Game of Thrones : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 3314 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Turning a set of epic fantasy novels as complex as George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series was always going to be a daunting task that could easily have ended in disaster. Fortunately the creators of Game of Thrones have not only lived up to expectations but excelled them. Featuring multiple story lines, each packed with numerous important characters, most viewersTurning a set of epic fantasy novels as complex as George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series was always going to be a daunting task that could easily have ended in disaster. Fortunately the creators of Game of Thrones have not only lived up to expectations but excelled them. Featuring multiple story lines, each packed with numerous important characters, most viewers who haven’t read the novels will find the opening few episodes tough to follow (I know I certainly did!) but stick with the show and you will be rewarded. Featuring a fantastic cast including the likes of Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage and Lena Headey Game of Thrones biggest achievement is in maintaining a narrative pace that keeps you engaged even during long scenes of dialogue, of which there are a lot. All of it always feels as though it is required though with much explanation needed to lay out the geography of the seven kingdoms, as well as the various families and dynasties that are fighting for control of this world. In amongst all the explanation there is plenty of, sometimes unnecessary, sex and violence but unlike many shows it is usually there to advance the plot and the ten episodes set things up perfectly for what is sure to be an epic second season.

    Throwing all the established television rules out the window Game of Thrones is the best original series in a long time. If you haven’t yet watched it ignore those short sighted critics as this is a must buy.
    Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    One of the best medieval, fantasy stories I have experienced since Lord of the Rings. It's compelling world is filled with interesting and well-acted characters. The plot-lines here are fantastic and sets up season 2 for what looks like some big battles up ahead. This is a show that isn't afraid to shock you. It will kill off big characters to help further the plot in believable ways.One of the best medieval, fantasy stories I have experienced since Lord of the Rings. It's compelling world is filled with interesting and well-acted characters. The plot-lines here are fantastic and sets up season 2 for what looks like some big battles up ahead. This is a show that isn't afraid to shock you. It will kill off big characters to help further the plot in believable ways. Honestly it's one of the best shows that HBO has ever aired. Well, at least this first season is.

    The only real complaint I have here is the excessive amount of nudity. Now I know HBO shows are known for their gratuitous nudity, and often that is one of the biggest appeals of their shows, but here the majority of it just feels out of place. Now I like naked women as much as the next guy, but often it can come across as an immature move for a show that prides itself on it's mature story and world. Nudity has worked for shows like Starz's Spartacus series, but here it often doesn't.

    Overall though that complaint means nothing when faced with the epic story-lines and backstabbing characters that are so entertaining to watch unfold. It's an absolutely riveting first season, and season 2 looks like it has the promise to top it. I give season 1 a near-perfect score of 9.9/10.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    HBO does it again by delivering another must see series. Game Of Thrones is THE show to watch and anyone who hasnt watched it is truely missing out. I love it.
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    The first episode started VERY slowly, but it absolutely picked up, and it teased some really interesting conflicts to be explored in coming episodes. At one point, though, I figured I had accidentally recorded the porn parody Game of Thrones: Doggy Style. I initially featured it might be tough to follow the various storylines, but like The Wire, I'm willing to let some of it develop inThe first episode started VERY slowly, but it absolutely picked up, and it teased some really interesting conflicts to be explored in coming episodes. At one point, though, I figured I had accidentally recorded the porn parody Game of Thrones: Doggy Style. I initially featured it might be tough to follow the various storylines, but like The Wire, I'm willing to let some of it develop in a deconstructed fashion as we go. This "7" may well jump up a point or two by mid-season, I suspect. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Game of Thrones provides that Lord of the Rings epic with superb storylines and acting. In its first season, it's hard to imagine how this show could go wrong. Sean Bean is fantastic as always, as are many of the other actors cast in this sure-hit series. It's not geared for the younger crowd in any way, which is why you'll find this only on HBO, but if you can stomach the matureGame of Thrones provides that Lord of the Rings epic with superb storylines and acting. In its first season, it's hard to imagine how this show could go wrong. Sean Bean is fantastic as always, as are many of the other actors cast in this sure-hit series. It's not geared for the younger crowd in any way, which is why you'll find this only on HBO, but if you can stomach the mature content you'll be in for quite an experience. This may be the best thing on TV right now. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2016
    9
    This show is amazing. Everyone should watch it. I've almost never seen a show that can be so consistently impressive with its episodes from start to finish.
  7. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    I must say, it's turning out to be a good spring for TV drama: first "The Borgias," then "The Killing," now "Game of Thrones," all evidence that the medium hasn't entirely disappeared beneath the mire of "reality" or the treacle of pseudo-celebrity *ss-kissing. First edited history, then neo-noir, now medieval-inflected fantasy, all well-cast, intelligently written, powerfully filmed, andI must say, it's turning out to be a good spring for TV drama: first "The Borgias," then "The Killing," now "Game of Thrones," all evidence that the medium hasn't entirely disappeared beneath the mire of "reality" or the treacle of pseudo-celebrity *ss-kissing. First edited history, then neo-noir, now medieval-inflected fantasy, all well-cast, intelligently written, powerfully filmed, and brilliantly acted. Of the three, "Game of Thrones" seems to have the most characters and storylines onscreen, even after just the pilot and a few on-demand clips. Unlike some viewers, I did not find the pilot confusing (and, no, I haven't read the novel on which the series is based). Watching it a second time, I picked up a few bits of backstory that I missed the first time through, nothing too important. In fact, I think the series does an astonishing job of establishing and differentiating dozens of characters, conveying a keen sense of place (4 times), and setting up essential conflicts, without making us feel as though we're choking on exposition like the fat king chokes on swan. Yes, there's a "Tudors"-meets-"Spartacus" obsession with bare breasts, chiseled torsos, and just-severed heads dribbling blood (and more rear entry than in a whole season of "Wild Kingdom"), but there's also extremely imaginative design--not just of sets and costumes but of whole cultures, including at least one language. And the cast? I loved Sean Bean's under-utilized Odysseus from "Troy" and have been waiting ever since for him to get a good meaty lead, so I'm thrilled by his weary warlord, Eddard Stark. I can't tell yet about most of the others--there were just too many--though a few stood out. Peter Dinklage has won well-deserved kudos as Tyrion Lannister, the outsider best able to understand the bitter dynastic politics of his age--and to enjoy himself in spite of them. I was also quite impressed with Harry Lloyd, who plays Viserys Targaryen, the deposed heir obsessed with regaining his crown and prepared to barter his sister for the chance. Creepy but with just the right sense of entitlement. I'm looking forward to Sunday nights for the next few months, and I hope that I have enough company to persuade the networks to keep up the excellent work! Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I went into this skeptical. The premise really didn't seem like it would interest me. But after a bit of peer pressure from some friends I sat down and watched it. I loved it! Well, most of it. I found that some of the later episode tended to drag on a bit, and weren't as good as the earlier episodes. Overall: This is a very good series that is far better than I would have imagined.
  9. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    Hablaban muy bien de esta serie y la empecé a seguir en 2011. Hoy en día la sigo viendo y no me arrepiento. Buenos actores, tramas algo enrevesadas pero adictivas con el paso del tiempo, buenos efectos, decorados, etc.
    La primera temporada fue genial, al principio era un poco lenta pero tiene buenos momentos, sobretodo en los últimos cinco capítulos.
    Si alguien aun no la ha visto se la
    Hablaban muy bien de esta serie y la empecé a seguir en 2011. Hoy en día la sigo viendo y no me arrepiento. Buenos actores, tramas algo enrevesadas pero adictivas con el paso del tiempo, buenos efectos, decorados, etc.
    La primera temporada fue genial, al principio era un poco lenta pero tiene buenos momentos, sobretodo en los últimos cinco capítulos.
    Si alguien aun no la ha visto se la recomiendo. Y por supuesto, el mejor personaje es Tyrion :)
    Expand
  10. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    NEEDLESS injection of PORN

