Hemingway and Gellhorn

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: May 28, 2012
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark Feeney
    May 29, 2012
    70
    It's not as if Kidman or Owen looks old, exactly. Still, the basic dynamic is a bit out-of-kilter. A lot of the early scenes don't make much sense if the Gellhorn we see is so clearly a mature, experienced woman.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 25, 2012
    80
    A dynamic, vivid, well-acted look at two major 20th century writers who shared wars on the battlefront and at home.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 29, 2012
    83
    Despite some shortcomings, Hemingway & Gellhorn rates as time and money well-spent.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 29, 2012
    70
    HBO's woozy and often intoxicating Hemingway & Gellhorn [is] a sprawling docudrama (overlong at 160 minutes) about glamorous world adventurers whose weapons are words.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    May 29, 2012
    75
    Get past the first hour and you've got a helluva good tale.
  6. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    May 29, 2012
    91
    Both writers come off as passionate egomaniacs with literary gifts so undeniable, you can't help but enjoy them.
  7. 70
    the film is as smart and sexy as it is extravagantly silly; its silliness is knowing and affectionate.
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 25, 2012
    67
    Stellar production, famous leads. What's missing? Heart.
  9. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    May 25, 2012
    80
    That this rich, impressively ambitious film says far more about Martha Gellhorn than about Ernest Hemingway was inevitable.
  10. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 25, 2012
    75
    Kaufman's film, despite some flaws, captures the intensity of their story and pulls us in with the irresistible force of a great, doomed love story.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Sep 15, 2016
    7
    It's always a treat to see how the authors lived their lives. We read their books and identify with the characters, but are the authors likeIt's always a treat to see how the authors lived their lives. We read their books and identify with the characters, but are the authors like the characters they write? This is a look at one of the famous authors of our generation. Was he a "legend in his own mind?" Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    I liked the acting more than the rest but the movie is well done. Not just a love story but a honest, vivid portrait of two important peopleI liked the acting more than the rest but the movie is well done. Not just a love story but a honest, vivid portrait of two important people that made our history but couldn't make a history for themselves. They were very similar but distant as well. The movie has faults but it's enjoyable. I don't understand the bad criticism. It's an old style movie, one of those epic movies they used to do and somehow they stopped. Kidman is impressive, emmy-worth, she's magnetic, powerful, uber beautiful. Owen was a little bit ouf of sea but he did a good job after all. I suggest everyone to watch it, it's not a masterpiece but not that bad as many say. Full Review »
  3. May 29, 2012
    2
    Astonishing that Clive Owen, and Nucole Kiddman's agents did not nothing to stop the release of this film. HBO, while generally creating someAstonishing that Clive Owen, and Nucole Kiddman's agents did not nothing to stop the release of this film. HBO, while generally creating some of the best television, has failed with Hemingway and Gellhorn.
    This film will surely be at home with the B movie crowd that will no doubt make fun of the often stupid dialogue and poor acting. Th bombing love scene between our stars was especially moving... bowl moving! Lar Ulric makes an appearance as a film maker with an accent that can only be described as worse than the Irish Spring voice-over. Pure and simple.. Hemingway and Gellhorn was the worst Ive seen from HBO.
    Full Review »