• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Ground Floor Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This workplace comedy from Scrubs creator Bill Lawrence reunites him with star John C. McGinley, while the main action revolves around a Romeo and Juliet-style inter-office romance between a banker (Skylar Astin) and a woman who works in the lower-level maintenance department (Briga Heelan). Rory Scovel, Alexis Knapp, and James Earl also star. Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Nov 14, 2013
    91
    [Bill Lawrence] scores again here, with an instantly appealing ensemble, from Astin's "soulless upstairs tool" to Rory Scovel as the downstairs dude from "a very competitive community college.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 14, 2013
    83
    It's a simple idea, and the supporting characters on both floors are fairly broad and familiar types, but the execution is good.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 14, 2013
    80
    We like the people and the jokes are funny. We know there’s something vulnerable and even poignant behind that barrage of one-liners.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Nov 14, 2013
    70
    McGinley is delightfully obnoxious, and the young lovers are quite sweet, but it's the undercurrent of resentment flowing in two directions that raises Ground Floor, if not to TV comedy's penthouse, at least to its second floor.
  5. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Nov 14, 2013
    70
    Ground Floor doesn’t make much of an impression initially. But stick with it for three or four episodes and it grows on you.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    There is a professional efficiency to much of the comedy. (It is funny sometimes.)
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 14, 2013
    0
    The new worst show of the fall season.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is my new favorite program and i don't say that easy. I just love the whole concept and the actors blended together its a perfect match. usually there is someone you just don't like in a series but i cant fine one in this one. The relationship between Brody and Jennifer is just so hot and by that i mean Jennifer is so hot my computer almost burn up! JK. but the relation ship between those two are just amazing, how they sing and get this like sexual chemistry kinda and just all in all are just an epic combination. but also the relationship between all the other characters how they interact whit each other is just something you don't really get all the time in all tv-shows. So to sum it up even tho i am a scumbag that watches the show free on the internet bc i live in Norway where the show hasn't aired on television yet. I believe this show is one of the best i have ever seen. Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Haven't laughed this much during a sitcom since the Friends days. Glad to see Bill Lawrence is at it again. Great cast and clever writing set this apart from the rest of the pack. Keep up the good "work". Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Best sitcom TBS has put out, it has just enough dark humor not to push any boundaries and just make you laugh, unlike Sullivan & Son. The writers make the usually annoying Romeo and Juliet-style romance work well, and Rory Scovel plays an interesting antagonist "Harvard," basically an odd, sarcastic, hilariously unsuccessful version of Tybalt. Sitcoms are having it rough these days, so adding a guaranteed-funny veteran actor like John C. McGinley was a wise move. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    7
    One reason and one reason only to watch this show, Alexis Knapp. I'm midway through the third episode.If she isn't on my screen soon, see ya! I'm kind of just kidding. Seriously though,the show is pretty good. Collapse
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    It's OKAY. Some of these guys writing reviews are claiming laugh out loud funny, I think it's a little better for a chuckle. I don't know my favorite sitcoms are the ones that feel a bit more real than this but I still watch every week cause I still manage to enjoy myself as I watch. One of the better TBS sitcoms in a while, but I still feel the network could stand to model future shows after sitcoms like How I Met Your Mother, The Goldbergs, Modern Family, etc. This show is enjoyable to watch but it feels like it's been done before. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2013
    6
    Positive start and good enough casting and nice little plot with few jokes in it.This is the only decent comedy show came out in recent fall.Show has plenty of potential to be good one and looking forward to it Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2014
    4
    Formulaic BS. TBS has made a habit of shoveling out sitcoms reminiscent of the worst of 1980s (Sullivan & Son, Men at Work, insert any Tyler Perry sitcom). Pass! Expand

See all 11 User Reviews