Hart of Dixie : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Sep 26, 2011
    83
    This show, which reunites the undeniably charming Bilson with The O.C. creator Josh Schwartz, is a goodie that mixes heartstring-tugging moments with lines like this: "There it is. Rock bottom. I just played 'Dixie' with my butt."
  2. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Sep 13, 2011
    70
    There are no twins, reality stars, or vampires, er, witches, but you're not alone in thinking that's the most preposterous concept of all. Surprisingly, cast and crew succeed in making the sugary sweet illogic palatable, if not a gourmet delight.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 26, 2011
    67
    It's a good cast, and Porter in particular works very well with Bilson. The show just needs to find a way to transcend both formula and Southern stereotypes.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 26, 2011
    67
    It goes down pretty easy if you'd like to set down for a spell with a disarmingly pleasant little down-home melodrama.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Sep 28, 2011
    3
    I was hoping for another quirky show set in a small town. I got a show in a small town but without the quirky.
    This is no Gilmore Girls or
    I was hoping for another quirky show set in a small town. I got a show in a small town but without the quirky.
    This is no Gilmore Girls or Northern Exposure. The writing is bad and Rachel, as much as I loved her in the OC is playing pretty much the same type of character here, except...she is a Doctor which really doesn't work.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Bilson was stellar in her performance! The shoe doesn't have the best writing, but there's still time to improvement, so this is the one toBilson was stellar in her performance! The shoe doesn't have the best writing, but there's still time to improvement, so this is the one to watch, however there's only so much more time before the show is endangered if it doesn't improve. Jaime King however was destesable in her role of Lemon Breeland. Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2015
    10
    There are not a lot of non "reality" shows that have southern roots. This is a fun, romantic with just the right amount of drama show. IThere are not a lot of non "reality" shows that have southern roots. This is a fun, romantic with just the right amount of drama show. I really hope they keep it. It would be such a shame to lose such a great show on the lineup with such a unique story line. Full Review »