• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Girls Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Life and their relationships are still messy for Hannah, Jessa, Marnie, and Shoshanna as Elijah (Andrew Rannells) moves in as Hannah's new roommate.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 11, 2013
    100
    Exasperating but fascinating.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 9, 2013
    100
    Sharper, smarter, more richly layered, detailed (and acted), Girls has improved upon its first season.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    91
    Girls continues to delight and provoke in a way too few shows can.
  4. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jan 10, 2013
    88
    Girls is still undergoing ultimately minor growing pains, but it's frequently poignant and audacious, and actors who made little impression in the first season are allowed to flower.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    Girls has matured leaps and bounds, comedically and structurally, but it has jettisoned some of its ambiguity, its sweetness, its own affection for its characters. It's more coherent, but it's also safer.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    75
    Girls can still be Girls. [21 Jan 2013]
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Short scenes [are] designed to suggest we just walked in on random real people. It's a raw look that is, nonetheless, a look. It also, inevitably, says scripted TV drama.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 8 out of 26
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    There's lots of hate towards Girls and I can clearly understand why since they're all about "relativity" issues. Much like season 1, season 2 is fun, clever and entertaining in it's own way. It's creative and original. This show is not for everyone, but if you're into it you'll love it. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The season 2 of Girls isn't obvious. If you have been following the episodes as they aired it's time to re-watch it and consider the total of 10 installments. Otherwise, the timelines get messed up. I loved the downfall of Lena Dunham's character, I loved how complicated Adam is. All these experiences are a part of growing up and actually it's amazing that the show talks about twentysomethings but so many thirtysomethings experience similar levels of absurd and messiness in their everyday lives. Quite hard to be a grown-up these days... Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    While the characters sometimes seem to drown in their own self-indulgence, the superb writing along with the stellar setting and cinematography greatly overshadow the show's flaws. Expand
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    Well, Girls probably has a realistic way of dealing with the lives of a bunch of not very common people. Though one could see it has a point and all the crude fat nudity adds to it, it is in no way original (as it's been said) or clever at al. I think HBO has fallen for the obscure charms of Lena Dunham and allowed her to create a show where she can tell the world all her own personal problems, about which I doubt someone is interested all that much. Characters' dialogue is also quite stereotypical and annoying, but I guess that falls under the category of the "making it realistic". Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2013
    4
    Dear Lena Dunham, your show is dull and your characters have no redeeming qualities. Aside from a chuckle here and there season 2 of the spectacularly undeservedly praised show, begins with a whimper. The pilot is a rehash of everything that was terrible in the first season. The characters are cardboard stereotype cutouts and their dilemas are the same drama that is featured on shows like the hills and gossip girl. Yes the dialogue is realistic, but that doesn't make it compelling, Dunham's dialogue is dull and lifeless and the stories are pointless loops of one another. Also if you're gonna have a token black guy on your show, at least give him some cool lines or god forbide characterization beyond simply being "her new black love interest". That's not a personality, pandering. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    I will begin this review by saying that season 1 of Girls was epic. It was funny, charming and original. The characters were amazing and uncomfortable and beautiful in their own skin.

    Fast forward to season 2. WTF has happened? There is no visible plotline. It is like watching a 30 minute indie flick once a week that doesn't coherently tie together in any realistic fashion. Lena Dunham (whom I still love) gets her tiny out every change she gets. We get it. You are comfortable with your body, but please move on. As for the secondary characters, Marnie continues to annoy, Shosh continues to be odd, Jessa continues to be messed up... Sigh. There is nothing happening here. Cringe worthy at best. I don't even know why I continue to watch. I think I'll cancel my HBO because this was the only thing making me hold on and it isn't worth it anymore.
    Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    I think lena is a great writer and everything, but she needs to stop being so naked all the time. i mean come on girl, what are you doing? she should not be getting naked all the time because I personally find it horrifying and it does not add to the series whatsoever. PUT ON CLOTHES LENA! Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  2. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.