Glee : Season 2

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Glee Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 239 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The new school year finds the glee club with new members (Charice and Chord Overstreet), new romances, new rivals, and a guest appearance by Britney Spears.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama, Arts, Music

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 21, 2010
    100
    Three weeks, three styles, three fine, fun hours.
  2. 88
    Ah, the joy of Glee. I thought the show had lost its way last season, trying to jam songs into theme episodes ("Hello"). But tonight's season opener proves that "Glee" is back in its groundbreaking groove, bringing music to the masses and making fun of itself in the process.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 21, 2010
    88
    In its second season, the high school musical comedy occasionally flies off the rails...But maybe that's to be expected from this aggressively inventive pop fantasy, where mundane details like homework never matter. [1 Nov 2010, p.41]
  4. So far--although Glee may be creeping closer to the edge--it remains nearly as delightful as it was when everything about the show seemed shiny and new.
  5. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    75
    Second-season expectations for Glee are almost too high. Potential reality series, movies, spinoffs, tours, record contracts...the surround sound that's jacked up around this hit is now officially deafening. Unrelenting distractions can push series off their game, and there's evidence tonight Glee is off its game.
  6. This is a packed episode that sets up the dynamic for a season long rivalry that New Directions will be hard-pressed to overcome.
  7. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Oct 26, 2010
    40
    It has become a powerful, promotional machine, long on hype and short on the human feeling--the glee--that once made it so addictive.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 42
  2. Negative: 10 out of 42
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Well Glee Season 2 is much more superior to season 1 because of the songs and guest stars. I'm a Filipino and I'm proud that Charice is there.Well Glee Season 2 is much more superior to season 1 because of the songs and guest stars. I'm a Filipino and I'm proud that Charice is there. I even love Gwyneth Paltrow. There were even original songs like the very best " Loser Like Me". There were problems with plot and story and I found that some were unnecessary. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2010
    10
    Any show so campy and over the top that it can consistently bring two grown men to tears is an automatic 10. While the themed episodes areAny show so campy and over the top that it can consistently bring two grown men to tears is an automatic 10. While the themed episodes are getting a bit tired, the changing-up of the musical arrangements can make Britney Spears actually worth hearing. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    This show has lady gaga syndrome. The creators think they have a coat of pop sugary candy that they sneakily injected with dark undertones andThis show has lady gaga syndrome. The creators think they have a coat of pop sugary candy that they sneakily injected with dark undertones and social commentary. But ratings and dollars speak so what they end up with is sugary pop candy that just thinks it has dark undertones cuz at the end of the day the important thing is to be yourself and never stop believing...yippie! Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    First, the bad stuff: Humor that could be derived from Sue Sylvester (and Jane Lynch) has been run to the ground, and "Glee" has sacrificedFirst, the bad stuff: Humor that could be derived from Sue Sylvester (and Jane Lynch) has been run to the ground, and "Glee" has sacrificed what could've been amazing plot and occasionally made some EPIC FAILS (Rocky Horror, anyone?). The Superbowl episode ("The Sue Sylvester Shuffle") would've been great if the opening number was improved and if there were less references to previous plots. Sure, there were some highs for this season (episodes 1, 2 (for me, at least), 4, 8, 9, 12, 16, 20, and 22), but nothing could top the amazing-ness that was its first season. Anyway, some of the songs were covered greatly, and some plots worked wonders on the show, but I wish to see more consistency and humor in this show. Because its getting too dramatic. Naya Rivera (and, to an extent, Heather Morris) improved so solidly this season, while Jane Lynch (unfortunately) was run to the ground. I wish this show would improve next season (now that they have new writers). Expand
  5. May 5, 2012
    7
    Season 2 of Glee is a bit of a hit and miss, plot wise it was good standout was the one involving Kurt, A Closeted Gay Bully and the DaltonSeason 2 of Glee is a bit of a hit and miss, plot wise it was good standout was the one involving Kurt, A Closeted Gay Bully and the Dalton Academy Warblers. When it came to songs however it was too new and mainstream. What made the first season so great is that it introduced old songs to this generation. Also we had one too many tribute episodes, though some of them we're pretty good e.g. The Fleetwood Mac episode. Also this season has a a lot of great guest stars including the extremely talented Gwyneth Paltrow.
    Overall it's a good season just make the songs better for next time, eh?
    Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2010
    4
    Although the cheerleader coach is hilarious, most of the show is obnoxious. They are all good singers, but they just redo already famousAlthough the cheerleader coach is hilarious, most of the show is obnoxious. They are all good singers, but they just redo already famous songs, so there isn't much originality. So many people I know love the show, but if I want to hear songs I love, I usually just go to the artist that sang it first to hear it. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    0
    I am absolutely fine with homosexuality, but this show tries too hard to change people and the way that they think. Fox should cancel thisI am absolutely fine with homosexuality, but this show tries too hard to change people and the way that they think. Fox should cancel this while they still have the chance. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  2. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  3. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.
  6. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.