    5% of series 1 must be fast forward to avoid scandalizing with filth.

    The title music is as entrancing as a similarly popular MTV title.
  11. Jul 25, 2015
    8
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, honest characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  12. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister character) definitely deserves a Globe for his witty performance. The show overall is eccentric in telling the story as well as a lot of ego and pride for power to rule. Plenty of power play!
  13. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    It completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted inIt completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted in reality, as much as it could be for a fantasy. What I mean is that magic plays a very little part and does not serve as a plot device. The show has some truly amazing characters. The last time I saw a show that comes even close to handling so many characters so well was Lost.

    My advice, though, is to read the books first because if you watch the show before that, it would be too good for you to come back to reading the books, which would be a shame since ASoIF is the best written fantasy series IMO.
    Expand
  14. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    the beginning of game of thrones was kind of boring and without explanation, but in the middle of the season the series could stand up and began to turn one of the best series I've ever seen in my life.
  15. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, relatable characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  16. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is an absolute treat! Everything about this show is marvelous. The first episode of the first season only was able to get my attention and interest me in watching the whole season. There is no doubt about acting or the brilliance of cinematography and when you watch it, you can tell that a lot of money has been spent on making this show look even more than great.
  17. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    This show. WOW. I just can't get enough of it. It's plot twists, wars, and etc.. Just MIND-BLOWING. Normally I don't go for these type of shows.. I go for mysteries, or science fictional powered shows for example once upon a time but Game of Thrones.. It's one of the top of my favorite shows and let me warn you I watch a lot of shows. I mean it A LOT. I'd place Game of Thrones 4th of myThis show. WOW. I just can't get enough of it. It's plot twists, wars, and etc.. Just MIND-BLOWING. Normally I don't go for these type of shows.. I go for mysteries, or science fictional powered shows for example once upon a time but Game of Thrones.. It's one of the top of my favorite shows and let me warn you I watch a lot of shows. I mean it A LOT. I'd place Game of Thrones 4th of my very long list. Expand
  18. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, relatable characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  19. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Absolute amazing, every scene completely dazzled me, truly amazing, masterfully filmed.

    To anybody skeptical about watching Game Of Thrones, put aside your worries, turn of your neglect and just watch.

