Grimm : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 28, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Oct 21, 2011
    60
    All of which adds up to a nice, moody, entertaining-enough hour and the troublesome question of how interesting this will be by the third episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 28, 2011
    58
    Grimm has a low-rent Saturday Syfy vibe to it.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 25, 2011
    58
    Grimm is buoyed by some decent special effects and snarky wolfman Monroe, who will be a series regular. But it's not nearly as imaginative, involving or picturesque as ABC's fairy tale offering, Once Upon A Time.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 28, 2011
    50
    There's a potentially good supernatural cop show to be made, and certain pieces in place to make this into that. But the version you'll see on NBC tonight seems to be embracing the show's likely failure by being something few will miss if it doesn't work out.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 28, 2011
    50
    Compared to so many other crime procedurals, Grimm offers a twist on the usual. It remains to be seen whether that twist will be superficial or substantive.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 28, 2011
    50
    If only Grimm didn't also feel like we've seen it before, only executed with more verve and humor back in the glory days of Buffy and Angel.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    Grimm is neither a very strong police procedural nor a supernatural drama, as it sacrifices the intelligence required to construct smart, puzzling crimes in order to spend more time attempting to enunciate its fantastical elements, which aren't all that fantastical, with amateurish CGI.
  8. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    The show offers genuine scares, but lines like "I already cried wolf once--you think they're gonna believe me?" cast a hokey spell. [31 Oct 2011, p.35]
  9. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    The show is moderately entertaining, albeit somewhat predictable.
  10. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Oct 20, 2011
    50
    Underneath the special effects and fairy-tale plot propeller lurks just another crime drama, and not a very good one at that.
  11. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    42
    It should be more original, and the characters should be less forgettable.
  12. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 21, 2011
    42
    The show vacillates between hokey and clever as it mines the Brothers Grimm for contemporary analogues.
  13. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Oct 28, 2011
    40
    Grimm is most alive in the scenes where Nick teams up with Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell), a monster who is trying hard to walk the straight path. These moments introduce some much-needed levity to a drama where every echoing slam of a file-cabinet drawer amounts to a portentous groan.
  14. Reviewed by: Daynah Burnett
    Oct 28, 2011
    40
    Filmed and set in a soggy, green-washed Portland, Oregon, its procedural plotting and visual flair carry it along when it occasionally lapses into something like camp.
  15. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 25, 2011
    40
    Among Grimm's more immediate challenges are Giuntoli's initial blandness as its lead, along with questions regarding how long his confused partner ("Lincoln Heights'" Russell Hornsby) can continue showing up at crime scenes without ascertaining something's weird in the state of Oregon.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 65
  2. Negative: 7 out of 65
  1. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    I felt Grimm's pilot was satisfying to watch. Acting was great, I was on the edge of my seat while watching it (And was a little scared).I felt Grimm's pilot was satisfying to watch. Acting was great, I was on the edge of my seat while watching it (And was a little scared). All-in-all I feel this will end up being great if they can keep a balance, and spend more time on learning/Teaching viewers about each monster! Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2011
    5
    I'm giving this thing 5 episodes to break being a "Monster of the week" show. If secrets aren't told and plot doesn't move on by the fifth epI'm giving this thing 5 episodes to break being a "Monster of the week" show. If secrets aren't told and plot doesn't move on by the fifth ep then I'm dumping it. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    2
    This show is **** I'm german and from Germany... and this show hasn't anything to do with hte fairytales of hte Brothers Grimm. The use ofThis show is **** I'm german and from Germany... and this show hasn't anything to do with hte fairytales of hte Brothers Grimm. The use of werewolfs is just pathetic. It doesn't give credit to the legend of the Brothers Grimm. Keep away from the show. Full Review »