• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 6, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. 80
    It's the kind of work that I like to classify as "deep shallow," in that it deals in familiar tropes and simple themes but articulates them in a clever, stylish way.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    The answers unfold with a delicious tension that makes Graceland an unexpected pleasure.
  3. 75
    We've seen that countless times. But Sunjata and Tveit are both appealing, and the rest of the cast is colorfully eclectic, including Vanessa Ferlito as Charlie, a DEA agent undercover as a druggie.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 5, 2013
    75
    It’s the broader story of Briggs--is his hat white or black?--and his unfolding relationship Warren that elevates Graceland a cut above your dime-a-dozen crime dramas.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 5, 2013
    75
    Based on the three episodes I've seen, there's a lot of potential here, and an interesting blend of self-contained and long-form storytelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 24, 2013
    75
    It wouldn't hurt to pick up the pace, but Graceland is a successful move toward true grittiness. [3 Jun 2013, p.43]
  7. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 24, 2013
    75
    Graceland is Not The Wire. But it won't have you shooting up your television set, either. [31 May/7 Jun 2013, p.131]
  8. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 7, 2013
    70
    While it's not exactly Breaking Bad, stepping away from the too-pat world of "blue sky" TV into something edgier is a welcome diversion.
  9. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 6, 2013
    70
    Graceland is an entertaining addition to a strong summer lineup in which attractive people trade witty banter and engage in serious work that provides good clean episodic fun while teaching the main characters the importance of love and loyalty.
  10. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 5, 2013
    67
    At first, the pace is slow--make that glacial--but [the] pilot episode (and especially Sunjata) are good-natured enough to make you want to stick around to see if this gels into anything approaching an FX drama (it does not).
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Surprised at how much I actually enjoyed this show. Found it quite enjoyable. Hope the rest of the season follows the pilot's formula. SomeSurprised at how much I actually enjoyed this show. Found it quite enjoyable. Hope the rest of the season follows the pilot's formula. Some may find it to be another cop show but like I said I was quite surprised, I didn't expect it to grab my attention so much. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Intriguing, well written. The episodes of the show get better and better. It never stops surprising through believable turning points.Intriguing, well written. The episodes of the show get better and better. It never stops surprising through believable turning points. Similarly, the characters get more and more believable. Not as excellent as True detective, but definitely an enjoyable show. Full Review »
  3. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    As fun to watch as Justified. This show is much better than the other USA shows I have seen. A great new show about law enforcement whoAs fun to watch as Justified. This show is much better than the other USA shows I have seen. A great new show about law enforcement who actually do effective work and it doesn't bog the viewer down with the standard procedural stuff. There is enough danger, intrigue, humor, and most importantly consequence to keep the episodes interesting even with some overdone drama. The acting and the entire show is believable in spite of the unlikelihood of an undercover house. Also there is a fun dog on the beach, though he doesn't get much screen time. Full Review »