    Or u could read the books
  20. Dec 3, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season was a pretty good season of game of thrones, seeing it is the first I feel as it needed a good start, while it can be slow in places the final 3 episodes were definitely the highlight. I did however love the 5th episode with a fight scene I will remember shot so well it made me feel so happy as the fight was not only shot well, I believe it's on of the best fight scenes that I've seen from any television programme in about 3 years, as nowawdays shows like the terrible walking dead franchise don't give a **** about their storytelling and just try to make you feel sad when you cannot feel sad, eg: killing off characters in series 5 that were terribly written and feeling no sadness when they died... This actually focuses on the characters and it is more heartbreaking when they get killed off.. unlike the walking deads terrible unimaginative storyline.. if you were to compare this to twds season 1.. it's not as good, but I hear season 2 is just as good as season 1 of twd.. anyway.. beside the rant I went on about twd.. as everyone compares them... it was a damn good season... not the best of television but certainly not the worst. Expand
  21. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Esta primera temporada de Game of Thrones fue brillante, la lucha de las familias por el control del trono de hierro no es solo eso, es sobre la historia de rodea a varios personajes y la situacion que deben enfrentar en un mundo plagado por la traicion y la corrupcion.
  22. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    I'm so excited the big anticipated wait for season four of Game of Thrones is near. One thing I don't like about this show is it seems the good die young and the show is full of villains. That's why I cant until the blonde beauty 'Calisi (mother of dragons) comes to kicks azz (I HOPE) and knock a few off their high horses!!
  23. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Yes, Game of Thrones is graphic. And it's obscene. And I love it. The acting, the writing, everything about this show proves Game of Thrones is really a winner. The production quality of this show is also really commendable. I recommend this to anyone, even people who aren't really into fantasy. Also, as an adaptation, this show is really excellent.
  24. Aug 6, 2015
    8
    This marvelous adaptation has created a show that will dominate award nominations for years to come. Game of Thrones has no main character, that's what makes it's characters so compelling. They all get equal screen time, meaning there is a level playing field for Westeros' inhabitants to try and win our hearts before they are probably killed off. The different story line's also get a fairThis marvelous adaptation has created a show that will dominate award nominations for years to come. Game of Thrones has no main character, that's what makes it's characters so compelling. They all get equal screen time, meaning there is a level playing field for Westeros' inhabitants to try and win our hearts before they are probably killed off. The different story line's also get a fair shot at grasping our attention. These two elements combined make for very fascinating watching, meaning Game of Thrones easily keeps our attention throughout. It's ability to make you really fall for it's characters is it's strongest element however. The fact that Game of Thrones can be related to real life in terms of conspiracy and power means it is open to every kind of TV fanatic. This means it's fan base has no limits, creating a show that will likely be extremely successful during a lengthy lifespan. Expand
  25. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    An extremely good first season. Game of Thrones is a fantastic show with fantastic performances by near the entire cast. The writing is good in the first season and the writing does a great job of following the first book very closely.
  26. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    They're doing a great job adapting the books to the screen. This season was very well paced and very well written. On top of that, the acting and scenery were phenomenal. Great show for anyone that likes a good epic fantasy.
  27. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    A tremendous adaptation of Martin's novels, it probably helps that he does control many aspects of the television series; Season 1 of GOT is nearly a replica of the actual novel. And like the novel, it succeeds tremendously as an entertaining, violent, and epic success.
  28. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Definitely one of HBO best series. Incredible plot with terrific acting. A lot happens in each episode. The show has a lot of gore and has a complicated plot (if you haven't read the book), because there are so many different characters. Sometimes I had to read recaps to understand some of the details in the beginning, but this is a show worth sticking with.
  29. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones is a new breed of television, besting the futile attempts of previous HBO shows such as Rome and, though many did like it, The Tudors. No, Thrones is more. It's deeper. It's brilliant.
  30. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I am falling in love with this show. It is interesting and the costumes and set designs are great still. Can't wait to finish seasons 2 & 3 before season 4 in the Spring.
  31. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, relatable characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  32. Feb 6, 2016
    9
    Nadchodzi zima…

    Na wstępie powiem, że najpierw przeczytałem książki. Dlatego też miałem ogromne wymagania co do całego serialu. I muszę przyznać, że nie mogę się doczekać, tego jak w kolejnych sezonach potoczy się akcja. Pierwszy sezon jest przykładem na to jak robi się filmy w klimatach średniowiecza. Kostiumy i prawdziwa scenografia ponad efekty specjalne sprawiają, że czuć
    Nadchodzi zima…

    Na wstępie powiem, że najpierw przeczytałem książki. Dlatego też miałem ogromne wymagania co do całego serialu. I muszę przyznać, że nie mogę się doczekać, tego jak w kolejnych sezonach potoczy się akcja.
    Pierwszy sezon jest przykładem na to jak robi się filmy w klimatach średniowiecza. Kostiumy i prawdziwa scenografia ponad efekty specjalne sprawiają, że czuć autentyczność miejsc oraz bohaterów. Do tego na prawdę świetna gra aktorów czyni ten sezon prawie idealnym. To co mi przeszkadzało to sceny sexu co dosłownie 10 minut. W książce ich tylu nie było, więc i w serialu wydają się być nie na miejscu w takich ilościach. Ale jak tu nie oglądać kobiecych piersi kiedy HBO jest producentem… ;)
    Polecam każdemu.
    Expand
  33. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    A juicy, thick, rich story with an entire world full of diverse yet equally interesting characters, creating a dangerous atmosphere and a future full of potentially explosive, and shocking conclusions. This is a brilliant set up leaving us insatiably hungry for what is to come.
  34. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I was sceptical at first if a fantasy tv show would be the right thing to watch. I had seen many bad examples in my childhood, like xena,... . but soon after starting to watch, the show had my full attention. the show has everything from bloodbath to zombies to sex. can't wait to see the next season.
  35. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    This is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic inThis is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic in scope by focusing on different characters and areas. The show always has new tricks up its sleeve to keep viewers hooked and I can't wait for the new season. Expand
  36. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    Очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень и еще раз ОЧЕНЬ стоящий сериал!
  37. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Uma grande e estrondosa série de intrigas políticas e psicológica, eriçada com personagens vivos, unidos pelo enredo tentador e temperado com um toque de fantasia, isso Game of Thrones.
  38. Jan 14, 2016
    8
    Lots of good acting, a good script and enough intrigue to keep me wanting to see what happens next. I enjoyed some of the twists and turns in the series and found that all the characters are given enough screen time to give them impact, especially the villains, and that is a good thing. There is a lot of depth to most characters and I find myself cheering for certain ones throughout theLots of good acting, a good script and enough intrigue to keep me wanting to see what happens next. I enjoyed some of the twists and turns in the series and found that all the characters are given enough screen time to give them impact, especially the villains, and that is a good thing. There is a lot of depth to most characters and I find myself cheering for certain ones throughout the series. My personal favorite is the dwarf so I am hoping he kills everyone else and takes the throne by the end... alas, I know better... popular TV series are discouraged from creating a definitive ending so it is likely that the series will never end properly.

