• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 152

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    A true masterful old fashioned western. Hell on Wheels packs it in with all the bells and whistles found in only the best of it's genre. I couldnt take my eyes off of the screen. Visually unlike any western Ive seen on cable television and a story told paced naturally with brewing temperament, AMC's done it again with this fine tale of payback and payoffs.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The best premiere of the year. AMC se ha vuelto a lucir esta vez, respira un aire a Deadwood, espero que la iguale. la auguro un buen futuro a la serie, espero que la AMC la trate bien
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    After watching the second episode, we're hooked. Lots of interesting history, but more importantly, an engrossing story with lots of action & tension. Pretty intense. I Hope people give it a chance. Another quality drama from AMC. We already know who to like and who to hate, as we get to know more of who the characters are and some background. Definitely worth watching, and we're notAfter watching the second episode, we're hooked. Lots of interesting history, but more importantly, an engrossing story with lots of action & tension. Pretty intense. I Hope people give it a chance. Another quality drama from AMC. We already know who to like and who to hate, as we get to know more of who the characters are and some background. Definitely worth watching, and we're not usually western fans. This is different. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    Hi, I stopped watching the show after episode 4, but I restarted with it and IT GOT BETTER. At the end, I will be definitely watching season 2.
    Do not quit after first episodes, as Spartacus (season 1), the show gets better with time.
  5. Jan 25, 2012
    9
    Best western since Deadwood and a lot more violent. Revenge story/ historical drama. I really enjoyed my time watching it. Yes, it takes some time to get in to, there's a definite slow build, but once that intial phase is over it gets really interesting.
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    so far i am really enjoying this series, the cinematography is fantastic, and the acting is very strong, and i'm loving the variety of the characters. i'll update this review at the end of the season but it looks like great things are bound to happen with it
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Hell on wheels is bar none the best show around today. The main character is badass with a gentle soul and is what every man aught to be. The show also accurately depicts what it would be like to live in a post civil war world as well as paints a picture of what it was like to be on the losing side. A southern man, made out to be evil by the union but in actuality, with his priorities inHell on wheels is bar none the best show around today. The main character is badass with a gentle soul and is what every man aught to be. The show also accurately depicts what it would be like to live in a post civil war world as well as paints a picture of what it was like to be on the losing side. A southern man, made out to be evil by the union but in actuality, with his priorities in order, is the most upright man around, union or confederacy. Expand
  8. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    This show is not a series like any other. Good storyline, perfect characters and much more badass. Loved this season, watched all the episodes in 2 days.
  9. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Hell on Wheels is a very captivating show. The characters are great and the authenticity of the era is so realistic. I can hardly wait until this show comes back on TV.
  10. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    Hell on wheels is the one show that I NEVER miss. I watch and enjoy a wide variety of shows, and Hell on Wheels Stands alone as the only "Western" that I'm aware of. The storyline is rock solid, as is the acting, and the character's are interesting & intriguing to waitch. It's fascinating knowing that many of the small cities & towns scattered across the American West, were first "Hell onHell on wheels is the one show that I NEVER miss. I watch and enjoy a wide variety of shows, and Hell on Wheels Stands alone as the only "Western" that I'm aware of. The storyline is rock solid, as is the acting, and the character's are interesting & intriguing to waitch. It's fascinating knowing that many of the small cities & towns scattered across the American West, were first "Hell on Wheels" tent towns, where people who worked upon or serviced the trains, resided, then moved further west, following the train. Many stayed, and these wild, lawless communities eventually became legitimate towns & cities. If I was told that I could only watch one series, Hell on Wheels would be my choice. Expand
  11. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Great show. Nice to have a western. Just dont care for the actor playing the head guy on the train with the Shakesperian like accent. I love all the interesting charactors, and its well written. Visually quite beautiful, too.
  12. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Look forward to this program. The realism fits the time frame of the story. Finally a program worth watching. Keep up the good work. Thank goodness no vampires and things that crawl in the night.
  13. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    Never been a fan of westerns, but this one kept me chained to the screen so far. Characters are drawn fine the main is a bad-ass, what u want more? :) Let's see if it goes to season 2.
  14. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Awesome raw performances. Strong characters! Anson Mount is the new Clint Eastwood of the era in respect to classic spaghetti westerns and gives commanding quiet performance. Colm Meaney is wonderful in his role as the town boss and ambitious witty politician. Common is natural not as an actor but fit as the naive apprentice trying to fit into a new world as an unappreciated free workingAwesome raw performances. Strong characters! Anson Mount is the new Clint Eastwood of the era in respect to classic spaghetti westerns and gives commanding quiet performance. Colm Meaney is wonderful in his role as the town boss and ambitious witty politician. Common is natural not as an actor but fit as the naive apprentice trying to fit into a new world as an unappreciated free working man leading his people. The show is as gritty and real as it gets when it comes to dealing with pride and prejudices. Shock! Expand
  15. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    Hell On Wheels is no Deadwood, but it doesn't aspire to be. The story is a bit lighter, the drama a bit more spoon-fed and the characters just shallow enough to not break your brain over their motivations. But it is done really well, shot beautifully and delivered with a certain authenticity that the show could have easily skipped. HOW is not really a period piece, but it comes closeHell On Wheels is no Deadwood, but it doesn't aspire to be. The story is a bit lighter, the drama a bit more spoon-fed and the characters just shallow enough to not break your brain over their motivations. But it is done really well, shot beautifully and delivered with a certain authenticity that the show could have easily skipped. HOW is not really a period piece, but it comes close enough to it.

    One issue is the story, which draws itself really thin and flat in the end. Much of the complexity built into the characters is abandoned for the sake of moving the script forward. This is a pity, but not a deal breaker. Also, the last four episodes of the first season are easily the best. What HOW does do well is explore aspects of American history often ignored: former slaves, American Indians, industrial barons, the brutality of the Civil War and Southerners are all present. Themes often avoided by other programs are looked at here. It is brave and makes HOW one of the most compelling shows of the year. Looking forward to season 2.
    Expand
  16. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    For those saying this show is dreadful, boring, ect. Get your eyes and ears checked out. This show got me hooked from the second I started watching it. Bad ass acting, beautiful scenery, just a cool show.
  17. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    Hell on Wheels has high production values, good acting and good scripts. I like the way it's filmed on location and has a feel of authenticity about the production not found into many television series
  18. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Amazing show, loved both seasons, wish AMC would put more episodes per season tho. Everyone I tell about the show, loves it, you've got a decent show here AMC.
  19. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing show, loved both seasons, wish AMC would put more episodes per season tho. Everyone I tell about the show, loves it, you've got a decent show here AMC. Expand
  20. Sep 13, 2014
    10
    This has to be on of the BEST shows on TV. If I could only use one word to describe it I would use... EPIC. If you enjoy shows like Game of Thrones I highly recommend this. At a time when mot shows are cops/law this is most definitely refreshing
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 60
    Hell on Wheels didn't turn into a great drama, but it settled into a distinctive groove, growing more relaxed and confident by the week.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 7, 2011
    88
    This drive for revenge is what makes the pilot spark, smoke and go chug-a-chug-chug. [14 Nov 2011, p.45]
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 7, 2011
    70
    That's a lot of stories to tell, and the sweeping Hell on Wheels does a good job of chopping them into bite-size pieces.