Graceland : Season 1

  • Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 6, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 67
  2. Negative: 11 out of 67

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Surprised at how much I actually enjoyed this show. Found it quite enjoyable. Hope the rest of the season follows the pilot's formula. Some may find it to be another cop show but like I said I was quite surprised, I didn't expect it to grab my attention so much.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    If you love USA type show (beautiful people doing really interesting things), then you'll love this show. I personally think this one stands out because of it's combination of a normal procedural along with relationship intrigue. I disagree with the other reviewers saying there is nothing to connect to with the characters or the story when I think the actors do a good job, the storiesIf you love USA type show (beautiful people doing really interesting things), then you'll love this show. I personally think this one stands out because of it's combination of a normal procedural along with relationship intrigue. I disagree with the other reviewers saying there is nothing to connect to with the characters or the story when I think the actors do a good job, the stories tend to be strong, and the drama is good, especially for a USA show. Give it a chance, and you might find that you like it. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    As soon as I saw the trailer for Graceland I knew I was gonna like it being a criminology student. I liked the way they set it up with the FBI looking into one of their own but somewhere along the line I think they lost track of the plot. It started of with this big bang and now it's almost as if they're trying to change their mind about what the show is actually about: the agents or theAs soon as I saw the trailer for Graceland I knew I was gonna like it being a criminology student. I liked the way they set it up with the FBI looking into one of their own but somewhere along the line I think they lost track of the plot. It started of with this big bang and now it's almost as if they're trying to change their mind about what the show is actually about: the agents or the criminals. It started off being something different, focusing on the struggle of undercover agents to maintain their morale even when being forced to fuse with California's criminal underworld. The struggle that Mike has to deal with between doing his duty or his loyalty to the man who saved his life who may also be a dirty cop. However, this roller coaster ride that they have viewers on: making us suspicious of Briggs then making us sympathize then making us hate him then making us like him is too much. They need to save all the plot twists they can because there's only so many twists and turns that a series can take before it burns out like the others. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Intriguing, well written. The episodes of the show get better and better. It never stops surprising through believable turning points. Similarly, the characters get more and more believable. Not as excellent as True detective, but definitely an enjoyable show.
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    As fun to watch as Justified. This show is much better than the other USA shows I have seen. A great new show about law enforcement who actually do effective work and it doesn't bog the viewer down with the standard procedural stuff. There is enough danger, intrigue, humor, and most importantly consequence to keep the episodes interesting even with some overdone drama. The acting andAs fun to watch as Justified. This show is much better than the other USA shows I have seen. A great new show about law enforcement who actually do effective work and it doesn't bog the viewer down with the standard procedural stuff. There is enough danger, intrigue, humor, and most importantly consequence to keep the episodes interesting even with some overdone drama. The acting and the entire show is believable in spite of the unlikelihood of an undercover house. Also there is a fun dog on the beach, though he doesn't get much screen time. Expand
  6. May 31, 2014
    10
    This show makes me a nervous wreck - every week. I teach making predictions & foreshadowing for a living, so I'm pretty jaded watching most shows with pedantic writing & mediocre acting. However, the writers are able to surprise me with the multi-layered story lines & plot twists. I get so amped up that I can't watch it @ night, then go to bed - I have to watch it the next night, thenThis show makes me a nervous wreck - every week. I teach making predictions & foreshadowing for a living, so I'm pretty jaded watching most shows with pedantic writing & mediocre acting. However, the writers are able to surprise me with the multi-layered story lines & plot twists. I get so amped up that I can't watch it @ night, then go to bed - I have to watch it the next night, then have time to calm down before I go to bed. The writing is tight & the story lines are engaging. Two thumbs up. PS: eye candy!!!

    I have also noticed that the negative reviews are based upon the trailer. I think that it's asinine to base a review of anything based upon a snippet - my review is based upon watching the entire season.
    Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    Great show, Really good actors! :) Always on the Edge of my Seat watching! :) great characters,
    always love watching, hopefully gets renewed!!!!!!!!!!
  8. Aug 23, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely love this show. I just finished binge watching all three seasons to date, just because. The storyline is complex and dynamic, there are so many things happening simultaneously that I'm always on edge. Kudos to the character development thus far throughout the series, I love how raw the characters are. The vulnerability shown by many of the actors was an experience in an of itself, it is easy to see how committed they are to their roles. Many of these characters are asked to portray very real things and to execute with such conviction is something to be proud of, for example Paige with the human trafficking ring, Jakes when he turns to alcohol for consolidation, or Charlie having to make the decision of whether or not to abort her baby and also all examples of substance abuse (Mike with prescription drugs, Briggs with Heroine and even Charlie had a short stint. There are so many examples of real life issues that many face in their daily lives and I think its about time a show sheds some light on them sans a filter. Overall I love the show and how relatable it is in terms of the spectrum of human emotion, one thing I must say is that Paige is my favorite character by far because she has a very girl next door kind of thing to her but, is still a total bad ass. I can't wait to finish up season 3 and look forward to a season 4. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 7, 2013
    70
    While it's not exactly Breaking Bad, stepping away from the too-pat world of "blue sky" TV into something edgier is a welcome diversion.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    Graceland is nothing to get all shook up about.
  3. 80
    It's the kind of work that I like to classify as "deep shallow," in that it deals in familiar tropes and simple themes but articulates them in a clever, stylish way.