    There are a few issues with this show. First, the amount of tragedy is almost comical. Its almost like a bad zombie apocalypse movie and at some point I just started laughing because it became silly. Another problem is that they are dragging their feet. Some of the side stories were completely uninteresting and just filled up time for no reason while some of the main plot lines barely develop at all during full seasons. It reminds me a lot of comic book fillers. Other than that, its a good show. Go dwarf!
    Expand
  39. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    A phenomenal start to this series. They have adapted the book to screen amazingly so that it's unpredictable for both people who have read the book and people who haven't. Characters are all fascinating to watch and they really really develop them! Acting is brilliant and set/costume design along with special effects and mind blowing for tv. 10/10.
  40. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollito y mi votación es de 9. Un saludo.
  41. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A smart, well acted show that offers the viewer just about everything that he/she could ever want. Captivating story, beautiful cinematography, loads of 3 dimensional characters makes for one of the best shows on tv.
  42. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    I loved the premiere episode. Some people seem to have issues with the pace and the jumps between scenes etc and I guess I can understand what they mean but when I watched it I didn't even notice a problem with things like that at all. I think it was a very good adaption of the books. The acting is good throughout and even excellent by many cast members even in smaller roles. I think thatI loved the premiere episode. Some people seem to have issues with the pace and the jumps between scenes etc and I guess I can understand what they mean but when I watched it I didn't even notice a problem with things like that at all. I think it was a very good adaption of the books. The acting is good throughout and even excellent by many cast members even in smaller roles. I think that having read the books puts certain things, that some have taken issue with (like sex and racism), into a perspective where it's not the same problem since you know more about the whole world and how various characters think. Expand
  43. May 23, 2011
    10
    A great series with fine actors. Depends less on sorcery and special effects and more on the many faults and frailty of human nature. Not afraid to kill off main characters makes it more realistic than most fairy tale, scifi-fantasy shows in TV and Movies. If you want the good guys to win and live happily ever after, this is not the series for you, go watch Twilight or Harry Potter.A great series with fine actors. Depends less on sorcery and special effects and more on the many faults and frailty of human nature. Not afraid to kill off main characters makes it more realistic than most fairy tale, scifi-fantasy shows in TV and Movies. If you want the good guys to win and live happily ever after, this is not the series for you, go watch Twilight or Harry Potter. Makes HBO's. Much better than that high school level crap in True Blood. Hopefully HBO will keep this series and do away with that vampire rubbish. Expand
  44. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    An epic medieval fantasy with incredible action, gory and intense action, and a a brilliant and engaging storyline, coupled with fantastic writing. Despite the ensemble, the breakout is Peter Dinklage, who has found the perfect role; the sardonic, clever, and persuasive dwarf Tyrion Lannister, who by far is the most captivating of all with his schemes and clever and powerful insults andAn epic medieval fantasy with incredible action, gory and intense action, and a a brilliant and engaging storyline, coupled with fantastic writing. Despite the ensemble, the breakout is Peter Dinklage, who has found the perfect role; the sardonic, clever, and persuasive dwarf Tyrion Lannister, who by far is the most captivating of all with his schemes and clever and powerful insults and overall look at life, all make him the character who will leave you laughing. Normally, I'm not a fan of fantasy, but this has changed my mind. Expand
  45. Apr 18, 2016
    9
    Literally one of the best shows ever made, after "Breaking Bad."

    It gets a 9, though, because of its current treatment of the source material, unnecessary and inaccurate rape, and the exclusion of favored characters from the books.

