• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 8, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Here Comes Honey Boo Boo Image
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The spinoff of Toddlers & Tiaras focuses on 6-year-old beauty queen Alana Thompson and her family.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 7, 2012
    91
    You'll alternate between cooing at 6-year-old pageant queen Honey, gawking at her self-described "redneck" family and pet pig, laughing so hard you cry, and feeling deep shame for not turning it off.
  2. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    As with many of these series, Honey Boo Boo wobbles along that strange line of being at once an exploitative mess, and not just an exploitative mess.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 7, 2012
    50
    You'll blow a gasket if you watch this show with any trace of superiority or outrage. Instead, bafflement is a good resting spot; a guilty-pleasure glee works even better.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 9, 2012
    50
    While I was creeped out by the way Honey Boo Boo was framing the family and presenting them to us, I couldn't help loving the Thompsons themselves.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 7, 2012
    30
    Disturbingly condescending and almost irresistibly cheeky.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Aug 8, 2012
    30
    If you haven't yet put your affairs in order, this would be a propitious time to do so. The world as we know it is about to end. How do I know? Because Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Aug 7, 2012
    25
    Seems to me she's [Alana's mother June is] desperate to stay in the spotlight. And all I can say to that is, "Honey, bye-bye."

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 19 out of 30
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    These people are awesome, super entertaining. Allana is a super smart, cheeky, sassy 6 year old and I love watching her. The family don't care what people think about them and it's completely refreshing, no matter what you do someone will criticise you so why care? You'd better redneckognise! Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    I Love Honey Boo Boo. Say what you want you haters, but Here Comes Honey Boo Boo is the new Jersey Shore of TLC. Probably one of the best shows since the ever-controversial Toddlers & Tiaras. Nice job, TLC. Add more seasons. Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    In LOVE with this family! Being raised southern is something to be proud of!!! Shame on yall for taking a glance at them and automatically have some sort of disgust towards them! They are honest, loving, true southern rednecks who embrace who they are and I respect them for that! I was raised in the sticks I drank from a water hose, ate off the floor, played in mud etc and I turned out fine haha... It's not abuse or neglect or ignorant in any way.. it's just a different way of living. If y'all dont like it... Stay up north! Y'all take everything wayyy to seriously!!! yolo people!!!!!! :) Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is an insult to the American public. I don't like most shows but this one is about the worst show on television because it portrays the lowest possible score for any intelligent show. This is not humorous but it is absolutely nauseating and disgusting. It will place this country on the bottom of any other civilized country in the world. Children who watch this will learn to act and live like lower forms of life, even animals have more manners than this family portrays. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    Very bad show I tried to kill myself after watching the first 2 seasons. This is a very very very very very very very very very very very very very bad show. Collapse
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    Now TLC has done great reality shows in the past 15 years from trauma life in the ER to the little people era, but this show is just truly, truly dreadful, this hapless piece of trash is tied with the weiner's circle as not only the worst reality show ever made, it is also the worst tv show of 2012 to date, tie with the weiner's circle, just truly incredibly dreadful, tasteless and trash.

    TLC you have stoop to an all time low with this.
    Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    I watched 10 minutes of this show and it changed my life. I now believe we need to keep abortion safe and legal. I wonder if the family understands viewers are laughing at them, not with them. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews