling new series from HBO that had me on the edge of my seat literally every episode. With betrayal, deception & violence running wild in Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, there's lots of characters to follow who are all interlinked and wish to seize the Iron Throne in their own unique way. I never read the books prior to watching the first season but on the basis of this fantastic new show, I shall be purchasing them all to read ahead! Already one of HBO's finest works since the Sopranos. Expand
  99. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I have read the books and I have seen the show. I am here to report good news, that the show is good. The actors are good. The story is good. The sets are good. HMmm. Well, it's good, there you have it. It's not just a show for fantasy fans, also for normal people. I liked it and I am a girl. HBO is so great. I want to buy Game of Thrones on DVD and Blu-Ray. And T-Shirts. Also people whoI have read the books and I have seen the show. I am here to report good news, that the show is good. The actors are good. The story is good. The sets are good. HMmm. Well, it's good, there you have it. It's not just a show for fantasy fans, also for normal people. I liked it and I am a girl. HBO is so great. I want to buy Game of Thrones on DVD and Blu-Ray. And T-Shirts. Also people who didn't like it are trolls, you should ignore them. Expand
  100. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I have read the books. This is an excellent adaptation. I have been dissapointed by adaptations of some of my favorite book series in the past (sword of truth, Eragon). This started a bit slow, but then so did the books, and there was a lot of explaining to do because Martins world is so complex. It is one reason I was looking forward to this show but did not expect it to do the booksI have read the books. This is an excellent adaptation. I have been dissapointed by adaptations of some of my favorite book series in the past (sword of truth, Eragon). This started a bit slow, but then so did the books, and there was a lot of explaining to do because Martins world is so complex. It is one reason I was looking forward to this show but did not expect it to do the books justice because he has so many vibrant characters. This show though, is very very good. None of my friends have the read the books, but I have watched it through with 9 different people in 3 different groups, they all love it. I am so glad they killed Ned Stark, he was pitch perfect but I was afraid they would wimp out and keep him alive, but the writers did the right thing and stayed true to the books. I am going to have trouble waiting for season two. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.