• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three graduates of McKinley High settle in New York City as the fourth season of the show brings new hopefuls for New Directions, including an half-brother Puck never knew about.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama, Arts, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 12, 2012
    100
    One episode in, "Glee 2.0"--otherwise known as the fourth season--looks to be a winner.
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 17, 2012
    75
    The decision to have some students graduate was a smart one, and splitting the action between New York (where Lea Michele's Rachel Berry is attending NYADA, the New York Academy of Dramatic Arts) and Ohio (where the remaining members of New Directions are regrouping) turns out to have been even smarter.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    75
    The high school stories are tighter-focused, and the Manhattan ones breathe with Broadway romanticism. [5 Nov 2012, p.42]
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 13, 2012
    70
    Glee is off to a good start. Please let it last.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    Individually, they [characters] remain fun, even in a preachy scene where Glee members forget the Golden Rule. But all the vignettes and moments need a show around which to revolve. Glee needs the New Rachel.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 13, 2012
    58
    [The] premiere serves as a rocky reboot to the once robust hit.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    From the second season till the third the Glee series was generally okay to me, there were some really great episodes, but now with Season 4'sFrom the second season till the third the Glee series was generally okay to me, there were some really great episodes, but now with Season 4's beginning the series is off to their rotes, They do bring a more mature sense to it, and I did love the Britney 2.0 episode and their interpretation of the songs. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    4 years after and Glee is as powerful and as mature as one would hope for! The addition of a diversity of new characters, voices and the4 years after and Glee is as powerful and as mature as one would hope for! The addition of a diversity of new characters, voices and the successful merging of school & university students has a magical effect! a straight 10 from me! Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    It has started very good and in a high note. Glee is returning with a very interesting way of seeing our lovely characters, now whe have theIt has started very good and in a high note. Glee is returning with a very interesting way of seeing our lovely characters, now whe have the Ohio students and the New York stuff. At the very beginning I was not that happy, but seeing the results I cannot say it's been a bad thing or something. Drama is equal as the music, so it is a good move. Also acting is getting better and better, actors are growing up very fast and it is seen through the scenes in the TV show. Good for them. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    The fourth season it's more interesting than the third season and it has new characters which is a good thing. it is entertaining and theThe fourth season it's more interesting than the third season and it has new characters which is a good thing. it is entertaining and the songs are better but i am not really sure what will happen in the next seasons. I think in a little bit of time this series will be ending in a bitter way to the fans. And I like this show though it has some negative points Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    I found myself able to sit through the first three shows of season 4, I originally thought the show had regained what it lost. However, it'sI found myself able to sit through the first three shows of season 4, I originally thought the show had regained what it lost. However, it's dead weight now, and the recent school shooting episode was a tasteless attempt to keep this dying show on people's MSN home pages. I think it's time we let this show die already. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    3
    The problem with this fourth season is that now Glee is relying on characters that were never well developed (Tina, Sam, Blaine, Artie,The problem with this fourth season is that now Glee is relying on characters that were never well developed (Tina, Sam, Blaine, Artie, Britney) they were always secondary characters to the main cast. So, they have these characters that are the only known characters, and a myriad of newer Glee kids that resemble and act like the stereotypes of the older characters that are missing. More than ever, this has become like Degrassi with high school drama that I don't care about. The first and second seasons had heart dealing not only with the teen's problems, but also the adults problems. Terry trying to take Quinn's baby and hiding it from Will, Emma being in love with Will, Quinn's baby really being Puck's but she was with Finn so she didn't want to admit it Quinn's whole journey as a character Finn's love for Rachel Rachel's obsession with being a star and everything taken down because they are TRULY the underdogs... One quote I loved from Emma Pillsbury is 'Sometimes I think we spend so much time around these kids that we start acting like them...' And I found that interesting. So much of the original seasons had a bite to them. Anymore, the kids aren't interesting, I don't know them, NONE of them act the way the should (why is Tina so hateful now and completely obsessed with hooking up with Blaine?) none of it makes sense. Now all I see is a cheerleader who practically killed Marley but nobody actually exposes the cheer girl? They all just constantly talk about how it was Marley's fault? Do I even know (or care) about the struggles of Unique? Do I know of any? No... How about the new Christian dude? Nope... Oh, and Puck Jr... uh huh, he's a watered down version of Puck who is in love with the Rachel girl... Sam who is becoming ever-dumber, which I did not think was the original conception, but the writers seem hell-bent on making a strange connection between him and Britney, and the other football player guy who is dyslexic (not gonna lie, that was a cool plot point) but is anything else done with that??? So, we have recycled cheerleader hating the Rachel girl plots, the punk being in love with Rachel and the cheerleader (sound familiar?) So all in all, this has been a grating season to try to watch. I loved Glee... I just wish they'd get back to what made it so neat in the first place, which was interesting characters, unexpected, character-driven plot points, and cohesiveness all around. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2012
    0
    Can't do it, nope, can't sit through one episode.Can't do it, nope, can't sit through one episode. ------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  2. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  3. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.
  6. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.