• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 8, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 109
  2. Negative: 37 out of 109

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    3
    Like many, I expected this Showtime "comedy" to be a drama. It wasn't a drama, but it also wasn't a comedy. In this day and age where marketing and economics is such a rich topic to explore, this show comes and decimates it. One of the worst pilots. Giving it a 3 for Don and Kristen and Jean-Ralphio from Parks and Rec.
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I only wanted to watch this for Don Cheadle and Kristen Bell. When the pilot leaked online I jumped on it. The first thing you see is Don Cheadle's ass. Then you meet his extremely flamboyant son. Hundreds of jokes about gays follow. Cheadle's character breaks the fourth wall a lot, and it's annoying. Then there's a scene in a restaurant where a hooker talks about having sex with women. Seriously? This show is terrible, the critics are wrong. Expand
  3. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    Are the critics reviews a joke?? This is the worst episode of television I've seen in my life. All of the jokes about gays are just sick and rude. Kristen Bell is absolutely killing her career.
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    0
    The Pilot episode was horribly constructed, i'm really surprised that Don Cheadle and Kristen Bell signed up for this train wreck. I'll give it a couple more episodes before i can it, only because It's on after Shameless, but its not looking good for House of Crap... i mean Lies.
  5. Jan 8, 2012
    1
    Watched the pilot online, there is no logical reason for this series to be airing. The critics are under Showtime hypnosis. One of the most terribly written pilots in pilot history. Don Cheadle doesn't even save this show. Lots of improvement and growth needed. Too many homosexuality jokes.
  6. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    Terribly written pilot, already a contender for worst show of the year. Possibly the decade. There's no well thought out reason to explain what caused this show's all-star cast to accept these roles. I'm not understanding how any critic could give this a 100.
  7. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    My management consultant parents encouraged me to watch this and tell them what it's like since they don't have Showtime. I found it to be awful and they agreed, saying that the things happening to the characters are unrealistic. Critics gave it inexplicably good reviews.
  8. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    Love Kristen Bell. Hate big business. Thought I'd love this. I hate it. The worst pilot ever written, a stupid adaptation of a good book. Please Kristen Bell don't ruin your career with this **** show.
  9. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    Absolutely awful. House of Lies is a big mess. It's an insult to people who like television. I can't believe that Showtime, the same network that has Weeds, also has this show (and The Big C). So much of it needs to improve, immediately.
  10. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    Vomit inducing. Awful, awful, awful. Hopefully it gets cancelled before the world has to see any more. Why is Kristen Bell doing this? A waste of her talent.
  11. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    TERRIBLE. Not worthy of following Californication. Not worthy of even being on the same network as Weeds. One of the worst pilots I've seen in my life. Any good reviews are simply biased. Nobody watch this, this needs to be cancelled so Don Cheadle doesn't lose his good rep.
  12. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    Was persuaded to watch this by a friend of mine. Turns out we both hated the pilot. I really hope it improves. It looks like there's little to grow on and hopefully Don and Kristen don't trash their careers.
  13. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    Watched it for Don Cheadle, sucked hard. Way too many stupid jokes about gay people. Absolutely terribly written, one of the worst pilots ever. Shocking that showtime would accept this.
  14. Jan 11, 2012
    0
    I watched this because I heard that the guy who plays Jean-Ralphio on Parks and Rec is on it. Not only is he barely featured, the show itself is a mess. I highly recommend against it.
  15. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    Damn this is bad. Ive loved krsten bell since her earliest days but this show is so unwatchable. It blows. I hope kristen bell quits and the show gets cancelled.
  16. Mar 5, 2012
    0
    The biggest turn off about this show are its characters. Every single one of them is vile and morally repugnant, which in itself is fine: there have been many great shows and movies about irredeemable characters. But on top of it all, they are just flat out annoying. In particular the two male side-kicks on the show fill the screen with their idiotic juvenile banter and act like utterThe biggest turn off about this show are its characters. Every single one of them is vile and morally repugnant, which in itself is fine: there have been many great shows and movies about irredeemable characters. But on top of it all, they are just flat out annoying. In particular the two male side-kicks on the show fill the screen with their idiotic juvenile banter and act like utter douche bags. I have always been fans of Don Cheadle and the lovely Kristen Bell, but watching this show makes you wonder what they were smoking when they signed up for this pile of dog crap. Expand
  17. Apr 12, 2014
    1
    I saw the show when it first came out and thought is was awful. Since it's lasted a couple of years (and I was desperately searching for something to watch) I gave it a second chance and took in some episodes from season 3.

    My verdict is in. House of Lies is still a terrible television show. It's all flash and no substance. The plots are preposterous, an insult to the intelligence
    I saw the show when it first came out and thought is was awful. Since it's lasted a couple of years (and I was desperately searching for something to watch) I gave it a second chance and took in some episodes from season 3.

    My verdict is in. House of Lies is still a terrible television show.

    It's all flash and no substance. The plots are preposterous, an insult to the intelligence of viewers.

    Lots of crudeness and vulgarity, which isn't necessarily a bad thing when it's clever, as in "Veep", but here it's just gratuitous, dumb, and repetitive.

    All the characters are unlikeable. Don Cheadle, who is a fine actor, is embarrassing in his role as the star of the show. He periodically talks to the camera like it's a cool inside joke but it just doesn't work.

    The mantra of the show is cynicism about the profession which may be appropriate but needs a more subtle presentation to be either insightful or entertaining. Here the characters are all just vile, dishonest, and despicable.

    The show has introduced an ongoing Cosby-like back story about Marty'si relationship with his adolescent son and dad. It's totally mawkish, manipulative drivel and out of character with everything else about the show. The writers will throw in anything to pretend there's some redeeming value in their artless, uncreative television show.

    Oh, and for some reason Kristen Bell has a reputation for being a sexy, funny comedienne. In this she is not. She comes across as a horrible actress, not amusing, and not particularly likeable.

    The weak material sabotages all cast members, even Jenny Slade.

    This show is a dumb knockoff of lots of better, smarter shows like LA Law, Entourage, Veep. My advice, stay away.
    Expand
  18. Jan 20, 2013
    2
    The TV and Movies have just about a 100% hit rate in their failure to provide even the slightest taste of realism in any show that is centered around what writers believe is the "business world". 99% of investment bankers are not handsome, slick philanderers. They work 65 hours a week and are surprisingly conservative, amateur party animals at best. Attorneys at top law firms are aThe TV and Movies have just about a 100% hit rate in their failure to provide even the slightest taste of realism in any show that is centered around what writers believe is the "business world". 99% of investment bankers are not handsome, slick philanderers. They work 65 hours a week and are surprisingly conservative, amateur party animals at best. Attorneys at top law firms are a similar breed, but add an extra 10 to 20 hours of work per week. Management Consultants may very well be at the top of the "stuffed shirt' scale, and their profession may very well be the least interesting of the three, especially to watch. This being said, Don Cheadle and his team of frat boy wannabes totally miss the mark. This show fails at being satire because there isn't one grain of truth in their portrayal of the consulting business, or consultants. It fails at being a straight up comedy, because it's not even the slightest bit funny. It succeeds only in being a cheap rip off of Showtime's other show about decadent lifestyles, Californication. In a nutshell, this show needs to be destroyed as soon as possible. Expand
  19. Jan 17, 2013
    2
    I watched the first season after hearing that Cheadle won a GGlobe. I don't get it. It's barely funny, cheaply vulgar, and if it is a satire or indictment of modern business culture the show is not good at it. There was a canadian show about banking called Traders (?) on CBC that I remember being better at this. Oh well. I say avoid it.
  20. Jan 6, 2013
    1
    I would watch Don Cheadle in just about anything and that's what the 2 stars are for. This show had potential (I used past tense, b/c I for one will not be giving it a second chance). The premise is engaging enough, but the over-the-top gratuitous sex (starting with the opening scene) was not what I was looking for or expecting. There are a lot of opportunities for the show to developI would watch Don Cheadle in just about anything and that's what the 2 stars are for. This show had potential (I used past tense, b/c I for one will not be giving it a second chance). The premise is engaging enough, but the over-the-top gratuitous sex (starting with the opening scene) was not what I was looking for or expecting. There are a lot of opportunities for the show to develop and stand on plot lines and characters, but instead the producers (Cheadle being among them) decided to launch an endeavor where anyone who has watched the show could describe as: "I was watching a cheesy porno and a show about Management Consultants broke out." IMO, AMC still holds the title of best network for dramatic TV (Breaking Bad, Walking Dead, The Killing, Mad Men, etc. ) I think "Suits" on USA and "Shameless" on showtime are also noteworthy. But this entire House of Lies debacle seems like something sex industry workers would watch in their spare time. Pity...there was potential. Expand
  21. Oct 1, 2013
    0
    Really bad show. Feel ripped off giving it a chance and watching season 1.
    This is a male chauvinistic piece of garbage and I'm a guy. The characters are just one dimensional.
    Really bad script writing.. House of trash
  22. Feb 11, 2014
    0
    i used to really like the show. refreshing - as it was a new perspective on the business world i knew little about. don cheadle was the one that really drew me into the story, and the supporting characters worked well together. however - way too much high-school level bantering and joking between jeannie and the other two guys especially. it's become boring and utterly sickening. jeanniei used to really like the show. refreshing - as it was a new perspective on the business world i knew little about. don cheadle was the one that really drew me into the story, and the supporting characters worked well together. however - way too much high-school level bantering and joking between jeannie and the other two guys especially. it's become boring and utterly sickening. jeannie has also become become a marty mini-me. they're losing their individuality. in addition, they don't need to be so sarcastic ALL the time. develop the story and characters. that's the draw. now, what's up with the t.i. thing? i haven't watched any of those episodes, because i literally got sick of the overabundance of high-school humor and repetitious bull-sh*t that i stopped watching the show. i just happened to turn the tv by there last night and i'm like - what the hell is t.i. doing on here? that's what made me stop and check it out for a second - but it was the same old over-the top sarcasm, so i went back to watching star trek nemesis or some other movie i've seen ten to the google-plex time.
    btw i thought the new episode of the walking dead sucked. lol. be a little more creative god-d*mmit. :)
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Catlin
    Jan 31, 2012
    70
    House is more solidly built [than "Dirt"], thanks mostly to the bracing quality of Cheadle, who scarcely has time in the mayhem to reconsider what he does.
  2. Reviewed by: Luke De Smet
    Jan 11, 2012
    25
    Because from its embellished execution to its uninspired writing and very conception, the smarmy House of Lies is like so many speculative financial bubbles that characters like Marty have had their hands in: There's just nothing there.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 9, 2012
    50
    I didn't laugh much. I did, however, check my watch, still secure on my wrist, to determine when the show would be ending.