• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 587 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 587

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show has become completely unrealistic and absurd. You can't be a CIA agent and have bi-polar disorder, but if you do have it evidently you can go to the Middle East on the CIA's behalf to get intelligence for them from one of your former contacts. Revealing Carrie's disorder to her bosses killed the show after just one season. Also, what about the classified documents she had in her personal possession? She should be in prison for season 2. What a waste this show turned out to be. I watched the 1st season right after hearing about the Emmy wins. I thought if it can beat Breaking Bad, Mad Men, AND Boardwalk Empire it must be good, but I thought wrong. It WAS a very good show (not close to the 3 I just mentioned) but they turned it into the same unrealistic story 24 was. The writers & creators just play the audience for idiots while they count their money. How anyone could give this show a positive score is beyond me. I would give this show a negative score if I could. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time even getting started with it. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Homeland Season 2 is awful.
    Even if you can get over the huge plot holes and awfullness (I can't) (The CIA mole, is a double agent, for another organization, to assassinate a congressman, but then not, why?, A nutjob Schizo is not only on the case for the CIA, but solves EVERYTHING and everyone else is worthless). And Brody, good one second, bad another, all while ditching his family? Why? The show is officially awful.
    Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    0
    This season was complete crap, Brody should have died in season 1 and the characters should have moved now the show has become a forced and horrible love story instead of a spy story
  4. Dec 30, 2012
    2
    This is a shockingly overrated series. The plot is utterly, ridiculously beyond any shadow of credibility, with the shifts in character loyalties and incessant hints at hidden agendas a never-ending bore, and an absolutely hilarious, shockingly shallow take on the secret-service and analyst work (and I am saying this as one who, apparently, happens to know a lot more about it than theThis is a shockingly overrated series. The plot is utterly, ridiculously beyond any shadow of credibility, with the shifts in character loyalties and incessant hints at hidden agendas a never-ending bore, and an absolutely hilarious, shockingly shallow take on the secret-service and analyst work (and I am saying this as one who, apparently, happens to know a lot more about it than the screenwriters). I should conclude that not in this world, nor in any alternative universe, would a whack-job such as the Claire Danes character pass the tests and clearances to land a secret service field job (this has nothing to do with the actress being horribly miscast, rather with how the part is written), and that on any sane planet, this show would be dropped by the audiences after Season 1 at the latest. I was hoping it would improve with time, or that the critics were right this time, but had to drop it after four episodes as a complete waste of time. Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    Comparing this to Breaking bad is a travesty. The acting is just too over the top from Claire Danes. The story is terribly unbelievable. I'm still not really sure what her role in the CIA is was, because the characters all over the map. Besides the fact that there is no way she would be even IN the CIA. There is way too much incorrect information in the show for me. I LOVE THEComparing this to Breaking bad is a travesty. The acting is just too over the top from Claire Danes. The story is terribly unbelievable. I'm still not really sure what her role in the CIA is was, because the characters all over the map. Besides the fact that there is no way she would be even IN the CIA. There is way too much incorrect information in the show for me. I LOVE THE PREMISE. But the execution is awful, with far too many holes. I'd like to think the US government isn't this stupid, otherwise we'd all be dead by now. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2013
    4
    Season One was great, but Season Two was just plain awful. Almost all good shows jump the shark at some point, but this one went bad in a hurry. So sorry to see this show get all sorts of "24" stupid (circa Seasons 5 thru 8) so quickly.
  7. Dec 24, 2012
    1
    I don't understand how this show can keep receiving positive reviews and have it placed on the top with shows like breaking bad! what moron-ology review method was used??....it is all wrong and fails on key real world drama aspects, if you are or know someone who is a CIA / FBI agent or if you are or know someone who is an arab/ muslim can feel completely alienated and frustrated as theI don't understand how this show can keep receiving positive reviews and have it placed on the top with shows like breaking bad! what moron-ology review method was used??....it is all wrong and fails on key real world drama aspects, if you are or know someone who is a CIA / FBI agent or if you are or know someone who is an arab/ muslim can feel completely alienated and frustrated as the show got the high majority of the facts wrong..what does hezbollah (shia) and a bin-laden-like terrorist cell have in common...NOTHING! they are completely opposite and would wage wars against each other.

    The show is unreal, How can a helicopter carrying armed group fly undetected?a swat-like terrorist group can shoot and kill do as it please with no police or security to track them?Bin-laden (AN) could have entered the US by simply shaving his beard? mobile tracking seems to work on an episde basis?a person can run around the VP house with no cameras or security personnel to question him?a high ranking arabic political jouranlist goes unoticed? a homeland security personnel is sick (when the director wants) and that's Okay... why would homeland security use a private company to do their spy stuff? and why in the world such a dedicated jihadist Brody drink, masturb..., commit adultary? and why in the world are arabs countries and towns looks medieval, I flew from Dubai to Beirut to watch
    Collapse
  8. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    As a very dedicated Emmys fan, I really like to go all out, insanity wise, and watch every episode of the current season of every show up for the comedy and drama awards. I did so last year, with this show, season one, and sure, I was impressed. Definitely more so than my personal all-time fav Breaking Bad's fourth season (which seems camp compared to its fifth), and I'm glad it won inAs a very dedicated Emmys fan, I really like to go all out, insanity wise, and watch every episode of the current season of every show up for the comedy and drama awards. I did so last year, with this show, season one, and sure, I was impressed. Definitely more so than my personal all-time fav Breaking Bad's fourth season (which seems camp compared to its fifth), and I'm glad it won in Sept. But this season is all but impressive, especially in terms of the standards that it set for itself last year. I really hope in its already confirmed third season the bar the raised. More than hope even, but I suppose some things aren't really meant for anything more than two or three cheap tricks and three months of fun. A one hit wonder, if you will. Anyways, I will be disappointed to tears if this season is nominated for anything, even something as trivial as a meaningless technical award and wins. Was last season worth all the awards? Sure. This season? Absolutely not. Calling it anything over a one or two would be an outright lie. Expand
  9. Mar 1, 2013
    3
    Homeland season 2 is just as jingoistic and far fetched as season 1. The female lead (Carrie)'s increasingly unbalanced shrieking about a cartoon villain named "abu nazir" (yes, he's got brown skin and a beard must be a terr'ist) might seem normal to those fed on a daily diet of American government fearmongering and propaganda but to anybody else it's obviously hysterical and absurd.Homeland season 2 is just as jingoistic and far fetched as season 1. The female lead (Carrie)'s increasingly unbalanced shrieking about a cartoon villain named "abu nazir" (yes, he's got brown skin and a beard must be a terr'ist) might seem normal to those fed on a daily diet of American government fearmongering and propaganda but to anybody else it's obviously hysterical and absurd. Virtually nothing comes as a surprise when you realise that Carrie is never wrong about anything it's just a matter of time before anyone who doubts her is proved a fool, and the point is driven home hard that we should spend a lot more time and money on blowing people up and sacrificing liberty in the name of security. Like so many other series these days, the lazy writers can't be bothered to think of a way to engineer any believable moments of tension so they rely almost entirely on people behaving like complete idiots to move the plot forward. In this respect it's about one step up from the Walking Dead. Having said all that, the painfully awkward and unrealistic romance sections are at least vaguely watchable on a human level, and the part of Brody, the male lead, is generally well acted, at least in comparison with the rest of these 1-dimensional caricatures. Expand
  10. Feb 24, 2013
    1
    This show is increasingly implausible with the most ridiculous plot contrivances I had to give up halfway through episode two as it had just got too silly for words. Honestly I cannot believe the positive reviews this is getting. Two great leads are totally wasted.
  11. Mar 22, 2013
    0
    These critics are insane. Homeland Season 2 was a parody of Season 1, which lost a huge amount of credibility in the finale as it is. It insults the viewer's intelligence. And this ridiculous, over-wrought romance? Danes is intolerable with her twitches, tics and overdone moues. And really, I never thought anyone could make the amazing Damian Lewis overact, but this show has achieved thatThese critics are insane. Homeland Season 2 was a parody of Season 1, which lost a huge amount of credibility in the finale as it is. It insults the viewer's intelligence. And this ridiculous, over-wrought romance? Danes is intolerable with her twitches, tics and overdone moues. And really, I never thought anyone could make the amazing Damian Lewis overact, but this show has achieved that dubious distinction. Season 1 led us to believe that this was a show with credibility & depth. Now we know it was a con. Expand
  12. Dec 22, 2013
    2
    Just watched the whole season and have to say booooo. The majority of the 12 episodes is about the teenage daughter that whines and complains. Dont understand why the writers made this 13 year old such a part of this particular season. And a brain tarted cia agent is just ridicolous script writing Proves that only the great shows have great second seasons. Anyone can write and make aJust watched the whole season and have to say booooo. The majority of the 12 episodes is about the teenage daughter that whines and complains. Dont understand why the writers made this 13 year old such a part of this particular season. And a brain tarted cia agent is just ridicolous script writing Proves that only the great shows have great second seasons. Anyone can write and make a great first season because you have all the time in the world but a second season has to be made in 12 months, its a stress test for the show writers/creators and they are no good and blew it as shown in this season. Come on people, if you think this is 96/100 television you are bored and easily impressed. I loved season one but this one was hard for me to complete with all the other shows and movies being released. But for this particular show and season to score 96/100 blows my mind. NO GOOD Expand
  13. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    Just watched this for the 1st time. What a crock. Complete nonsense. If it was a Disney show I could buy it, but this is what passes for drama these days????
    Utter nonsensical garbage.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2012
    100
    The show hasn't lost its clever agility at building pressure-cooker suspense and then lobbing in a surprise. [8 Oct 2012, p.55]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 1, 2012
    100
    Homeland is as riveting and addictive as when we last saw it, kicking off with no lull in the pulse-pounding action.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 28, 2012
    100
    Given the extravagances of the plot and the characters, that it feels plausibly seated in the real world is a testament to everyone involved in its production. But it is especially due to the actors.