    Those complaints aside, it still absolutely deserves a 9 for the acting, story, and drama. Even if you don't enjoy fantasy works, you'll probably enjoy this.
  46. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I am not a big fantasy nor historical watcher, but Game of Thrones "got" me from the first show. I got the book after the season finale and liked it very much (boy, are these books long!). I have already read the second book and looking forward to book 3.
  47. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Love this show, once you start watching you truly can't stop. I loved the story of the Starks, and you will really start to care for the characters. Everything is so well done.
  48. May 28, 2012
    9
    As a fan of the books, I can honestly say this is a great transition from book to screen. The acting is very, very good. The show might be a little slow at some points, but if you stick around, the show gets very exciting. The only complaint I have is that It doesnt seem as epic and grand of scale as it could, and the action seems very unnatural and coordinated.
  49. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    "Game of Thrones" is a show where you can see where the budget goes. Great cast, locations and production value are one thing, but great stories and fascinating characters make "Game of Thrones" the best show on TV.
  50. May 27, 2015
    9
    The best fantasy adaptation in tv or film since the lord of the rings, this series sets extremely high stakes for all those invested in its plethora of characters. The season as a whole feels like a set up for seasons to come.
  51. Jun 19, 2015
    8
    Game of Thrones created an amazing world with swords, schemes,... with an expensive setting. Sometimes it's hard to follow the names, sometimes it had too many redundant sex scenes, or sometimes it is too violent, yet this thing right here is something definitely worth watching.
  52. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    started reading this series 20 years or so ago with the release of the first novel. ive found the show to be a brilliant visual companion to one seriously well written series. not sure how well it would play out to someone who hasnt read the books as there are probably too many characters and plotlines to explore in a way to brief a season. as along time lover of the books i have nostarted reading this series 20 years or so ago with the release of the first novel. ive found the show to be a brilliant visual companion to one seriously well written series. not sure how well it would play out to someone who hasnt read the books as there are probably too many characters and plotlines to explore in a way to brief a season. as along time lover of the books i have no complaints. especially impressed with lena headey's portrayal of the twisted cersai. im not one to give 10's, but for me this is flawless tv. if only there were more hours in a season Expand
  53. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    It is the best show on TV. It's one of the first shows to show respect for the viewer and have a giant cast of round characters around the globe. It is a great show and a great fantasy. A must for people who love TV, Drama, Fantasy, or stories.
  54. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    Having just watched ep 10, I truly feel this series gets it just right. Acting, production values, plot, intrigue are all in line with the feel and tone of the book
  55. Feb 5, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Playing with a Shrinking Deck

    Don't get too attached to any character. Inevitably, abruptly, and mercilessly they will be mangled, quartered, crucified, maimed, dismembered, have their throats slit open, or their heads sliced off. The winning combination of brutality and flesh is enough to give Saint Francis a psychotic hard-on. The fourth season should prove to be more merciful since there are barely enough Starks left to butcher and behead. Although the dim twin and the imp's wife may be expendable enough for the show's reliable surge of gore and pathos.

    Set in hybrid post-apocalyptic/medieval realm, and armed with a sword and a club to sever and crush any vital signs of humanity, unpredictability is the Thrones' greatest weapon, but one which may ultimately turn against itself. After three stormy seasons, there is little left to ravage and plunder, it's too late to inseminate or introduce any newborn characters, and it will be forced to preserve the surviving tenants. Or, to coin a more familiar cliché, the baby's drying up, and there's very little bathwater to throw out. Furtherless, I can't imagine there are many horrors left to shock us with.

    So what's next? I haven't introduced myself to the literature or the Cliff notes, but it's fairly certain now that the bastard Stark and his half-sis li'l Xena will carry on to exact vengeance. And if the Game can no longer run rampant or rip completely rogue, it will need to go comprehensively metaphysical on us. Perhaps Father Stark will return as an ice-zombie who freezes the wings off dragons.
    Expand
  56. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I had never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers, but boy am I glad I got educated. I absolutely loved Season 1 Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's quality programming. These guys know how to pick andI had never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers, but boy am I glad I got educated. I absolutely loved Season 1 Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's quality programming. These guys know how to pick and create winners. As much as I would like to go out and start reading Martins books, there is no way in hell I'm going to ruin this ride with spoilers. Until the curtains close on this outstanding series, I'll be content in my ignorance having never read a single page, all the while tuning in weekly to see what happens. HBO.... I'm pickin up what you're puttin down. Expand
  57. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Thrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it ISThrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it IS fantasy, dragons warlocks, zombies, etc, it doesn't bludgeon you with the nerdiness. My friend hates fantasy, Lord of The Rings drove him nuts, but he loves this as he says it's very realistic in terms of the ways things were. The action is awesome, the acting is perfect, the dialouge is spot on - just all-round brilliance really. If every TV series were like this we'd be laughing. Expand
  58. May 25, 2013
    9
    Outstandingly realized adaptation of one of the best fantasy novel of our generation. Cast is well chosen, except for Renly. Acting is amazing (Peter Dinklage fits the role of the Imp perfectly). Let's hope that HBO will be able to adapt all "Song of Ice and Fire" saga. Great start
  59. May 22, 2015
    9
    This is an amazing show with lots of character development, story development, action, drama, suspense, drama, romance and fantasy. There are a colorful cast of characters in this series. Meshes well between medieval type of setting with some modern style themes (such as language). There is some nudity and sexual scenes but not that much. Can be gruesome in terms of its content but its aThis is an amazing show with lots of character development, story development, action, drama, suspense, drama, romance and fantasy. There are a colorful cast of characters in this series. Meshes well between medieval type of setting with some modern style themes (such as language). There is some nudity and sexual scenes but not that much. Can be gruesome in terms of its content but its a premium show so it is no surprise. Highly recommended for those who love action, drama, suspense and fantasy settings. Expand
  60. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    This is my favourite tv show (next to Breaking Bad). Since it has an extremely interested story and schanger. The cast is amazing and I love that there's no way to know who'll die next, except if you've read the book.
  61. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    This is a great show and that is all one really needs to write about it. One could go down into 101 little things that one might not like, but why? Itâ
  62. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    There is not much that I can say that hasn't already been said. This is one of, if not the best, show on TV today. Characters are great and wonderful writing. A must watch
  63. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    With beautiful and expensive production design but even better, with good acting and great writing and direction, Game of Thrones is one of the best TV shows of the year.
  64. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Magnificent. I never read the books, so the story was quite amazing to me, and the twists and turns caught me completely off guard. What is very great about the story is how fully realized the complex world is, and how the different plot lines intertwine together into one massive saga that surely still has much to offer in the coming seasons. I read that there are 7 novels in total. WillMagnificent. I never read the books, so the story was quite amazing to me, and the twists and turns caught me completely off guard. What is very great about the story is how fully realized the complex world is, and how the different plot lines intertwine together into one massive saga that surely still has much to offer in the coming seasons. I read that there are 7 novels in total. Will be exciting to see how they are played out. Another great thing about the story, is how it relates to many historical elements in medieval Europe. Yet the story feels original. Overall, it is a beautifully crafted TV show that is definitely worth checking out. Expand
  65. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    From all apects i found the show a breath of fresh air, with is no holds barred approach and decent acting i really look forward to its progression and seeing how it can continue to push the envolope and hopefully make the other networks work to have some shows that arent do it yourself renovation, cooking, celebrity crap, talk shows or the how hum CSI/COP/oh its a mystery that will go noFrom all apects i found the show a breath of fresh air, with is no holds barred approach and decent acting i really look forward to its progression and seeing how it can continue to push the envolope and hopefully make the other networks work to have some shows that arent do it yourself renovation, cooking, celebrity crap, talk shows or the how hum CSI/COP/oh its a mystery that will go no where show, such as LOST.

    Well done keep the season moving.
    Expand
  66. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    The brilliant first season of Game of Thrones turns out to be a very well-crafted adaptation of Martin's epic first novel in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. The cast is both talented and suited to their roles, and the twists and turns of the convoluted story should keep viewers spellbound.
  67. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Very very good tv show, a bit too brutal for my taste, but it adds to the realism of it which makes it very high quality! Love the character portrayals by everyone, all very good actors and actresses! Just, wow, Can't wait for Season 3.
  68. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Everything good about this show has already been said. It's very enjoyable, though confronting at times, and not as predictable as one might think. Just watch it. I bought the books (all of them) halfway through the season.
  69. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    This show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve someThis show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve some sort of award if they haven;t got one already.

    This show is an alternate universe medieval type action/drama. It's set in a place called Westeros and revolves around the different leaders of the respective areas and outlying areas, and their religious beliefs and throne-hunger driving them to war. The show features supernatural elements as well, including magic and mythical creatures. It's very much everything you'd expect from an adult medieval drama, and a lot of things you wouldn't. It surprises, and astounds around every corner. The visuals and sets are beautiful, and the story is one you must experience to truly enjoy.
    Expand
  70. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Really, really, really good. More of a 9.5, but hell, this show is so well built and interesting the difference is insignificant. Try an episode or two, very much worth a shot.
  71. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is the new series that i'm rooting for! excellent acting, character and dialog is some of the best I have seen, period! Great action scenes, sets and trilling environments that may be over used in recent years however, this time around it stand out! Season 2 here I come.
  72. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Every Game of Thrones' chapter is about an hour long. The pilot, therefore, is a little bit overlong and it is hard to get used to the setting and characters and infinite subplots of the series. But once you do, oh boy, you are in.
    Game of Thrones is a commitment, and Season 1 establishes, from the pilot's ending to the last chapter's final breath, a continuous joyful sprout of explicit
    Every Game of Thrones' chapter is about an hour long. The pilot, therefore, is a little bit overlong and it is hard to get used to the setting and characters and infinite subplots of the series. But once you do, oh boy, you are in.
    Game of Thrones is a commitment, and Season 1 establishes, from the pilot's ending to the last chapter's final breath, a continuous joyful sprout of explicit nudity, blood-squirting violence and sassy Shakespearian dialogue. The amazing production values make the world of Westeros so immersive, and the performances are, for the most part, really good (Some are uneven). It is a first season in all its glory, with lots of character introduction, but halfway in you will find exciting cliffhangers and some shocking moments that really makes this series a hell of a ride.
    Expand
  73. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    One of the best shows on TV, watch noe. Keep in mind this show is very mature in it's content and is not for everyone but is well worth watching. Geat show, watch now.
    9/10
  74. May 24, 2011
    10
    Having seen six episodes so far, and being a huge fan of the books, I can happily say that this is the best fantasy series ever to appear on television, as well as a very faithful and excellent adaptation of the books. The acting is top notch, with stand-out performances by Sean Bean as Eddard Stark, and Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister. My personal favorite among the cast is MaisieHaving seen six episodes so far, and being a huge fan of the books, I can happily say that this is the best fantasy series ever to appear on television, as well as a very faithful and excellent adaptation of the books. The acting is top notch, with stand-out performances by Sean Bean as Eddard Stark, and Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister. My personal favorite among the cast is Maisie Williams as Arya Stark. The sets, costumes, and locations they use are all well designed and compliment the story. The music is good enough, but the only memorable tune I've heard so far is the opening theme (which is fantastic). If you go into Game of Thrones expecting typical fantasy fair (such as monsters and wizards) you will find a much different and 'realistic' take on a fantasy setting. Instead of spells and goblins you will find a gritty, politically charged world filled with intrigue and numerous compelling characters. This is a show everyone must see, regardless of whether or not you like fantasy. So far this is the best new TV show of the year, and as long as the next episodes and seasons remain high quality, it will be one of the best shows ever created. Expand
  75. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I've read all the books of the "Songs of Ice and Fire" series, and it's one of those stories that you're reading and get to a point and yell and throw the book across the room, angry about what the author did. But that's part of it's charm as well. The series stuck very close to the book, and even explained some things that I could never understand from the novels. If you're looking forI've read all the books of the "Songs of Ice and Fire" series, and it's one of those stories that you're reading and get to a point and yell and throw the book across the room, angry about what the author did. But that's part of it's charm as well. The series stuck very close to the book, and even explained some things that I could never understand from the novels. If you're looking for a great story, with great characters and unexpected twists, you need to check out this show. Expand
