Hit and Miss : Season 1

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16

Critic Reviews

  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tim Stack
    Jul 6, 2012
    83
    On paper this sounds somewhat ludicrous, but the series is surprising moving. [13 Jul 2012, p.68]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Every performance here is good--the young actors are remarkable--and though the script sometimes goes just where you would expect it to, the characters seem authentically unpredictable.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Hit & Miss, once you get past the successive bombshells of its opening minutes, is a painful yet endearing drama about trying to build a family in a landscape blighted by loneliness and rejection.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    A lot of viewers may say, "I can't watch this." It will reward those who do.
  5. Reviewed by: Gareth James
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    What makes Hit & Miss one of the strongest UK dramas to hit US TV so far this year is its reframing of such high-concept premises within unsensational contexts.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Hit & Miss, the fun is just beginning, and I can't wait to see where this twisted but strangely affecting story goes next.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 11, 2012
    80
    This plot sounds laughably bizarre, but Hit & Miss has a strikingly strong sense of pace and character.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 6, 2012
    80
    What has the potential to be absurd--a title pun in search of a series--plays, albeit slowly, as taut and absorbing.
  9. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jul 12, 2012
    75
    It's an incredibly poignant look at Mia and her new family, and Sevigny is outstanding.
  10. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 9, 2012
    75
    Hit & Miss doesn't take long to convince us that its characters and plot are not only possible, but credible and, dare I say, touching.
  11. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jul 11, 2012
    70
    Though I understand how effective the hit-man aspect of the story must have seemed on paper, both as a thematic device and a driver of plot, Mia's story was interesting enough with out the being saddled with such an ultra-violent profession.
  12. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 10, 2012
    70
    The first two hours of Hit and Miss come across as a finely observed, well-acted independent film, and I wasn't really sure whether there was a lot more story left to tell as Episode 2 came to a close, but I'm willing to let Mia prove me wrong.
  13. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 11, 2012
    67
    Count on Hit & Miss to find its targets.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    Wow! Saw a poster for the show and thought I'd give it a go. First episode I thought "interesting I'll watch the next", then I was hooked!Wow! Saw a poster for the show and thought I'd give it a go. First episode I thought "interesting I'll watch the next", then I was hooked! Brilliant cast and writing. A very different concept to the usual thriller/dramas with lots of angles to it. I hope Sky film more, loved it. Full Review »
  2. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    One more british series that (no surprise) goes to heart of controversial transsexual Chloe and the relations of 2 adolescents and 2 youngerOne more british series that (no surprise) goes to heart of controversial transsexual Chloe and the relations of 2 adolescents and 2 younger kids who recently lost their mother. 10+ !!! Full Review »
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    For all its flaws and occasionally botched execution, Hit & Miss remains an extremely compelling preoccupation. From its sumptuousFor all its flaws and occasionally botched execution, Hit & Miss remains an extremely compelling preoccupation. From its sumptuous cinematography to Sevigny's awkwardness and destructive impulses, few would begrudge Abbot a second series, if only to right the irksome wrongs of the first. Full Review »