• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 8, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 7, 2012
    91
    You'll alternate between cooing at 6-year-old pageant queen Honey, gawking at her self-described "redneck" family and pet pig, laughing so hard you cry, and feeling deep shame for not turning it off.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    As with many of these series, Honey Boo Boo wobbles along that strange line of being at once an exploitative mess, and not just an exploitative mess.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 7, 2012
    50
    You'll blow a gasket if you watch this show with any trace of superiority or outrage. Instead, bafflement is a good resting spot; a guilty-pleasure glee works even better.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    While I was creeped out by the way Honey Boo Boo was framing the family and presenting them to us, I couldn't help loving the Thompsons themselves.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 7, 2012
    30
    Disturbingly condescending and almost irresistibly cheeky.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 8, 2012
    30
    If you haven't yet put your affairs in order, this would be a propitious time to do so. The world as we know it is about to end. How do I know? Because Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 7, 2012
    25
    Seems to me she's [Alana's mother June is] desperate to stay in the spotlight. And all I can say to that is, "Honey, bye-bye."

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 32
  2. Negative: 21 out of 32
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    this show is absolutely amazing the family doesn't change to make people happy. yes they may not be the most polite family and are a littlethis show is absolutely amazing the family doesn't change to make people happy. yes they may not be the most polite family and are a little weird but they are themselves! not many people are like that any more alot of people now days care what people think they dress a certain way act a certain way eat, talk, anything that will make other people happy and we shouldnt be that way. we should do what needs to be done to make ourselves happy. i very much like this show because of the way they all act they dont give a crap what any of you think they really dont care what anybody thinks. here comes honey boo boo is a great show! Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    These people are awesome, super entertaining. Allana is a super smart, cheeky, sassy 6 year old and I love watching her. The family don't careThese people are awesome, super entertaining. Allana is a super smart, cheeky, sassy 6 year old and I love watching her. The family don't care what people think about them and it's completely refreshing, no matter what you do someone will criticise you so why care? You'd better redneckognise! Collapse
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't care if the Thompson's are from the south. They are very entertaining and funny. I love how they get along well and they always do everything as a whole. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is an insult to the American public. I don't like most shows but this one is about the worst show on television because it portrays the lowest possible score for any intelligent show. This is not humorous but it is absolutely nauseating and disgusting. It will place this country on the bottom of any other civilized country in the world. Children who watch this will learn to act and live like lower forms of life, even animals have more manners than this family portrays. Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    I'm so disgusted that TLC has allowed such a trashy program as Honey Boo Boo. Promoting obesity, passing gas and burping.This is not humerusI'm so disgusted that TLC has allowed such a trashy program as Honey Boo Boo. Promoting obesity, passing gas and burping.This is not humerus at all,in fact it's down right gross.What are you thinking TLC? Please take it off the air and put something on people can actually enjoy. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    Now TLC has done great reality shows in the past 15 years from trauma life in the ER to the little people era, but this show is just truly,Now TLC has done great reality shows in the past 15 years from trauma life in the ER to the little people era, but this show is just truly, truly dreadful, this hapless piece of trash is tied with the weiner's circle as not only the worst reality show ever made, it is also the worst tv show of 2012 to date, tie with the weiner's circle, just truly incredibly dreadful, tasteless and trash.

    TLC you have stoop to an all time low with this.
    Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Horrible. I do not see how this even made it to TV. I watched it in full once to be fair but I was disgusted. The people themselves are hardHorrible. I do not see how this even made it to TV. I watched it in full once to be fair but I was disgusted. The people themselves are hard to look at and the behavior is gross. Please put something worth watching on in that time slot. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers