• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 4, 2012
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 1, 2012
    60
    It's fun in a familiar sort of big-hair soap opera way.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 5, 2012
    58
    If GCB wants to soar to heavenly numbers, it better let the devil out to play.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 2, 2012
    58
    Broader than Dallas at its broadest, ABC's GCB won't be selling smart, stylized urban sophistication when it premieres Sunday night.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 1, 2012
    58
    Not so much scandalous as scandalously dull.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 5, 2012
    50
    What's mostly wrong with this new series is that it doesn't know who in God's name it is.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Mar 5, 2012
    50
    The problem for GCB is that it hasn't yet figured out a way to be a soap that spoofs superficiality without being superficial itself.
  7. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Mar 2, 2012
    50
    It doesn't add up to the most entertaining result, given the promise of the cast and creative minds involved.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 2, 2012
    50
    There are some funny lines here and there, but overall, the show lacks satirical teeth.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 2, 2012
    50
    GCB will need a lot more meat on its bones if these 'horns are going to hook 'em.
  10. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Mar 5, 2012
    40
    A potentially funny setup, if the women were not such oddly antiquated sendups.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    I totally loved this show because it's tacky, over-the-top and just plain fun. Because I'm a Canadian, I guess I have a larger than life viewI totally loved this show because it's tacky, over-the-top and just plain fun. Because I'm a Canadian, I guess I have a larger than life view of Texas and GCB just confirms it. Sure the show is full of stereotypes, but at least they're fun stereotypes and there's lots of room for genuine character development. It's not like a reality show ( Keeping Up with the Kardashians comes to mind) where you keep hoping the characters will blossoms and they just continue to flatline. This show is cleverly written and well acted. I particularly liked Leslie Bibb, Annie Potts and Kristin Chenoweth in their respective roles. Keep it up girls...I'm definitely tuning in next week. Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Loving Kristin Chenoweth in this. its fabulous witty and I cant wait for the story lines to develop. Stellar A******************** Also willLoving Kristin Chenoweth in this. its fabulous witty and I cant wait for the story lines to develop. Stellar A******************** Also will take over from Desperate Housewives as it is finishing. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    "GCB" showed such promise. There were some brilliant moments, and this is one of the few shows that I shall miss, but remember with great"GCB" showed such promise. There were some brilliant moments, and this is one of the few shows that I shall miss, but remember with great fondness. The first few eps were great ... and after that, it felt like the show changed its focus and writing style, and became "safer." Maybe too many prudish-yet-powerful toes were being trodden on? Oh well... Full Review »