Here Comes Honey Boo Boo : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 8, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Here Comes Honey Boo Boo Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The spinoff of Toddlers & Tiaras focuses on 6-year-old beauty queen Alana Thompson and her family.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 7, 2012
    91
    You'll alternate between cooing at 6-year-old pageant queen Honey, gawking at her self-described "redneck" family and pet pig, laughing so hard you cry, and feeling deep shame for not turning it off.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    While I was creeped out by the way Honey Boo Boo was framing the family and presenting them to us, I couldn't help loving the Thompsons themselves.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 7, 2012
    50
    You'll blow a gasket if you watch this show with any trace of superiority or outrage. Instead, bafflement is a good resting spot; a guilty-pleasure glee works even better.
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    As with many of these series, Honey Boo Boo wobbles along that strange line of being at once an exploitative mess, and not just an exploitative mess.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 7, 2012
    30
    Disturbingly condescending and almost irresistibly cheeky.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 8, 2012
    30
    If you haven't yet put your affairs in order, this would be a propitious time to do so. The world as we know it is about to end. How do I know? Because Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 7, 2012
    25
    Seems to me she's [Alana's mother June is] desperate to stay in the spotlight. And all I can say to that is, "Honey, bye-bye."

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 35
  2. Negative: 24 out of 35
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    this show is absolutely amazing the family doesn't change to make people happy. yes they may not be the most polite family and are a littlethis show is absolutely amazing the family doesn't change to make people happy. yes they may not be the most polite family and are a little weird but they are themselves! not many people are like that any more alot of people now days care what people think they dress a certain way act a certain way eat, talk, anything that will make other people happy and we shouldnt be that way. we should do what needs to be done to make ourselves happy. i very much like this show because of the way they all act they dont give a crap what any of you think they really dont care what anybody thinks. here comes honey boo boo is a great show! Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    These people are awesome, super entertaining. Allana is a super smart, cheeky, sassy 6 year old and I love watching her. The family don't careThese people are awesome, super entertaining. Allana is a super smart, cheeky, sassy 6 year old and I love watching her. The family don't care what people think about them and it's completely refreshing, no matter what you do someone will criticise you so why care? You'd better redneckognise! Collapse
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't care if the Thompson's are from the south. They are very entertaining and funny. I love how they get along well and they always do everything as a whole. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is an insult to the American public. I don't like most shows but this one is about the worst show on television because it portrays the lowest possible score for any intelligent show. This is not humorous but it is absolutely nauseating and disgusting. It will place this country on the bottom of any other civilized country in the world. Children who watch this will learn to act and live like lower forms of life, even animals have more manners than this family portrays. Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    A very dumb/idiotic tv show.. Believe it or, this is why america is so messed up right now... I do not find this to be the slightest bitA very dumb/idiotic tv show.. Believe it or, this is why america is so messed up right now... I do not find this to be the slightest bit funny, no one in my family finds it funny either.. The creators of this show should be ashamed and feel bad for broadcasting this. It's making television look bad. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    This is exactly why America is the laughing stock of the rest of the world. The creators knowing exploited a 7 year old girl for profit. ItThis is exactly why America is the laughing stock of the rest of the world. The creators knowing exploited a 7 year old girl for profit. It embraces the disgusting habits of a family that is literally destroying their daughter's body and mind. They should be in jail. The fact that they are on The Learning Channel is insulting to humanity. Hope the creator made a decent profit. Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    This show is what is wrong with American television. To watch this show is to glorify ignorance, stupidity, obesity, and just awful actionsThis show is what is wrong with American television. To watch this show is to glorify ignorance, stupidity, obesity, and just awful actions from a family that needs some genuine help. I've not watched ONE episode of this show, but I know enough about it through previews and occasional peaks when I'm flipping through the channels to know this show's a joke. I wonder if TLC brass remembers when they used to air 'educational' programming? Live surgeries, informative cooking shows, and other educational tools that were useful to our culture. Why sacrifice great taste for ratings, TLC?

    Many others have already talked about the low brow humor, the deplorable behavior they carry, and on top of that, you can't even understand what the folks are saying. I'm not alone in feeling this way and feel that I'm in the majority in saying this is the worst show on television and that TLC's brass should look in the mirror and realize that fads like this show will ruin a network's reputation.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers