• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 25, 2006
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 369 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 369

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OrenI.
    Aug 3, 2008
    5
    A lot of people are obsessed with this show. Way too overrated IMO. The plot line is good and all, but you never see any action. Even though these people have superpowers, they rarely use it. It is like a soup opera about "heroes". The only interesting plot line to follow is Peter's and Hiro's. Anything else is just...boring.
  2. CadineL
    Nov 1, 2006
    5
    I understand that in order to build a climax, the first 2 or 3 episodes should be viewed and interpreted as an introduction to the serie itself and what its about - not so much a comic book serie! Nevertheless, it shows loose threads but at the same time, an important lack of suspense right now. We can easily foresee what is about to happen and since it is so previsible and missing I understand that in order to build a climax, the first 2 or 3 episodes should be viewed and interpreted as an introduction to the serie itself and what its about - not so much a comic book serie! Nevertheless, it shows loose threads but at the same time, an important lack of suspense right now. We can easily foresee what is about to happen and since it is so previsible and missing action, it makes it kind of dull to watch. Frankly (and mostly unfortunately), I don't think we will be presented with a second season unless the first serie find a way to evolve with more suspense and... action. Expand
  3. Natalie0
    Oct 8, 2007
    5
    This show tries too hard. The acting is bad, and the characters lack depth.
  4. Lucas
    Oct 3, 2006
    5
    Heroes is the "Johnny come lately" of the genre; we've seen this before and considering the time slot, this show is way too violent!
  5. MoR
    Oct 25, 2006
    5
    Even if it certainly hits a catchy hook, with a cast of extra talented youngster, they might also be the superheroes of cliché personalities. Every character is polished, easily understable & undeveloped, all of it very well hidden by its unatural powers. This could watchable only if on top of it, dialogs and situations weren't that predictable. I think the worst moment Even if it certainly hits a catchy hook, with a cast of extra talented youngster, they might also be the superheroes of cliché personalities. Every character is polished, easily understable & undeveloped, all of it very well hidden by its unatural powers. This could watchable only if on top of it, dialogs and situations weren't that predictable. I think the worst moment I've seen is claire's boyfriend, who just seen her back from the dead, playing it cool, unshocked, hitting on someone else right in front of her, like nothing happened. How believable is this? Expand
  6. KyleA.
    Jan 20, 2008
    6
    Good but quite unoriginal. Feel like I have seen it all before and while each episode is enjoyable, the ongoing plot isn't too strong.
  7. dub
    Sep 29, 2006
    5
    The cast was fantastic but the script was glaringly amateurish; it made the show just barely entertaining in spite of itself. It's not enough that it's about powers, it needs to actually be more thoughtful and less thuddingly cliche.
  8. bigking
    Sep 29, 2006
    4
    A yawnfest. I was so badly wanting something to happen that would justify 10% of the hype this thing is getting. It didn't happen. Basically, it's one of those shows that will probably be cancelled soon, and some people will whine about it. I won't be one of them.
  9. ZaneS.
    Apr 23, 2008
    6
    The show COULD be better. I'm not sure how, though. Maybe they can start with the acting, and the dialogue. The dialogue is so bad, it's hard to watch, same with the acting. My best friend is obsessed with this show, her boyfriend is also, and I'm still not sure why.
  10. JasonM
    Oct 24, 2006
    6
    The show is a bit too violent for it's time slot, and since Monday nights seem like a family night for different religions, watching this show may not be a good choice for families with children. Also, the show shouldn't have a web camera prostitute doing strip teases for her clients in this family hour time slot. The decapitation and blood and gore is pointless. Why edit Friday The show is a bit too violent for it's time slot, and since Monday nights seem like a family night for different religions, watching this show may not be a good choice for families with children. Also, the show shouldn't have a web camera prostitute doing strip teases for her clients in this family hour time slot. The decapitation and blood and gore is pointless. Why edit Friday the 13th movies on TV if Heroes can show what they cannot show? The story is intriguing enough for me to wonder what's next and watch the next episode. So far I've only missed one, because I was busy last night. And I won't watch it next Sunday either, but will probably watch next monday's... NBC is notorious for one thing, they bring out junk in potentially good shows, which is why this show got a low rating, and they seem to make it alot worse as the show progresses. So do us all a favor, and make the gore short lived and make it more intriguing without the prostitution bit and I will change my rating. Expand
  11. BrandonS
    Sep 27, 2006
    4
    Bland writing ("I'm someone special!") and cliched characters (the Sexy Woman, the silly Japanese guy) defined the premiere. (I do give kudos, however, for the scenes in which the teenager tries to kill herself and can't). I'm going to give it another chance next week to see if they can rise above being X-Men for tv and give the characters some depth. If the second episode Bland writing ("I'm someone special!") and cliched characters (the Sexy Woman, the silly Japanese guy) defined the premiere. (I do give kudos, however, for the scenes in which the teenager tries to kill herself and can't). I'm going to give it another chance next week to see if they can rise above being X-Men for tv and give the characters some depth. If the second episode is as mediocre as the first, though, I think I'll pass on this one. Expand
  12. Jan 30, 2011
    6
    The first season started ok, but everything declined until the show was cancelled. Although it had some good points, after the first 2 seasons it really didn't make any sense to keep on trying to save it. The originality and driving force of the beginning simply was not there.
  13. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    The first season was amazing. I watch like 10 episodies at once. I start thinking about all mysteries and cant stop watch at next episody.

    But, at season 2 i get bored, i stop watch becouse every think change. With the writer's strike the series come down, was never the same from the first season.
  14. Dec 13, 2014
    4
    I hoped it would be a great TV Series after season one. It was a little bit too long, but producers might want to build the tention - I thought. But no, there are actually 4 seasons with heroes with supernatural abilities and they totally don't use them. They don't fight, they just talk. It's such a waste of series potential. No wonder it was cancelled. It's like making Dr House withoutI hoped it would be a great TV Series after season one. It was a little bit too long, but producers might want to build the tention - I thought. But no, there are actually 4 seasons with heroes with supernatural abilities and they totally don't use them. They don't fight, they just talk. It's such a waste of series potential. No wonder it was cancelled. It's like making Dr House without the hospital. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 30
    The show is too diffuse, hokey and self-consciously portentous to suggest suspenseful possibility.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    60
    The writing is uneven... but the idea is audacious enough to keep you following the loose threads.
  3. "Heroes" is one of TV's most imaginative creations and might, with luck, become this year's "Lost."