  76. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    Just watched the pilot. It's nasty, brutish and relatively short... and certainly strong enough to make me want to find more. There is a lot of violence and a lot of skankiness (don't watch this with your wife/girlfriend... if your unnerdy enough to have one). The opening ten minutes were very compelling stuff and it dropped off somewhat after that but there was still enough going on toJust watched the pilot. It's nasty, brutish and relatively short... and certainly strong enough to make me want to find more. There is a lot of violence and a lot of skankiness (don't watch this with your wife/girlfriend... if your unnerdy enough to have one). The opening ten minutes were very compelling stuff and it dropped off somewhat after that but there was still enough going on to make me want more. I loved the sets, the originality and (as uncomfortable as it made me) the unflinching brutality and portrayal of a misogynistic, misanthropic time and place. Sean Bean turns out to be a very fitting centrepiece to this and Emilia Clarke is, gosh, stunning. Expand
  77. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    A nearly flawless adaptation of the amazing first book in the series. The cast was chosen with great care. The story was told with precision. The results were fantastic.
  78. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best TV shows of all times. For those who love epic stories it is a gift, and for those who don't, too. The acting is exquisite, the detailed scenarios are completely convincing and the intensity of each episode leaves the spectator more than satisfied. Very well done. Congratulations.
  79. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    The TV show's first few episodes start off a little slow. However, it is necessary to build the fantasy world upon which all the betrayal and intrigue will take place. Anybody who has not read the novels will have a hard time following all of the plot elements going on because many of them are explained only briefly if at all. It's a show for the fan's of the novels (which there are a lot)The TV show's first few episodes start off a little slow. However, it is necessary to build the fantasy world upon which all the betrayal and intrigue will take place. Anybody who has not read the novels will have a hard time following all of the plot elements going on because many of them are explained only briefly if at all. It's a show for the fan's of the novels (which there are a lot) or anybody who doesn't mind reading a little between episodes to figure out what exactly is going on. There is some great dry wit and humor in the show but I doubt it is enough to keep the uninitiated captivated. I imagine when the third or fourth season drops and the action in the storyline picks up, then the series will be more enjoyable for those who have not read the books. Expand
  80. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Many of the early critical reviews have just dismissed this as a TV version of 'The Lord of the Rings'. I feel that is extremely unfair analysis of the show. Game of thrones is by far one of the best programmes on TV now, next to Breaking Bad. One of the brilliant aspects of the show is even though it is filled with magic and fantasy creatures, at its heart it is a thrilling political drama.
  81. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    I can only comment on the first episode, but if this was a sign of what's to come, I will definitely be tuning in for the rest of the series. Great acting by the entire cast and quality of set design and costumes are through the roof. I can't wait to see more of Peter Dinklage as Tyrion.

    Having read the novels, my only detraction would be they squeezed far too much plot in the first
    I can only comment on the first episode, but if this was a sign of what's to come, I will definitely be tuning in for the rest of the series. Great acting by the entire cast and quality of set design and costumes are through the roof. I can't wait to see more of Peter Dinklage as Tyrion.

    Having read the novels, my only detraction would be they squeezed far too much plot in the first episode... the pacing seemed too frenetic and, really, the content should have been broken up across two episodes. There were some elements missing in terms of character development, and some plot pieces subtly altered for effect, but all in all, it seems to be true to the core of the novel. The only other ding is they are definitely leaving hints that Jaime Lannister has a more sypathetic side and is not as dastardly as superficially apparent -- something that does not come out in the novels until much, much later.
    Expand
  82. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Deep, noir, more alternatively historical then traditionally fantasy tv-show. Acting is just brilliant. Especially young Arja and Tyrion are exact match. Great job HBO!
  83. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Simply stunning. This is what you call a tv show worth watching. HBO and Showtime (ok, AMC too) are the only channels where you can find quality programming, the rest is just the rest, dumbed down shows.
  84. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This is second best TV show (Breaking Bad is first). The acting in this show is wonderful and so if the story. The episode, Baelor, almost gave me a heart attack! Call me weird, but I gave a standing ovation in my living room at the end of the last episode. Best new show of 2011!
  85. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    A simply perfect season. Amazing characters, an interesting plot, twists and turns, a fantastic world created by George R.R Martin, great sets and, of course, really really really good actors, who bring the characters of the book to life. Bravo HBO, Bravo Producers, and the entire team!
  86. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    The critics on this site are borderline retarded. Season 1 of Game of Thrones gets a lower rating than Dexter Season 7. No GOT seasons are below a 90. Breaking Bad/Game of Thrones/The Sopranos/Walking Dead/Boardwalk Empire are +90 shows. And Homeland from what I hear. But I've only seen about 6 episodes of Season 1. But the "fans" have much better judgment than the critics, sadly.The critics on this site are borderline retarded. Season 1 of Game of Thrones gets a lower rating than Dexter Season 7. No GOT seasons are below a 90. Breaking Bad/Game of Thrones/The Sopranos/Walking Dead/Boardwalk Empire are +90 shows. And Homeland from what I hear. But I've only seen about 6 episodes of Season 1. But the "fans" have much better judgment than the critics, sadly.

    + The Wire. And The Wire.
    Expand
  87. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Pure perfection, best TV show ever. Highlights from the show:

    Dothraki wedding
    Khal Drogo kills Mago
    Daenerys' dragons as she comes out of the funeral pyre
    Tyrion's trial by combat
  88. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    While I am not a fan of excessive violence, I find this show very compelling. The writing is impeccable and the cast is very well suited for their roles. The casting director has done an amazing job!! George R. R. Martin is an extremely talented writer who knows how to interest those, like me, who are turned away by a lot of violence. Such an amazing show!!!
  89. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply stunning for a tv series. The costumes and scenery are spot on and really give the sense of gritty reality that permeates the show. While not exactly like the book, it is very close and it is obvious George the pirate (George Arr Arr Martin) has had a guiding hand in the production. It is great to live in a time where fantasy can finally be brought to the screen in all its glory.Simply stunning for a tv series. The costumes and scenery are spot on and really give the sense of gritty reality that permeates the show. While not exactly like the book, it is very close and it is obvious George the pirate (George Arr Arr Martin) has had a guiding hand in the production. It is great to live in a time where fantasy can finally be brought to the screen in all its glory. I pity the small minded individuals without any imagination that think the fantasy genre is just for kids. This series is going to be truly magnificent and we can only hope they will continue production with the second book once this is completed (which might actually make him finish writing the series finally) Expand
  90. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Having not read the books, I was thoroughly surprised by the series and found myself enjoying it so far immensely. The show is good because the original author retains control, a "realistic" element runs strong and the backgrounds and extras are adequately fleshed out. Can't wait for more.
  91. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    such a great show! the first couple of episodes are a little slow but it soon picks up.
    epic characters, great casting, amazing set design and the plot is to die for even though it can be a little confusing at times.
    watch watch watch.
  92. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    overall its pretty spectacular and everybody looks AND plays the part beautifully. the best character easily Peter Dinklage as the short yet powerful Tyrion Lannister. Though a bit inappropriate for anyone younger than 16 it shines as one of the best new shows of the year.
  93. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Novel adaptations like this are made for television. Many times epic literary works are reduced to the bare bones because people aren't willing to sit through a film longer than 3 hours. Game of Thrones is an excellent adaptation of Martin's work, with exceptional acting and beautiful visuals. If you have to pick one series to follow, it should be this one.
  94. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I cant explain in words how happy I am they finally made this series, and they did it right. The level of production, the sets, locations and the top actors they've gotten to do this makes this easily one of the best first seasons in HBO cable TV history. Throw in the fact that this show stays very close to the source material, and you have the best "thing" on TV. If the end of thisI cant explain in words how happy I am they finally made this series, and they did it right. The level of production, the sets, locations and the top actors they've gotten to do this makes this easily one of the best first seasons in HBO cable TV history. Throw in the fact that this show stays very close to the source material, and you have the best "thing" on TV. If the end of this season proved to those unknowing of this series anything don't get attached. Expand
  95. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    I don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watchingI don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watching media since I was a teenager. This is one show that lets me do that. I turn off all external sensory items and just get absorbed into the piece, enjoying every minute. There's only two flaws so far: they couldn't dye the eyebrows blonde (you get used to it), and the first few episodes are very heavy for people who cannot handle far-arching stories and characters. This is the only show where when someone is in danger (and sometimes not even in danger) I feel the threat and cannot just assume everything will work out alright (looking at you serial shows where the main characters survive everything several seasons in). I sure hope media in general learns from GoT and this is not the only piece of such great caliber in my lifetime. Expand
  96. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    Other than the seemingly consistent attempt to shove homosexuality down our throats, this show is utterly spectacular. Now we have the long and arduous task of waiting for the next season.
  97. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    A great season of Television. You never now what is going to happen. This is how you make politics interesting. The acting and writing is the best currently on Television(Since Breaking bad is over)
  98. Sep 19, 2014
    8
    As a non-genre fan, I had doubts about this show going in despite its good reviews. However, it turned out to be just as enjoyable for someone like me. Great storytelling, excellent writing full of wit and humor, and exceptional acting are really what made the show work for me. While special effects were a bit underwhelming, it is understandable considering that this show has much lessAs a non-genre fan, I had doubts about this show going in despite its good reviews. However, it turned out to be just as enjoyable for someone like me. Great storytelling, excellent writing full of wit and humor, and exceptional acting are really what made the show work for me. While special effects were a bit underwhelming, it is understandable considering that this show has much less budget than a big feature film. Expand
  99. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seriously. **** you, Game of Thrones! I hate this show so much right now! But I also love it! I only hate it because of S1E9. Why did you that? Ned Stark was awesome! I did not watch further and I am nearly at the end of this episode but as far as I can tell: this TV show is ****ing awesome! I love it! Expand
  100. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    Best tv show to date, 'nuff said ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. sorry needed extra characters.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.