• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 1, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 714 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Sakina Jaffrey, Robin Wright Penn, Michael Kelly
  • Summary: The US remake of the 1990s British political miniseries moves the shenanigans to Washington DC. After learning he won't be appointed to a coveted Cabinet position, House Majority Whip Francis Underwood (Kevin Spacey) and his wife Claire plan revenge on the administration he helped elect.
  • Genre(s): Drama
  • Creator: Beau Willimon
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Feb 1, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 12:00 AM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 6, 2013
    100
    Watch at whatever pace you'd like--immediately. Given its quality, I think you'll be drinking it all in sooner rather than later.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 28, 2013
    90
    It's a heavyweight new contender in the drama category, just as Netflix now is as a content provider.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 1, 2013
    90
    Deeply cynical about human beings as well as politics and almost gleeful in its portrayal of limitless ambition, House of Cards is a wonderfully sour take on power and corruption.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 31, 2013
    80
    It's beautifully filmed in and around Washington, D.C., it's well-acted, and it's cleverly written by Beau Willimon.
  5. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Feb 22, 2013
    70
    I found the first two episodes handsome but sleazy, like a C.E.O. in a hotel bar. Yet by Episode 5 I was hypnotized by the show’s ensemble of two-faced sociopaths. Episode 8 was a thoughtful side trip into sympathy for Spacey’s devilish main character, but by then I was exhausted, and only my compulsive streak kept me going until the finale--at which point I was critically destabilized and looking forward to Season 2.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    67
    Fincher's unemotional style comes through in the first two episodes, and the show could use more heat. But Spacey makes it worth watching.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 31, 2013
    25
    This series is about as inside-the-Beltway as Fiji, and Fincher's main plan to compensate for the stupidity level is to have the gentlemen whip off their glasses and the ladies whip off their clothes.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 130
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Loved it, from the beginning to the end of the first 2 episodes I've watched. It has the David Fincher mood in it, KevinAbsolutely amazing! Loved it, from the beginning to the end of the first 2 episodes I've watched. It has the David Fincher mood in it, Kevin Spacey's constant neutrality in every bit of the show in a really cold blooded character, and the fluidity in which the story unfolds. Seriously, great show, watch it if you can, or get 1 month free on Netflix just to watch this. Best premiere I've seen in a series for a LONG time, maybe the best since Breaking Bad. Expand
  2. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Revolutionary Television!

    House of Cards is a television drama produced by Netflix, a subscription service that allows its customers to
    Revolutionary Television!

    House of Cards is a television drama produced by Netflix, a subscription service that allows its customers to stream shows and movies over the internet. Although Netflix is popular, the company’s ability to produce a series that has received several awards, nine Emmy nominations, and four Golden Globe nominations after only two seasons is impressive to many. Among the impressed include well-known internet review sites such as Metacritic.com, IMDB.com, and RottenTomatoes.com.
    House of Cards is a binge-worthy political drama which Netflix first premiered in 2013 and then released a second season in February of 2014. This show has absolutely set a new bar for the drama genre of television. Kevin Spacey plays a downright evil politician, Frank Underwood, who is working his way toward presidency of the United States by any means necessary. The lengths he goes to in order to hide his secrets, eliminate competition, and throw wrenches in others’ plans are baffling. Don’t get too attached to characters in this series. Much like George R.R. Martin, writer of Game of Thrones, House of Cards writer Beau Willimon keeps his audience on the edge of their seats, wondering who may be eliminated next by Underwood’s ruthless desire for power.

    Orange is the New Black was another series produced by Netflix in 2013 which similarly pushed the boundaries of television drama, however House of Cards is even more captivating. As Americans, we can relate to the show’s scandals and dirty politics because what we witness in our own media is a mild version of similar events. This series simply takes that aspect of United States politics and stretches it to the edge of believability. The relationships, although definitely unordinary, are oddly relatable as well. The show is written in a way that feels as if the powerful characters, like Frank and his wife Claire, speak what we already expect them to be thinking. It removes boundaries we would expect to have in conversations we would be part of, allowing the audience to live vicariously through the characters’ brutal honesty. There are even moments in each episode where Underwood speaks into the camera as if he were speaking directly to the viewer. Kevin Spacey’s portrayal is chilling and cannot leave any viewer unintrigued.

    This series is worth watching, although viewers should be forewarned that all twenty-six episodes, each at least fifty minutes in duration, are available to stream at your convenience. Be prepared to have no control over your ability to stop watching. House of Cards is the most beautifully, creatively, tenaciously written series I have seen.
    Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    Great cast. Fantastic script. The dialogue, the characters, and the plot itself are very interesting and highly entertaining. Decided to giveGreat cast. Fantastic script. The dialogue, the characters, and the plot itself are very interesting and highly entertaining. Decided to give this show a try after some glowing recommendations from my friends, and I honestly watched the first six episodes in one day because I couldn't get enough of it.

    As an aside, I love the whole releasing all the episodes at once deal so that you can watch the season in your own time.
    Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    A well thought out and deliciously twisted storyline that will have you blow through episodes as fast as you did in Breaking Bad Season 1.A well thought out and deliciously twisted storyline that will have you blow through episodes as fast as you did in Breaking Bad Season 1. Stunning performances by Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2014
    9
    'Let the butchering begin!'
    Academy award winner Kevin Spacey stars in a truly gripping American political drama. It details his character's,
    'Let the butchering begin!'
    Academy award winner Kevin Spacey stars in a truly gripping American political drama. It details his character's, Frank Underwood's Machiavellian machinations to climb the treacherous mountain to power. Full of charm, wit, humour and of course conniving office politics, Underwood's character narrates the plot while staring at the audience in a highly original film technique.
    The soundtrack is first class, the plot, simple but varied and at times utterly compelling . The variety of supporting characters and acting is top notch, especially from Claire Underwood and Remy Danton who add spice to an already thrilling story.
    If there were any flaws in the series, and I really would be nit-picking, it would be the following:
    -No character seems to be any match for Frank Underwood and in a largely credible series, it is difficult to believe that he could proceed without any vigorous checks and balances.
    -The setting is occasionally too centred on the White House.
    -This is a rare criticism from me, but occasionally there is too much happening in terms of the plot and drama, and I feel like the story and detail could be fleshed out a little more (flashbacks, different opinions, street level discussions etc)
    -More slang and Argot could be used as the language is occasionally too formal and contrived.

    Overall, a fantastic series. Can't wait for Season 3.
    Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    the show is a reimagining of a british show, that was the product of its era and location. its an uneasy fit imho. both culturally and thethe show is a reimagining of a british show, that was the product of its era and location. its an uneasy fit imho. both culturally and the context of its place on a timeline of changing circumstance, it is an awkward transplant. the british one was coming at the end of thatcherism and explored the potential chaos as the 80s turned into the 90s from the mindset of someone who was old in the 80s. this one has no such cultural momentum, and has a different tone. the first one was black comedy in a british sense. it was basically about following a rogue and a pantomime villain. this one plays it a lot more straight. whats lacking is the import of a "boss" or the comedy of (trying to think of an american version of this kind of dark comedy)"profit". culturally this show falls squarely between profit and boss.

    despite every thing i said, its very good. its just far too pedestrian and lacking in any cultural verve to be great. it is technically sound, and the production values are crisp. you wont be watching something that doesnt "work". And..it is well worth watching. i dont know what it adds to the genre, but it seems to get all the right elements down to a tee.

    boss is far better.

    the original is of a different era and culture for even myself, and im a limey. things have changed quite a bit in the last 2 decades.

    this one was well worth watching, and any lacking was a product of its transplant status and a lack of a real character of its own. it moves the story and setting well enough, but the fault lines are from a different product. it needs its own rugged identity, and i think its only half way there, with too many echos of boss.

    boss was brilliant though. this is... available.
    Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    0
    A stillborn series that began with the embarassing, moronic scene, that can't be anything but self-parody. Spacey's sardonic asides make himA stillborn series that began with the embarassing, moronic scene, that can't be anything but self-parody. Spacey's sardonic asides make him look almost pathetic and self-deluded, and I don't think that was the creators' intention. Everything is so tired, boring and numbingly predictable. Expand

See all 130 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  2. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  3. House of Cards: Reviews for the Complete 1st Season

    House of Cards: Reviews for the Complete 1st Season Image
    Published: February 20, 2013
    Is Netflix's "House of Cards" worth 13 hours of your time? We found over a dozen critics who have watched the entire season, and here's what they have to say about the ambitious new series.