• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Hostages Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Tate Donovan, Dylan McDermott, James Naughton
  • Summary: A surgeon (Toni Collette) is forced to agree to assassinate the president (James Naughton) during an operation after a rogue FBI agent (Dylan McDermott) takes her family hostage. This Jerry Bruckheimer-produced conspiracy thriller is based on an Israeli series.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
  • Creator: Omri Givon, Rotem Shamir
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 23, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 20, 2013
    83
    Smart, intriguing thriller, but the opener is slightly overheated.
  2. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    80
    If you get past the large leap and buy into the premise, Hostages promises surprising switchbacks and character development ranking among the best of the season.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Things get tense fast in CBS’ new Hostages, and if it can maintain that tension for 13 weeks, the network has a winner.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Sep 23, 2013
    67
    If the writing can bring invention to the thriller parts and smarts to the domestic parts, and invention, Hostages could have an indefinite hold on our imagination.
  5. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Other than a few other corny ideas (the whole Presidential assassination trope is a little cliché), Hostages delivers a compelling plot with enough tension to keep viewers interested for 45 minutes.
  6. Reviewed by: Zack Handlen
    Sep 23, 2013
    58
    While the pacing is solid and the direction is competent, nothing rises above the average. The pilot is too tasteful to be intense, and too silly to be affecting. It’s middlebrow to the bone.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 23, 2013
    25
    The characters wander a spectrum from boring to irritating (guess which end the two teenage kids wind up on?), and the situation already feels unsustainable by the end of the first episode.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 9 out of 32
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    They go with what they are given,the show has everyday values such as family and bond, but it also has a thrilling sense of what is going toThey go with what they are given,the show has everyday values such as family and bond, but it also has a thrilling sense of what is going to happen next, now that his team is beginning to unravel and the light at the end of the tunnel for the good doctor is getting bigger, there is still a sense of wonder whether or someone is going to step into that light and block the way, the show feels like it doesn't have that much going on, but the questions that still remain are why and who? the main characters cant be the whole thing. Im still dying to see who's behind the curtain making all these calls. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    Intense and a good ending, may be a little bit to long for a series and you losing it after 45 minutes, but you pick it up very easily andIntense and a good ending, may be a little bit to long for a series and you losing it after 45 minutes, but you pick it up very easily and never would you think what could happen next. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Pros:
    The slick and awesome beginning with the tactical infiltration of the house
    The whole "thought of everything" element
    The drug dealer subplot might work, he might come banging on the house and the hostage team has to figure out how to dispose of him?

    Cons:
    The pregnancy subplot. Unless they're held hostage for 9 months, who cares?
    Potential for too much family drama and needless distractions from main plot
    Collapse
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    6
    I anticipated that "Hostages" would have a pretty good pilot and then where to go? Something like Andre Brougher's submarine captain showI anticipated that "Hostages" would have a pretty good pilot and then where to go? Something like Andre Brougher's submarine captain show last season. Great opening followed by an incredibly fast journey downhill. I knew something of the plot of "Hostages" before viewing the pilot but a couple of unexpected plot turns gave me some hope for a possible future for this show. Some reviewers call it "over the top" and that is true. I still think this show will have a very difficult time maintaining quality and, frankly, interest. We'll see but I'm afraid its over-the-topness has a good chance of winning and destroying the show. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    The main problem? Why didn't Ellen just tell the secret service what was going on and they go to the house and arrest everyone? It'sThe main problem? Why didn't Ellen just tell the secret service what was going on and they go to the house and arrest everyone? It's ludicrous and makes enjoying this show almost impossible. The central premise makes no sense. The decisions they make defy logic. It's all ridiculous, yet I keep watching. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    4
    Hostages is a perfect example of a seies out staying its welcome. What started out as fresh and exciting, albeit still ludicrous has becomeHostages is a perfect example of a seies out staying its welcome. What started out as fresh and exciting, albeit still ludicrous has become laughably ridiculous. I started out by giving this series an 8, but since it has gone on and on my rating has dropped to 4. I have 1episode left to view, but I don't think there will be any rallying for me to improve my thoughts at this late stage. I will just be grateful for it to end PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    The writing is unrealistic and verging on cartoonish. The Sanders family continues to miss opportunities to get out of their "hostage"The writing is unrealistic and verging on cartoonish. The Sanders family continues to miss opportunities to get out of their "hostage" situation. They're not suffering from Stockholm syndrome--each has had plenty of opportunity to escape, yet they are portrayed as bumbling, ineffectual fools. All any of them would have had to do was to go to the press and the local police. Duncan's team would have been exposed as murderers and criminals, and they would have no more power over any of the Sanders family. The format is tiring and predictable. We all know by now that no matter what the Sanders family members do, they will be caught or stopped by Duncan's team, so why bother watching? Even the ending will be unreal and absurd, with the Sanders family finally getting out of their predicament by some cheap deus ex machina device and Duncan somehow surviving as the misguided anti-hero. Ridiculous, absurd and a waste of time--as much of network TV is. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews