House of Lies : Season 1

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Luke De Smet
    Jan 11, 2012
    25
    Because from its embellished execution to its uninspired writing and very conception, the smarmy House of Lies is like so many speculative financial bubbles that characters like Marty have had their hands in: There's just nothing there.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 6, 2012
    30
    [The actors] are cramped by obvious, unsubtle writing and a show that doesn't seem to have much of an idea of where to take these sardonic characters.
  3. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 6, 2012
    30
    House of Lies about the thievery of management consultants, manages to turn a theme with reasonable comedic potential into a vehicle for 16-year-old males, though dressed up as satire for sophisticates.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 6, 2012
    30
    In trying to be about over-the-top characters, it forgets to be about people.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 37
  2. Negative: 24 out of 37
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    3
    Like many, I expected this Showtime "comedy" to be a drama. It wasn't a drama, but it also wasn't a comedy. In this day and age whereLike many, I expected this Showtime "comedy" to be a drama. It wasn't a drama, but it also wasn't a comedy. In this day and age where marketing and economics is such a rich topic to explore, this show comes and decimates it. One of the worst pilots. Giving it a 3 for Don and Kristen and Jean-Ralphio from Parks and Rec. Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    Are the critics reviews a joke?? This is the worst episode of television I've seen in my life. All of the jokes about gays are just sick andAre the critics reviews a joke?? This is the worst episode of television I've seen in my life. All of the jokes about gays are just sick and rude. Kristen Bell is absolutely killing her career. Full Review »
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    1
    I saw the show when it first came out and thought is was awful. Since it's lasted a couple of years (and I was desperately searching forI saw the show when it first came out and thought is was awful. Since it's lasted a couple of years (and I was desperately searching for something to watch) I gave it a second chance and took in some episodes from season 3.

    My verdict is in. House of Lies is still a terrible television show.

    It's all flash and no substance. The plots are preposterous, an insult to the intelligence of viewers.

    Lots of crudeness and vulgarity, which isn't necessarily a bad thing when it's clever, as in "Veep", but here it's just gratuitous, dumb, and repetitive.

    All the characters are unlikeable. Don Cheadle, who is a fine actor, is embarrassing in his role as the star of the show. He periodically talks to the camera like it's a cool inside joke but it just doesn't work.

    The mantra of the show is cynicism about the profession which may be appropriate but needs a more subtle presentation to be either insightful or entertaining. Here the characters are all just vile, dishonest, and despicable.

    The show has introduced an ongoing Cosby-like back story about Marty'si relationship with his adolescent son and dad. It's totally mawkish, manipulative drivel and out of character with everything else about the show. The writers will throw in anything to pretend there's some redeeming value in their artless, uncreative television show.

    Oh, and for some reason Kristen Bell has a reputation for being a sexy, funny comedienne. In this she is not. She comes across as a horrible actress, not amusing, and not particularly likeable.

    The weak material sabotages all cast members, even Jenny Slade.

    This show is a dumb knockoff of lots of better, smarter shows like LA Law, Entourage, Veep. My advice, stay away.
    Full Review »